Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

65 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

65 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 53 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
Nice Drive
1/9/2011

Customer review by TheGMan5

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by TheGMan5
by TheGMan5

This Seagate 1 TB external drive is pretty nice, although I would have expected for WalMart to have it better priced than the competition but WalMart didn't. But the drive is pretty nice and does exactly what I need it to do. Too bad it came pre-loaded with all the stupid unneeded movies that I don't need and that I would have to buy in order to view. Just get rid of it and save yourself that space.

Was this review helpful? (54) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheGMan5
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Handy Device
2/10/2011

Customer review by hOSUton

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by hOSUton
by hOSUton

I bought this to replace another SeaGate external hard drive that is less portable, requiring an AC adapter. This drive is powered by the USB and is faster than the older one. I am in the process of moving data from the old to the new which is taking longer owing to the older drives lack of speed. The new one is more compact and is just slightly larger than drives with lesser capacity.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hOSUton
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
2/18/2011

Customer review by Jelfman

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by Jelfman
by Jelfman

I bought this and reformatted it to work on my PS3. I am very happy with it, I put my whole movie library on it. Now I can watch all my movies through my PS3.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jelfman
Bakersfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seagate FreeAgent
7/8/2011

Customer review by katmasyaf

3.0 stars 7/8/2011 by katmasyaf
by katmasyaf

I just bought my Seagate and it was really easy to install. I can't complain about the price because at Best Buy the same product was Forty dollars more. Everything moved over really easy.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katmasyaf
Loda Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED!!!!
6/28/2012

Customer review by VOLZBRZ

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by VOLZBRZ
by VOLZBRZ

I am in Army and have been on multiple deployments. ALL my fellow soldiers have portable hard drives. I finally caved in a decided to buy one. I had absolutely NO idea which one to get. Most of the people I know either have the Seagate or the Western Digital 1 TB. I looked at both and and read several reviews. After scouring the internet, I decided on the Seagate, which was on sale at Walmart.com for $97 (plus $4 S/H). It arrived in less than a week (and I am overseas). It was too easy to use. I took it out of the box and plugged it into my laptop. Within minutes I was good to go. I haven't had any issues. I didn't get the case with it and I travel quite a bit (on helicopters mostly). This thing has taken quite a beating and works perfect. Some people complain that the USB cord it too short. Not an issue! I love it and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for the most bang for their buck!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VOLZBRZ
Outside the U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2 in 1 tool
11/25/2011

Customer review by bikerboy83

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by bikerboy83
by bikerboy83

as a computer tech i am always looking for that one tool that will make my job a little easier and with the purchase of this drive i found one for you not only get a superb portable hard drive you also get a usb sata connector that allows you to connect any sata hard drive to it and pull data off of it if klyou have the right software to do so but i have done many data recovery jobs to where i had to plug it into a desktop to do the job but with the connector on the hard drive i can now go anywhere to perform this service so i will just go ahead and say coming from a tech of more than 15 years now wow on this product and you will not be disappointed for getting it

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikerboy83
springfield, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seagate is still Seagate
12/11/2011

Customer review by Fred48

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Fred48
by Fred48

Seagate has been making world-class hard drives for longer than most of their customers have been alive. The FreeAgent GoFlex is just another perfect Seagate product. I removed it from the package, briefly scanned the instructions, plugged it in, and it worked. It couldn't be better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fred48
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
5/15/2011

Customer review by cldocx

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by cldocx
by cldocx

I've had this drive for three months now and so far it has been excellent. The included software is a pile of junk so I recommend using something else. That doesn't have anything to do with the performance of the drive itself. This is my 6th Seagate drive and none have let me down yet!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cldocx
South Hill, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great with Linksys E4200 Router
12/12/2011

Customer review by BVTechnodad

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by BVTechnodad
by BVTechnodad

I purchased the Seagate 1Tb USB drive to serve as a network drive with the Cisco Linksys wireless router. The older 500Gb Seagate Freeagent drive was not supported, but this new drive works great with the router. The included trial Memeo backup and autosync software make the backup process automatic. Too bad that full versions of each are not included with the drive purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BVTechnodad
Bella Vista, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
3/30/2012

Customer review by artistrebel

1.0 stars 3/30/2012 by artistrebel
by artistrebel

I purchased this hard drive in order to transfer my pictures, videos, and documents. I had a large volume of these. There is a lack of information on the package and the instructions. Upon hooking the device up, there was no opportunity to selectively choose what to do. It automatically began to back up my entire computer system. I decided to let it do so, which took over 20 hours, it continually had error messages, and had to be restarted. I do have a lot of files, but not 20 hours worth. After the completion of the backup, I had difficulty finding the files. I wanted to double check to see if they were there before I deleted them on the computer. They were not. Only the file folders were there with no content. I then manually with the advanced option backed them up and were able to confirm their presence. After taking a few days off, I returned to the computer. Everytime, I turned the computer on, it started to reback up again. It would not stop unless I paused scanning. Letting it continue would slow the computer to a crawl. I then attempted to proceed to delete the files on the C drive. When I did so, they would also erase on the new hard drive. Although, it was not supposed to do so. I even consulted their web site, which stated the same thing. I attempted to go through the support, which strangely is unable to connect with on their help line. Their is no customer chat, no on line email, or telephone. I would not buy this product for any reason. It is terrible. I have now wasted my money and time.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artistrebel
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Portable External Hard Drive !
8/28/2011

Customer review by copacabana2011

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by copacabana2011
by copacabana2011

It is simple and easy to use and save your archives!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
copacabana2011
Brazil,Curitiba Parana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Software is SLOW
1/12/2012

Customer review by reviewer4410

1.0 stars 1/12/2012 by reviewer4410
by reviewer4410

36 hours to back up 556 gig is crazy. I emailed tech support and asked is there any way to speed it up. No reply from tech support. After I clean this thing off it's going on Ebay to try and get my money back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewer4410
28273
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/21/2011

Customer review by Firebelle

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by Firebelle
by Firebelle

This hard drive is easy to use. I didn't have any problems setting it up. It works as it says in the description.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Firebelle
Florissant, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Seagate 1TB
10/4/2011

Customer review by MK05

4.0 stars 10/4/2011 by MK05
by MK05

I bought to backup my data. Very light, cheap and easy to use drive. I had it picked up at the store to save on shipping and since I wanted immediately. Placed the order at around 12.30 pm and had it picked up at 5.30 ! Awesome deal !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MK05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as PC and Mac compatible as advertised!
8/26/2012

Customer review by fauxtographer

2.0 stars 8/26/2012 by fauxtographer
by fauxtographer

I bought this Seagate drive so that I could use it interchangeably. I am a mac user and my photography friend is a pc user. It did not work as stated out of the box. It would read files but not write to the drive. Only with a lot of internet research (and Seagate's website is not very user friendly), was I able to discover that I had to install a different driver to get the Seagate drive to both read and write files to both mac and pc. A lot of wasted and frustrating hours spent to finally get the "out of the box" usability I had expected.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fauxtographer
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY, NOT WORTH THE FRUSTRATION
11/10/2012

Customer review by elmo4jr

1.0 stars 11/10/2012 by elmo4jr
by elmo4jr

I thought I was getting a bargain when I bought this Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1 TB hard drive. What could go wrong? I was buying a reputable brand. I was wrong. Since day 1, I had problems. I connected the hard drive to my laptop and nothing. I had to wiggle the connection for it to be detected on my laptop. I thought I could let this slip, no biggie, since I was just going to store my pics and music. Well, I started using it to play my Wii backups and now, it'll lose connectivity and that has really started to bug me. The game freezes and I have to restart the Wii. It is either connector problems, or the hard drive goes into a sleep mode. I should have done some research before buying this. I was suprised to see a lot of people having the same exact problem . Well, word of advise... DO NOT BUY!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elmo4jr
Brownsville, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Click of death
8/12/2012

Customer review by Nikonian

1.0 stars 8/12/2012 by Nikonian
by Nikonian

Nice for the price, and even better if you could trust it. From the beginning it has been clicking at random times. Doing some research on this issue tells me it will NOT survive long. My friend bought one at the same time I did, and hers is doing exactly the same. Click, click, click. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nikonian
Hermiston Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Useless
5/19/2011

Customer review by MediaNerd

1.0 stars 5/19/2011 by MediaNerd
by MediaNerd

The preloaded software is basically advertisement to buy other seagate software. It does the same as drag and drop or copying except slower! Also, the backup software won't recognize the drive even though my computer recognizes it. Every five minutes or so I would get an error while trying to back up my other external hard drive and would have to start over. So then I tried to just drag and drop which worked. Now less than half of the time will the hard drive be recognizes by my computer even. The fact that it will not be recognized and crashes repeatedly makes this product useless. Do not rely on this for storage. Luckily I had not deleted everything from the other drive. I will be taking this one back this weekend as well as the one I bought my mother.

Was this review helpful? (6) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MediaNerd
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB works great.
11/11/2011

Customer review by beasy34

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by beasy34
by beasy34

This a great hard drive, smaller than i expected, and much faster than my previous external. Works great with my hp netbook.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beasy34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very simple to use/set up
6/15/2011

Customer review by CTBuyer2011

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by CTBuyer2011
by CTBuyer2011

A great product at a great price - better yet, very simple to use. Would like it to be a bit faster but I am using USB 2.0. I suffered through a Western Digital hard drive installation that completely failed. Then I had to fight for my $90 back from Best Buy. Western Digital: aka What a Disaster.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CTBuyer2011
Norwalk, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews