Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-18 of 18 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good tools for self-exploration
12/27/2016

Customer review by Happylhomemaker

3.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Happylhomemaker
by Happylhomemaker

Let's start with the loves: I love that the case holds all the stuff you need to use. Built in storage = love! I love that the kit has many different tools for exploring on your own -- little putty knives, droppers, tweezers, specimen bottles, tons of slides w/labels & covers. The idea that you can take a photo of what you see in the microscope. What I'm not in love with: It's all a bit on the cheap side. I spend nearly the same for premade slides and a "real" microscope earlier this year. But no tools were included. The microscope is a bit hard to use. It took forever to get the light to work; I actually thought it was broken at first. My 8 year old and I spent HOURS this summer and I don't think we ever managed to see anything through it. If you have a kid who is totally into science and highly motivated to SEE things, this might be fine. If you are a science nut who loves microscopes and totally gets how they work, this would be fine. My kids are not motivated and I'm not comfortable so we had trouble using it. Our other one was easier, but still difficult so I gave it 3 stars because I'm sure much of it was user error.

Happylhomemaker
great white north, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great starter microcope for the older-elementary child!
9/2/2016

Customer review by Megan

4.0 stars 9/2/2016 by Megan
by Megan

My kids are debating between four and five stars for this microscope. We received this product in exchange for an honest review and were pleasantly surprised at its functionality, as we expected it to be more of a toy. The kids really enjoyed looking at the prepared slides that come with it, and were thrilled that empty slides were included so they could make their own. The kids (ranging from 9 to 13) did need some assistance with the set-up, as the directions were a little bit confusing at times, but nothing that an adult reading more carefully couldn't handle. By changing out the lens, there are a variety of magnifications available, but careful handling of the lens is required, and a younger child may need assistance. The light provided was plenty strong for viewing the slides but a bit of additional light might help with the projection feature. My kids are very excited to continue their explorations with this microscope!

Megan
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great microscope set!
8/29/2016

Customer review by Jen G

5.0 stars 8/29/2016 by Jen G
by Jen G

I received this microscope set from Educational Insights in exchange for my honest review. We are very pleased with this set and plan to use it many times during this school year. The set came packaged very well and included all pieces. The microscope does require two AA batteries (not included) and we found it very easy to insert the batteries. The set also includes 10X and 30X eyepieces, prepared and blank slides, petri dish, specimen vials, slide covers and labels, camera adapter, projection/drawing device, scalpel, spatula, tweezers, magnifying glass, measuring graduate, stirring stick, pipette, test tube with cap and a nice case for storing and carrying the set. We viewed several of the prepared slides without any difficulty. We will use the remainder of the set during the school year and anticipate having no issues with those items. We were impressed with the number of items included in this set and the ease of use. We thought the added options of image projection and camera adapter were great to have and will be used often. I would highly recommend this item.

Jen G
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Starter Microscope!
11/19/2016

Customer review by Traci

4.0 stars 11/19/2016 by Traci
by Traci

My 11 year old received this as a gift and adores using it! The magnification is great, there are multiple slides provided, endless more you can create, & is simple for a child to use to build their investigative skills.The slides are plastic, so excellent for the budding scientist to work with unassisted by an adult. It comes in a carrying case so everything stays together and can be moved around to different areas in our home for use. Our only frustration was the camera feature didn't work well, but otherwise it's a fabulous starter microscope and perfectly suited for elementary age children.

Traci
Ashburn, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just ok
11/19/2016

Customer review by Ufg8trj

3.0 stars 11/19/2016 by Ufg8trj
by Ufg8trj

We were really excited to test this toy out. My kids love playing with binoculars and rocks and leaves so I thought they would think it was really cool. We found some flowers and leaves outside to check out but the set up took a while so thy were already losing interest. The images weren't very clear and it was hard to see them all. The ones we did get to work were really cool- for a minute or so and then the kids lost interest. They haven't asked to open it again. I had high hopes for this, but it just didn't hold my kids attention. I will definitely try it again though.

Ufg8trj
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great beginner microscope set for the young scientist!
8/9/2016

Customer review by kindercards

5.0 stars 8/9/2016 by kindercards
by kindercards

I received this product and my 12 year old was so excited to use it. It comes with 98 pieces. My daughter went and found a bug and other items to use in the slides. It did a really good job of magnifying the objects in the slides. A few of the slides did appear like they had scratches on them, but she was still able to see the items. We were able to get the projector to work. We needed to be in a dark room, so we opted for the bathroom. Overall this is a great product for someone interested in science. It is a good beginner microscope.

kindercards
Dell Rapids, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Upper Elementary kids
8/7/2016

Customer review by Cakes

5.0 stars 8/7/2016 by Cakes
by Cakes

This microscope is great for curious learners ages 8-12. It is easy to use and comes with prepared slides and extras to make your own. It also has specimen jars and a small, plastic magnifying glass. All products are sturdy, heavy weight plastic, including the tools. My 8 year old son put it together and had fun exploring the prepared slides and using it. Great for homeschoolers to play with.

Cakes
Cedar Falls, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great starter kit for kids in Grades 3+/Ages 8+
8/29/2016

Customer review by Trisha W.

4.0 stars 8/29/2016 by Trisha W.
by Trisha W.

Pros: * Easy to focus * High zoom * Includes a projector * Includes eight different projects for budding scientists to explore * Includes five plastic prepared slides: Apple, Broad bean leaf, Hydrilla verticillata leaf, Onion bulb epidermis, and Pollen * Includes 18 blank slides so students can study things of personal interest * Slides are plastic so there's less worry about kids breaking slides and cutting themselves Cons: * Slide container opens and spills out slides easily if scientists aren't careful * It's a bit hard for kids to put all of the little pieces into their place in the box * When looking through the microscope, the image often has a rainbow-like look to it * I wish a few more prepared slides were included The convenient storage and carrying case is pretty well designed to store all of the components in an organized manner. The plastic box which holds the slides in our kit doesn't seem to click into the case as securely as the other elements in this set. Other than that, I am very happy with the case. This microscope needs a bit of adult supervision for new users. I had one very eager learner who jumped in without reading the instructions and ran into a few small problems. Once my teenager worked with my 10 y.o., things went much more smoothly. My teen says, "No matter the age, read the instructions first." Some initial thoughts from my 10 year old: The light worked better than the mirror. The way the light shined, dust interfered with viewing samples. If you clean off the bulb, this problem is minimized. At 900x you can see the little dots on the pollen slide very easily! Overall this set was a hit with my kids third grade and up. While I think home schooling families with younger scientists will enjoy using this microscope, those with high school aged students would probably be better off looking for a higher quality unit.

Trisha W.
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent starter microscope set! Lots of fun!
8/25/2016

Customer review by Sarah S.

4.0 stars 8/25/2016 by Sarah S.
by Sarah S.

I received this product from the company free to try out for my honest review. My children ages 7 to 13 absolutely love this microscope set. Even my older teenagers were enjoying looking at the slides the younger kids made. It's great as a starter microscope to get kids interested in the microscopic world around them. The kit comes in a nice carry box to keep everything together and all kinds of things to help kids make slides and use the microscope. It comes with 5 prepared slides to look at right our of the box, Onion bulb, broad bean leaf, Hydrilla leaf, apple, and pollen. It also comes with plenty of blank slides and slide covers to make your own. Also, the slides are plastic which makes me more comfortable with my younger kids making slides. Once we got the microscope going with batteries and the correct magnification, my kids ran around the house and made slides out of everything. Pizza and beeswax were very interesting magnified. Also, human hair, dog hair, cracker, salt, sugar, and so many other things. The light is plenty bright enough to see the things on the slides. Or if you are in a bright or sunny area, there is a mirror on the other side of the light that can be used instead. This kit also comes with a projector that you put on top of the microscope and it will project the image on a dark wall. I found that the light on the microscope was not bright enough to project the slide. But if I put my cell phone flashlight under it, it showed up very well. Also it comes with a stand that sits on top of the eyepiece so that you can take pictures of your images. It seemed to hold my cell phone to far away from the eyepiece to get a good image. We had better luck just holding the cell phone camera directly to the eyepiece and taking the picture. Even with those two issues we had, I still feel that this is a great microscope for kids to get interested in science.

Sarah S.
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
MicroPro Elite
6/14/2015

Customer review by Beth

5.0 stars 6/14/2015 by Beth
by Beth

My grandson just adores this microscope set. He has had so much fun and learned so much from it.

Beth
Independence MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good set for a middle school student.
9/17/2012

Customer review by Zayla

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by Zayla
by Zayla

I have a 10 yr old that likes science. She was absolutely thrilled to get this for her birthday! This set is nice enough to encourage her love of science but not so expensive that I'd cry if it didn't get the use that I would like to see. So far she has used it regularly and is able to do so without assistance. We haven't got the projector to work but we also haven't fully messed with it yet so I don't want to judge that. The knives and tools for making slides are plastic so I don't have to worry about the use of them. Overall I think this is a nice set for a grade school student but think a better set would be more appropriate for a high school student. I would also recommend purchasing additional slides as I did to keep the interest at its peek.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zayla
Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great gift for prying young minds
8/21/2012

Customer review by Mameshki

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Mameshki
by Mameshki

I sent this Microscope to my grandson for his birthday and all claimed it was the best gift of the party. The kid has used it often and loves it. A while back I sent him some drums from Walmart and he loved them also. why do I keep coming back WalMart, service and better customer service and return policy. Great Job. BR

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mameshki
Portland Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
12/27/2013

Customer review by doopa2

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by doopa2
by doopa2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Would recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doopa2
Toms river, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/15/2012

Customer review by aggreviated

1.0 stars 10/15/2012 by aggreviated
by aggreviated

Waste of money! You cannot see anything under the microscope. We returned it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aggreviated
Would recommend to a friend? No
Basic Starter Kit
1/3/2013

Customer review by goldfidler

3.0 stars 1/3/2013 by goldfidler
by goldfidler
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read the reviews and it is as described. I bought this for my 6-year old daughter so I could show here the "little world" within things. It served its purpose but I wish I had found a used industrial model from a school rather than this one. Lots of plastic and cheap materials. You get exactly what you pay for...

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldfidler
Lake Harmony, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great gift
12/23/2013

Customer review by Miss1056

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Miss1056
by Miss1056
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exactly as described.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miss1056
Marble Hill, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Considering the price a decent value.
1/3/2014

Customer review by trk45

3.0 stars 1/3/2014 by trk45
by trk45
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems ok for the price. Lots of parts. Good for a third grader. One of the two screw on eyepieces screws into the microscope. I will try to clean out the threads of the other.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trk45
Riverview, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap looking
12/29/2013

Customer review by VicBanana

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by VicBanana
by VicBanana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product is very shabby looking and not well made. Parts missing and lenses claim to magnify 900x but doesn't.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VicBanana
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.