Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 20 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Bag not in pictured
4/1/2014

Customer review by charles910

2.0 stars 4/1/2014 by charles910
by charles910

Bought this mainly for the carry bag. They replaced the red and silver bag with an all red bag. It is of extremely cheap material. Does not match the picture at all. The stove is still the same material. I am returning this item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charles910
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Heats water, fries eggs, etc.
9/7/2012

Customer review by TekChris

4.0 stars 9/7/2012 by TekChris
by TekChris

It will get a tin cup of water hot in about 5 minutes, 8 minutes is much hotter, but I've never had patience to get a rolling boil and doubt that it can. It barely operates a coffee percolator, meaning it probably won't percolate on a cool day or if you fill the pot full. A small fry pan (such as from a mess kit) is ideal because it covers the entire top and captures all the heat. You can cook enough scrambled eggs for three people in about 10 minutes, which is a bit slower than a home stove. Heating is diminished if there is a slight breeze unless you have a large pan that covers the entire top. Incidentally, you can lay a second stove on top of the first one upside-down to make a kind of wind shield enclosure that works very well. Works both with Sterno gel fuel and wick type fuels in the similar sized cans. when you fold it, it wants to spring partway open unless you pack it under pressure or return it to the original cardboard sleeve. Overall, pretty cool, simple device.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TekChris
Northern Illinios
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for backpacking!
5/30/2012

Customer review by Cornbeefandcabbage

4.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Cornbeefandcabbage
by Cornbeefandcabbage
Top 500 contributor

This Sterno Portable folding stove is ideal for backpackers and could be considered a substitute for gas stoves. It is very lightweight - less than 4 ounces for the unit itself. It folds up to take up very little space. You can use Sterno fuel which is "OK", but is really better for keeping stuff hot once it is already hot rather than actually cooking with. A better fuel for the backpacker is wood sticks - even the most heavy traffic camgrounds has some dried sticks or kindling or even dried buffalo grass. All and any of these can be used efficiently for fuel with this unit. Simply use a couple handfulls of pencil size sticks as fuel and you can cook or even boil a pot of water. Because it is made of aluminum, it will bend from use or transport. Just use your hands to bend it back into shape and you are ready to go. If you bring some fire starter sticks as back-up, you should be able to cook even with damp sticks or splintered wood. Hint: if you use wood for fuel, this stove will get dirty with suet. SO... I coat mine with soap - either lathered hand soap or dish soap. Let the soap dry, then use the unit. After use, the suet will wash off easy. Bring a plastic bag to carry it around after use so that it won't smudge up the other stuff you are carrying. When you get home, put it in the dishwasher and it will clean up nice. Even most of the black suet and grime will come off. Camp on!

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cornbeefandcabbage
west coast and midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Top 500 contributor
Sterno stove kit. 3-13-2014 $20.19 now.
3/13/2014

Customer review by abearwhocares

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by abearwhocares
by abearwhocares
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 10 contributor

good item to have in an emergency supply box-- has your basics-- a single burner metal box stove- 2 cans of fuel [ total of about 4 hours low heat] and a handy bag to keep it together-- add some waterproof matches and a small screwdriver/pry bar to open cans and you could warm your hands or heat water or soup. nothing fancy but functional for a small pan/coffee pot or skillet. can be used indoors in a pinch--on a fireproof surface--stove top or metal sink-- level and solid base. low smoke / low odor fuel workable if power goes off...not good in a windy outdoor area. I like the coghlan 9957 stove [$8.49 now] better as it is more sturdy..got one of them also to have 2 burners if needed. ALWAYS have EXTRA!! canned fuel-- it goes fast. shop around for sterno-type fuels-- better prices in bulk-12/24/36/72 can boxes elsewhere. one power failure could make this a best buy to have gotten and stored with food items

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abearwhocares
mid Ohio. USA!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 10 contributor
Sterno Stove
5/25/2011

Customer review by djc4410

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by djc4410
by djc4410

This is an excellent product for emergency use during severe storms when power outages are experienced. It is far safer to store Sterno fuel cans in a home than to have bottles of compressed gas present for use with other types of camp stoves. This stove has a zippered case with loops for attachment to backpacks.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djc4410
Palm Beach County, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Pretty basic.
5/11/2012

Customer review by Kestrel

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Kestrel
by Kestrel
Top 1000 contributor

Lightweight, easy to assemble, and holds a good amount of weight. I keep this as a backup for my propane campstove, and it works just fine for heating water or keeping food warm while using the burners on the stove for other things. It's also good in an emergency when the power is out, because Sterno can be safely used indoors. I can heat a can of soup on it in about the same time it takes to heat on my electric stove. The carrying case is strong canvas, and can hold not only the 2 cans of Sterno that come with it, but a couple of extras. A classic product for good reason!

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kestrel
Okatie, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Top 1000 contributor
3/5/2012

Customer review by kls123

4.0 stars 3/5/2012 by kls123
by kls123

Good value. A little flimsy perhaps, but what do you expect for the price and weight and size. Works really well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kls123
Locust, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simple, Durable, and Easy To Use.
8/4/2013

Customer review by Rebelcowboy75

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by Rebelcowboy75
by Rebelcowboy75

I bought the Sterno stove a few days ago (I had one several years ago as a boy scout, but it was lost over the years.) for a camping trip my wife and I have planned. I got home and 3 hours later the power went out (typical Florida summer storms) while my wife was making dinner. Out comes the Sterno and my wife loved it as much as I always have. She instructed me to be certain to get another Sterno stove so she doesn't worry so much about me during hunting season, whether I'm eating good or not. Of course, I agreed. I'd highly recommend this product to anyone and everyone. It can turn a power outage or disaster into only a mild inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rebelcowboy75
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for emergencies
3/2/2014

Customer review by PatsyCo

4.0 stars 3/2/2014 by PatsyCo
by PatsyCo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this item for emergencies, you know, in case of storms and the electricity goes out. I need to have some type of fuel to cook with. This will fill that purpose. All I need now is additional sterno.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatsyCo
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/20/2012

Customer review by velvetlady

4.0 stars 11/20/2012 by velvetlady
by velvetlady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought it as a back-up so I could cook if the lights went out again. Used it 2 days after receiving it. Did the job. Not my stove, but could get hot water for coffee and cook a stew. Great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
velvetlady
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice and Easy
3/22/2012

Customer review by girlygirlny

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by girlygirlny
by girlygirlny

No this is not a hair color review by the sound of my review summary! This Sterno Stove Kit is small for cooking one meal at a time so I will advise you get another backup.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
girlygirlny
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Never been so dissapointed!
9/26/2014

Customer review by BrendaEp

1.0 stars 9/26/2014 by BrendaEp
by BrendaEp

This product arrive on time and appeared to be in good condition but when I opened it to check it out, I found one of the sterno cans to have been opened and leaked all over everything. Will be sending back for a refund!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrendaEp
Would recommend to a friend? No
junk
6/4/2012

Customer review by conball25

1.0 stars 6/4/2012 by conball25
by conball25

junk dont stand up to the heat

Was this review helpful? (1) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
conball25
in the sticks on cny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Stove
5/12/2013

Customer review by intruder100

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by intruder100
by intruder100
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great product for camping in the woods because of the light wgt. I would buy it for a back up stove not to be used every day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
intruder100
East Wakefield, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little stove for primative camping
6/20/2012

Customer review by glas

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by glas
by glas

Small, lightweight and easy to pack in backpack. The grill on the stove is large enough to accomodate a small pan or coffee perculator.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glas
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great stove for my 11 year old Boy Scout
4/20/2014

Customer review by devinbaby

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by devinbaby
by devinbaby
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this stove for my son who is a Boy Scout. It was light weight and easy to use. Good for backpack camping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
devinbaby
Whitman Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cook, camp, emergency hot food? buy this.
7/20/2012

Customer review by ILoveWalmartPhillip

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by ILoveWalmartPhillip
by ILoveWalmartPhillip

cook, camp, emergency hot food? buy this. Use Sterno or wood. buy the Coleman cook kit at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILoveWalmartPhillip
Tampa Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
5/1/2013

Customer review by JoeDoewxyz

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by JoeDoewxyz
by JoeDoewxyz

I like this stove using the fuel recommended. Very light weight to carry and backpack.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeDoewxyz
56352
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great product and at a walmart price
1/10/2014

Customer review by preppernow

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by preppernow
by preppernow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Looks very durable, have not used it yet, but looking to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
preppernow
48827
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great stove kit for beginners or emergencies.
11/3/2013

Customer review by florida4me

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by florida4me
by florida4me
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great stove kit for beginners or emergencies.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
florida4me
Venice, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.