Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great for backpacking!
5/30/2012

Customer review by Cornbeefandcabbage

4.0 stars by Cornbeefandcabbage

This Sterno Portable folding stove is ideal for backpackers and could be considered a substitute for gas stoves. It is very lightweight - less than 4 ounces for the unit itself. It folds up to take up very little space. You can use Sterno fuel which is "OK", but is really better for keeping stuff hot once it is already hot rather than actually cooking with. A better fuel for the backpacker is wood sticks - even the most heavy traffic camgrounds has some dried sticks or kindling or even dried buffalo grass. All and any of these can be used efficiently for fuel with this unit. Simply use a couple handfulls of pencil size sticks as fuel and you can cook or even boil a pot of water. Because it is made of aluminum, it will bend from use or transport. Just use your hands to bend it back into shape and you are ready to go. If you bring some fire starter sticks as back-up, you should be able to cook even with damp sticks or splintered wood. Hint: if you use wood for fuel, this stove will get dirty with suet. SO... I coat mine with soap - either lathered hand soap or dish soap. Let the soap dry, then use the unit. After use, the suet will wash off easy. Bring a plastic bag to carry it around after use so that it won't smudge up the other stuff you are carrying. When you get home, put it in the dishwasher and it will clean up nice. Even most of the black suet and grime will come off. Camp on!

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cornbeefandcabbage
west coast and midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Top 500 contributor
Sterno Stove
5/25/2011

Customer review by djc4410

5.0 stars by djc4410

This is an excellent product for emergency use during severe storms when power outages are experienced. It is far safer to store Sterno fuel cans in a home than to have bottles of compressed gas present for use with other types of camp stoves. This stove has a zippered case with loops for attachment to backpacks.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
djc4410
Palm Beach County, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Pretty basic.
5/11/2012

Customer review by Kestrel

5.0 stars by Kestrel

Lightweight, easy to assemble, and holds a good amount of weight. I keep this as a backup for my propane campstove, and it works just fine for heating water or keeping food warm while using the burners on the stove for other things. It's also good in an emergency when the power is out, because Sterno can be safely used indoors. I can heat a can of soup on it in about the same time it takes to heat on my electric stove. The carrying case is strong canvas, and can hold not only the 2 cans of Sterno that come with it, but a couple of extras. A classic product for good reason!

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kestrel
Okatie, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
3/5/2012

Customer review by kls123

4.0 stars by kls123

Good value. A little flimsy perhaps, but what do you expect for the price and weight and size. Works really well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kls123
Locust, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Heats water, fries eggs, etc.
9/7/2012

Customer review by TekChris

4.0 stars by TekChris

It will get a tin cup of water hot in about 5 minutes, 8 minutes is much hotter, but I've never had patience to get a rolling boil and doubt that it can. It barely operates a coffee percolator, meaning it probably won't percolate on a cool day or if you fill the pot full. A small fry pan (such as from a mess kit) is ideal because it covers the entire top and captures all the heat. You can cook enough scrambled eggs for three people in about 10 minutes, which is a bit slower than a home stove. Heating is diminished if there is a slight breeze unless you have a large pan that covers the entire top. Incidentally, you can lay a second stove on top of the first one upside-down to make a kind of wind shield enclosure that works very well. Works both with Sterno gel fuel and wick type fuels in the similar sized cans. when you fold it, it wants to spring partway open unless you pack it under pressure or return it to the original cardboard sleeve. Overall, pretty cool, simple device.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TekChris
Northern Illinios
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Simple, Durable, and Easy To Use.
8/4/2013

Customer review by Rebelcowboy75

5.0 stars by Rebelcowboy75

I bought the Sterno stove a few days ago (I had one several years ago as a boy scout, but it was lost over the years.) for a camping trip my wife and I have planned. I got home and 3 hours later the power went out (typical Florida summer storms) while my wife was making dinner. Out comes the Sterno and my wife loved it as much as I always have. She instructed me to be certain to get another Sterno stove so she doesn't worry so much about me during hunting season, whether I'm eating good or not. Of course, I agreed. I'd highly recommend this product to anyone and everyone. It can turn a power outage or disaster into only a mild inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rebelcowboy75
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Sterno stove kit. 3-13-2014 $20.19 now.
3/13/2014

Customer review by abearwhocares

5.0 stars by abearwhocares

good item to have in an emergency supply box-- has your basics-- a single burner metal box stove- 2 cans of fuel [ total of about 4 hours low heat] and a handy bag to keep it together-- add some waterproof matches and a small screwdriver/pry bar to open cans and you could warm your hands or heat water or soup. nothing fancy but functional for a small pan/coffee pot or skillet. can be used indoors in a pinch--on a fireproof surface--stove top or metal sink-- level and solid base. low smoke / low odor fuel workable if power goes off...not good in a windy outdoor area. I like the coghlan 9957 stove [$8.49 now] better as it is more sturdy..got one of them also to have 2 burners if needed. ALWAYS have EXTRA!! canned fuel-- it goes fast. shop around for sterno-type fuels-- better prices in bulk-12/24/36/72 can boxes elsewhere. one power failure could make this a best buy to have gotten and stored with food items

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
abearwhocares
mid Ohio. USA!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 25 contributor
Bag not in pictured
4/1/2014

Customer review by charles910

2.0 stars by charles910

Bought this mainly for the carry bag. They replaced the red and silver bag with an all red bag. It is of extremely cheap material. Does not match the picture at all. The stove is still the same material. I am returning this item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
charles910
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
11/20/2012

Customer review by velvetlady

4.0 stars by velvetlady

Bought it as a back-up so I could cook if the lights went out again. Used it 2 days after receiving it. Did the job. Not my stove, but could get hot water for coffee and cook a stew. Great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
velvetlady
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for emergencies
3/2/2014

Customer review by PatsyCo

4.0 stars by PatsyCo

I purchased this item for emergencies, you know, in case of storms and the electricity goes out. I need to have some type of fuel to cook with. This will fill that purpose. All I need now is additional sterno.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PatsyCo
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cook, camp, emergency hot food? buy this.
7/20/2012

Customer review by ILoveWalmartPhillip

5.0 stars by ILoveWalmartPhillip

cook, camp, emergency hot food? buy this. Use Sterno or wood. buy the Coleman cook kit at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ILoveWalmartPhillip
Tampa Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Never been so dissapointed!
9/26/2014

Customer review by BrendaEp

1.0 stars by BrendaEp

This product arrive on time and appeared to be in good condition but when I opened it to check it out, I found one of the sterno cans to have been opened and leaked all over everything. Will be sending back for a refund!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BrendaEp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice and Easy
3/22/2012

Customer review by girlygirlny

5.0 stars by girlygirlny

No this is not a hair color review by the sound of my review summary! This Sterno Stove Kit is small for cooking one meal at a time so I will advise you get another backup.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
girlygirlny
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
junk
6/4/2012

Customer review by conball25

1.0 stars by conball25

junk dont stand up to the heat

Was this review helpful? (1) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
conball25
in the sticks on cny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little stove for primative camping
6/20/2012

Customer review by glas

5.0 stars by glas

Small, lightweight and easy to pack in backpack. The grill on the stove is large enough to accomodate a small pan or coffee perculator.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
glas
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
5/1/2013

Customer review by JoeDoewxyz

5.0 stars by JoeDoewxyz

I like this stove using the fuel recommended. Very light weight to carry and backpack.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JoeDoewxyz
56352
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Stove
5/12/2013

Customer review by intruder100

5.0 stars by intruder100

This is a great product for camping in the woods because of the light wgt. I would buy it for a back up stove not to be used every day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
intruder100
East Wakefield, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great stove kit for beginners or emergencies.
11/3/2013

Customer review by florida4me

5.0 stars by florida4me

Great stove kit for beginners or emergencies.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
florida4me
Venice, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product and at a walmart price
1/10/2014

Customer review by preppernow

5.0 stars by preppernow

Looks very durable, have not used it yet, but looking to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
preppernow
48827
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great stove for my 11 year old Boy Scout
4/20/2014

Customer review by devinbaby

4.0 stars by devinbaby

I bought this stove for my son who is a Boy Scout. It was light weight and easy to use. Good for backpack camping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
devinbaby
Whitman Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.