Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 21 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
11/3/2010

Customer review by Kadeysmom

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by Kadeysmom
by Kadeysmom

I bought mine about a month ago and I love it. I done all the research and went back and forth between the Nook and the Kindle. I am very happy with my choice. With this I can not only buy books, but I can borrow books from the library. Also every Friday Barnes and Noble has Free Friday's where they give away a free download. They have a lot more free books than I thought they would. You just have to look through and find the one's that are worth downloading. I love this so much, I hardly ever use paperbooks anymore. I prefer reading with this. Also if you know somebody else that has a nook, if you buy the lendable books, you are able to lend your books to eachother. I thought that was a cool feature, although I don't know anybody else with a nook, so I have not used that option yet. They are going to have another large update some time this November. They are promising even faster page turns. I don't really think that is neccessary, but I have seen some people complain on the forums about the page turns. Honestly, this is a wonderful product and if you love to read, you will love this reader. It is well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (152) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kadeysmom
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nook
10/28/2010

Customer review by SunshineRed

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by SunshineRed
by SunshineRed

I purchased this item from Barnes & Noble after the first update had been installed. I had done a lot of research before choosing. This by far beats the kindle and any other type of ereader. It is easy to read and has easy access to all areas within the Nook. You can purchase on line, play a couple of games so far, has wifi capability and has expandable memory. you can also read several books at one time ( as i do) and it book marks your pages in all of the books at the same time. It also has an archiving system to back shelve things you might want to re-read in the distant future. There is also access to over 100 books for free. I use mine every day in the break room on my lunch.

Was this review helpful? (91) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunshineRed
New Ulm, Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Nook3G/Wifi review
12/5/2010

Customer review by GradStudent2012

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by GradStudent2012
by GradStudent2012

I've had this product for nearly a year. If you do not turn OFF the wifi/3G and you live in an area with sketchy service, it will very quickly run down your battery, so I leave mine off till I need it. Also, once your battery dies, it takes awhile of being plugged into the wall to begin to recharge. It's frozen on me ONCE and that was a couple of days after I got it. I think I did something, but not sure what. Power off/on worked to fix it. I have had no issues with this, had no problems, and I buy books, put my school .pdf files on it, I've uploaded my own photos to use as backgrounds, I have used every feature multiple times. That said, for anyone NOT tech savvy, it may be harder for you to navigate some quirks like the battery issue. The Nook forum boards were filled with answers, so be sure you google them and read them before you decide what to do with the nook. Additionally, I put my nook in padded places all the time. There are reports of the side buttons cracking and I have never had that problem. I think it takes care and not just tossing it unprotected in a bag with school books and stuff. All in all, this has been one of my favorite electronic purchases of all time. I can honestly say I use it daily and have felt it truly worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GradStudent2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Practical and Affordable
11/11/2010

Customer review by CAnneS1986

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by CAnneS1986
by CAnneS1986

I researched every offering of E-readers on the market from Kindle from Amazon to Sony to Kobo from Borders before purchasing. Well, I've had my NOOK for almost 3 months now (purchased through Best Buy before Walmart offered it) and I love it. With room for 1500 books and more if using expandable memory, there's never a want for something to read. The size is smaller than any hardcover book and it's as thin as a magazine, making it easier to carry in a purse or even the glove compartment of a car. I love the 3g which allows me to go to the B&N website anytime I need a new book to read (punch 0.00 into the search engine on the site and you come up with a long list of their free offerings) and it's great that I can hook it up to the computer and get great classics from Gutenberg or my local library. To be honest, I have yet to try the wi-fi function as I live in an area without it but I bet it'll be as great as everything else.

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CAnneS1986
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Surprisingly Impressed
11/24/2010

Customer review by ObjectiveMatureShopper

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by ObjectiveMatureShopper
by ObjectiveMatureShopper

Like most consumers I was skeptical about the hype surrounding the nook. After finally deciding to purchase the product, I was both surprised and impressed with the ease of use and the performance. Since I love to read, I was desperately searching for an ereader. This product is affordable, provides great product choices and the support teams at Barnes & Nobles are both courteous and professional. I would highly recommend this product to any avid reader.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ObjectiveMatureShopper
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/24/2010

Customer review by Bookworm41

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by Bookworm41
by Bookworm41

Love it, just wish I would have waited to buy the new one, but for the price it is a great deal!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bookworm41
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!!
12/18/2010

Customer review by ELM143

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by ELM143
by ELM143

I have been for the past year on the market for an e-reader and I so happy I choose the Nook. I was very undecided rather I should get the Nook or the Kindle. After doing a lot of research on both amazon and barnes and noble..I decided to go with the nook. I am so happy with the free 3G service the nook gets making it an endless book store. I would recomment this product to whom ever it out there looking for a great e-reader. The only bad thing is ever since I got it..it doesnt seem I can put it down.. :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ELM143
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
BEST Ereader on the Market
1/1/2011

Customer review by GinaJ60

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by GinaJ60
by GinaJ60

I, like many others, researched all e-readers; Kindle, Sony, Kobo, etc. and ended with the Nook. I couldn't be happier - I read the other reviews prior to writing mine -- all 'faults' could actually be done - including moving the library. Would it take time, yes -- would it have been worth it - yes! And, actually, there are over 200,000 'free' books thru bn.com. Music converts and loads easily from Itunes or any music library - pics for personalization; checking out library books, etc. This is a top notch product. Make sure you read blog sessions or talk to your local B&N - they offer free usage classes on your Nook and it is well worth the time. If you are a reader and buying a product to read - this is DEFINITELY your product. Only item that didn't work absolutely great - was the beta web. You can search, do email, etc. but it is cumbersome and slow. Easier on a phone. Everything else -- AWESOME!!! As far as being 'slow' - the new software fixed any slow issues AND... with B&N all software updates are free. Along with the 3G service - absolutely free and never a charge. You are at the mercy of AT&T on this one but free is free. B&N hit a home run with this product!! Hands down the very best e-reader.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GinaJ60
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
1/2/2011

Customer review by Ccreasley

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Ccreasley
by Ccreasley

My fiance purchased this for me for my Christmas present this year (2010). I am in love with this product. I am an avid reader and was really uncertain at wether I would enjoy this product. Because face there is just something about holding a book in your hand. Smelling the scent. Feeling the pages as you turn them. Its almost addictive. So I wasn't really sure if I would enjoy it as much as a paperback. But I was suprised at how easy it is to get accustomed to. The e ink technology makes it easy to read, just like the pages of a book. There is no backgound light on the screen so it isn't as straining to the eyes as if reading on a computer. Although you will have to use a light to read in the dark we all have had to do it before ereaders ever existed. Definately worth the price. Especially since I have run out of room for physical books! The 3g works fairly well. Haven't had too much problem with it. I do live out in the middle of nowhere. We don't have high speed internet where I live and it still gets reception to search and downloads ebooks!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ccreasley
Athens, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Previously purchased epub books not transferable
11/23/2010

Customer review by Trish10

3.0 stars 11/23/2010 by Trish10
by Trish10

I was extremely excited to get my new Nook. I have used a Sony ereader for the past year and wanted to switch to the Nook because of the affordable 3G. I chose the Nook because it uses the same file format that Sony uses (epub) and I have an extensive library that I've purchased over the past year that I still wanted to use. It's true that both devices use the same file format, but I could not transfer the files to my new nook. Due to copyright laws, the ebook has to be "authorized" by the store where you purchased the book to be allowed to "read" that book. The Sony store would not recognize or authorize the Nook because it was a different name brand. I could use a conversion program to change all of my files into pdf's but they would not be as legible and it is a time consuming process since I own over 150 books. In short, I returned my Nook and was forced to buy another Sony book so that I would not lose my library. If this had been my first ebook and I didn't already have a library established I would have loved the Nook.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trish10
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/31/2010

Customer review by Readingguru

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Readingguru
by Readingguru

Love this ereader color is Awsome

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Readingguru
Philadelphia Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great birthday gift
1/4/2011

Customer review by cablackbear

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by cablackbear
by cablackbear

We purchased the Nook eBook Reader for our high-tech daughter (after some hints). She was so surprised and pleased with her Bday/Xmas gift. She said it was the "best gift ever" since we finally bought her a small TV for her own bedroom when she was a teenager. She and her husband now has five children of their own!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cablackbear
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi+3G by Barnes & Noble
12/18/2010

Customer review by daviscc

3.0 stars 12/18/2010 by daviscc
by daviscc

I was very disappointed in the response of this reader. It is very slow and cumbersome to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daviscc
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NOT COLOR AFTERALL
12/10/2010

Customer review by EGORR

3.0 stars 12/10/2010 by EGORR
by EGORR

IT MAYBE THAT I FAILED TO READ THE WHOLE DESC. WHEN I READ "COLOR", I ASUMED IT MEANT THE SCREEN WAS INCOLOR "NOT". I NOW HAVE THE "NOOK COLOR" AND IT IS FANTASTIC. AND THE PRICE, ONLY A $'S MORE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EGORR
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Was Not Impressed....
12/27/2010

Customer review by Savvyshopper07

2.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Savvyshopper07
by Savvyshopper07

I did not like this product at all. It did not offer any free publications or books and it was difficult to work with - it does not have touch screen capabailities like other e-readers. I returned it the same day I received it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Savvyshopper07
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A very helpful product
1/14/2011

Customer review by SourthernBornGirl

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by SourthernBornGirl
by SourthernBornGirl

Great item. I bought this for my Mom who is NOT electronic friendly, but she CAN operate the NOOK. She loves it! You know what they say-if Mom ain't happy, them no one is. haha

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SourthernBornGirl
Clyde, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Above the other ebooks
2/6/2011

Customer review by OnlineShopNut

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by OnlineShopNut
by OnlineShopNut

I purchase the Kindle 3G for my wife but after she saw a Nook Color commercial, we wanted to see the difference. Well, the Kindle was okay but the Nook Color is light-years above it. The colors are so vivid and brilliant. The upgrade was well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlineShopNut
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/31/2010

Customer review by Husband77

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Husband77
by Husband77

My wife loves it! So far no problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Husband77
Alvin,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/14/2011

Customer review by rickrob

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by rickrob
by rickrob

I bought this as a gift for my wife. I'm impressed with how much she uses it. Plus, she says, she really likes it. She uses it so much, I'm glad I got it for her.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rickrob
Raymore, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!!!!
12/21/2010

Customer review by WildMustangs

4.0 stars 12/21/2010 by WildMustangs
by WildMustangs

I love my Nook!!!!! The only thing abot it is when you turn it on it takes a bit to come on, could be faster. Other then that it is wonderful. Easy to carry when we travel, I have all my books with me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WildMustangs
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews