Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 39 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 38 reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Arrived defective. See photo.
3/29/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
Your results may vary. For me the 2 main sides welded points which are used for the height adjustment for bench press were dangerously uneven. Causing me to almost slide off the bench when trying to use. Attempting to get a replacement from the manufacturer, i just need two new sides, nothing else, otherwise this is not usable for me. The rest of the set is good, if this flaw was not present I would enjoy this weight bench very much, but this is a huge flaw. I'l update this review if i can secure a replacement and add how my customer service experience went. Walmart told me to call the manufacturer "CHI HSIN IMPEX INC" Customer Service Department at at 1-800-999-8899. (Time of writing 3-29-2017).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
MARCY OLYMPIC SURGE BENCH
1/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It took me a month online looking at different benches in a given price range that could do what i needed. originally i wanted a two piece olympic bench so i could use the bench for different functions and still have a squat rack. i was almost at the point of giving up when someone told me about walmart online. I found the perfect bench. it holds about 450 lbs and the width is great, instead of just having the midwidth option. the only thing i sort of don't like is the fact that the settings for the bar supports don't exactly sit in the proper heights. i like starting off almost to the point at full extension so that my push is not compromised by having to fight the weight from the 90 degree angle when i push off. other than that the bench is great. i made one of the best choices. and for the cost it's extremely sturdy. i've tested it. i put it through the stages. i recommend this bench to anyone who is looking for a good bench.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Bang for your Buck
10/19/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I read the reviews before purchasing this bench. They were pretty accurate. I would give it 4.5 stars but the rating system does not give half stars. I wanted a black weight bench. Looking at the pictures this bench looked like a flat black but it is actually grey and the part you lay on is black. I might spray paint it flat black at a later date. I wanted a full back support Olympic weight bench to support my weight and not rock side to side when in use. This bench does not have the full back support but to my amazement it is very sturdy. No rocking or wobbling at all. So for the money this is a good quality bench. I assembled the bench by myself but it is better if you have help. I took me about 3 hours to put it together. It looks overwhelming at first but it is not that bad. The assembly of the leg left area gave me some problems but I worked through it. The original Olympic bench I wanted was $500 and was just the bench. So I save a lot of money and got some extra attachments. So over all I am pleased just wish it was black to match my man cave area.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE THIS BENCH!!!!
5/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this bench last week and just put it up yesterday due to a knee injury but i have put it all together and tested it out and it is a great bench for the price and what it came with...My box was in good condition unlike like other people said...It took me 5+ hours maybe 4, all by myself and i would not recommend doing this by yourself, i got things backwards and all mixed up and so i had to undo a few things and had to use my leg as a second man to hold some things which my back hurt the next day, also i didn't read the instruction so that would have helped just looked at the picture telling what goes were...The seat is a little wobbly because it can adjust moving forward or backward but were your back rest is as solid as a rock...People said that the squat rack was to high for a 5'6 or something and im 5'7 and it is perfect...I also like the bench spotter catcher for the bench due to the fact i bench alone so it helped to find out my max bench and now i dont have to hold back...I would recommend buying a 7' bar i think a 6' would not fit, if your interested in lifting at home i recommend the bench...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Assembly comments
2/10/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The bench took me about two hours to assemble without help using a socket with a ratchet handle, two Allen keys with a ratchet handle, Phillips screwdriver, small hammer, the very good instruction sheets, box cutter and very good small parts blister pack. The ratchets speed up the assembly dramatically. A dead blow hammer would have been helpful to mount the foam roller end caps and the curling station handle pin. The two pins use to secure the bar rests at the squat stations are of poor quality and need to be check frequently to make sure they have not walked out during use. Also, the pin for the curl station required a hammer to install and will be very difficult to remove when removing the curling handles for different setups. Four washers were missing and an Olympic sleeve was cracked. The washers were easy to source locally. A call to Marcy customer service and the Olympic sleeve is on the way. I may look into locally sourcing some better pins for the squat station and the curling handles. Overall, I think that the bench will prove to be very good for a home gym.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great bench
4/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
very nice bench dose every thing i need.easy to put together.i looked at alot of benches and you cant beat it for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/15/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This weight bench got delivered about a week ago, and here are my thoughts on it: The Good: Overall, this is a good weight bench. It looks neat, and it's sturdy... The safety spotters are a big plus since I work out alone. However, if you're on a budget, I suggest you get something cheaper. The Bad: The nuts and bolts that came with this weight bench were not completely right. Some of the nuts did not work with the bolts... I had to go to Lowe's to buy the right ones. Over all impression: This is a good bench and other than the point mentioned above I am happy with my purcahse.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love it!!
2/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Buying online always worries me, but once I revieced and started putting this together I was so happy I bought it. It is well built and does so many diferent things. I love it and would recommend this to anyone who would rather workout at home instead of at a gym and doesnt want to spend an arm and a leg for equiptment. It is a lot larger then I thought it would be but I found a spot and am SO happy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bench for the money....
1/31/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just got into weight lifting using free weights and this bench meets all of my needs. Only took a couple of hours to assemble by myself. Like the reverse squat-in feature. There is a little wobbling when lying flat on the bench but other than that, no complaints.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great moderate/advanced system
10/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bench set is very nice and my only complaint is that one piece had the bracket mounted upside down so it is not bolted together but it was the small center support piece so gravity keeps it on just fine and I'm sure that when I call the company they will just send me out the correct piece...The bench takes about two hours to put together and you'll really want someone to help as it was difficult to do alone...I bench over 350lbs and everything stays very sturdy and the bicep machine at the end of the machine rocks!!!! Great system!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solid Weight Bench
1/24/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought for my 14 year old son, who said he wanted to work out. Like the versatility. Good bench - no issues. Now if it could help him to follow through on his commitment to work out...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
11/29/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For legs, bis, pecs, abs this machine is hard to top. Assembly is easy, probably 45 minutes with one person. Now I just need to use it often because it will not help as a clothes rack!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice solid cheap bench
8/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love how many workouts I can do with this bench alone and its solid I've used 275lbs on the bench press and it held up great
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quality/service
1/24/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Product showed up to store on time. Store pick up left little to be desired. I put entire bench together in about 1 hour 45 mins. Very nice unit and well worth what I paid. Could not even come close to quality versus cost at Play it Again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the money
1/21/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a decent bench for the money. The leg pads are the cheap firm foam and a bit uncomfortable. The seat is pretty wobbly. Other than that, it's sturdier/beefier than I expected.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Heavy duty bench for a fair price
3/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a nice piece of equipment. The assembly is tricky, but the parts are numbered for easy identification. It's a great value compared to the price of comparable benches.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value !
11/16/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great bench overall. I'm new to body building and it offers a variety of exercise options. Only took about 1.5-2 hours to put together. The box was in good shape and all the parts were there. Its a heavy duty bench and looks great too. It even had built in weight holders that holds an Olympic set easily. Some have stated that the adjustable seat was wobbly and distracting. It is only very slightly wobbly, but doesn't distract me from exercises that require me to be seated at all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bench
2/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very smooth let/curl system, very durable and strong bench. Would definitely recommend this bench. Only small issue is a wobbly bench but not a show stopper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent set. Not great.
1/12/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Set came scuffed up. Box wasn't damaged so they packaged it with multiple spots with the paint scrapped off. Bar catchers are way to big. Seat is very wobbly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solid frame and good design
12/28/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I like the flexibility of the design and the double back rest support on the bar. Supports the back and reduces stress on the bench back rest assembly .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-9.8.8, SHA-9492cd77a5d2416e0163e2734cee42951ef798e7, CID-