Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

86 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

86 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 86 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
KAPOW! What's that? Oh, it's just Kai!
5/10/2011

Customer review by ArtemisFowlGeek

4.0 stars 5/10/2011 by ArtemisFowlGeek
by ArtemisFowlGeek

The evil skeleton Bonezai walks boldly towards the golden sycthe. He reaches out his arm to grab it from it's stand when he's suddenly on the floor with the sycthe nowhere to be seen....What happens next? Only YOU can decide! This set is really cool! I LOVE the Ninjago theme as every set I've got from it so far is so detailed and realistic. PROS Kai and Bonezai- Very detailed. Bonezai comes with an axe which is cool. Ambush feature- This is VERY, VERY good. It's just like Kai jumps out of his hiding place in the bamboo to seek revange on the evil skeletons! CONS Once again, as with Ninja Training Outpost, there is no CONS! Well done LEGO! It's such a great set for the price you pay and has so many unique features. If you have any doubts about this set, trust me, coming from an experienced LEGO builder and wise Artemis Fowl fan (it's a book READ IT!) this set is up there in my LEGO collection!! SO, AS KAI WOULD SAY: "WOULD THAT BE ONE SUGAR, OR TWO?" KEEP BUILDING MY NINJA FRIENDS!!

ArtemisFowlGeek
Fowl Manor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Ninja Ambush Takes you by Surprise
1/6/2012

Customer review by Riza1234

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Riza1234
by Riza1234

I wasn't sure about Ninjago last year. I didn't know why the Ninja spun in tornadoes and rode in tanks. But I really wanted to pick up a set for a new ninja and a skeleton. This one was small, cheap, and had both the figs, so I got it. After the 5 minutes spent on building and seeing how the features work, my view on Ninjago (sets) was drastically changed. Figs: Kai, Bonezai (no armor) Weapons: Bone Axe, Katana, Golden Scythe Bonezai is attempting to steal the Golden Scythe, which has its own base. The idea is that Kai is lying in wait, ready to ambush him. The main part of the set is a sort of bamboo wall with a catapult hidden behind it. It contains the play feature. You place Kai in the catapult, and you hit the other end, which pops open the bamboo and hurls Kai at Bonezai. I actually spent a long time just aiming and repeatedly firing Kai at that dumb skeleton. Very fun. :D Excellent set for youngsters, nice display piece for collectors. The Verdict: Excellent. 10/10

Riza1234
Cork
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/9/2011

Customer review by lapequenaxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by lapequenaxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
by lapequenaxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Excellent quality and great fun for the price. I bought it for my 5- and 8-yr.-old to share and they've played with the set every day for the 2 weeks we've had it. Very easy for them to assemble. Parts are interchangeable with all other small Legos, so can be very versatile.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lapequenaxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Lanoka Harbor, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ton of Fun!
8/30/2011

Customer review by Iamrob5

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Iamrob5
by Iamrob5

This is an awesome set! It comes with the Scythe of Quakes and is one of only 4 sets that have a stand for the golden weapon. Kai is my least favorite ninja though. He his in way too many sets. I like that bonezai has the standard bone axe weapon of the skeleton army. I just say that he is just some skeleton army member. The silver sword is a nice change from the black sword. Okay on to the main part of the set. The flinger is great. It looks realistic except for the red part. It also matches the stand and is great for playing with it. I really haven't played with it so much as just fling Kai at the skeleton from different distances. I do have one very very small con. If Kia isn't set up in the middle, not any part hanging off the edge, he won't fling right. It is realy cheap and a lot of fun to play with. I totally recomend and it goes great with the skull motorbike so he can ambush chopov on his motorcycle.

Iamrob5
Unknown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Companion Set!
12/4/2011

Customer review by FanofZane

4.0 stars 12/4/2011 by FanofZane
by FanofZane

This set is really cool! It has a really interesting secret involving bamboo! I would recommend it, but I would definetely get it with another set. I got it with the Ninja Training Outpost and the two work great together to make a forest scene! Below is a quick summary: Pros Kai really flies far and almost always hits Bonesai You get a ninja and a skeleton for a low price! Kai The bamboo looks really cool Cons Though fun, the set can get tiring quickly since there isn't a whole lot to do with it on its own The red tab sticks out of the bamboo to launch Kai at Bonesai Though tiny, it is a great starter set with both a ninja and a skeleton at a low price! It is a cool set, but like I said before, it would be better if you got another set with it. I would recommend getting it with the Ninja Training Outpost so you get two great sets with cool prices for about $11.00. Respectfully Sumbmitted, FanofZane

FanofZane
Victor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LEGO Ninjago, Ninja Ambush Play Set
4/21/2011

Customer review by BabuMani

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by BabuMani
by BabuMani

A nice deal, saved shipping by using ship to store option. It was a gift for a 9 years old toddler from his wish list.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabuMani
Camp Hill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/7/2011

Customer review by MaxWellCat

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by MaxWellCat
by MaxWellCat

I bought this and the other LEGO Ninjago sets as well for 3 of my grandsons for birthdays! They loved the set!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaxWellCat
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
5/1/2011

Customer review by zaper13

4.0 stars 5/1/2011 by zaper13
by zaper13

Rating this set is a tough decision. I decided to remodel this once, because the golden scythe is on a seperate island. Now I've decided to take away the ambush feature because something doesn't seem right about this set. I might also try crossing it with the ninja training outpost. Or I could just build a new ambush feature altogether. I have a problem with the minifigures. Bonezai (the skeleton) doesn't have much defense, so give him armour or backup skeletons, otherise he's okay. Kai (the red ninja of fire) includes a sword, but theres not much of him to talk about. Pros. Kai Bonezai golden scythe part of the ambush feature Cons. Bonezai doesn't have much armour part of the ambush feature That concludes this review, even though this set is good for kids, it has a few dull spots. Overall rating; Kids-9/10 Adults-6.5/10

zaper13
Smyrna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good introduction to Ninjago
1/6/2011

Customer review by legofreak777

4.0 stars 1/6/2011 by legofreak777
by legofreak777

This was the first Ninjago set that I bought. It's much better value than the starter packs and in my opinion offers greater playability too although I know that some people may not agree. This set comes with 2 figures - Kai and a Skeleton warrior. In addition, it comes with a well designed "bamboo grove" from which Kai can spring a surprise attack, hence the title of this set. I have to say that the way in which the bamboo wall splits apart and Kai comes flying out works very well - almost too well as Kai ends up flying quite a long way. The only problem I had was the use of a Skeleton as the opposing faction. It seems a little strange, as this theme attempts to mix ancient history (the ninja's) with science fiction (skeleton warriors). I felt that the use of Samurai would have been more appropriate for this theme, but that's just my two cents worth. Overall, a very good starter set for the Ninjago theme, and at a reasonable price as well. This would be a set that will complement later sets well, but as a stand alone set, is rather limited due to the size (or lack) of it. I would recommend this set if you intend to buy additional sets in this theme - otherwise, you may want to give it a miss.

legofreak777
Melbourne, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
and then BAM! Kai goes flying way too far!
5/20/2011

Customer review by ChoasMaster

4.0 stars 5/20/2011 by ChoasMaster
by ChoasMaster

If you have this set you know what i mean. Kai goes flying so far, it's total overkill. But with that aside on to the review! Minifigs: Kai the flying ninja! He is one of the coolest ninjas, but only because he has scars all over his face. As for the Skeleton, the new Skeletons are pretty cool. Although playability is limited by how his arms are. It's hard to hit anything with them. (Have any of the giant trolls from castle? Same problem) Golden scythe and stand: Good for what it is. Golden scythe rocks, great weapon. Really nothing here. Under-cover catapult: I was quite satisfied with this part. until i tried it out. Then I LOVED it. It's really kind of funny, he goes flying so much further than he needs to. I'm still not sure why, but I loved that part. As for the build, it's very simple, but somewhat clever. It has some nice detail to it too, considering how small it is. Price: It seems good at first, but if you think about it, it's the same price as Ninja Training Outpost and you don't get much more out of it. Overall: Great set, as long as you don't mind paying just a little more than you should. I say it's worth the flying ninja. please, tell me if this review was useful or not. thank you! Ninja Ambush = Approved theBrickmotion

ChoasMaster
Spherus Magna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy It!
1/1/2011

Customer review by Nightshroud99

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Nightshroud99
by Nightshroud99

Ok so this is a set almost everyone who likes LEGO will buy. Why? Because the price to piece ratio is spot-on, it comes with 2 New minifigures, and is a small set to a new and Exciting theme. With that being said lets move on. This set comes with 2 figures, the fiery Ninja Kai (with awesome scar details on his face) and the dumb and clumsy Bonezai (another very nice figure). You also get some new pieces and one of the Four Legendary Weapons of Ninjago, the Golden Scythe. So with that being said can you find any reason NOT to buy this set? I couldn't and thats why I'm writing this review. Enjoy! :) Also check out my YouTube I review Legos!

Nightshroud99
YouTube
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meh
4/15/2011

Customer review by cocolegoloco

3.0 stars 4/15/2011 by cocolegoloco
by cocolegoloco

I dont' have much to say but i'll go right to pros and cons, than I'll talk Pros: Figures Golden sythe Price Cons: Should have another skeleton, I mean, It is an ambush, Right? The crash-wall doesn't work well Big red thing in the middle that triggers the launch Ok Lego, you didn't impress me, but for little kids, I think they'll like the whole theme, but being a lego collector and having many good sets, It's not the best, i just got the set for the figures, The set has some useful parts, but it didn't stay built long, so my overall ratings are: Kids: 9/10 Teen Collectors: 7/10 Adults: 7/10

cocolegoloco
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kai -vs- Bonezai
7/28/2011

Customer review by LegoSkyGuy

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by LegoSkyGuy
by LegoSkyGuy

I think the names for the skeletons are awesome!! Bonezai, Krazi, Frackjaw, Nuckal. All very clever!! Anyway, in this smaller set, you receive a Kai (Red Ninja) and Bonezai the skeleton. This set also offers a well designed minifig launcher, a golden scythe, and other weapons and accessories. Kai is very well designed in his red ninja robes. No armor for Bonezai as there is with the spinner. All in all a very nice set. This is an inexpensive way to get two minifigs from the Ninjago line. Pros: Kai Bonezai Golden Scythe Minifig launcher Other weapons Cons: No hat or armor for Bonezai

LegoSkyGuy
Niagara Falls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NinjaaaaaGO!
8/8/2011

Customer review by SuperTime

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by SuperTime
by SuperTime

One of my favorite sets, this is a great starter. Comes with a skeleton warrior and Kai, Ninja of Fire. Pros: Golden Scythe, It's power is beyond measure! I like the function of the catapult, It sends minifigs flying. Comes with a katana, an axe, a golden weapon, What more could you want to start out? Cons: Skeleton warrior must be easy to defeat, considering he has no armor.The skeleton has a face like he's 90% stupid.....10% living. When you put the katana on Kai's holder on the back of his mask, It touches the floor. Not very special. Great for a starter, and

SuperTime
Alien Defense Unit HQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
'Jump' through the trees!
1/21/2011

Customer review by MVPPitcher

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by MVPPitcher
by MVPPitcher

A valuable skill for all ninja is to be able to run through the tree tops. Lego had the the right idea here, and it turned out really good. Minifigs: Kai, ninja of fire comes with a grey kanta. Bonezai, skelton of ice comes with a bone ax. Hedge/rock: Everybody knows Author and the sword, but do you know Kai and the scythe? The scythe is 'stuck' in the rock and SOMEONE has to pull it out. Tree launcher: there is a launcher in the back of the tree to launch Kai 'through' the trees the deafeat Bonezai. Amazing set, BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MVPPitcher
Christmas Town
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Ninjago Set
2/28/2011

Customer review by alextin11

5.0 stars 2/28/2011 by alextin11
by alextin11

This is a good set for little ones, the trap is cool. I love Kai, and this is a great set for playing with, especially if you are collecting the ninjas, as the ordanairy Kai is 9.99 and it's just Kai with a stupid spinner and cards. This is great, it gives you a ninja, a trap, a skeloton, and the golden scythe. Pros: Kai Skeleton Scythe Woodsy theme Trap Price Cons: The trap's stepping plat form is bright red and obvious That's it!! Buy this set! For 6.99 you get the ninja of fire, ninjago skeleton, a cammoflauged trap, and a golden weapon!

alextin11
Bentonville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eh
4/8/2011

Customer review by DnRreviews

3.0 stars 4/8/2011 by DnRreviews
by DnRreviews

Let me just start out by saying. The people, building and accessories are nice, but the whole idea with the spinners is a little dumb. I can tell its aimed toward younger people, but a collector like me, can see that its just a little weird. I like Kai and and the skeleton even though its feet are a little weird ( its because he has to fit into the spinner thing) I like the scythe. Now for the pro's and con's Pro's Weapon People Scythe Con's The whole "Ambush out of the bush" isn't really creative. The whole idea THAT'S IT!!!! D&R OUT!!!!

DnRreviews
Planet Earth (too vague?)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Smaller Set....very impressive.
1/4/2011

Customer review by LegoFreak83

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by LegoFreak83
by LegoFreak83

Now this is what I expected from Ninjago.....Ninja's hiding behind bushes and ambushing enemies. I love the action feature of this set. You get 2 figures, some cool new weapons (Bone Axe and Golden Scythe) and a play scene with a built in action feature. 57 pieces at $6.99, you can't beat it. This set is well worth the money and an excellent addition to your Lego collection. Pros: Red Ninja Kai Bonezai Skeleton Cool Looking Bone Axe Golden Scythe Surprise Attack Feature Lots of Pieces Excellent Value For Money Cons: None...a worthy buy

LegoFreak83
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small, yet Excellent!
7/15/2011

Customer review by starblasterninja

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by starblasterninja
by starblasterninja

Let me say it right here: This is one of the best sets for price EVER! First of all, It has the red ninja, Kai. Kai is the hero of the whole story. His pants have a red martial arts belt, his shirt has the Spinjitsu fire emblem, and he can actually spinjitsu on his head (like in the videos.) If you take his mask off, you’ll see he has a scar. Did one of the skeletons give it to him? The training course? Nya? Then we have Bonezai. He has the new skeleton legs with shoes, a white belt, new curved arms,plus you can see his spine. He has an evil skeleton face, which is very goofy. His axe has a bone which you could probably use for a creator dog. The set includes an extra skeleton arm which I use as a projectile weapon. The golden scythe has a gold lightsaber blade, A new shaft and a gold atlantis blade. Plus there is a stand for it. You can also rebuild it into a golden mallet, which doubles as a lightsaber, the “Fake golden scythe” which is done by changing the shaft around, and a dagger of fire. The ninja catapult is great, although unreliable. As I tested it when I wrote this, My first shot went tumbling to the left, but my second shot landed Kai into the middle of my computer. You have to be careful about how your weapon is placed when you launch the ninja. Overall, this set has got a red ninja, an evil skeleton, a giant bone, a golden weapon, a catapult and an Indiana Jones style adventure in one box under $10 at the time of writing- Buy it!

starblasterninja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Army Builder and Starter Set!
12/6/2011

Customer review by thebrickmaster325

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by thebrickmaster325
by thebrickmaster325

The title says it all. Yes this set is one of my favorites. The price is perfect and it comes with two minifigs! The playabilty feature is cool and most of them are for the series. It doesnt work all the time. you put kai on a catapult behind the bamboo trees and pop up and attack bonezai before he takes the sycthye of quakes. Boezai is not too common and when kai is, if you dont think of the ninjas as induvial characters this is a great army builder set Pros: bonezai Golden Weapon Playabily Feature Cons: There arent any!.

thebrickmaster325
Voorhees
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews