Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 58 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
19.99 Great Value!
4/9/2013

Customer review by CityGirl70

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by CityGirl70
by CityGirl70

19.99 Great Value! I have posted some pictures of the actual kit. The small spools of thread have only 25 yards and the larger spools have 150 yards. The description does not specify the yardage and it should. I think the kit is a great value because just 1 spool of all purpose thread is 2.17 at Walmart. The spools are half as much yardage, but even at half the price for 20 spools adds up to the total cost of the kit and you get so much more. I love the variety of colors. The threads do not fall out when I open the case, if I push the thread spool all the way down they stay just fine because there are little protrusions that hold them in. I used some of the thread with my Brother sewing machine to make button holes and sew on some buttons, I did not have any problems with breakage, but this thread is just average nothing special. I never have problems with thread getting caught on the rough edges of a spool because my machines thread holder does not sit upright, it is sideways and has a cap that holds the spool on. The kit does not open as smoothly as I'd like but it is not a deal breaker for me.

Was this review helpful? (99) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CityGirl70
WVC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the Money
1/2/2016

Customer review by LaurainLouisiana

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by LaurainLouisiana
by LaurainLouisiana

My husband purchased one of these a few years ago with a sewing machine he got me at Walmart. I thought it was just a thread caddy, but to my surprise it was full of spools of thread, and included straight pins, pin cushion, seam ripper, scissors, bobbins, sewing needles, tape measure - in essence, all of the things needed to get me started sewing. It was MUCH better than just an empty box to store my notions. (And a few years ago, it was only $19.99). That being said, there is not a whole lot of thread on the spools, although there is a good variety of colors. And, the quality of the items included is not spectacular. However, everything is quite functional, and you have a good variety of threads to do any mending and small projects. As my spools give out I just replace them with normal capacity ones. I've purchased this to go with a small machine I gave my son for mending, and for a friend, and have purchased a new one for myself for my new machine after my house burned. The newer one has tiny flanges on the spindles to keep the spools in place when opening the case.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaurainLouisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice. Tidy little places to store things.
7/9/2016

Customer review by Addicted

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Addicted
by Addicted
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the threads. Colors are excellent. I am a beginner and this is truly what I need to get started.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Addicted
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good idea!
7/14/2012

Customer review by Novista

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Novista
by Novista

I saw this same EXACT storage system being sold on HSN. I read their reviews, then started checking out reviews on-line. I started with Wal-Mart to see if they even carried it. Sure enough, it was completely the same excet it was $10.00 cheaper! Off I went to Wal-Mart and thank God I opened the box (with permission) to compare it with the reviews I had read. This product is made VERY poorly. Everything was made with very cheap plastic and as the reviews had portrayed, the spools of thread (which had only STRANDS of thread on them) fell out as soon as I opened the case. I think they expect you to keep the cardboard template over the spools all the time, in the closed position. The outside pockets will barely hold 2 patterns, and the plastic compartments inside would never suffice for ample room for notions needed. I ended up buying a very pretty sewing basket made out of beautiful material for $19.97. I bought all of the notions that the "Storage System" offered PLUS more, and ended up with a very well-made, put-together Sewing Basket that I know I will have for many years to come, at a great total that I knew I could afford. If you are serious about your sewing hobby/business, it is so well worth choosing items that you know you won't have to replace for many years to come. "Following with my gut" sure saved me alot of stress , aggravation AND money that I undoubtedly would have had to endure otherwise! Doing my homework has paid off once again! :)

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Novista
Hilton Head Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not worth the price
4/16/2011

Customer review by UncleArtie

2.0 stars 4/16/2011 by UncleArtie
by UncleArtie

Unless you keep the storage case upright and open very carefully all of the spools of thread fall out, and the side pockets for patterns are slightly narrower than the patterns, so you can only jam in 1 pattern on each side! Came with lots of black thread, but only 1 very small spool of white! All in all, not worth the price!

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UncleArtie
Pequot Lakes, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
ok for beginner & on sale
1/24/2012

Customer review by cyhawk28

3.0 stars 1/24/2012 by cyhawk28
by cyhawk28

I bought this when I bought my first sewing machine here recently. Its a very cheap case, the side containers dont stay shut when its closed. The spools all fall off everything you open the darn thing and its rather difficult to open. Overall, it did come with everything thing I needed to get started and it was on sale at the time for $19.99. I do small crafts so it worked for me.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyhawk28
des moines, ia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Happy customer
6/27/2016

Customer review by mjohnson

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by mjohnson
by mjohnson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My grandson really loved this item I purchased for his geco.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mjohnson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It has every thing you need to start out.
5/10/2016

Customer review by buttercupp

4.0 stars 5/10/2016 by buttercupp
by buttercupp

Everything I need to get started.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buttercupp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sewbox
4/2/2011

Customer review by lvwallyworld

1.0 stars 4/2/2011 by lvwallyworld
by lvwallyworld

Terribly unhappy with product, poorly made. Cheap, small amounts of thread on spools and thread cheap that it broke. Side cases would not stay shut and once opened, everything would fall out. Best thing was the plastic case! I took everything out of case and using what I can salvage of the $ 57.00 spent on this product that is not worth $10.00 to me.

Was this review helpful? (53) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lvwallyworld
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It's going back to the store!
6/23/2012

Customer review by PJinPink

1.0 stars 6/23/2012 by PJinPink
by PJinPink

The case is horrible! It's hard to get closed because the side drawers keep popping open. But my biggest complaint is that all of the spools of thread fall out when you open it! There should be something to hold the spools in!! I bought this today and after opening it (very carefully) and having a bunch of spools would fall out multiple times, it's going back tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PJinPink
Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great storage system
6/22/2011

Customer review by Butterfly64

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Butterfly64
by Butterfly64

When I received this after many years of not sewing, this had everything I needed to get started again in a compact, easy to carry and store, unit. I bought this one for my daughter who has just started sewing crafts. It keeps it out of the hands of her 2 year old so she doesn't get into things she doesn't need to have.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butterfly64
Glen Rose, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I dread opening this thing!
4/16/2014

Customer review by Julzz

1.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Julzz
by Julzz

Good concept, but I dread opening it. Every time I do, some of the spools fall out and all of the little compartments fly open and spill. Nothing stays securely in place. As most reviewers have said, the quality of the thread is terrible. It breaks very easily and I ended up just throwing it away and using my own thread. Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julzz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
nice kit
4/12/2016

Customer review by kdw352

4.0 stars 4/12/2016 by kdw352
by kdw352

Box is a little cheesy and feels like it could break if you don't handle with care, but overall a pretty comprehensive kit

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdw352
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buyer beware
1/3/2013

Customer review by Cavan

3.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Cavan
by Cavan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This sewing kit is adequate, i.e., the contents are quite helpful for one on his/her own who wants to mend and maintain clothes. The problem is the overall container. It's well designed, but it's rather cheaply made and, as a consequence, not as robust as it really needs to be, given the frequency with which one can expect to use it. Some of the contents are on the cheap side, but one can always upgrade as the need arises, e.g., thimbles. Overall, it's worth $20; however, it's not for kids who won't handle it as carefully as necessary and will undoubtedly break it. For what it's worth, it's better than anything else I've found. I suppose that classifies it as the least bad choice rather than the best choice.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cavan
Lebanon, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Singer storage system
3/13/2016

Customer review by Ginger

5.0 stars 3/13/2016 by Ginger
by Ginger

This is awesome! I was really surprised of everything it had in it. For anyone who is starting to sew, for a gift for someone, or just something for yourself. It comes with everything you need to sew except scissors. It has thread, needles, thimbles,and much more. I am so glad I purchased this item. And it comes in a carry case that you can take every where you go. Love this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ginger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good selection of thread
3/26/2016

Customer review by VSSS

5.0 stars 3/26/2016 by VSSS
by VSSS

Has a good thread selection and all the stuff needed to start sewing. Needles, threaders, measuring tape, pins, bobbins, etc.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VSSS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Low quality
4/6/2014

Customer review by pbpro

2.0 stars 4/6/2014 by pbpro
by pbpro
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Poor quality thread...loose thread ends popping out from the spools. Items included are a joke such as the tiny pin cushion or the toyish scissors and stich opener. Spools of thread are smaller than what the look like in the picture. On top of that it was obvious that the threads were broken on the spools and the quantity and not just the quality is minimal. The case is ok. Not worth the price. We only opened it and immediately decided the quality is sub-par. Not what we expected...quite dissapointed. Not what we expected from Singer. We will be returning it straight away.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pbpro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/8/2012

Customer review by TAB8227

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by TAB8227
by TAB8227

I originally bought this product for myself so when my daughter expressed interest, I bought her the same thing and she is very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TAB8227
Loveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great product
5/4/2013

Customer review by laj1963

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by laj1963
by laj1963
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was so surprised at how much I really got for such a reasonible price. It has everything but the patterns and the material to start a project. This is so highly recommended by my self. As usual Walmart gives more bang for your buck, which is hard to come by now a days.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laj1963
Claremont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great!
1/27/2016

Customer review by NinaB

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by NinaB
by NinaB

My friend showed me her set and I had to order me one. If you have a sewing machine then this kit is essential!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NinaB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews