Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

22 reviews | 3 out of 5

5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
12/28/2010

Customer review by Coolpix

5.0 stars by Coolpix

So far we love it! It should actually be called a 'smart' camera b.c. it does so much without us even realizing it! Great value!

Coolpix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awosome purchase!!!
4/1/2011

Customer review by josh b.

5.0 stars by josh b.

I have never experience a problem with this little gadget! So far everything works as it suppose to and the screen is great. better than other brands thats for sure.... I am an outdoor person and this camera fits in all my pockets. You have to play around to get the best out of it. Get familiar with the options that it offers and you'll do good...

josh b.
Fontana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Compact size & does it all
4/30/2011

Customer review by Janedith

5.0 stars by Janedith

I really enjoy using this small digital camera and movie recorder. I keep it in my coat pocket because it is so compact. I never know when I will come across a photo opportunity. The battery stays charged for quite a long time.

Janedith
Des Plaines, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Coolpix, perfect for busy family picture taking
5/13/2011

Customer review by Rich

5.0 stars by Rich

This camera is outstanding and has great features. However, I wish it was more rugged and water proof. It is too fragile to take on many trips where I need to pack it with other gear (camping, diving, etc.).

Rich
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love 99.9% of this camera
7/28/2011

Customer review by CanonGuyMostTheTime

5.0 stars by CanonGuyMostTheTime

I love this camera and all the things it can do. I love that it has video as well. The only thing I don't like is it is very hard to see the screen in bright outdoor applications. I wished it had a view finder to look through. I was at an Air Force Thunderbirds air show and it was very hard to keep the planes in the screen since they were so small on screen. Other than that, I love it! Would recommend it to others.

CanonGuyMostTheTime
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent performance!
7/25/2012

Customer review by Tresnor

5.0 stars by Tresnor

This Camera has outstanding features......... very nice pixels, superb zoom!

Tresnor
Goa, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great p&s camera
12/11/2010

Customer review by Asaf

4.0 stars by Asaf

The s5100 is a nice camera, its size and shape are optimal for my needs. The image quality is fine under most conditions. Sometime I find it hard to focus in indoor environment in high zoom. Overall after comparing to several similar cameras from different vendors, I think that I made the right decision.

Asaf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2 Purchased 1 Returned
4/15/2011

Customer review by John

4.0 stars by John

I bought two CoolPix S5100's last year as gifts for my daughter and mother in law. They are easy to use, good battery life, excellent size and take beautiful pictures. While one is still working properly the other unit's display screen now has black lines running through it. It's coincidental that I received the email today to post a review while I was printing the receipt for returning the unit for repair. But I have to mention that the return policy & procedures are easy and don't require a phone call for an RMA.

John
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
simple, 5star Pictures & Features, sure shots.
8/6/2011

Customer review by supa2

4.0 stars by supa2

Old cool-pix stolen. I found new cool-pix to be even simpler to use with many easy to use features. Pictures are more vivid and you can edit them quickly & simply. Battery seems to last better & is easier to charge. Being a senior citizen, I need a camera to be easy to carry, ready to take a picture when ever I want. take video in HD. of ? family. be easy to maintain. be robust to be carried in my pocket and have a great battery life. this fits my requirement perfectly. Lets see if it will last longer and out perform my old Cool pix - 5 years before it was stolen....

supa2
Peterborough England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This camera is very reliable
8/12/2011

Customer review by gollum

4.0 stars by gollum

After using it so much, I can only say that I’m happy with my camera and I made a good choice on buying a Nikon

gollum
St Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WEAK DISPLAY SCREEN
2/20/2011

Customer review by Britt

3.0 stars by Britt

I bought this camera for the fast shutter speed and low-light functions, it easily exceeded my expectations and took nice pictures extremely fast. Unfortunately, the screen was very weak and while it was in it's case in my purse it still managed to get a small crack in the screen, which then spread until the whole screen was a mess. Sadly, I did continue to use the camera after the screen cracked and dropped it once which made a very small scratch on the body of the camera. Due to this small scratch Nikon would not repair it as it was then deemed to be physical damage. I loved this camera for the month that I had it and I am extremely disappointed at how delicate it was.

Britt
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Charger not working
3/7/2011

Customer review by nicki

3.0 stars by nicki

This camera is amazing. unfortunately, whenever i try to plug in my charger or any of my camera's products that plugs into the charger place on the camera, my screen turns black. it stop s working after that and nothing has happened to it. i have kept it safe in my hands. so im guessing this camera is very sensetive.

nicki
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Yes and No.
7/22/2011

Customer review by Polaris

3.0 stars by Polaris

My wife loves the ease of using this camera. Compact, reasonably good pictures. Some things I don't like. One if you want to edit a picture, you cannot edit it with software on your computer (like MS picture editor, adobe, etc) and then put it back on the card. If you do, the camera will be unable to diplay it. The edited image is safely on the card, but the camera cannot display it. This forces you to only use the editing software with the camera ( how much can you see in a little screen--I need to see it on my computer monitor to accurately edit it) and or install more software on your computer (we all have way too much stuff on our computer and it just SLOWWWWS it down). So I figured out how to deal with this, I copy the image onto computer and edit it and leave it there, and if I need prints I get them from the computer, and I leave the unedited version on the camera and we can share those with friends. My second disappointment is that flash pictures don't turn out too well, The flash just isnt powerful enough. Lastly the LCD screen developed a spot the size of a pencil eraser in which all the pixels wre black. I sent it back, inside the one year warranty, Nikon says no go, the LCD screen was cracked due to our error. While it is possible we dropped it, I doubt it. So overall I like this better than the compact Canon my wife had before, and it does great with outdoor pictures. Actually it did better on many shots than my Canon DSLR with polarizer lens.

Polaris
New Haven IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Box to Failure = 18 days
12/22/2010

Customer review by Deployed Soldier

2.0 stars by Deployed Soldier

The camera is good, and took nice pictures, but the display screen had a massive failure within weeks of buying it. I bought it prior to deployment to Afghanistan, and now I am headed to Afghanistan with no camera. I am hoping the company does well, and corrects the problem as quickly as possible, so I can write a more thorough review. The interface was much the same as prior Coolpix, with the cylindrical zoom on the top, vice the two way button on the rear. This is neither good nor bad, just a little different. Compared to earlier models, the major feature it was lacking was the intermittent timer, which could take a picture every 30 seconds until it ran out of battery, or storage. Otherwise, it took great pictures, in the daylight, and average quality (for a digital) in the evening/low light. Still a drawback on all Coolpix - no battery strength signal. It tells you when you are VERY low, but then it is too late to go charge it because you are already using it and don't have time to wait. It does charge from the computer through the umbilicus, and you can easily download pictures the same way; both benefits over some earlier models. Oh, and the video is crystal clear! It must use some sort of vibration reduction as well as the high quality, because you just can't take bad video with this. Better than regular video cameras were two or three years ago.

Deployed Soldier
Kabul, Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? No
when it works....
1/19/2012

Customer review by NUstudent

2.0 stars by NUstudent

When this camera works it is a great one, it is sensitive enough to light that I don't need to have the flash on to get good indoor pictures. The problem is that I spend more time waiting on shipping labels and camera repairs than I do using it.... Definitely don't recommend it to anyone who needs a camera a lot

NUstudent
Would recommend to a friend? No
horrible camera.
10/27/2010

Customer review by sckortyman

1.0 stars by sckortyman

slow auto focus, bad photo quality make this a no brainer to avoid! that only good thing is the mediocer feature set and the simple menu system.

sckortyman
san fransico ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lacks Adequate Instructions Manual and Video
1/27/2011

Customer review by Alemrac

1.0 stars by Alemrac

This camera is confusing to use. The instructions manual and the video need additional information. Online and telephone assistance are inadequate. Photo quality is erratic.

Alemrac
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor image quality indoors
11/10/2010

Customer review by Ex-Canon enthusiast

1.0 stars by Ex-Canon enthusiast

Took indoor pictures in different settings with mostly the same result. Discolouration on the edges (especialy corners) when using the flash. Pictures appear clear on thumbnail until you zoom in a bit. Pictures aren't crisp and sharp and colours aren't true. (almost like the camera is trying to make the pictures too soft). You get what you pay for on this one I guess.

Ex-Canon enthusiast
Greenwood, NS
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/21/2011

Customer review by NikonPro

1.0 stars by NikonPro

The screen doesn't work well. I am not satisfied with the Nikon service

NikonPro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesnt have orientationsensor -rotate pix yourself
7/14/2011

Customer review by Arpad

1.0 stars by Arpad

Since it doesn't have orientation sensor, you have to rotate your pictures yourself. I am pretty surprised and quite disappointed, since I thought that this is not an expensive part of any digital camera. Picture quality isn't so great, but this could be because any digital camera of this size can produce just this quality?? Lack of orientation sensor... EHHHH... :-( Huge disappointment.

Arpad
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 22 total reviews