Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 243 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

243 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

243 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
57
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 stars
8
1-20 of 193 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 193 total reviews
1-20 of 193 reviews
Simply Awesome
6/7/2011

Customer review by Medic7710

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Medic7710
by Medic7710

The 1300LM is a very capable and intutive GPS unit!! It has nice aesthetics and the menus are nicely laid out and easy to use. Using it doesn't feel cluncky or slow and you don't have to go through ten different menus to perform a simple function. And most importantly accuracy get's an A+. The mapping and routes are dead on 99% of the time. A nice feature on the 1300 is that you can add a picture to your favorites. Not that big of a deal for most probably but it does make going through your favorites a little nicer that you can customize them. I tried the TomTom Via 1500 before I bought the 1300LM and it was a mistake. There is no comparison between TomTom and Garmin. Garmin wins by a long shot. PROS: - Great accuracy - Nice map layout. - Screen is clear and vibrant - nice color theme. - Menus and transitions are smooth - Very intuitive - Looks great - Price is great! CONS: - None

Was this review helpful? (154) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Medic7710
Waynesboro, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Preferred over Magellen's product
4/30/2012

Customer review by hiddenstorm53

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by hiddenstorm53
by hiddenstorm53

Approximately two years ago I had a Garmin 330 that I managed to break on my way to Michigan from Pennsylvania. I stopped at a regional all purpose store in Ohio where I purchased a Magellen that happened to be on sale. I was excited about the Magellen, so much so that I purchased the lifetime map upgrade. Recently, I went to update the software on the Magellen and my computer froze during the upgrade. After I re-started the computer I discovered the Magellen was locked. After additional investigation, I discovered that the Magellen unit that I had did NOT have a reset feature. I also discovered that Magellen does NOT repair its units. I need something more reliable. I discovered, or was reminded, that Garmin does repair its units, and I confirmed that the nuvi 1300LM DOES have a reset feature. What makes this unit so especially attractive is that it comes with the lifetime map upgrade. And, through Walmart on-line, the price was unbeatable. Garmin and Walmart, a combination that made me happy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hiddenstorm53
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
very good
12/24/2010

Customer review by talltex

4.0 stars 12/24/2010 by talltex
by talltex

I bought a magelan gps and was not happy with it.i returned it and got a garmin.it is so much better.could set it up and operate it right out of the box,I am 83 yrs old and if i can use this then evryone should have no problem.

Was this review helpful? (284) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
talltex
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I am amazed,, truely
10/6/2011

Customer review by jnbvallee

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by jnbvallee
by jnbvallee

I bought this mostly for my husband who has no sense of direction and Im tired of being his personal gps :) He is not at all a computer person nor electronics so, I wanted something with good features for what he needs and EASY to teach him how to use. I made the perfect choice with this Garmin. We couldnt be happier (especially me) Easy easy easy! have used it many times already.. I wanted him to practice getting it going, putting in destinations n such. WOW simply excellent choice all the way around. Loads of Pros and I see no cons as of yet.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jnbvallee
Spring Grove, PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nuvi 1300LM Great GPS
12/19/2010

Customer review by NJRick

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by NJRick
by NJRick

I was overdue for map updates and the price of the Nuvi 1300LM was so low that it made sense to get a new GPS with lifetime map updates. The update took about an hour and the GPS works great - even thinner than the 255W it is replacing. I would recommend to anyone ready for a new GPS.

Was this review helpful? (105) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJRick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Traveling Companion
12/19/2010

Customer review by sfb1949

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by sfb1949
by sfb1949

We had an old Garmin GPS that we updated about every 3 years and liked it ok. WOW!! This new Garmin Nuvi 1300LM is so much better. Clear, quick and accurate directions. The life time maps feature will save me money in the future too.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sfb1949
Angleton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Gets you where you need to go
7/30/2011

Customer review by lovethekinect

3.0 stars 7/30/2011 by lovethekinect
by lovethekinect

I recently purchased this for a trip. I had a garmin before I bought this one and it was a few years old but needed updates so I just got a new one. I stuck with garmin because I liked my last one and they always have good reviews. But another reason I got a new one is because my old one kept taking me back roads on long trips. And I do not like that. I thought at first that i could change some of the settings and it would not do that anymore but it still did. And on my new one it actually still does the same thing. So when I go on trips now I always make sure to goolge map my destination and compare routes with my gps. Going back roads is not always safe or the fast easy way to do it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovethekinect
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Performed OK after map load
12/19/2010

Customer review by JHDR

4.0 stars 12/19/2010 by JHDR
by JHDR

I used this product right out of the box. I tested the accuracy by entering my home address as a test run. Although it got me to my destination the navigator took me on a wild goose chase. I called Garmin and they suggested I download the latest map. The GPS now takes me to my home the most direct route.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JHDR
Jackson, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
12/14/2011

Customer review by PhillyMOM25

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by PhillyMOM25
by PhillyMOM25

I bought this GPS for my boyfriend and it has become a great investment. He travels hours away from home for work and it has never steered him wrong. With FREE lifetime maps, he gets 4 updates a year, unlike other brands where you have to pay to be updated. It surprises me that the price is so cheap for what you get. The screen is clear and easy to operate and accomodates the late night driver. My father purchased a similar Garmin a few years ago and never had a problem. I even bought him a waterproof case, so now he travels on his motorcycle with no worries. I would recommend this GPS to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhillyMOM25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use
12/22/2010

Customer review by todlermomof1

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by todlermomof1
by todlermomof1

This GPS is very easy to navigate and it does not take a degree to figure it out!

