Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

41%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
13
1-20 of 31 total reviews
41%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Great value
11/12/2010

Customer review by KiMMMMMMMM

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by KiMMMMMMMM
by KiMMMMMMMM

I have an iphone and i love it to death but in so cal att's recpetion really stinks and i dont have one phone call where my call doesn't get dropped. After 6 months I got fed up with the situation so I got this phone to make phone calls without my calls getting dropped. It is a SUPER BASIC phone and doesn't have all the bells and whistles like newer phones do, but it is a great phone if you just want to make phone calls and text, def not good for web browshing. I have had this phone for about 3 weeks now and I have only gotten one dropped call, I was suprised. I called in to activate the phone after I bought it and it was activated and ready to go within a matter of 5 minutes. If straight talk gets more phones like the iphone, then i would def cancel my phone plan right now and go with them. it is a great deal because for unlimited everything is it a fraction of the price of what you would normally pay with a contract cell phone. Bottom line, if you talk and text a lot, and you want a phone with just those basic features, this is a good phone for you, but if you are looking for a phone that does a lot, keep looking

Was this review helpful? (135) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KiMMMMMMMM
Corona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DON'T DO IT!!!!!
5/13/2011

Customer review by grellogriege

1.0 stars 5/13/2011 by grellogriege
by grellogriege

The phones themselves are ok but the Straight Talk service is AWFUL!!! Maybe you will get lucky and have a "honeymoon" period of time but when your phone cuts off inexplicably or needs service thats when it will all fall apart!!!!! My husband and I got these phones because they were simple,inexpensive and sounded like a good deal..I don't want to reprogram a sub in the Atlantic with my phone..I just want to make the occasional phone call.. We got the phones, turned them on and things were fine for the first month. The second month, four days after the turnover, my phone is deactivated...the bank says they have taken the money, my phone says it has 26 days of service. I call customer service, I can barely understand them, their English is so bad. After being put on hold 1000 times.. they say my DEBIT card is invalid (apparently not invalid enough to NOT take my money) then they say I need to pay $90 to get my phone reactivated...but they can't explain HOW they came up with the $90 amount..then they say we didn't pay for one of the phones when we ordered them 2 months ago (how is that even possible??? if we didn't pay for them we wouldn't have received them???) This weirded me out..so I looked on google (may I suggest"googlestraighttalkcomplaints") I may have to take a $30 hit because it looks like I won't be getting my money back...and it also looks like a lot of people are having trouble with double and triple charges..so watch your bank account like a hawk!!!!! Just pathetic....you lost a customer BIG TIME!! So yeah....I'm going to cancel this..

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grellogriege
fayetteville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
I hate this phone and I hate Straight Talk!
4/1/2011

Customer review by eurekaheartseltee

1.0 stars 4/1/2011 by eurekaheartseltee
by eurekaheartseltee

I bought this phone in November 2010. It worked alright at first. Kinda sluggish. My main problem with it is that I barely get 2 bars any where I go. That was alright, because I live in the middle of nowhere and most Cell providers don't offer services out here whatsoever. Last month, I renewed my plan.. I couldn't use it for the first 2 days. I had to call tech support (if you could even call it that) to finally get it to work. 3 days before my service end date, the words "Unregistered Sim" appeared on my screen and I could no longer make or receive calls or texts! I called "tech support" again. I was on the phone with them for over a hour punching in codes, taking my battery out, taking the sim card out. Over and over again! It still didn't work so they had to "escalate" it. I was told to call back in 24-48 hours. I called back they STILL have no clue what is wrong with my phone. I will not be paying for another month. This phone is garbage and so is their customer service.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eurekaheartseltee
Cental Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk
3/6/2011

Customer review by sue60565

1.0 stars 3/6/2011 by sue60565
by sue60565

deplorable customer service; CS rep's hard to understand. one hand doesn't know what the other is doing. My phone still is not working and they cannot seem to fix problem. 100.00 wasted.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sue60565
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
horrible
2/16/2011

Customer review by SusiMarie

2.0 stars 2/16/2011 by SusiMarie
by SusiMarie

broke in two weeks, camera is junk.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SusiMarie
camden, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone for seniors
2/10/2011

Customer review by Niceoldguy

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by Niceoldguy
by Niceoldguy

This is a great phone but a little simple for some. I am a senior and only use it for talking & reading text messages. I ordered it from Walmart on line and paid the mere $2.97 to have it delivered to my home. Well it showed up a day early and I called Straight talk to switch my number. 12 hours later it worked great and I love it. I have bought a few phones from Walmart and always had great service. Great friendly service from Walmart and I love the service... Thanks so much :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Niceoldguy
Colton,Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone
1/22/2011

Customer review by drphilco

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by drphilco
by drphilco

THE WORLD CHANGES TO MUCH, EVERYTONE EXPECTS MORE FOR LESS. 100 YEARS AGO PEOPLE WOULD OF LOVED THE BASIC CELL PHONES, THAT WE TAKE FOR GRANTED AND COMPLAIN ABOUT. IVE OWNED QUITE A FEW PHONES WITH DIFF PROVIDERS, BOTH PREPAID AND PLAN PHONES. TRUE THIS IS A BASIC PHONE. WE ALL ARE LOOKING FOR LESS EXPENSIVE WITH NO CONTRACTS. THIS IS A GREAT BASIC PHONE AN I LOVE MINE, HAD IT 4 MONTHS NOW AND NEVER LOST SIGNAL. I REMBER 10 YEARS AGO, CELL ONE I THINK IT WAS LIKE .35 A MIN, NO WEB, NO EMAIL, NO TEXT. AND WE WHER ALL HAPPY. AND NOW UNLIMITED 45.00 PER MONTH. U BETTER QUIT COMPLAINING AND BE HAPPY.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drphilco
PENSACOLA, FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More then expected!
3/4/2011

Customer review by MPT33020

4.0 stars 3/4/2011 by MPT33020
by MPT33020

I was with A T & T for 13yrs and luckily I did not renew a contract with them otherwise there would have been a contract cancellation fee. After reviewing straight talk and by word of mouth I decided to give them a shot.. I am extremely happy with the service also, on their facebook page the person from Straight Talk will answer any questions, the value is excellent for the prepaid cards, $30.00 or $45.00 depending on your needs and can switch between the two anytime, much cheaper then A T &T. As for this phone I find the screen small compared to the old phone I had with A T & T and its difficult to see for web access which I never use anyways.. I am now use to this phone and it fits comfortably in my pocket. Would definately recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MPT33020
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Functional, not great
12/25/2010

Customer review by JonathanfromLenoir

2.0 stars 12/25/2010 by JonathanfromLenoir
by JonathanfromLenoir

We bought two of these phones because my wife and I were both going to switch. I was the guinea pig. Let's just say my wife is not interested in switching anymore. The phone's antenna does not pick up well. We have friends with Straight Talk, and their LG phone can pick up in infinitely more places than this phone. It is also very small, which makes it very slippery. It is a functional phone, but it is not the best value on the market.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JonathanfromLenoir
Lenoir, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a waist of time...
12/27/2010

Customer review by randman123

1.0 stars 12/27/2010 by randman123
by randman123

i ordered this phone 3 weeks ago and ordered overnight shiping and got it 4 days later and have ben on the phone with costomer service for 2 hours at a time and they all say the samething that is it will work in 24 hours but it never does it also ruined my old phone in the process of switching my number and waisted a 30 dollar card so in all i have about 100 dollars tied up in this nonworking phone so over all straight talk came out before it was ready to they have alot of issues to fix and it was a waist of my time and money for your own good bypass this product

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
randman123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Samsung T255
3/30/2011

Customer review by TDIdriver

1.0 stars 3/30/2011 by TDIdriver
by TDIdriver

Purchased in December 2010 and used for cross country trip. Very disappointed in clarity as many said the speech was garbled and had to use my Sprint phone most of the time. Price was right but am going to trash this one and upgrade to one with a better microphone. Speaker is poor quality so listening to calls is a chore. Would not recommend this phone unless you are just interested in using it occasionally for non-important calls.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TDIdriver
Lordstown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy!
5/1/2011

Customer review by Jewel1972

1.0 stars 5/1/2011 by Jewel1972
by Jewel1972

I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I purchased this phone for my husband because he likes a flip phone and wanted one with a camera. It sounds like you are stuck in a barrel when you talk on it along with a static fuzzy noise. It does not pick up well either. I recommend the more expensive slider. It's more expensive but works great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jewel1972
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent phone, but has its bad points....
11/28/2010

Customer review by HockeyGuyJason

4.0 stars 11/28/2010 by HockeyGuyJason
by HockeyGuyJason

I bought this phone on Black Friday which included the service plan along with it. It works great, once it was activated, however the intital setup experience was not so great. I called to activate the phone and it took 6 hours to get a number assigned to my phone before it could work. Then the web browser would not work. I reached out to Straight Talk through Facebook and they worked with me to resolve my phone problems and got it properly working as of 10am Saturday. The web browsing on it, its tiny at best, and you cant really make anything out except for the text. The screen clarity is okay at best, its not going to make you go WOW for that matter. Has a fair amount of wallpapers and ring tones. Call quality is good , but due to the cell tower thats a 5 minute walk from my house, if I am near that tower the phone signal fluxuates. Have not gotten any dropped calls so that is great. Overall this phone while it has a few quirks was okay for the price because of the free $45 card included in the box for Black Friday but had this not be the case, I would suggest to find a phone with a bigger screen and text with better clarity. Only bought it because it was a no brainer value and an impulse buy....

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HockeyGuyJason
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Very poor sound quality
4/26/2011

Customer review by zzppzzppzzpp

1.0 stars 4/26/2011 by zzppzzppzzpp
by zzppzzppzzpp

The T255 Samsung phone. I have a poor time trying to hear when people call me or I call them. The speaker must be junk as the volume is low (yes I have it set on 7 and outdoors) and it sometimes crackles and looses the voice momentarily. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Is there a way to upgrade to a differant model ?? I think there might be a reason on why they do not offer this model at thw Wall Mart that I shop at.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zzppzzppzzpp
Minneapolis Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not worth it
11/29/2010

Customer review by arabpony

3.0 stars 11/29/2010 by arabpony
by arabpony

the quality of the phone is not great but for the price sufficient for a kids pay as you go. The process getting set up with straight talk was a nightmare which took 3 weeks and a letter to head office to finally reslove. I guess as always you get what you pay for. Expensive rubbish.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arabpony
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
warning
3/28/2011

Customer review by megahelper

2.0 stars 3/28/2011 by megahelper
by megahelper

I purchased this producted and when i went to activate it there was an error with it and now i have to wait for them to send me a box to send it back to them to have it fixed so now i am without a cell for a month but i am being rembursed for the service card so i guess it isnt all bad

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
megahelper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth buying!
2/4/2011

Customer review by tsperna

1.0 stars 2/4/2011 by tsperna
by tsperna

The Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone is not worth the money i paid for it. It says it has Bluetooth & a camera which is almost impossible to use at all. Theres no way to change the color of the scroll line so people who has less than good vision can see to use it. It shuts off mulitple times a day on its own, in the middle of a call or text which is very annoying. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tsperna
Paragfould, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
disappointed
4/9/2011

Customer review by disappointed1960

1.0 stars 4/9/2011 by disappointed1960
by disappointed1960

the add i looked at gave me the impression i was to recieve a 45.00 card with the phone. there was none in the package just the phone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
disappointed1960
mitchell sd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
It's alright...
12/8/2010

Customer review by NameGoesHere

3.0 stars 12/8/2010 by NameGoesHere
by NameGoesHere

Not the best phone but it's great for its price. Bought this as a gift for someone who doesn't text/email/surf the web that much and they seem to be satisfied with it. Only bad thing about it is the Call Restriction feature. Though it can be handy at times, the option is too close to the delete/call back/view details selections, making it very easy to restrict a call you don't want to miss. You have to go into your contacts>options>restricted list and delete the restricted contact from there.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NameGoesHere
London, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
T255 Samsung
2/28/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/28/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this phone on black friday. It was a great buy. Had I realised that this was not a CDMA cell phone I would have purchased a different Straight Talk Phone since the Verizon Technology works best in the town I live in. That is the only downside to this phone for me. Other than that I love it and it is a great little phone at a price that I didn't want to pass up!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Midwest, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews