Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 28 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Functions as advertised, accurate, easy to use.
4/24/2012

Customer review by SailnBike

4.0 stars 4/24/2012 by SailnBike
by SailnBike

Installed easily and functioned as advertised. After about 6 months, it got hot in the sun one day and the backlight ceased to work. Batteries lasted more than a year in daily service. Good buy.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SailnBike
Charleston SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good speedometer, don't use an LED light near it.
5/19/2012

Customer review by Krokus420

4.0 stars 5/19/2012 by Krokus420
by Krokus420

I like this device a lot. Is very accurate, however do not use an LED light right next to it. When the LED was flashing it threw off the accuracy. I move the light over about 4 inches and the goofy reading cleared up. Would give a 5 if I could put the light where I wanted it. Did not have this issue with wired unit I used before.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Krokus420
Delmont, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Be aware of incorrect user manual
7/19/2012

Customer review by JoJo3229

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by JoJo3229
by JoJo3229

I installed the product successfully on my hybrid bike, however I could not go by the instructions. The version of the manual that I received, omits some basic information and some of the pictures are incorrect. The manual omitted that the "Set" button is on the left and the "Mode" button is on the right. In Step 4 (Install Magnet) the picture displays the sensor in the opposite (incorrect) position. The magnet is also shown in the opposite direction. Same problems with the picture in Step 5. A little frustrating at first but not a big of a deal once you figure it out. Although the following step is not in the instructions, I'm including here for reference. I added a single drop of crazy glue to the back end of the stud on the magnet after I installed it on the spoke. I did'nt have any thread locker or loctite. I read reviews on other web sites where it was common for the magnet to vibrate lose. Only tested on payment so far and it works a designed.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoJo3229
WHite Hall, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great computer for the money
9/24/2012

Customer review by mcpastor

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by mcpastor
by mcpastor

I have owned this computer for about 3 months and my son has had the same one for over a year. It's a great computer for the money. It has always worked for us and is the biggest bang for the buck when compared with computers from bike stores which start at $40-$50 with the same or less functionality, and are not wireless. I give it five stars. It was just a little difficult for me to learn to cycle through the modes and reset a trip or time without having to reset the whole computer. Having owned other computers this is not unusual. Once I got it though I can do it no problem. (Use the left button to cycle through modes. You can reset your information for another trip easily: Once you are viewing "DST" (trip distance) or "TM" (trip timer) hold down the right button and it will reset for a new adventure. (It won't work if you are viewing DST or TM in scan mode because it will want to just scan to the next view) You can also reset your odometer (total miles) the same way if you ever wanted to.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcpastor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it's ok if you have low expectations.
8/24/2012

Customer review by MisterBicycle

2.0 stars 8/24/2012 by MisterBicycle
by MisterBicycle

I wanted this computer to work so badly. I really did. I use a bell helmet and gloves and I like most things they make. I read a bunch of reviews of how this computer just doesn't work, period. I set to prove them wrong, as I did hear some reviewers happy with it (a small minority). I set up all the clearances even more carefully than usual as I *knew* that if I set mine up perfectly, it wouldn't be a dud like most. It worked very well, and I appreciated features such as temp, avg speed, and a calorie counter that took age and weight into consideration. These are features of a much more expensive product. Two weeks went by and the problems began. I was riding ~15 mph on my favorite path and all of a sudden, the computer decided I was going 38, then 51. I'd like to think I'm the fastest cyclist ever, but I wasn't moving any faster than before. The temp, which has read between 60-85 (seemingly accurate), now usually reads well over 100 if I'm outside and this week is just barely hotter than the last 2! I'm returning it today and feel that if just a little more time and money went into this thing, we'd all have a winner that we could pay a few more bucks for, but as is, it just doesn't serve my purposes. I want to note that I had no electronics (phones, mp3 players, lights, etc.) anywhere near this product, so I don't think interference was to blame. Also I moved the magnet and sensor around a little, but no luckthere either. Oh well, nice try Bell but better luck next time. I'm glad walmart has a good return policy.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisterBicycle
Casper, Wy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Needs HELP from the buyer
11/22/2013

Customer review by OnePuttGolfer

3.0 stars 11/22/2013 by OnePuttGolfer
by OnePuttGolfer

I purchased the Bell 200 from Walmart 3 weeks ago. It only lasted about half an hour before the magnet on the front wheel fell of due to the CHEAP plastic bracket the magnet screws into BROKE and fell off along with the magnet. IF you decide to buy this unit, you NEED to do TWO things. When you attach the magnet to the front wheel spokes, you NEED to apply a little EPOXY to the magnet, the plastic bracket and the spoke of the wheel. This will solve the problem with the cheap piece of plastic breaking and losing the magnet. Second thing I'd recommend is that you apply a little epoxy UNDER the sensor unit that mounts on the front wheel fork. If you DON"T, the sensor will MOVE around and get out of alignment with the magnet, and your unit will NOT work very well and you will have to re-adjust it. With the EPOXY between the sensor and the fork, the sensor WILL stay in alignment and you'll have no more problems. IF you do these two things when you mount the computer on your bike, I don't think you'll have any problems with it and you will be happy with it's performance. If not you will NOT be a happy customer. I gave this computer a 3 out of 5 rating. IF you use the EPOXY as I recommend, I think a 5 rating would be accurate, If you don't a 3 star rating is being nice. I had to contact Bell to have them ship me a replacement magnet ONE day after I installed the computer on the bike and the magnet fell off. Since I re-attached the second magnet using the EPOXY it's been working perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnePuttGolfer
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great accessory
7/26/2013

Customer review by Trekmann

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Trekmann
by Trekmann

This thing is awesome. Lots of useful information at your finger tips. I'd say..go get ya one..

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trekmann
Kernersville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All is all....this is a good item
11/12/2012

Customer review by KBZ52

4.0 stars 11/12/2012 by KBZ52
by KBZ52

After setting the speedometer up, I hit the trail and was pretty surprised at how well it worked. I was a little taken back by not having better instructions on the basic functions of operation. For example, there are no instructions on how to clear the miles traveled or calories burned. I have since been able to figure out how to reset these functions before every ride, but I couldn't give you a detailed how to right now. I just hit buttons until it erases. My only real complaint, which I read in other reviews, is that if you have any other electrical devices near this unit it seems to interrupt it a little bit. Meaning, the speedometer jumps from a normal speed, i.e. 14 mph to 21 mph, and then back to the 14 mph. Overall, I still enjoy using this product to see how many miles I have ridden and the average speed per ride. I would definately recommend this item and already have to several people.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KBZ52
Starke, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bell Console 200
9/19/2013

Customer review by Dethib

1.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Dethib
by Dethib

Very disappointed this product. The speed is very inaccurate and is constatantly displaying random speeds. It does this if it's on the bike or not. If I could give it a score less than one I would. My next step is to notify the manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dethib
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
You get what you pay for.... again
6/29/2013

Customer review by Itmustbesoooo

1.0 stars 6/29/2013 by Itmustbesoooo
by Itmustbesoooo

This unit may work fine on a silky smooth track. But is very eratic on asphalt or concrete and will not work while riding a gravel surface. I rode a known 10 mile trail, this unit indicated 4.8miles. I re-adjusted, added new batteries, readjusted, re-set both the spoke magnet and computer sensor several times, and no good luck. Don't waste your time with this unit. Just too low of quality.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Itmustbesoooo
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lasted 3 days
6/30/2014

Customer review by Slagger

1.0 stars 6/30/2014 by Slagger
by Slagger

Some what a easy insall,I like the sleek look,I had everything set up and it work good for 3 days but when I got back from a ride i notice that it was still going mph 9.5 ? what?, I turned the wheel trying to get it to stop finally it stop but each time you turned it on it would show mph,distance everything like you were riding but not. it did it everytime it turned on, I tryed taking out the battery,reset it,finally i'm just going to return it and get a differant one......

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slagger
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great when it works
8/14/2012

Customer review by NoNickname60

3.0 stars 8/14/2012 by NoNickname60
by NoNickname60

I really like this cyclometer when it's working properly. It's accurate, easy to use, easy to read without glasses. On occasion, this thing flakes out on me and the display is garbled; it has the symptom that the battery compartment is too large/not tight enough. After I tap on it awhile, it starts working again. If it didn't do this I would give it 5 stars for sure.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoNickname60
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to Program!
5/29/2014

Customer review by mdenk

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by mdenk
by mdenk

My hubby purchased a cheap bike computer on line and It was almost impossible to program. I ran to Walmart store and picked up this one and it was easy for me to program and I took it out for a spin this morning and it worked perfectly. The one tip in the many reviews was very helpful to me, and that was you can't make any changes while it is in the scan mode. I found directions very clear and precise. Glad I purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdenk
port st lucie florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Nice Speedometer, except
10/21/2012

Customer review by beesfraz

4.0 stars 10/21/2012 by beesfraz
by beesfraz

Love this speedometer once I got it working. Some of that was operator error. My only complaint was how easily it came off the holder. I have now lost it and have no idea where it is because it slipped off on the trail. I will buy another this week.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beesfraz
Fulton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good product
5/31/2014

Customer review by 1000thwalmartcustomer

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by 1000thwalmartcustomer
by 1000thwalmartcustomer

the computer was easy to set up and easy to install on my bike. does everything it says it will do. I did use some elmers glue on the threads of the magnet to make sure it would not come loose easily worked so far [about a 100 miles so far]. is it accurate? I have no true way of knowing but it works for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1000thwalmartcustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Small but plentiful
4/10/2013

Customer review by mkob

4.0 stars 4/10/2013 by mkob
by mkob

This unit has more than enough options for the normal rider. The display, although small, is easy to read. The modes are easy to tap thru. Once I got used to the various functions and how to reach them, I was happy with my purchase. I only gave it four stars because of the mounting supplied... using wire-ties to mount the speedometer is a bit cheap, but it works. The directions want you to remove the paper over the glue pad, but not wanting glue on my handlebars, I left it on and it works just fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mkob
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not work
5/29/2013

Customer review by tandemrdr

1.0 stars 5/29/2013 by tandemrdr
by tandemrdr

Before even mounting it on the bike, it showed my Max Speed was 49 mph ??? Returned it for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tandemrdr
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bell Bike Computer Review
8/22/2012

Customer review by Bearsbar

2.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Bearsbar
by Bearsbar

The setup was not intuitive. Had to read the manual carefully. Tried every combination of buttons but could not reset my time and distance without resetting the entire unit. That then required setting up the unit all over again including wheel size, etc. Suspect I got a defective unit. Took it back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bearsbar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to install
3/3/2014

Customer review by Firstmateglo

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Firstmateglo
by Firstmateglo

Great product! Easy to use and full of tons of information.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Firstmateglo
Atwater, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't reset
9/10/2014

Customer review by Texaster

1.0 stars 9/10/2014 by Texaster
by Texaster

I can't get mine to reset. Tried right and left buttons. Everything. The only way I can reset it is to hold down both buttons and re-enter everything - the wheel code, my age, time etc from scratch. The plastic packaging it came in was really hard to open so I shredded it up pretty good and threw it all away. Now I have nothing to return it in. I am going to stay away from Bell products because of this bad experience.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texaster
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews