Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 stars
28
1-20 of 114 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
A great, basic phone
11/28/2010

Customer review by Marynicole831

4.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Marynicole831
by Marynicole831

If you want a phone to just talk, text, and send the occasional picture or use it for some light web browsing, this phone is great! got this for my husband and we activated it in less than 5 minuets. gets service wherever verizon does in our area. The only bad part about it is there are no outside buttons. No camera button (you can set a shortcut key for the buttons on the inside though) and no volume buttons. You have to get to those the long way. But for the price, and great service it gets, I think its not a big problem. The pictures are also grainy, but its just a little VGA camera, so I expected that. I don't know why the costumer service told the person before me that it couldn't be activated. Tracfone OWNS straight talk. and it was an easy activation for us. But the costumer service for tracfone and straight talk has a bad rep. So they probably were wrong.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marynicole831
Sevierville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great phone for the money
12/9/2010

Customer review by DownHomeCountryBoy

4.0 stars 12/9/2010 by DownHomeCountryBoy
by DownHomeCountryBoy

This phone works good for the money. It is comparable to my old Verizon phone. I will never use all the 1000 min, 1000 texts or data allowance that the $30 plan offers. I had to pay almost twice as much with Verizon and didn't get any texts or data, and got less minutes. By looking at the phone on-line at Wal-Mart.com you can check to see if the phone works in your area by entering your zip code. So you just have to do your homework before buying. If all you do is make calls, send texts and do a little searching on the internet this is a really decent deal.

Was this review helpful? (70) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DownHomeCountryBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great vaule!
12/19/2010

Customer review by MomOfGreatKiddos

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by MomOfGreatKiddos
by MomOfGreatKiddos

I think this is a great buy. I haven't had any problems with mine. For this bundle deal you just can't beat the price. And I like not having a monthly contract. I got one for each of my kids and I like the idea that it can be taken away if they don't keep grades up and such without me paying a monthly contract fee. If you are just wanting a phone to do basic things like text,phone,and light web search this is a good buy. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles so if you are wanting something more high tech you better keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfGreatKiddos
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
STRAIGHT TALK PHONE
11/26/2010

Customer review by JOEYTHEPOET

4.0 stars 11/26/2010 by JOEYTHEPOET
by JOEYTHEPOET

I THINK IT'S A GREAT PRODUCT FOR SOMEONE WHO DOESN'T WANT COMPLICATIONS. THE ONLY THING I DON'T LIKE FOR THE $35.00 CARD IT KEEPS TELLING YOU HOW LONG IS LEFT ON THE CARD WHEN MAKING ANY CALL. WE LIVE IN THE COUNTRY OF NC AND THIS PHONE GETS BETTER RECEPTION HERE THAN OUR VERIZON AND AT&T PHONE. I DO RECOMMEND IT VERY MUCH.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JOEYTHEPOET
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!!
12/26/2010

Customer review by pogo1

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by pogo1
by pogo1

Got this phone for christmas and i love it!! good ringers and it did not tske long to turn on at all!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pogo1
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get What You Pay For
1/11/2011

Customer review by luv4four

3.0 stars 1/11/2011 by luv4four
by luv4four

If you are in need of another phone and don't have a lot of money to spend this would be a good phone for you. I upgraded (don't know if you would say that) from a phone that stopped ringing. Lots of trouble. I can say I am not a big fan of Straight Talk but for the money and no contracts its okay. I bought 3, 2 for my kids. If you use unlimited minutes you are only paying $5 dollars more than the unlimited card. I read these reviews before I bought and I was instantly biased against it. They work ok, the camera pics are not very good. My son couldn't call my phone and and when I called his phone it went straight to voicemail. After recycling them down they worked. Have no idea what that was about. Now I am getting bad receptions when I never did before. There are no buttons on the outside to navigate but the navigation is easy. I would say use Straight Talk as a last resort or stepping stone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luv4four
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dont BUY
11/30/2010

Customer review by pinto72

1.0 stars 11/30/2010 by pinto72
by pinto72

Just bought this phone, It is a Piece of junk drops calls no service not simple to operate no outside buttons speaker is almost unhearable You have to use speaker phone to hear a conversation I do not recommend buying this phone It states it is a straighttalk phone but works off tracphone. I guess I got what I paid for. Will never purchase another one.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pinto72
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
12/24/2010

Customer review by shortysandy

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by shortysandy
by shortysandy

excellant gift for grandchildren,fits the budget.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shortysandy
havana,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Signal Coverage in my Area
12/6/2010

Customer review by amorlatina

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by amorlatina
by amorlatina

This is exactly what i needed, I thank the Q&A they helped me alot, i transferred my number to straighttalk first and then within 5 minutes my t-mobile stop working. Although I was without a cellphone for a few minutes because straighttalk didnt complete the activation process quicker, I called the customer service line, since they were busy I suppose I waited a while I say about 15 to 20 minutes, got a rep and he gave me all the entry codes to input into my phone and my service was activated with no problem. Phone is basic and simple but its just what I needed. I was paying $95 with t-mobile so this will be a huge money saver, I definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amorlatina
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First time StraightTalk Customer
1/8/2011

Customer review by Ali1987

4.0 stars 1/8/2011 by Ali1987
by Ali1987

I have had many contract plans with verizon, and disliked it because our bills would always be higher months later. I never had a prepaid phone before so my mom had told me to get with StraightTalk with walmart. I really only needed a phone that did what I needed it to do like send and receive calls. send and recieve texts. And really that was it. but for 45$ for unlimited calling, texting, unlimited mobile web and calls to 411 I thought was reasonable, expecially when your getting a phone and a 45$ minute card as a bonus pack. Thats a great buy. When I got the phone today I realized it was a very decent phone, but the only problem I have with it is that I cant turn the volume down. I dont know how to do it. I am so used to have a phone I got with a contract for verizon that has the colume key on the side but this phone has no keys on the side of the phone. **IF ANYONE KNOWS HOW TO TURN THE VOLUME SLIGHTLY DOWN A NOTCH I WILL BE EXTREMILY GREATFUL** but other then that, for what i needed a phone for this is a wonderful phone. It does look semi cheap when you open it up but it does what you need it to do, so I am happy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ali1987
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Good
11/26/2010

Customer review by WalmartShopper95

1.0 stars 11/26/2010 by WalmartShopper95
by WalmartShopper95

I purchased 2 of these today and I tried to activate it by phone and on the internet. It would not let me do it. I then asked to speak with a represenative. He asked for the serial number. I gave it to him, He said these $45 phone w/unlimited plan was not straight talk. It was tracfone wireless. Although Straight Talk works with tracfone, you cannot activate them. He said that they were not worth the purchase. Im taking them back to Walmart to get another Straight Talk phone but, not the bonus pack. I have a Straight Talk phone but it fell in water, so thats why I thought this would be the better buy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopper95
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Nice Cell Phone for good price
1/28/2011

Customer review by Kenny1950

4.0 stars 1/28/2011 by Kenny1950
by Kenny1950

Before Christmas I purchased a Straight Talk Samsung T255 with bonus of one month all you can call card. The phone was $50 and the Call Card normally $45 was a free through in. I considered the phone a through away if it did not work out. Heck, I paid $50 and got the phone and the $45 unlimited card for free. I was out about $5 if the phone was a bust. Turns out that the phone is ideal and I am going to get another Straight Talk $30 card.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenny1950
Elmhurst, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sim Card
1/4/2011

Customer review by yikkle

3.0 stars 1/4/2011 by yikkle
by yikkle

I bought this phone hoping to use the sim card in my wife's phone as it is a nice phone but I found out too late that the sim card is programmed to the phone. I like the Straight Talk plan but I don't like that I can't use the card in another phone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yikkle
Kennewick, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone
1/27/2011

Customer review by scooter2011

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by scooter2011
by scooter2011

Samsung T255G came with the bundle buy. It's every bit as good as the lg5300 from verizon. I don't use the phone to surf the net,but the phone is capable of surfing. Overall I'm quite satisfied

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scooter2011
Sparta, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk
1/1/2011

Customer review by Deenie61

1.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Deenie61
by Deenie61

I purchased this phone less than a month ago. Before I did, I searched for the zip codes in the areas I would be using it in. It said I had coverage in all but 2 of the areas that I travel to, in which I did expect the results. However, in the areas I am supposed to receive coverage, the service keeps getting dropped. One time I get service (in the city)and the next time a few minutes or hours later, in the same location, I have no service. I bought this phone to save money, in which, that part is great! I have the $45 unlimited monthly plan. Would I recommend this phone? No, not until better service can be provided without dropping calls while in the middle of a conversation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deenie61
Ionia, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good phone, good value
2/2/2011

Customer review by Maxishopr

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Maxishopr
by Maxishopr

This is the second T255 phone I have purchased and both function well with good voice transmission and clear bluetooth voice communication using a bluetooth headset that I have. This package is an excellent value since the phone is very few dollars more than the 30 day unlimited fee alone. Even if you plan to use the 1000 minute/text plan for your subsequent monthly refills, as I do, this is still an excellent way to get the phone for low cost, plus you can chat and text all you like for the first 30 days. The camera is pretty low resolution: if you want good pictures to send via your phone, you'll want a phone with a higher resolution camera. Good to know: Straight Talk does not roam. If you go outside the cell tower range of the carrier, the call will drop. Where I live and use the phone, this is rarely a problem; therefore, 5 stars overall rating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maxishopr
Southern New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/21/2011

Customer review by backpack1953

3.0 stars 1/21/2011 by backpack1953
by backpack1953

I gave this a overall rating of 3 stars because of the problems we had getting it activated. My daughter got the phone on Jan. 8th. When she went to activate the phone it told her the sim card was locked. After several calls they sent her a new one. When we put the new one in, it told us the sim card wasn't activated. After spending about thirty minutes on the phone we got the sim card activated and the phone activated. It then showed she only had 20 days left of her thirty days. I had to tell the representative that I wanted the full thirty days as we had not used it at all because of the problems. She did take care of that. Since it has been activated my daughter has been very happy with it. I must say that $45.00 for unlimited text, talk, web, and the phone is a great deal. It is only for one month but their rates for monthly plans are reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
backpack1953
Centerville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BAD SIM Cards & possible FCC violations
12/23/2010

Customer review by walmartshare

1.0 stars 12/23/2010 by walmartshare
by walmartshare

Bought this phone end of Nov 2010 to replace my old Straighttalk phone. Tried to activate Dec 5th -bad sims card! waited 8 days for a new card.. during this time my old phone quit working, so I was without a phone. Received the new sim card on Dec 13th and it was the wrong one.. spent about 3 hours total on phone w/ customer service who mailed me another sim card and it worked but I lost ALL MY UNLIMITED time and my number port! so basically the free card, which was the reason I bought this phone was invalid. I have checked the FCC website and may file a complaint since the advertised "free time" and did not deliver. it;s been almost a month and I still have no service on this phone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartshare
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not a Good Selection
1/27/2011

Customer review by NothappyinJax

1.0 stars 1/27/2011 by NothappyinJax
by NothappyinJax

Even though your are purchasing this product at Walmart this is not the company that will be handling your service. After paying for this plan and activating my phone, I am still unable to make calls using my phone. I can only speak to the quality of the service. It is poor beyond reason. It has been a colossal waste of money and time. The customer representatives that you have to deal with are incompetent, unable or unwilling to fix the problems with their own system. Your money would be better spent here in the U.S. with another cellular service.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NothappyinJax
Would recommend to a friend? No
A very happy straight talk consumer!
12/26/2010

Customer review by Peacefulgirl

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by Peacefulgirl
by Peacefulgirl

I purchased this phone on Nov. 26th for $45. The best money I ever spent. For the money, you cannot beat this phone. It would be a perfect first phone for someone, or a great phone for those who want a basic phone. I have only had one dropped call in a month and the clarity is wonderful. Customer service I would rate a 5. When I activated I was only on hold a couple of min. and the whole process took less than 10 and my phone was working! I called today to add unlimited for $45, the rep. immediately answered and cust. service was awesome. If you are looking for a blackberry or smartphone; then buy one.However, if you are looking for a phone you can talk on, send & receive messages, take pics, send pics and check the news, weather and send and receive email all for under $50 with no credit checks, then this is the phone for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peacefulgirl
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews