Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 36 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 23 reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Servicable, Reasonably Fast Little Drive.
7/15/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This 1tb portable hard drive was purchased to do drive image backups. So, the USB3 speed is important, as is the size. It is my 3rd such drive, the first that is USB3. The drive itself I found very servicable. No issues there. Their software leaves something to be desired. I'm disappointed with that coming from Western Digital. Problems are that it creates a startup program that monitors for the drive. Since the drive is rarely attached, its wasteful to have a permanent monitoring service that wastes CPU time. Further, the drive encryption software is primitive & amatuerish; after assigning the drive to the letter "P", their software made "P" the encrypted drive and a new letter, "S", that could be written to & read. Thus, none of my backups would work. Further, this new software does NOT work with my prior two Passport drives. Pretty dumb if you ask me. I got a competitive price at Walmart ($100), and was able to use a gift card on top of it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great drive
12/18/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This thing is great. Smaller than expected, fits in your back pocket. Very easy to use, just plug and play. Security on the drive is easy to set up and files transfer very fast!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent price!
12/21/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We use these drives to move video from our computers to the flat panel TV in the living room. The portable size of these USB powered drives makes it ideal for watching edited and downloaded video on the big screen. Walmart's online price couldn't be beaten by dozens of on-line retailers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I needed
12/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
TheWestern Digital 1TB hard drive was exactly what I was looking for. The price was the best I could find. Free shipping to my home was certainly a plus as well. And the hard drive was easy to set up and has worked flawlessly since.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for mobility
6/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have two at work for backing up all my files and have friends that swear by them. It is a tough little external that can fit in your pocket until ready to use. I finally caved in and bought one for personnal use and am very pleased so far (granted it has only been a month of use and has not been really tested in an extreme environment yet). It has great file transfer speed even on USB 2.0. I was able to transfer a lot of information relatively quickly compared to some of my older model externals.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Complicated with a Mac!
6/24/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a Mac, and knew I should have to reconfigure to meet the settings of this hard drive, but I never knew it would be so complicated! I'm pretty tech-saavy and this took 2 days to figure out how to work. Once I called tech support and a few friends, it worked and works well so far!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not a fan
1/27/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have always used Western Digital portable hard drive products and loved every one of them so far (both quality and price), until this particular model. This was my first 1TB model and I had high expectations. I have multiple computers for work and home - 3 laptops and 1 desktop, 4 different operating systems. It turned out that this device was only recognized by the desktop and 2 of my laptops. In addition, on 1 of the 2 laptops that did recognize the device, the drive would magically disappear in the middle of a file transfer - this did not occur every time, but did happen a few times when I transfer larger files. I ended up returning this 1TB model and went back to smaller sizes. One other thing I don't like about My Passport products in general is that there's no case that comes with the product. You'll have to spend extra to purchase a case, otherwise the device gets scratched up pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wow! The most exciting product I've seen long time
10/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the most exiting thing I've seen in computers for a long time. I highly recommend one to use for data or backup. It has a password feature I find very appealing. If anyone steals or "borrows" it, they can't possibly ever access your data as opposed to all other ways to backup. You can use it attached to you computer all the time if you want. I'm buying another one so I have: One for data on the computer and one for backup storage in a safe, etc. What's neat about using it externally is that if you want to use the data on another computer, it's so fast and easy to do so. Also if the house is burning down or you have to leave very fast for emergency, you can just pull it in a second. Another neat thing is since it's password protected (optional), you can let someone else use your computer and they can't access your personal stuff (except browsing history, etc. that is on the C: or operating system drive). I don't trust my data inside the computer on the C: with Windows. That's scary. It works with USB 2.0, but if you don't have 3.0, you can get this: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Hubs-USB-Gagets/15539742 if you motherboard has a PCI express slot (all do if not more than about two years old).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A Terabyte for under $100 is unheard of...Add to the fact of Western Digital's reliability is a great buy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for anyone to use.
7/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this to backup my computer files and it works very well. Will probably never use all the memory but can rely on the fact that it will be ready anytime I need to add files and pictures. Very easy to use - just plug it into the USB port and it's ready to go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
punkineddie
11/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Caught it on sale for $99 in the store. Plug and play - no software to install. Quick and easy - a powerful little tool for backup - just a little bigger than my ipod. Wal-Mart also has the carrying case to protect it for about $10.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love my WD 1TB Portable HDD. It does the job the way it's supposed to, it's lightweight and a nice size. I bought it for $129 just a couple weeks ago. So sad to see it went down on price to $112!! So, I would advice that if this is what you're looking for, you buy it now! I used it on 3 laptops: 1 with Windows Vista, 1 with Windows XP and 1 with Windows 7 and I had NO problems whatsoever. It DOES NOT come with a cover, however, I bought the Case Logic QHDC 101RED Portable HardDrive Case, which also went down in price! It fits perfectly and the red color of the case makes it easier to spot. I recommend this item (and the case).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/24/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great product. I was able to transfer all of my pictures and movies to this drive, so now I can take them with me anywhere I go. When I purchased it, Walmart was cheaper by $3 and it included free shipping. This is where the problem was. It took nearly 3 weeks for me to receive this item, when it normally takes right at one week to get things here (Iraq). I consider myself somewhat lucky though. There are a few people that have been waiting for items for 2 months. Walmart needs to improve the shipping process if they want to continue to get my business on things other than food and laundy products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
satisfied
3/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i have nothing to complain about =)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Product Delivered by a great company
5/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have always been a fan of Western Digital. After 25 years in building mainframe, servers, and PC's I found the WD product line the most reliable. Now, that WD has compacted their technology into this power package it's like having the best of 4 worlds. Portability, Reliability, Cost, and up to date technology. The cost factor is only due to Wal-Mart’s purchasing power. Thank you Wal-Mart. Wal-Mart also delivered on their promise of a rapid reliable convenient delivery. All in all this is a great product priced and delivered by a great company. I recommend this product to everyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
small and lightweight. easy to use!
3/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i purchased this for my laptop to store movies and other large downloads. plug it into a usb port and it does the rest. very easy to transfer my downloads. much smaller and lighter than what my friends and family have invested in for the same amount of memory. can fit into a back pocket. very glad i purchased this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A top notch, high capacity portable hard drive that fulfills all my data tranfer and storage needs. I feel the price was quite reasonable for the capacity. I purchased this hard drive for music, photos, and other personal uses and I am considering buying a second unit to utilize for my business.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very fruststating
3/10/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!! IT IS VERY FRUSTSTRATING TRANFERING FILES. I WISHED I BOUGHT THE TOSHIBA i had very good service with the toshiba hard drive. the only reason i did not is this was 5o dollars cheaper and i wanted to try something new.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (97)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Western Digital 1TB External Hard Drive
4/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This 1 Terabyte hard drive is very small and portable, just about fits in a shirt pocket but with the capacity to hold a great deal of data. I highly recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice Hard Drive
5/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a compact 1TB hard drive that does not require a power plug which makes it completely portable. Nice buy for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642855, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-