Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 38 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
It Might Work.
3/30/2011

Customer review by gjwbiker

1.0 stars 3/30/2011 by gjwbiker
by gjwbiker

I followed the instructions to install the software on my Windows XP machine, so I could read SIM cards (that's why I bought this). It wouldn't work. I did uninstalls, restarts, shut off my anti-virus software, still no good. I called Vivitar, and the woman seemed to have worked very hard at speaking English, but was communicating by reading off a checklist, and there was no ability to converse. I had done everything she said previously, but repeated everything again. It still didn't work. I planned to return the device. Just for the heck of it, I tried it on my other Windows XP machine, and it worked the first time. Go figure. Both machines have the same OS, with Intel chips, made by Dell, and the same firewall/antivirus software. I've worked with computers for decades, and can't explain it. At this point, I kept the device, and will use it on the second machine if I need to read a SIM card, but won't spend any more time trying to figure this out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gjwbiker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great reader and great price
1/19/2011

Customer review by blazenstar

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by blazenstar
by blazenstar

This is really a wonderful card reader and most importantly I found this product extremely easy to use. I plugged it into my computer, inserted the memory card and then I was amazed to see how fast the card reader read the card, it was instantly with absolutely no wait time. And the price, wow can't beat the price either, best card reader I have ever seen or used.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blazenstar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All but one!
4/12/2011

Customer review by midcenturyman

3.0 stars 4/12/2011 by midcenturyman
by midcenturyman

You would think if it reads 71 cards it would read all of them, NOT! It does not read "Smartmedia". I had to buy a more expensive one. So make sure you read thru all of the description.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
midcenturyman
Palm Desert, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Works well, needs improvement on Sim Card software
4/3/2011

Customer review by xxthexx0nexx

4.0 stars 4/3/2011 by xxthexx0nexx
by xxthexx0nexx

I've had this for a couple of weeks and it works flawlessly except for the program bundled with it for the SIM Card. I had to download a program off the internet for it to work. I do Love the fact that I can put in my Micro SD, Memory Stick Pro Duo, and SD card all at once and import them at the same time! It is worth the $10. It imports multimedia very fast! this would be an awesome product if they fixed the bundled software!!! BTW I'm using Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 64-Bit

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxthexx0nexx
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Helpful, Good Product
12/19/2010

Customer review by NSG1

4.0 stars 12/19/2010 by NSG1
by NSG1

Just got product and began using it. Inside product it gives you the Vivitar accessory website to download latest drivers, which was a bit lengthy and a little difficult to do, but not too bad considering I'm not the most computer literate person. Product seems to work well so far, haven't tried SIM card in it yet but CF and SD seem to work real well and fast. It makes it easier to transfer pics given that you only have to hook up small device with its own cord as opposed to camera and cord. It does have a short cord but given its small size I kind of expected it not to have a real lengthy cord. Cord on device is very suffice it serves the purpose well. Walmart definitely has a price hard to beat considering other retailers selling same product for twice as much. It seems to have an exceptionally wide range of cards it can read and although I only have a few of those types at least I know what ever I do get in future as far as different cards I am confident card reader will read it, plus again for the price it was too hard to pass up. Construction of product seems to be good, its got a good solid feel to it, not a cheap plastic feel. Only reason I gave it 4 stars on overall rating is do to loading drivers (as previously discussed) other then that haven't seen anything to be concerned with. If you can follow directions and aren't abusive to card reader I think it will last a long time. I bought a few to give away for presents, but felt I should buy one for myself and try it out first, I'm glad I did, good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NSG1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good as long as you don't want a sim card reader
8/19/2011

Customer review by shoprBee

2.0 stars 8/19/2011 by shoprBee
by shoprBee

I purchased this product specifically to be able to transfer my phone sim card information to my computer. Even after repeated emails to Vivitar's customer support, I am unable to get the software to recognize the device. I have been able to use it to read other cards like a compact flash card from my camera as well as a micro sc card from another phone. And it works great for those cards. I chose this product to work with sim cards, so I'm giving it a very low rating, and would not recommend it for that purpose. For all other purposes yes, it gets a thumbs up. Yet for sims = thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoprBee
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not workable
3/27/2011

Customer review by Bob0565

1.0 stars 3/27/2011 by Bob0565
by Bob0565

I am returning this product. it does not work. It keeps trying to reformat my compactflash card.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob0565
Upland, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Unexpected Surprise
4/25/2011

Customer review by Writer18

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Writer18
by Writer18

I had purchased a business computer that had no provision for data cards and needed a card reader. Not only was it easy to find on the Walmart site, but the price was fantastic as well. I utilized the Site to Store provision and was very happy with the result. Also included with the card reader was the ability to record on a SIM chip which allows me to download to my phone and even change the SIM chips from one phone to another. This particular card reader also came with its own attached USB cord so everything is self-contained without any extra parts. Great Buy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Writer18
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic!
3/31/2011

Customer review by HillCountryNewYorker

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by HillCountryNewYorker
by HillCountryNewYorker

This product was literally plugged in and worked. I did not need to load the software (that came with it on a disc - a rarity these days.) It took all my cards and popped right up on the computer. The price was unbeatable and the quality and ease of use is suburb. If you need a card reader by this one!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HillCountryNewYorker
Wimberley, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
useful option
6/4/2011

Customer review by ogeezer4

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by ogeezer4
by ogeezer4

The price is great and size is small enough to travel easily which makes for a 'travel reader'. You never know what kind of card you might need to 'read'.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ogeezer4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Works as advertised
8/12/2011

Customer review by pjbeta

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by pjbeta
by pjbeta

The card reader seems nicely made and works well. I was able to transfer contacts from an at&t phone sim card to a net10 sim card with no problem. The only limitation (sim cards, not the reader) is that if you have a contact with multiple phone numbers it will only copy one number. The only thing I would change about this device would be the usb cable, it's permanently attached and stores by clipping into the back/bottom of the device. It's not very flexible and it seems that it could break more easily because of that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pjbeta
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
sim card reader does'nt work
10/20/2012

Customer review by C35245

1.0 stars 10/20/2012 by C35245
by C35245

I purchased this product specifically fo the sim reader capability. The first unit I received did not work. I worked with the the conpany exchanging e-mails to see if I was doing something wrong, and they could not help me to get it to work. The product kept telling me it could not identify the drive for the sim reader. I was told to return the product (which cost me over $6.00 to pay for the return), and they would replace it with another unit. I received the new unit today. I tried loading he software for the sim reader, and got the same results, as with the first product. Bottomm line, I am out the cost of the unit (approximately $11.00, plus the shipping cost of $6.00. I would not recommend this produt to anyone. In fact, if there is anyone who bought this item, I would be interested in knowing if theirs worked.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
C35245
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great card reader
2/4/2011

Customer review by Waynesboro

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by Waynesboro
by Waynesboro

Works great in both Linux puppy and Windows XP! Have read CF, SD, Micro SD without a problem Has small LED light up so you know card has been read. It has a small trick to it but you can figure it out by the pictures. Any card that has to go in the bottom slots needs to be put in upside down. To put it another way When reading Micro or Mini SD,SD,XD, Flip the reader over and install the card like you normally would and use the slot that the picture on the reader says too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Waynesboro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
1/17/2011

Customer review by doublehook

1.0 stars 1/17/2011 by doublehook
by doublehook

Disappointed. Bought this with the idea of downloading pictures instead of hooking up the camera every time. My SDHC card will not seat in the reader no matter what! Have had a long term relationship with Vivitar going back to the seventies but this one really stumps me. Looking for another type of reader now.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doublehook
Santa Barbara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Vivatar Card Reader
2/21/2011

Customer review by HTL1

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by HTL1
by HTL1

I like this reader writer. A quality item, comes with some coupons for photos & songs; nice setup on PC. Would recommend if you need a flexible reader writer, It must read and write most cards I'm using with XD and SD cards.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HTL1
central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Would buy again
2/17/2011

Customer review by 85743

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by 85743
by 85743

Can't beat the price. No problems using, nothing to load. Easy breezy...have recommended to friends. If you are looking for something super small this is not for you.... it measures 1 3/4" x 3 3/4"

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
85743
az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Purchased for SIM Card Reader!
2/14/2013

Customer review by teddyzoom

3.0 stars 2/14/2013 by teddyzoom
by teddyzoom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this item for the sole use of the SIM Card Reader! The enclosed instructions were lacking in detail. I was able to download my old SIM card with it's phone book; but, there was no save icon or even a way to label the phone book download! I then downloaded the phone book to my new SIM Card; and, then had T-Mobile upload from my SIM to my new phone! So, it does work; just, not very clear on how to use the program! I even tried to download a User Manual from Vivitar's website with no luck!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
teddyzoom
Republic, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/16/2011

Customer review by RealBigFoot

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by RealBigFoot
by RealBigFoot

This reader appears to read every kind of card except the one in my camera. My fault for not checking further into what it would do. When it said 72 cards, I assumed it would do what I wanted. I fully got the true definition of the word "assume." Appears to work well for what it does. If only it would read SmartMedia cards, but I realize they are old generation memory cards.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RealBigFoot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/14/2011

Customer review by angel06153303

4.0 stars 8/14/2011 by angel06153303
by angel06153303

I do not know much about electronics....but when my husband wanted this i said ok...we got it in the mail an I LOVE IT!!! I can easly take my pics of my laptop and bring them to the store and hav them printed out now...as well as many other things...the only issue i hav is thats it a tight fit puting my sd cards into it...but with patentience it wrks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angel06153303
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
Great Card Reader
8/23/2011

Customer review by Bubbameister

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by Bubbameister
by Bubbameister

I bought this card reader for a friend. So far both of us have used it multible times and it works great. Very user friendly, just plug it in. To read a SIM card you need to download software which it comes with and took less than two minutes. I would recommend this to everyone from the novice to the expert. And you can't beat the price!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubbameister
Chester,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews