Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 31 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Great firepit, but instructions need work
5/3/2011

Customer review by KLove01

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by KLove01
by KLove01

First things first. Once the Blue Rhino Outdoor Fireplace is put together, it’s a really nice looking piece and it’s very sturdy. For basically $100, it’s really quite functional and enjoyable. Our family really likes it. However, having said that, putting it together is a bit of a battle. A little forethought, or even having someone actually follow the enclosed instructions, before release would likely have led to some basic design changes and instruction changes that could have made the assembly of this unit much easier and a much more pleasant experience. Should you decide to purchase this unit, I have a few words of advice to try to help make the construction go a little smoother than it went for me: First, have a screwdriver (preferable adjustable angle, if you have one), a wrench and a drill with a ¼ inch titanium bit (for drilling through metal) on hand. Also, be sure not to lose any pieces as there aren’t any extras in the kit. Nut “C” is packaged attached to either end of the Frame Posts. In step (2) Attach Handle, although it doesn’t show this well, make sure that the long end of the latch plate is facing away from the center of the door. In step (4) Attach Topper and Finial, you will need to drill two ¼ inch holes in the Hood Assembly as these were omitted on my unit during the manufacture process. I assume this to be a flaw in all of them since someone else mentioned having to drill them as well. In step (5) Attach Frame Posts, be sure to get the orientation correct on this. The front left corner of the base is the one with two holes pre-drilled in it. A simple note here mentioning that would have been immensely helpful. There should be two pre-labeled posts in your kit, although I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that the labels fell off in shipping as they aren’t the best glued labels. The front right post will have a small strike plate for the door latch in addition to the hook for the grill grate. The back left post has the grill hook in the same position as the one on the front right. The other two posts (front left and back right) are interchangeable. Be sure that, when you are attaching the posts, the grill hooks all face up and do NOT tighten the post nuts to the base all the way yet. In step (6) Attach Frame Panels, the frame panels go on the sides and back of the unit. You will have trouble here unless you have a right angle screwdriver. This step would have been one hundred times simpler had they welded the screw heads to the Frame Panels. That said, if you can hold the screw head with the tip of your finger while tightening the nut down with your wrench, it seems to be enough to hold the whole thing together. Tighten them down as much as possible. It might still be a touch wobbly at this point, but once it’s all together, the unit is pretty sturdy. In step (7) Attach Hood Assembly, orientation is again important. The front left corner of the hood is the one with two holes drilled in the corner piece. Once you have the Hood Assembly on the Frame Posts, tighten all the nuts from this step and from step (5). All in all, as I wrote above, I think that it’s a nice looking unit and pretty sturdy when complete. It’s light enough that moving it around isn’t too much trouble, although you might want to be wearing some rag clothes when doing so, as it’ll be pretty sooty after few fires. Also, keep in mind that it’s metal, so it’s going to get really hot to the touch when you are burning or even just sitting in the sun too long. Lastly, although another reviewer mentioned that it’s built to weather the elements, I would still recommend buying a small grill cover (as I can see it eventually rusting without some sort of protection) as well as something to set it on if you are using it on a deck (four properly placed concrete stepping stones would likely be enough). Hopefully this has been useful. If I’ve missed anything that you think might be useful to others, please let me know. Thanks for your time.

Was this review helpful? (81) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KLove01
Wentzville, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice Fireplace
1/16/2011

Customer review by LeapinLabrador

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by LeapinLabrador
by LeapinLabrador

We just bought this fireplace 2 days ago. We have used it both nights and it's been quite nice. So far so good. The only issue with ours is the frame gets hot so I wouldn't use it on a wooden deck, we use ours on the concrete patio area outside. We love it and I feel like we got a good deal on it. I would recommend it to anybody who loves an outdoor fireplace.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeapinLabrador
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Recommendation for Use on Wooden decks
1/30/2011

Customer review by spunkyblond

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by spunkyblond
by spunkyblond

To those who have wooden decks. It has been mentioned in reviews here the flame gets too hot for use on wooden decks. I recommend placing a slab of slate underneath this or any fire pit or portable wood burning fire place. This well make it much safer.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spunkyblond
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great item bad instructions
4/25/2011

Customer review by painxinxvain

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by painxinxvain
by painxinxvain

fire pit over all is very nice. looks good has a cooking grate so you can cook on it too. down falls: mine was missing a nut, no big problem it was at the top corner and fits really tight anyways. instructions are very short on description. "This goes here. This is how many screws/nuts it takes" well that's good and all. but there is a door on the front. and you have to make sure you put the correct corner piece where it goes so the door closes right. The instructions do not tell you about the door. and what piece is the right one. also reading through the other reviews i saw one that said the top did not have the hole for the door. I found this problem too. but I also found out why. This is square, so the top goes on 4 possible ways. one of the corner brackets has an extra hole in it. that is the side that goes on the same side as the base with the extra hole it in. that makes the two spots you need for the door to fit in. again this is not in the instructions. but a little looking around and you can find it your self. I had to move a corner piece. then after i had the top on, I had to take it off and turn it the right way so the door would go on. added about 10 mins or so more time to build it. Hope this helps out the next person so they know what to look for.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
painxinxvain
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
11/13/2011

Customer review by Carrolls

1.0 stars 11/13/2011 by Carrolls
by Carrolls

My husband and I bought this because we wanted a fire pit and a grill. We have only used it one time. We had it for a little over a month. It is completly rusted!!! Not only the bottom that catches the ashes, but all of it the screws and all. This item is junk. The limited warrenty does not include rust.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carrolls
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Don't buy..
6/2/2011

Customer review by Pl12301

2.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Pl12301
by Pl12301

Was very pretty till after the first rain.. It is now all rust.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pl12301
Whitesboro, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GREAT PRODUCT
4/9/2011

Customer review by GrandView

4.0 stars 4/9/2011 by GrandView
by GrandView

This product is better than the other fire pits. It catches flying embers so as not to catch anything on fire which is great if you live closely to other homes. Good price/value. Only drawback we can see is, theres only one door that opens to the fire. If you have several people roasting marshmellows it becomes difficult to do and thus not everyone can do it at the same time. Took one star away because the unit tends to smell after heating up and you'd rather smell the firewood instead. Was told the smell will eventually go away with usuage. We will see.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandView
Medfield, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/1/2011

Customer review by Dutchman12

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by Dutchman12
by Dutchman12

I have it in my backyard patio. It makes me feel like I'm living in the country again. I used to love sitting around a campfire of an evening, drinking coffee, talking and just having a good time. The kids would roast wienies or marshmallows. It just brings back a lot of good memories

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dutchman12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Assembly is Horrible!!!
5/31/2011

Customer review by Beebsbee

2.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Beebsbee
by Beebsbee

The pre-drilled holes were located in the wrong spots. They didn't line up at all for the top little square. We put the four corners on wrong twice. It didn't specify in the directions which ones went where. We had to figure it out. We had to leave two of the screws out of the large top piece since the holes came no where close to lining up as well. If it came preassembled I would recommend it. Otherwise it's not worth the aggravation. My previous firepit was just like this one but a different brand and we had no trouble putting it together. Wouldn't have bought this one if the previous one hadn't rusted out over the past 4 years. Also, we have two children so are pretty skilled in putting things together with instructions (bikes, furniture, swingsets, etc.).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beebsbee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
LOVE IT!!
5/3/2011

Customer review by LOVEMYNEWPIT

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by LOVEMYNEWPIT
by LOVEMYNEWPIT

This met my expectations,more then expected,I put river rock all around underneath it looks so nice

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LOVEMYNEWPIT
WARE,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/10/2011

Customer review by bpwater

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by bpwater
by bpwater

It was great, but all the screws and trays are rusting! Not good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bpwater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
great cheep fire pit
4/25/2011

Customer review by mrnobody123

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by mrnobody123
by mrnobody123

this fire pit is the lowest price, and best i could find on the internet after searching there hours or more. I recommend, and should get another for my camp also..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrnobody123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Outdoor Fireplace
2/17/2011

Customer review by overcomeraz

4.0 stars 2/17/2011 by overcomeraz
by overcomeraz

I just put this together in about 2+ hrs. I think the directions don't actually give you the EASIEST way to assemble. I think I would try putting the three sides together first next time, and then place it on top of the bottom frame. I say this because it is very TIGHT trying to get the screws and bolts in and kind of hurt my back bending down so much. I think building the three sides first, I could have raised it to table height (bench height) to work on. Also the kit DOES NOT have the tools to assemble it (you know the throw away kind0. So I used a 10 mm size for the larger bolts and an 8mm for the smaller. I also happen to have one of those funny wrenches that are basically a metal rob with a 90 deg bent tip and have a phillips head. Using this it allowed me to get in between the rails of the metal pieces to hold the screw while turning the bolt with the appropriate wrench. Take you time and do it right. Don't over tighten because the metal frame will bend. I hope it stays pristine for years to come--I haven't tried it out yet but comparing prices everywhere, this was absolutely the best buy for this type of fireplace.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
overcomeraz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great bargain for the money
4/11/2011

Customer review by moneysavinmomma09

4.0 stars 4/11/2011 by moneysavinmomma09
by moneysavinmomma09

Bought this fireplace to replace our chiminea. Wasn't expecting such a nice unit for the money. Went together easily and seems to be sturdy enough. The ash tray is kind of small, so needs to be emptied often, but there is enough room under that we could try a different tray under the entire unit to slide in & out as needed. For now, though, we're very pleased with our purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moneysavinmomma09
Sandusky, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Large and convenient
4/26/2011

Customer review by Vgourmet

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Vgourmet
by Vgourmet

I purchase this Firepit online because it was large enough for what I wanted and the shipping to my home was cheap enough that I would have burned more gas and spent more time going to the store to get it. Very nice firepit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vgourmet
Bronson, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/4/2012

Customer review by Boxlunch61

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Boxlunch61
by Boxlunch61

Have used once and looking forward to using again. Great value for the price. Rated a 3 on expectations because the actual product did not match the picture online. The online picture is black and blue but what I received was all black.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boxlunch61
Wymore, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Very well likes
3/14/2011

Customer review by TheBBQFamilyof6

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by TheBBQFamilyof6
by TheBBQFamilyof6

We bought this a couple weeks ago. It didnt take long to put together, about and hour. Will be using it for the first time this coming weekend. I would buy another one. We have priced them for sometime now. And this is a great value for the price. I would recommend this to all my friends. We have gotten alot of compliments and friends are going out to buy one for themselves. But hurry they go fast. Dont wait becuase they will be gone. It took us about a week to find it at a store near us. Happy Spring to all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBBQFamilyof6
Kansas City, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
3/6/2011

Customer review by RMB52766

4.0 stars 3/6/2011 by RMB52766
by RMB52766

Liked the firepit....the last hole was not drilled so we have to figure that part out and hopefully we will drill it properly....so that the door can go on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RMB52766
Fort Myers,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love it love it!!!
5/17/2011

Customer review by rizzgirl

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by rizzgirl
by rizzgirl

We bought this fire-pit for my kids who like to have bon fires at night and roast marshmallows, and my husband and I enjoy sitting by it on the patio with a couple of glasses of wine to just sit and talk after we put the kids bed and have a little time alone, It creates great atmosphere and looks great on the patio. It's also great for keeping those pesky mosquitoes away too. We love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rizzgirl
St. Louis, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
7/7/2012

Customer review by kyto

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by kyto
by kyto

Awesome value for the price. Use this almost every night so far and it is great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kyto
Littleton, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews