Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 48 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
19.99 Great Value!
4/9/2013

Customer review by CityGirl70

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by CityGirl70
by CityGirl70

19.99 Great Value! I have posted some pictures of the actual kit. The small spools of thread have only 25 yards and the larger spools have 150 yards. The description does not specify the yardage and it should. I think the kit is a great value because just 1 spool of all purpose thread is 2.17 at Walmart. The spools are half as much yardage, but even at half the price for 20 spools adds up to the total cost of the kit and you get so much more. I love the variety of colors. The threads do not fall out when I open the case, if I push the thread spool all the way down they stay just fine because there are little protrusions that hold them in. I used some of the thread with my Brother sewing machine to make button holes and sew on some buttons, I did not have any problems with breakage, but this thread is just average nothing special. I never have problems with thread getting caught on the rough edges of a spool because my machines thread holder does not sit upright, it is sideways and has a cap that holds the spool on. The kit does not open as smoothly as I'd like but it is not a deal breaker for me.

Was this review helpful? (82) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CityGirl70
WVC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the Money
1/2/2016

Customer review by LaurainLouisiana

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by LaurainLouisiana
by LaurainLouisiana

My husband purchased one of these a few years ago with a sewing machine he got me at Walmart. I thought it was just a thread caddy, but to my surprise it was full of spools of thread, and included straight pins, pin cushion, seam ripper, scissors, bobbins, sewing needles, tape measure - in essence, all of the things needed to get me started sewing. It was MUCH better than just an empty box to store my notions. (And a few years ago, it was only $19.99). That being said, there is not a whole lot of thread on the spools, although there is a good variety of colors. And, the quality of the items included is not spectacular. However, everything is quite functional, and you have a good variety of threads to do any mending and small projects. As my spools give out I just replace them with normal capacity ones. I've purchased this to go with a small machine I gave my son for mending, and for a friend, and have purchased a new one for myself for my new machine after my house burned. The newer one has tiny flanges on the spindles to keep the spools in place when opening the case.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaurainLouisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great!
1/27/2016

Customer review by NinaB

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by NinaB
by NinaB

My friend showed me her set and I had to order me one. If you have a sewing machine then this kit is essential!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NinaB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth the price
4/16/2011

Customer review by UncleArtie

2.0 stars 4/16/2011 by UncleArtie
by UncleArtie

Unless you keep the storage case upright and open very carefully all of the spools of thread fall out, and the side pockets for patterns are slightly narrower than the patterns, so you can only jam in 1 pattern on each side! Came with lots of black thread, but only 1 very small spool of white! All in all, not worth the price!

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UncleArtie
Pequot Lakes, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not a good idea!
7/14/2012

Customer review by Novista

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Novista
by Novista

I saw this same EXACT storage system being sold on HSN. I read their reviews, then started checking out reviews on-line. I started with Wal-Mart to see if they even carried it. Sure enough, it was completely the same excet it was $10.00 cheaper! Off I went to Wal-Mart and thank God I opened the box (with permission) to compare it with the reviews I had read. This product is made VERY poorly. Everything was made with very cheap plastic and as the reviews had portrayed, the spools of thread (which had only STRANDS of thread on them) fell out as soon as I opened the case. I think they expect you to keep the cardboard template over the spools all the time, in the closed position. The outside pockets will barely hold 2 patterns, and the plastic compartments inside would never suffice for ample room for notions needed. I ended up buying a very pretty sewing basket made out of beautiful material for $19.97. I bought all of the notions that the "Storage System" offered PLUS more, and ended up with a very well-made, put-together Sewing Basket that I know I will have for many years to come, at a great total that I knew I could afford. If you are serious about your sewing hobby/business, it is so well worth choosing items that you know you won't have to replace for many years to come. "Following with my gut" sure saved me alot of stress , aggravation AND money that I undoubtedly would have had to endure otherwise! Doing my homework has paid off once again! :)

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Novista
Hilton Head Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
ok for beginner & on sale
1/24/2012

Customer review by cyhawk28

3.0 stars 1/24/2012 by cyhawk28
by cyhawk28

I bought this when I bought my first sewing machine here recently. Its a very cheap case, the side containers dont stay shut when its closed. The spools all fall off everything you open the darn thing and its rather difficult to open. Overall, it did come with everything thing I needed to get started and it was on sale at the time for $19.99. I do small crafts so it worked for me.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyhawk28
des moines, ia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
sewbox
4/2/2011

Customer review by lvwallyworld

1.0 stars 4/2/2011 by lvwallyworld
by lvwallyworld

Terribly unhappy with product, poorly made. Cheap, small amounts of thread on spools and thread cheap that it broke. Side cases would not stay shut and once opened, everything would fall out. Best thing was the plastic case! I took everything out of case and using what I can salvage of the $ 57.00 spent on this product that is not worth $10.00 to me.

Was this review helpful? (50) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lvwallyworld
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It's going back to the store!
6/23/2012

Customer review by PJinPink

1.0 stars 6/23/2012 by PJinPink
by PJinPink

The case is horrible! It's hard to get closed because the side drawers keep popping open. But my biggest complaint is that all of the spools of thread fall out when you open it! There should be something to hold the spools in!! I bought this today and after opening it (very carefully) and having a bunch of spools would fall out multiple times, it's going back tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PJinPink
Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great storage system
6/22/2011

Customer review by Butterfly64

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Butterfly64
by Butterfly64

When I received this after many years of not sewing, this had everything I needed to get started again in a compact, easy to carry and store, unit. I bought this one for my daughter who has just started sewing crafts. It keeps it out of the hands of her 2 year old so she doesn't get into things she doesn't need to have.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butterfly64
Glen Rose, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I dread opening this thing!
4/16/2014

Customer review by Julzz

1.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Julzz
by Julzz

Good concept, but I dread opening it. Every time I do, some of the spools fall out and all of the little compartments fly open and spill. Nothing stays securely in place. As most reviewers have said, the quality of the thread is terrible. It breaks very easily and I ended up just throwing it away and using my own thread. Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julzz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Buyer beware
1/3/2013

Customer review by Cavan

3.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Cavan
by Cavan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This sewing kit is adequate, i.e., the contents are quite helpful for one on his/her own who wants to mend and maintain clothes. The problem is the overall container. It's well designed, but it's rather cheaply made and, as a consequence, not as robust as it really needs to be, given the frequency with which one can expect to use it. Some of the contents are on the cheap side, but one can always upgrade as the need arises, e.g., thimbles. Overall, it's worth $20; however, it's not for kids who won't handle it as carefully as necessary and will undoubtedly break it. For what it's worth, it's better than anything else I've found. I suppose that classifies it as the least bad choice rather than the best choice.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cavan
Lebanon, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Low quality
4/6/2014

Customer review by pbpro

2.0 stars 4/6/2014 by pbpro
by pbpro
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Poor quality thread...loose thread ends popping out from the spools. Items included are a joke such as the tiny pin cushion or the toyish scissors and stich opener. Spools of thread are smaller than what the look like in the picture. On top of that it was obvious that the threads were broken on the spools and the quantity and not just the quality is minimal. The case is ok. Not worth the price. We only opened it and immediately decided the quality is sub-par. Not what we expected...quite dissapointed. Not what we expected from Singer. We will be returning it straight away.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pbpro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/8/2012

Customer review by TAB8227

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by TAB8227
by TAB8227

I originally bought this product for myself so when my daughter expressed interest, I bought her the same thing and she is very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TAB8227
Loveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Singer Sew Essentials Storage System
10/30/2015

Customer review by Grandpa

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by Grandpa
by Grandpa

Got this for my granddaughter's birthday. Great variety with all the essentials...as advertised. Easy and prompt delivery and pickup at store an outstanding option. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
5/4/2013

Customer review by laj1963

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by laj1963
by laj1963
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was so surprised at how much I really got for such a reasonible price. It has everything but the patterns and the material to start a project. This is so highly recommended by my self. As usual Walmart gives more bang for your buck, which is hard to come by now a days.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laj1963
Claremont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poorly constructed
7/28/2014

Customer review by SewingRerun

1.0 stars 7/28/2014 by SewingRerun
by SewingRerun

I bought the storage system thinking I could use the thread and could also store some of the items I already had. I was wrong. It was so poorly made that it fell apart when I finally managed to unlatch the stubborn clasp. The thread was very thin on the spool and the accessories are cheaply constructed. Please do not waste your time on this product! I returned it to Walmart with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewingRerun
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Use
1/11/2014

Customer review by Activiti

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by Activiti
by Activiti
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything you need in several pull outs

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Activiti
Dover, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a beginner
12/2/2013

Customer review by irishczech

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by irishczech
by irishczech
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am hoping that this will last. The item has the Singer name, but it is really kind of cheap in person. I will probably take everything out and put it in some more sturdy. Nice assortment of different threads. The scissors, seam ripper all look cheap and not appearing to last the distance.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irishczech
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is the right thing for sewing
9/21/2015

Customer review by Dormus

5.0 stars 9/21/2015 by Dormus
by Dormus

This is a very helpful Kit. It has everything that you will need when sewing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dormus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible quality...DON'T PURCHASE.
2/23/2013

Customer review by dollbabyboutique

1.0 stars 2/23/2013 by dollbabyboutique
by dollbabyboutique

I bought this sewing kit because it was displayed next to the Singer sewing machine I bought at the same time. I've recently started a small from-home clothing business and needed to start with the essentials. I am extremely disappointed with this entire kit and every time I have to use something in it, I get more and more infuriated. I quit using the actual plastic kit long ago, as the latch was extremely frustrating and hard to open, the spools usually fell out, and the small side drawers constantly slid out. However, I'm still using the supplies and so far, virtually everything has been of the cheapest, poorest quality. The thread is weak, thin, and frayed, and has multiple times broken off while I'm in the middle of sewing a piece. I got down to the spool one time and the thread again broke off because of unfinished rough plastic edges on the middle of the spool itself, which made the rest of the thread unusable in my machine. The needles appear to all be the same size and have such small holes that it's extremely difficult to get this poor quality thread through them. When I tried to use the thin, flimsy needle threaders that came with the set, they won't even fit into the eye of the needle. The pincushion is too small and seems to be hard in the middle, as half the time, it's difficult to even push pins into it. The bobbins that came with the kit are too small for use in my sewing machine, which is a Singer Esteem II, nothing unusual. While the kit has a couple dozen different colors of thread, there is no white, which was frustrating, as it required yet another trip to the store. There is NOTHING about this kit which I have been pleased with and I am now working slowly to replace everything I wasted my money on. I purchased it originally because of the Singer name and reputation, but my advice to anyone else would be to NOT purchase this item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dollbabyboutique
Worcester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews