Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.3out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 | 18 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-17 of 17 reviews
1-17 of 17 reviews
Excellent learning activity!
11/12/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received the Geosafari Motorized Solar System for free in order to give a honest review. All opinions are 100% my own. My daughter is only 3 years old and is already interested in the solar system and so I knew she would adore this educational toy. This was very simple to put together. She loves it and doesn't mind to much but the motor is a little noisy. Tolerable, but noisy. I recommend purchasing the AC adaptor with this. As much as it engages children and they want to play with it for so long, it runs through batteries quickly. It also has a Stardome that coverts the unit into a planetarium which I think is awesome, although my daughter does not really understand it yet. I think its a great feature for when she gets a little older and cares to learn about the stars more. It does have small parts, so you must keep an eye on any younger children but I would recommend this for children under 8 as well, just because it is very educational and fun for younger kids to learn on as well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
We loved it!
11/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 11 year old opened this and he loved it. We put it together very easily. The instructions were easy to follow and each planet is labeled as to the instructions for the order you place them. This was fun to use at home and would be a great item to add to anyone homeschooling and learning about the solar system. The only thing is that it was to big to sit on his dresser so we had to leave it on the floor which was no problem.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
you get what you pay for
12/27/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a good model to show kids the basics. I have a 6 year old and a 3 year old. This was a gift for my 6 year old boy. He has been asking questions and studying some about the planets and solar system in school. This helped to put things in perspective and show him how the solar system works. The planets on this model don't rotate on their axis. In real life, the planets move around the sun at different rates of speed and the instruction booklet with this product explains this and tells the different rates at which they rotate and revolve around the sun but when you turn it on, they all go at the same speed around the sun. Another con we found was that the instruction booklet says that an ac adapter cord is included, but ours did not have one in the box. Will have to ask customer service about that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I was expecting.
12/29/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The general idea is good, but I think if you are going to motorize the planets, they need to function a little better. The planets seem to move at mostly the same speed, with some planets standing still intermittently. My daughter enjoyed putting it together, and we were both happy that they included Pluto.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The title says educational, I do not think it is.
3/17/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It just spins in a circle, all the planets at the same speed. The planets are mostly the same size and don't even look close to the colors of the real planets. I am extremely disappointed in this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great learning tool!
11/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this Solar System to review from Educational Insights. My youngest daughter is obsessed with just about everything in the sky. Before receiving this product she had a small push button light for her room that would project stars on the ceiling and we were both excited when we got the Solar System. Not only is it functional, but it is educational as well. I can tell her what the planets are and how they move around the sun and the best part is that she can also see it in motion with this! You can have the sun light up and just be yellow, or you can switch the top and it projects constellations on the ceiling which in my opinion is much better than just stars. She loves watching the planets circle around and loves pointing out the constellations on the ceiling. We have so much fun with this and I think it's great for all kids!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not great
2/23/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The motor is working well with the same speed for all planets. The dish for Saturn is not fit, we cannot mount it on the Saturn. The upper part of the Sun is not well connected to the lower part. It is very easy to fall off with a gentle touch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun Product. Awesome Customer Service!
1/29/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My son loves the GeoSafari Morotized Solar System. He gets it out now and then to put it together and use it. I have also brought it to our preschool class to show them how the planets orbit the sun. Granted that they don't move in a perfect circle in real life but they get the idea that they move around. The planets themselves do not rotate on the machine while they orbit but you can educate on that fact. The replacement light bulbs are hard to find. The planets will still orbit the sun, it's just the sun that won't shine if the bulb is burnt out. Still useable. Jenna in customer service was so helpful in taking care of our questions and equipment inquiries!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Birthday gift
11/20/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this as a birthday gift for a young child. He absolutely loves his "solar system". He can tell you what planets are, the proper order,, largest and smallest planets, etc. Enjoying the planets rotation, spinning around.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Inferior Quality
6/25/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The first problem I had with this is that the screw for the battery compartment did not screw back in when I put batteries in. I heard the inner pieces fall out into the device, and had to to find my own screw that would fit to close it. Secondly, for the price I paid, I at least expected the planets to orbit in the correct speeds, not all at the same speed. I would rather spend a bit more for accuracy. The only educational value is in where the planets are in relation to each other?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didnt keep real time orbit around sun
7/27/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Beside the motor that is obviously a piece of trash from previous comments and my own motor failing. The 2 other gripes I have is that it could at least come with a power adapter for when the motor breaks down the planetarium will light up, instead of batteries, would lighten the sting of buying a poorly made motor. The last grip I have is where is the southern hemisphere dome for the planetarium part of it, would love to see those stars also. Just a little more and you guys got a hit!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good example of planets
11/3/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Solar system in motion. First off, the instructions were very well done . My 9 yr old son put this together in less then 15 min by himself . One thing he did notice was the machine itself is rather loud while it rotates. Also the light bulb is not as bright as it could.be, it's hard to see the constellations on the wall. Also it was a little hard to distinguish between which planets were which. He thought it was a very cool model. But has those ideas to pass on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My grandson loves it!
10/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My grandson loves it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT
5/14/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Birthday present for my eldest son (5) who is very much into learning everything there is to know about the planets and our solar system. Product arrived with one of two bulbs already bad. Neither the sun or the constellation hemispheres stay in place without masking tape. Motor never worked, never rotated the planets. Very disappointed little boy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed Kid on Christmas
12/25/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We thought this product would make for a good christmas gift for our son but after assembling this morning and making sure that the batteries & adaptor were working properly, we have come to the conclusion that one of the bulbs included was already burned out and that the motor simply does not work at all. Needless to say, he was very disappointed after realizing that the product was broken on arrival.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great as a Teaching Tool!
1/18/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is absolutely perfect for teaching children about the solar system! I love how it actually orbits around the sun to show how the solar system works! This tool is great for visual learners in the classroom or at home!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brilliant!
3/18/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a really decent size, sturdy and easy to put together. My children LOVE it. A great addition to any classroom or home.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642870, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-