Was this review helpful? (71) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
todlermomof1
Lynchburg, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good GPS subject to Garmin limitations
12/6/2011

Customer review by NorthernNJGuy

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by NorthernNJGuy
by NorthernNJGuy

This GPS is good for doing GPS-type things. Meaning that it will tell you where you are and route you to where you want to go. My problem extends to all Garmins, as I understand it. There are some features that I'd like that are not available and a few people told me that they're available on TomToms. Then again for $117 what can you expect? Here's what I'd like: when viewing a route I'd like to skip/ignore a step and have the route recalculated. If any of you are familiar with Northern NJ here's my problem: when driving South the GPS wants me to take 206 South instead of sticking to the big roads (Garden State, NJ Tpke) because it thinks that it's a better route. But everyone knows that 206 is a one-lane s-l-o-w road. So I'd like to tell it to skip 206 and have it recalculate. But it will not do that. So if you're expecting Google Maps or Mapquest type of ability from the GPS then you will be disappointed. But if you only want it in case of emergency or going somewhere that you've never been before then it's a solid piece of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthernNJGuy
Northern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS
9/12/2011

Customer review by ohioguy123

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by ohioguy123
by ohioguy123

I bought this GPS to replace an older model ( 200W ) and this Garmin Nuvi 1300LM is the best choice I made. The spoken directions is very useful, there are many features, and the fact that you can download updated maps 4 times a year for FREE pays for itself.. I would recommend this GPS to anyone that wants a very good GPS.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohioguy123
Toledo, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/11/2011

Customer review by MissDJ5

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by MissDJ5
by MissDJ5

I brought this based on other reviews seen here. The price is perfact, the download all and all only took me 1hr 15mins. Some other reviews said up to six hours. I think b/c I have a new laptop with not much on it, I think thats why it was very fast. Love everything about this GPS!!! Good bye printed maps!!! LOL!!! I also love the Eco routes!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissDJ5
Leesburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Garmin Nuvi 1300LM
1/7/2011

Customer review by wpgranny

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by wpgranny
by wpgranny

Have not yet used this in unfamiliar territory, but to get familiar with the unit we have used it locally and like it a lot. The display is so much better than our previous Nuvi 250W and the 'text to speech' feature is much more helpful. Hope it does as well on our trip next month! I didn't give it 5 stars because we haven't tested it fully. I really think the lifetime map updating is a huge advantage!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wpgranny
St Cloud MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Purchase
12/18/2010

Customer review by eclas

4.0 stars 12/18/2010 by eclas
by eclas

This is the 2nd Garmin I've owned. The lifetime maps make this a great value.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eclas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent GPS for price
7/22/2011

Customer review by BootStateShopper

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by BootStateShopper
by BootStateShopper

I have an older model Garmin and the maps are expired. The map updates cost almost as much as getting a new unit, so I purchased this one. This unit speaks street names, has a widescreen display, and has lifetime map updates. I have only used it a few times to this point, but the times I have used it, it has been accurate. No GPS will be perfect, but Garmin will either be exact, or get you close enough to figure the rest out. Wal-Mart has the lowest price (as of 7/22/11) for this model, and with the ability to update the maps quarterly, it will pay for itself within 2 map updates.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BootStateShopper
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Definitely a good buy for me.
9/6/2011

Customer review by DaretoDrive

4.0 stars 9/6/2011 by DaretoDrive
by DaretoDrive

User friendly. Operation can be easily learned even by a first time user. Larger high resolution display gives better picture clarity. Can be mounted on the windshield without hazardly obstructing driver's view of the road. Free map updates assures that familiarity with locations are current. Has sound judgement on the suggested route to take by choosing major thoroughfares over sidestreets avoiding stops caused by encountering traffic lights. If you want a no frills good performing GPS with just the basic necessary features this is it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaretoDrive
Saint Paul, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not that great!
10/26/2011

Customer review by KWC12

2.0 stars 10/26/2011 by KWC12
by KWC12

I'm glad I know my way around certain places as I tried it out in areas that I knew first. It took me around, or not a good direct route to the way I usually go. Took me thru many stoplights, traffic, that I don't go thru, even when I slected the option of less traffic, faster routes, it did not do any better. So this kind of makes me think, how will this do on trips I don't know how to get there. Will it take me a mile or so out of the way to get to my final point. Will it take me on a dirt road, where I select not to....... So far, it's not meeting what I wanted. You have only 4 options on voice also, where it says you have many. It takes many times to download the maps..... long waiting time. Since I have had it longer then 2 weeks, I'm stuck with it. DON'T GET IT!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KWC12
Hagerstown, maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good value for accurate GPS.
7/11/2011

Customer review by dajr

4.0 stars 7/11/2011 by dajr
by dajr

Maps are accurate. Points-of-interest have issues, many not there any more or year-old ones missing. This might be true of all brands. Biggest issue is the update process. It's estimate of time is always wrong -- told me that it was going to take 270 hours(!) to update, then gave even bigger numbers. Eventually it finished in under three hours [using DSL connection].

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dajr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
9/30/2011

Customer review by Roost2

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Roost2
by Roost2

Wide screen a plus. Very easy to work with, Garmin set up of account easy and quick. Really like the lifetime maps Garmin will let you know when new map is ready. Cant go wrong here for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roost2
Tupelo, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 193 total reviews
1-20 of 193 reviews