Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1411 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1411 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1411 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1148
4 stars
154
3 stars
35
2 stars
34
1 stars
40
1-20 of 1409 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1409 total reviews
1-20 of 1409 reviews
A major upgrade for D40X shooters like myself
1/27/2011

Customer review by Tony V.

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by Tony V.
by Tony V.

I upgraded from a D40x that I was quickly outgrowing and now feel I have a body that I can learn and grow with. I love the low noise at High ISO (I don't sweat shooting 6400) if just for the web or small prints. I added the battery grip as well (makes the camera feel really substantial in my large hands) and want to start exploring HD video more. Only issues for me: I would like the ability to do more than 3 shot bracketing and also would like the center OK button to be configurable to 100% zoom as well. Hopefully these can be addressed by Nikon in a future firmware update. Also, a larger buffer. In the past, I have heard Nikon have allowed the Pro cameras to undergo a buffer upgrade. If this were possible for D7000, I would even pay for it. Loving my D7K. Tony V.

Tony V.
Melville, NY 11747
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
D2X vs the D7000
1/29/2011

Customer review by Trevor

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Trevor
by Trevor

I'm conflicted by this camera. I bought it as a cheap back up for my beloved D2X and to shoot 1080P Video. Now that I have had a chance to work with it... I find more and more, it is now my primary camera. I still love my D2X which I know like the back of my hand, but I'm finding it very easy to transition to the new system with all the advantages of way faster ISO and higher pixel count (17mp vs 12mp). It's also very light in weight compared to the D2x. I still love the feel of the D2X and will still use it for daylight sports like Beach Volleyball and Motorcycle roadracing. The D7000 will be for all travel, indoor and portrait shooting. It's a great DX camera with incredible battery life, I only wish GPS was built in.

Trevor
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Piece of Technical perfection!
9/13/2012

Customer review by fstoppie

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by fstoppie
by fstoppie

Excellent low light performance, that is up to any professional Nikon cameras(and even better than other brands). The Dynamic range of this Camera is awesome. The viewfinder offers excellent view. For continuous shooting, the D7000 can shoot upto 6 fps. 39 focus points out of which 9 are cross-type focus points, so you can count on D7000's ability to track the subject even if its moving. The D7000 can accept more than 169 Nikkor lenses. Though Video wan not my prime reason to buy this equipment, D7000 is not behind in that faculty too. It can shoot full HD[1080p] @ 24fps(PAL) and 1080p @ 30fps(NTSC).

fstoppie
Mahwah, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The D700. Game Changer
2/4/2011

Customer review by "WOW" Simply "WOW"

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by "WOW" Simply "WOW"
by "WOW" Simply "WOW"

I shoot strictly as a hobby. This camera is amazing. 16.2mp, 1080p HD, manually adjustable, 39 focal points, in camera photo editing/effects, finger friendly controls, new camera wheel with sub wheel, two SD cartridge slots, both customizable with JPG* or RAW*, simply WOW. Its my first day with the camera and I haven't been able to put it down. At a very reasonable price, I strongly recommend for the intermediate/pro photographer. Thanks Nikon!

"WOW" Simply "WOW"
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
1/29/2011

Customer review by Brian

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Brian
by Brian

This camera is fantastic. I got it just before Christmas and it's been fantastic. Low light is great. Video is great. This is not a replacement for a video camera! It, as well as other dslr brands with video are for capturing composed video shots. The ittl control for my sb 900 and sb 600 are excellent. Overall, I love it.

Brian
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon D7000
8/11/2011

Customer review by Jos!

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Jos!
by Jos!

The best of the best! - I love the camera. This camera has all the features need it to make great pictures and great videos.

Jos!
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
D7000
6/20/2012

Customer review by Rainman

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by Rainman
by Rainman

The camera is a great purchase, it is compact, light and alot of options for the versatile photographer.

Rainman
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fine Tuning a Must
3/31/2013

Customer review by barcl

2.0 stars 3/31/2013 by barcl
by barcl

I have started with Nikon with a D5000. When D7000 came out I jumped on it, I wanted more from a camera. I loved the feel and the set up of the camera. Downfall, pictures rarely came out focused. My 50mm 1.4 was the worst on the camera. I would focus and the camera would focus on something else in to the left background. I kept thinking it was me having a learning curve. I struggled with the camera for a year and 1/2. I finally after many classes and a professional photographer getting a hold of my camera it was decided I had the internet rage of backfocusing. We had to fine tune all my lenses expect for my 3rd party macro (it was perfect). I do not think for the money I should have to do every lens. Nikon would not pick up the repair costs as I was out of warrantee. I am selling the camera and now have the Nikon D7100. You probably hear me a block away when I took a shot with my 50mm and it was spot on beautiful!. I am giving the D7000 two stars for when it worked it worked beautiful.

barcl
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Nikon DSLR I've Ever Owned
3/3/2012

Customer review by Silver Adventurer

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Silver Adventurer
by Silver Adventurer

I've had Nikon film and digital SLRs for decades, including the D200 and D2X, and the D7000 is by far the best DSLR I've ever owned, the best camera, in fact. What sets it apart in my view is the exceptionally high ISO and manageable noise at high ISOs. I find that I'm able to take wildlife shots with the D7000 that would have been either marginal or unobtainable with other cameras. It's a standout for photographing birds, both in brush and in flight, because the high ISO performance lets you set the shutter speed high enough to stop the motion while still retaining reasonable depth of field. I use a different setting mode for the D7000 that takes advantage of its ISO performance. I set auto-ISO covering the full range (to 25,600) and manual mode, then I preset both shutter speed and lens opening based on the conditions I'm shooting in and the subject, and let the camera pick an ISO that matches. Since I can see what it's going to use, I can adjust my shutter/lens opening if I need to.

Silver Adventurer
Southern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big Disappointment.
12/19/2013

Customer review by Varajuan

2.0 stars 12/19/2013 by Varajuan
by Varajuan

I purchased this camera to replace my D5100 and have not used it much, but so far I have been very disappointed in its focusing performance. Like others have mentioned, almost all the photos are soft and not very crisp and sharp. I photograph a lot of animals, particularly birds and most often use the single point focus. The D5100 has a single point red indicator which makes it easier to focus on the eye of the subject and get many crisp and sharp photos. The D7000 has a rectangle focus point and it takes in a lot more of the subject, hence a photo that is not in focus to catch the glint in the eye. The D7000 takes in a lot of area instead of a pinpoint for the camera to try an focus. Have used my D5100 on the same subjects and am getting better photos. Will try to use the D7000 in some other situations just to see if I get the same results. I cannot recommend this camera for my type of photography. Maybe it works great for landscapes and still photos, but detail photos, not at this time.

Varajuan
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Autofocus Issue Makes This Camera Unusable
2/25/2013

Customer review by jrudrowww

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by jrudrowww
by jrudrowww

I am not sure if I received a defective model, but the critical focusing at wide apertures on this camera is unacceptably flawed in the unit that I purchased. The point that I choose to focus on is always slightly blurry with razor sharp detail falling just behind the focus point almost every time. Take, for example, a simple portrait from a 3/4 perspective. The eye that I have picked as the focus point is usually slightly blurry while the further eye/eyelashes/details are in razor sharp detail. This problem extends to use in street situations in which the point that I select to focus is always slightly blurry compared to the amount of detail just behind the person/object that I have tried to capture in exacting detail. My d3100 (which this camera was supposed to replace) suffers from none of these glaring autofocus inaccuracies. I am very disappointed and will be looking to return my d7000 body, possibly switching to a Canon that does not drop the ball on simple autofocus point assignments.

jrudrowww
Would recommend to a friend? No
Takes great pictures when working.
6/3/2011

Customer review by slayer

2.0 stars 6/3/2011 by slayer
by slayer

I've owned this camera for 5 months. I feel the camera takes great pictures. However I had recently taken a trip to Disney, and on the second day after taking about 100photos that particular day, the camera locks up giving me a "ERR" Message. Sounded as though while taking last picture the mirror locked up. Camera controls will do nothing at this time. Able to review pics thats it. Last pic had a large bold black line running through it. Checked online forums and see that this is somewhat of a common occurance with the D7000. I would guess I have a little over 1000 actuations. Called Nikon and they said send it in. Now I am just waiting. Im a bit upset about having to pay shipping fee even though camera is still under warranty. Im also a bit worried that same thing will happen again if they replace whatever part that is causing the problem. However maybe it will happen outside of my warranty date. Not sure I would recommend this product unless I get reassurance that this problem is resolved.

slayer
South Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Camera
4/15/2011

Customer review by Long Duck

5.0 stars 4/15/2011 by Long Duck
by Long Duck

The only shoot I have used the d7000 on is a hotrod show at the local convention center. This is the most challenging event that I shoot on an annual basis. The Auto Color Balance feature did a great job with the mixed sodium and mercury vapor lighting. With or without flash, the pictures were exposed surprisingly well and required very little post processing work. With my older and more expensive digitals, the pictures from this event would come out dark with a puke pink and green cast to them. I am ecstatic about the dual card back up feature. The last time I shot a wedding with my older camera, the memory card failed; fortunately it only contained back-up shots. This is why the dual card feature on the d7000 is the key application for me, not to mention the 16 megapixel resolution plus the other electronic upgrades. I am very pleased with the camera's performance. I am considering buying another one as a secondary camera. This is the best camera I have had since the Nikon FE.

Long Duck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera!
2/2/2011

Customer review by photorobw

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by photorobw
by photorobw

I've been a professional photographer for 30 years and I've used many different cameras. The D7000 is so quick, tight and solid! When you hit the shutter it sounds like an expensive jewelry box lid snapping shut. I really like everything about this camera except that it tends to overexpose. I should think that Nikon could fix that with a firmware update, though. (I'm just careful to bracket when using the camera meter.) The D7000 is a professional grade camera and I think that it was a great value. However, I really miss having a studio flash PC-socket built in. With this camera it's necessary to purchase an AS-15 adapter for the hot-shoe in order to connect a sync cord. I haven't used the video mode much, but I intend to. I do wish that there was a simple way to adjust exposure in video mode. Still playing with it....maybe I just haven't finished the extensive manual yet. The focus seems a bit pedestrian, even though it's "auto-focus." Excellent camera! Sharp! Quick! Quiet!

photorobw
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera !!
7/7/2011

Customer review by FarmerDon

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by FarmerDon
by FarmerDon

From a D5000 to a D90 and now to a D7000, WOW, the D7000 is an awesome camera!! I really like the extra features that it has over the D90. I have never used a D300 or D700 or any FX type camera so I can't compare, but I have heard that some of the components and features of the D7000 are similar to the D300 and D300s. I bought the MD-B11 battery pack and a spare battery when I bought my D7000 and I wish they would of kept the battery pack more like the D90 battery pack. You have to remove the battery pack to get to the battery inside the camera, unlike the D90 battery pack where you store both batteries in the battery pack which makes it very easy to access. Not a deal breaker though and I am keeping the battery pack. I'm still in the learning stage so I can't go into detail but so far this is a very nice camera for the money !! Now if I was looking to up-grade from a much older model and was deciding between the D90 or the D7000 and had the bucks for the D7000 ... well .... D7000 hands down !!

FarmerDon
Agra, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Camera
1/27/2011

Customer review by neilg

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by neilg
by neilg

I just upgraded from the D70s and love this camera. It was a substantial upgrade being 4 years newer. Menu system is easy to navigate and the ability to customize how buttons work has changed my shooting experience quite a bit. Since it is such an upgrade from my previous camera, it is hard to be too critical, but I will put a few notes down. They changed the shutter sound. Not sure why as I liked the sound of the D70s. Had a bit more weight behind it and sounded cool. Also, the dual SD cards are handy, but they can be annoying. I have mine in "mirror" mode or "backup". So it keeps a copy on both cards. I do a lot of deleting to clean up my pictures before I actually download them and it does not delete them off both cards. So when you hook up your usb cable, it will import all of them. You have to eject your backup SD card (slot 2) first and then do the upload. If you are happy you haven't missed any photos you shouldn't have deleted...then you have to format both cards.

neilg
Calgary, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too Many Hot Pixels - Returned
11/11/2010

Customer review by MBM

2.0 stars 11/11/2010 by MBM
by MBM

It is hard to give the camera a full review since I only had it for a day before returning it and then doing the same to a second unit right in the store. There are unacceptable amounts of bright Hot Pixels in the Video capture, some even appear in the photos. and this is in normal ISO in well lit living rooms and in the stores, so not just under extreme conditions. Since video is a main motivator for me to upgrade and video is the big promotional point for these I expect it to be pristine, especially for the money. So Nikon has a bad sensor issue in this first batch release of this camera. It is a known problem, at least among the user groups, so Please Nikon read this and address the problem soon. As a still camera I am sure it rocks but I did not get past the sensor issue to really experience the rest of the camera. For now I will wait it out until the sensor/hot-pixels issues are resolved before purchasing again and updating a review here, my D90 and D700 serve me well.

MBM
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value for a superb product
11/3/2011

Customer review by LearningFast

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by LearningFast
by LearningFast

The D7000 occupies that space between consumer grade cameras and professional grade cameras. One might call it an enthusiast model. I would say that if it is good enough for Bob Krist to use as his go-to camera, it is 'Pro' enough for me. Some will say that it is no D3. While they are technically correct, the camera does not seem to know that, and keeps turning out stunning photos. Being a novice, I am not qualified to judge this camera against others at a technical level. I will simply say that I am delighted that I am able to take photographs of this quality after only a few days of fooling around with it. Just think what I'll be able to do after a photography class, and more practice! And the price is reasonable. I purchased this online from Costco in a kit with the Nikkor 18-200 VRII zoom lens. I would highly recommend this lens over the 18-105 that sometimes comes with it. This lens handles macro, landscape, portraits and short telephoto very well. Now to get that circular polarizing filter ....

LearningFast
Santa Cruz, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding!!!
4/14/2011

Customer review by ccPirate

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by ccPirate
by ccPirate

I traded up from a D200 that I was very happy with. The D7000 is a tad smaller and I thought this might be a problem when I first "hefted" the camera, but after shooting with it for a few days, I soon got used to the smaller size. The ability to take HD video with the camera was a big decision to upgrade. My son and I were going on an adventure vacation to the Big Island (HI) and I didn't want to lug two cameras around. While the quality of the video is acceptable, the operation of the video is a little cumbersome and awkward - unlike the controls for the still functions that are all laid out superbly - it was this layout that convinced me to go Nikon over Canon years ago. I particularly like the bigger and higher res screen on the back. And though I am fully literate in the art of photography it is handy to have the "scene" mode - to quickly set up a shot and snap it... also LOVE the 2 user presets... I can't rave enough about this camera... stop reading and go try one for yourself... you will love it.

ccPirate
Southampton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera
1/1/2016

Customer review by Barani

5.0 stars 1/1/2016 by Barani
by Barani

I am using this camera for about 4.5 years now, sill looking and working good as new. Most importantly it works for all conditions, recently I have accidentally poured water on the camera and I did not notice for some time, nothing has happened. Still working as expected. Way to go Nikon…..

Barani
India/USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1409 total reviews
1-20 of 1409 reviews