Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 26 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 26 reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
A Folding Bead Randonneur-Like Tire
4/22/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These tires, branded for Bell, made by Innova (Taiwan), and sourced through Meade Instruments (the telescope/optics company), are a folding bead commuter/randonneur tire. They measure mounted on my 19 mm inner-width rims--unweighted--to 31.75 x 31.75 mm (1.25 x 1.25 in) from rim-to-tread and side-to-side. Weighted dimensions will vary. Again, these are FOLDING BEAD tires, not wire-rimmed--they are not defective like some reviewers think that they are. These tires do take some work to mount and to get seated. I suggest taking the tire to a partial pressure below minimum and wiggle the tire to help get it set, and then take the tire to max pressure to ensure that the bead will pop into the bead seat. You will usually hear bead popping into place. Once seated evenly, take the tire to the desired pressure. There is a molded line on the tire that will be about 1/16th inch (1.6 mm) above the rim when the tire is mounted properly. These tires do handle dry dirt roads and rough paved roads and streets fairly well. I have not yet had much wet weather experience with them. But they do look like they are up to the demands of daily commuting or light touring/randonnee. The folding bead also makes it easier to pack a spare or two in a pannier/pack.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great tire value
10/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I get almost 4000 miles on this tire. This is my 3rd one on the rear and zero leaks on any of them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent tire
10/17/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Somewhat heavier tire but solid and should last a long time. Easy fit on wheels and a smooth purchase (at a great price) from ordering to pick up at Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
pretty deccent tire
1/14/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Even though the box specifically says "not for mountain bike use" this tire fit perfectly on my Mongoose Deception. Much less rolling resistance than the knobby tires that came on my bike. Made riding my bike much more enjoyable since it doesn't feel like I'm dragging an anchor behind anymore, I still can't believe how much resistance the stock tires have. These seem to grip considerably better than the knobby tires under braking and turning on pavement, not sure how long they will last since the rubber seems pretty soft, they seem to pick up sand and tiny pieces of gravel I didn't even realize were on the road. As with any folding tire it was kind of a pain to install since it wants to stay folded and does not resemble an actual tire until you get it mounted.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Road Bike Tire
8/24/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Worked better than the first one I had. You need lots of patients to make sure the tire is properly seated on the bead around the rim. If you don't get it seated right the first time, you'll have a flat spot in the tire that is almost impossible to correct. This time I took the tire out of the package a day before I installed it and put it in the sun as much as I could to get it shaped to fit on the rim. This seems to help so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great!!!
7/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a 700c trek podium 9.9 nissan and radio shack eddition, and this tire was ok. I ride between 25-50 miles a day. I usually use bontager triathalon tires, but those were getting very very expensive and cost around 75.00 a tire or more, and only last 1-2 weeks. I needed a tire I could ride for leasure, not race, so i tried these. they lasted for about 550 miles before they were worn to kevlar. I would recomend these to anywon who needs a cheap tire for training, or leasure. They are alot heavier. These are good if you have coverd rims, because they grip. over all excellent
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Puncture Resistant, not Puncture Proof
10/29/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought 2 of these tires to replace the inexpensive tires that came with my Genesis GS700. The originals tires were starting to crack on the sidewalls after almost daily use. They were no match for the goathead thorns in far west Texas. Installing the Bell tires was easier than I expected, based on the reviews posted so far. I did unfold the tires and let set in the sun for about five minutes. Using tire levers the job a snap! Now, about five miles into my first ride with the Bell tires my front tire did suffer a puncture courtesy a giant goathead. I failed to bring any tools thinking i would never get a flat again. I managed to muscle of the tire off the rim and patch the tube (I broke down 2 blocks from and ACE Hardware Store and bought a patch kit). I mounted the tire and pumped up to 70lbs and finished my 16 mile ride without a hitch. I did "Slime" the tires after that though. These tires are meatier than the original tires and the material grips the road much better. I am actually taking turns faster anriding at a faster pace now due to how secure I feel with these new tires. I rated the tires 4 stars only because of the single puncture the Bell tires did not prevent first time out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great performance! Kevlar!
12/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so impressed with this tire that when it was time to buy a new one I bought the exact same one again. This 700c tire has very low rolling resistance, and unlike other narrow tires, this one lasts quite a while. I'm a daily rider about 5 to10 miles a day and this tire lasted well over 6 months! This tire includes kevlar in the tire so those goat heads are not going to be as big of a problem. It's a challenge to mount it on my rim though -- it's really really tight and I have to use three tire levers and some soapy water to install on wheel. I use kevlar tire liners with this tire, and I have never had a flat since I started using this combination. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Thanks Walmart for carrying this size bike tire. When I have to purchase at bycycle store it is over $30 bucks. Good quality. Works fine
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mixed feelings
5/4/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought a pair of these for my bike. I guess they get good grip I only spilled it once around a corner and I think there was some sand there or gravel or something. Where I have the mixed feelings is about the tread wear. My front tire looked almost brand new after maybe 500 miles, however both my rims were bent so my rear tire would lock up very briefly sometimes. I didn't think anything of it until I looked at the tire one day and I had worn down clear through the tire to the kevlar layer in one spot. The rest of the rear tire looked great, just as good as the front. I never did get a flat So I have mixed feelings about wither these tires have good grip and good wear life or not.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not quite right
8/10/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This tire was purchased to go on a rim that is a 700 x 32C. It fit, sort of... The bead of this tire would not lock into the rim and the tire was uneven. It works, next tire I will get at the bike shop.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The tread is just what I needed
8/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The added feature of the tire having Kevlar as part of its design was an added plus. There are a lot of thorns on the bike paths I ride and I hate to have to stop and repair a tube on a long ride
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
tricky tire to put on
5/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
first bicycle tire I ever put on; thought I would save myself some money. Got it on but it was out of round. I found one spot was lower inside the rim. I deflated the tire and pried up the tire to undo the crimp and then checked the rest of it. It was true after that. Good tire now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good tire , good price. This is the 5th tire purchased because I put his on all my bikes when I replace a tire.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good tire so far
2/4/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
So far this tire is doing its job--no punctures in two weeks. The only problem I had was difficulty stretching the tire to fit on the rim, which may make it hard to change a tube out on a ride.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
smooth ride, smooth price!
2/7/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was caught by the Kevlar part. Tons of stuff on LA, CA streets and I'm not happy being stuck in the boonies with a flat. So far so good. It gives me a smooth ride at a reasonable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor
11/11/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Tire is flattened and rolled up for packaging, which makes it more difficult to mount on rim because it does not hold a shape to facilitate mounting. Tire is labeled as a 700cc or 27 inch tire, so doesn't correctly fit either one. Tire is 35cc but is advertised as fitting a 35cc to 45cc rim, so it really is too narrow for a 45cc bike rim. This tire tries to be too much so ends up being poor at everything. I would not buy this tire again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bicycle Tire Rating
7/10/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased two Bell 700c bicycle tires for my Cannondale bicycle. The tires were thin and so flimsy that they were literally rolled into a ball. After taking them out of the package they proved to be a totally inadequate product. The tire did not stay round, it did not fit well into my wheel, it gave virtually no traction and it moved around on the wheel, even with a lot of air in the tube. I returned the tires and received a refund. Take my advise, pay $5 more and go to a bicycle store and get a proper tire that can not be rolled into a small ball. Walmart should discontinue selling such an inferior product and sell tires that cannot be rolled up!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (36)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Motor powered bicycle
5/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Holding up good on my Trek 700 28 inch tire bike with a two cycle engine installed on it, which lets me go about 20 miles an hour on the road. I didn't realize it before I got them that they where the same tires that where on my bike, that I was replacing due to the tread splitting and showing the plies under the tread. I got the bike used so I don't know how old those tires where. It does worry me a bit, knowing that can happen with these tires. No problems so far though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
aok
7/29/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
They mad tight wicked stupid ya mean!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641780, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-