Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 60 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Very Good Alarm clock
4/2/2011

Customer review by pilotDon

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by pilotDon
by pilotDon

Large dial...sweeping second hand no ticking...you can switch on lighted face or push the snooze button on top of clock to illuminate....time and alarm set by two ez turn wheels on back....activate alarm with switch on side...one C battery....love this clock. Caution: Not a small typical travel alarm clock, its more of a bedside clock even though I travel with this clock constantly. Will buy again.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pilotDon
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
just what I was looking for!
10/17/2011

Customer review by scottiesgal

4.0 stars 10/17/2011 by scottiesgal
by scottiesgal

This was just what I was looking for...the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is a little too shiny plasticy- but for the price (around $10) you can't beat it! I read all the reviews on goggle for bedside clocks - I was looking for something to replace the clock I had that finally died...luminous face in the dark, no tick, no jarring alarm, and, most important, a big snooze alarm on top that lit up the face when I touched it. I have had a regular clock face all my life and HATE fiddling with electonic digital things. This has all that I was looking for. It has an illuminous face and a dial that you can turn up for constant illumination if you want that, or dimmer, or none. That is green. When you press the snooze alarm it illuminates the face blue - The alarm starts slow and staggered - beep, beep - for maybe 20 seconds and then a little louder & quicker- bee,bee,bee,beep, -for another 20 secs and then the continual -beeeeeeeep. The snooze alarm goes off every 5 minutes - perfect - sometimes, that's all I need. It has very clear legible hands, numbers and second hand -all visible with the back light at night and very clear in the day also. It is a good size (5") similar to the old Baby Bens but the alarm in not so jarring. And it is SILENT. No tick or buzz at all. The dial to turn it off is on the right side of the face. It is a little confusing which is on/off so I put some red nail polish on the "ON" side to remind me. It takes 3 AA batteries (not included). At the back, the dials are easy to turn - they are similar to the old metal dials on the old clocks except they don't have the 'wings) Again, a little confusing which is which, so more red nail polish on the alarm! Even though it is black plastic, it is a solid clock. So if those are the features you are looking for, and a clock should cost $10, this is for you. I love it! I tried and returned 4 clocks from a store and Amazon before I bought this one! I should have STARTED with Walmart - I will next time! :)

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scottiesgal
New York, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleased with this clock
7/29/2011

Customer review by shawn0204

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by shawn0204
by shawn0204

I've only had this clock for a short while but so far I really do like it. It's got a gentle, quiet beeping for the first 7 seconds, then becomes more rapid after that. I like this because it only wakes me up and not my wife [which is ideal]. With a digital alarm clock, where if you set it for 4:23 am, it goes of at exactly that time every single day. This clock is a lot like the old wind up clocks of yesteryear, in that it is set mechanically with knobs, not electronically. So one day it may go off at 4:22, the next day maybe 4:23 or 4:24. But that's not a negative, it's just how things used to be and I'm happy with it. Don't know about battery life yet as it's too soon to tell. Very happy with this purchase. Thanks, MR

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shawn0204
Fitchburg, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Has unique features
1/21/2013

Customer review by LikeSleep

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by LikeSleep
by LikeSleep

This is a good product, and I think that WalMart should carry it in their stores. I would like to thank the people who did the previous reviews and explained how the features work. I looked a lot for a new alarm clock that had these features, and this clock had them all: 1. No ticking sound - I hate a clock that goes tick, tick next to my bed and bothers sleep (this clock has a sweep second hand, meaning there's no tick) 2. A dial light that I can turn on when I want to see the time, but is not lighted all the time (I hate it when motels have a clock next to bed with bright numbers constantly lit - I always throw clothes over it) 3. Battery powered - takes 3 AA batteries. 4. An old fashioned dial face that is big enough to see from a distance 5. A snooze button and gentle sounding alarm. 6. If you turn the dial light down all the way, there is just a tiny glow that is enough to find the clock in the dark so you can push the light to check the time, but it is dim enough that it does not bother sleeping. I like my clock and hope it lasts for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LikeSleep
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I really needed this
2/9/2011

Customer review by Fastred

4.0 stars 2/9/2011 by Fastred
by Fastred

I had been shopping around for a battery operated alarm clock, and they were few and far between. So I ordered this one from Wal Mart and am truly satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fastred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great
2/1/2011

Customer review by mupydawn

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by mupydawn
by mupydawn

This clock is easy to use and looks good too. You don't have to wind it and just a flick of the button and the alarm is on. Easy!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mupydawn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better than expected
2/28/2011

Customer review by JerseyBoy77

5.0 stars 2/28/2011 by JerseyBoy77
by JerseyBoy77

better quality than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JerseyBoy77
Denville NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Alarm Clock
7/11/2011

Customer review by 6kats

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by 6kats
by 6kats

This clock is Great!! It is easy to set the alarm and I LOVE the fact that the lighted dial can be turned on or off and not on continuously. I cannot sleep with a light on at night so being able to accomplish this is wonderful. If you need to see the time, a button pressed lights the dial or if a light at night does not bother you, then you can leave the lighted dial on. Marvelous clock! Thank you Walmart!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
6kats
Amherst, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Battery Powered Alarm clock
1/27/2012

Customer review by Mumze

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by Mumze
by Mumze

I was looking for an old fashioned battery powered clock with hands and numbers to use where there was no electric outlet available. It had to be visible at night. They are very hard to find....everything is electric, and digital. I found this one and it fit the bill perfectly. It is a nice size, the face is nice and big and glows in the dark, and there is a button on top to light the whole face. It is reasonably priced and well made. Ordering it was simple, and I picked it up at the store. I am very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mumze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Failed to go off the first morning I used it!
8/15/2011

Customer review by tinayeo1962

1.0 stars 8/15/2011 by tinayeo1962
by tinayeo1962

After reading all the reviews, I thought it would be at least be half as great as was described. I would check the alarm before trusting it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinayeo1962
L.A.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Elgin Alarm clock
4/7/2011

Customer review by marlene43

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by marlene43
by marlene43

Just what I wanted, small easy to carry, rings low and is great. one battery it is great clock

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marlene43
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/31/2011

Customer review by Mum2FourBoys

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by Mum2FourBoys
by Mum2FourBoys

I love this clock! I was worried when I ordered it that I may not be able to see the face of the clock very well without my glasses but I can see it perfectly! Because it is made with black numbers on a white background it is very easy to read even in the dark with no illumination. When I got it and took it out of the box I was surprised and pleased that it was much bigger than I had imagined and was impressed with the overall look of the clock including the nice size of the numbers which make it easy to read. I was worried that the alarm might be too quiet to wake me so the first night I used it I also set my phone for a back up alarm 30 minutes after this one but I heard it perfectly and didn't even need my back up alarm which is a relief because it is so annoying compared to the alarm on this that gently wakes you. I don't really care for the bright blue illumination that comes on when I press the snooze button because it is so bright but considering everything else it is something I can overlook since I am not usually looking at the clock when I press snooze anyway. I also bought one for my 11 year old son who loves the bright blue illumination because he uses it for a flashlight in the night to see in the dark!!! He just picks up the clock, pushes snooze, and he has a handy little flashlight! Wow! I bet Elgin didn't know it served more that one purpose :) This clock is also great for Feng Shui...no emissions, no noise and, no light since the light can be turned off. Love it! The item description says it takes 1 C battery but it takes 3 AA batteries.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mum2FourBoys
Gulfport, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
elgin alarm clock...analog
5/10/2011

Customer review by theresapurplebirds

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by theresapurplebirds
by theresapurplebirds

I paid less than 10.00 for this clock and for quality and performance I would have paid twice that amount. Thank you, as usual, another good product from Wal-Mart!! 5 stars!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theresapurplebirds
st. george, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Elgin battery clock
9/26/2013

Customer review by lrma

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by lrma
by lrma

this clock has wonderful features, you can shut the light off so that you can sleep , or leave it on dim so you can see time, love it and would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lrma
cape coral,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good buy for the price
2/20/2011

Customer review by bobbie1988

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by bobbie1988
by bobbie1988

Good alarm clock. Has an alarm that starts off soft and gets louder as it goes. I'm a heavy sleeper so it wasn't enough for me. I ended up buying the old fashioned looking alarm clock with the bells on top which is also battery operated. I still kept this one since the price was so reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobbie1988
Winsted, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Elgin Alarm Clock
3/1/2014

Customer review by Texhog

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by Texhog
by Texhog

The clock itself was bigger than I expected which was great because it is very easy to see. Good control over night lighting - I have it set so you can't see the clock at night but that can be changed if you want to see the clock hands. Best of all - it doesn't tick. Don't know about battery life yet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texhog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quitness of Alarm Clock
5/17/2015

Customer review by Granny

5.0 stars 5/17/2015 by Granny
by Granny

This alarm clock has a sweeping second hand and is very quiet so as not to disturb even the lightest sleeper. It also has a back light so that it can be easily read in the dark. It's a good size, not too small or too big. I really like it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Granny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/22/2011

Customer review by EvilAunt

4.0 stars 3/22/2011 by EvilAunt
by EvilAunt

Does make a whirling sort of noise, but not too bad

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EvilAunt
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Clock NEVER worked!
12/1/2013

Customer review by NiaMaria

1.0 stars 12/1/2013 by NiaMaria
by NiaMaria

Got clock - tried to put fresh batteries in - had a very hard time installing them - clock NEVER worked. I even checked batteries - they were fresh & good. Had to take clock back for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NiaMaria
Medina, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stopped working after 2 weeks
11/1/2011

Customer review by ShopperSue48

1.0 stars 11/1/2011 by ShopperSue48
by ShopperSue48

Bought this for my mother. She loved it for 2 weeks. Backlight on face was dimmable, plus brighter light to read at night by hitting snooze button. Clock was silent - didn't have an annoying tick. Alarm started quiet, got progressively louder. However after just 2 weeks of use, the clock stopped. Batteries were still fine, the light still lit. Returned clock. Value would have been rated highly if clock had worked for more than the 2 weeks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperSue48
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews