Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-16 of 16 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great tripod - exceptional value!
7/15/2011

Customer review by Tonra

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by Tonra
by Tonra

Value: This is an excellent tripod and includes a carry case. An extraordinary value for such a very, low price. Strength: Very solid; supports my Nikon D7000 with 70-300m lens without shake or blur. Flexibility: The legs have the quick-release locks which makes it fast and easy to extend or retract. The leg locks are very secure once locked in place. The tripod also comes with a quick-release plate for the camera. It is also very convenient and easy to use. Awareness: (I don't necessarily consider these negative since this is an inexpensive tripod, but be aware..) -- 1) The tripod is a bit heavy and not recommended for long hikes. 2) The quick-release plate is convenient, but is proprietary (not Arca-Swiss compatible). If you require another plate, it's difficult to find the plate if searching for it under Vivitar brand; however, the identical plate is made by Sunpak and can be found easily as Sunpak Quick Release Plate for Ultra 757 Tripod.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tonra
College Park, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
One happy customer
3/14/2011

Customer review by amyforshort

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by amyforshort
by amyforshort

I have been looking for a tall tripod that can hold my nikon d200 with the external flash without sliding or feeling "wonky". This exceeds my expectations and the price can't be beat. The last one I bought (same brand) for almost 3 times the price a few years ago, and it wasn't as tall. just in case you're wondering why I had to buy a new one within a few years... my old tripod lived in the back of my van and took a beating. It finally broke after one of my kids stepped on it. Great product, great price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amyforshort
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Tripod
4/18/2011

Customer review by Photographman

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by Photographman
by Photographman

All I can say is, "WOW, WOW, WOW". I can't believe the superb quality of this product for only $39.00. I am a professional photographer and this is a professional tripod. In other stores, this tripod would cost you beyond $100.00. This is the tripod to get.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photographman
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
7/21/2011

Customer review by matt24bucs

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by matt24bucs
by matt24bucs

Great tripod for my purposes. Uneven ground, steady sight, and folds up and stores nicely in case.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
matt24bucs
venice,florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best low cost and stable tripod
7/16/2013

Customer review by hobbyist12

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by hobbyist12
by hobbyist12

I have seen a lot of tripod and most of them are costly , I just took this one and I am so satisfied , stable , pan head is smooth and the overall feel is very good . It is perfect for my Canon 5D Mark II with the 24-105 Lens , I was looking for a stable and long tripod at a good price and this fits perfectly .

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hobbyist12
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LOVE THIS tripod
12/23/2011

Customer review by lovechocolate2

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by lovechocolate2
by lovechocolate2

I had a less sturdy tripod before, I searched online and read and read reviews of tripods, but brought this one. This is a sturdy tripod and it will hold my camcorder in place because the head secures when tightened. I tried to move the head after I tightened it and the head wouldn't move. The legs on this tripod is sturdy. It appears to be a well made product and it has a carrying case. This is an excelland product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovechocolate2
greensboro,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent for the price: solid
1/15/2013

Customer review by steve7777

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by steve7777
by steve7777

This is a sturdy tripod. It is not what you want to backpack with, but it will hold your DSLR and big lens still. The aluminum legs are of significant diameter. The quick release plate is essential for those that want to move their camera rapidly from the tripod to handheld. The pan movement is smooth. The built in levels do their job. The tripod legs have both points and rubber tips at their ends (you screw out the rubber to cover the points if you want. The only concern is the plastic fittings ... but at this price, you cannot expect more. If you are going to play rough with the tripod and sling it about in all weather and temperatures, then get an all metal one. The first tripod I ordered had a plastic part broken in transit (the box had a gash in it) ... so I returned that and reordered (this time it was shipped with another cardboard box outside the regular box the tripod came in and arrived safely). I am quite satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steve7777
West Bath, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product -except!
1/3/2013

Customer review by lyufyflyfyrdt

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by lyufyflyfyrdt
by lyufyflyfyrdt

I have dealt with Vivitar for years although this is my first purchase from them in awhile. They sold out a few years ago -it does not sit well with me. Their customer service department has an English problem. First I love the tripod. It is tall enough and certainly heavy (a good trait in a tripod for a real photographer.) My problem is a full side of the plastic head was broken off. The broken edges were tacky with glue from where the factory hoped to fix it and sell a second at first prices. Customer service insisted that I pay return postage for their broken product. I took it back to Walmart and got a prompt refund. I did go to the Vivitar website and left a message -it has been three weeks with no reply. My plan is to reorder it and check it over very closely. If need be I will order and refund all Winter to get a product that is not broken. They ship it in the colorful shelf box which is not adequate protection for shipping.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lyufyflyfyrdt
Western MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Above Expectations for first impression quality
8/26/2012

Customer review by WolfiesDad

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by WolfiesDad
by WolfiesDad

More substantial a piece of equipment than I expected. A good value for the price. I have not used it much yet but expect it will do well. I am 6'4" and a tall tripod is a good thing. The tripod was shipped in its product packaging only and during shipment punched a hole in the box and subsequently cut a 1-1.5 inch split in the storage bag. The tripod itself was undamaged except for a small burnished spot in the paint on a bracket. In the big picture not a big deal at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WolfiesDad
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good tripod
8/11/2011

Customer review by Reynnian

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Reynnian
by Reynnian

I take it on long bike rides with my Nikon D90 and it works great. There are however a few things I would have liked to have seen on this tripod: 1. Detachable head. 2. Shorter body, but retaining maximum height. They could have done this by having shorter legs with 3 releases as opposed to 2. 3. Alternate way to lock the three legs other than the leg brace. The Leg brace doesn't allow the tripod to spread the legs so that the head reaches closer to the floor. This is imperative for low height reflection shots. 4. A shorter head panning handle (or even better, a knob handle), the handle is very long, making it difficult to look at the viewfinder of the camera. However, it can be removed once the head is positioned. I would give this tripod a 4.5/5 because of the points above, but I wouldn't remove a whole star. All in all, I still would recommend this tripod to a friend. However, for an extra $10 you might want to look at the Dolica Floor Standing Tripod, 62". If the 4 points above are deal breakers for you, then a professional $100 tripod (body only) and $50 head might be best.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reynnian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/19/2012

Customer review by luluizzycro

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by luluizzycro
by luluizzycro

I was looking for a tall professional tripod and this fits the bill perfectly. It is excellent and I couldn't ask for a better price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luluizzycro
Pembroke Pines, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy on a tripod
2/8/2013

Customer review by Photobuff15

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by Photobuff15
by Photobuff15

We are very pleased with this new tripod. The various adjustments--height, level, add and remove the camera, etc--are easy to make. The tripod is very stable, and it is a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photobuff15
Manhattan, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding for the price
7/29/2011

Customer review by Bigtoe22

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Bigtoe22
by Bigtoe22

Sturdy Well constructed Buy this and you won't regret it, and the price is right! I am 6'4" and I need a taller tripod and this one does the job and some.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigtoe22
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Professional Tripod at a great price!
1/13/2012

Customer review by dkmarte

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by dkmarte
by dkmarte

I bought this for my boyfriends birthday because he left his in another country. It was shipped to him promptly.. He called me so excited to say it is WAY better than the one he had.. He said it is sturdy and a very professional setup.. He is quite pleased with it and thinks I spent a fortune on it! I'll just let him think that, even though the price was awesome! Thanks for such a great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dkmarte
Aurora, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value
4/10/2011

Customer review by Hojoler

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by Hojoler
by Hojoler

I needed a tall tripod to hold a video camera for recording myself playing guitar. This tripod is very sturdy, even at his tallest. For the roughly $40 that it cost, it is a fantastic tripod. I almost bought a more expensive one that was twice the price thinking it would be of my minimum quality, but I took a chance on this one. I don't regret it one bit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hojoler
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/6/2012

Customer review by keon24

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by keon24
by keon24

Finally a Good value for a small price !!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keon24
jacksonville,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.