Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

79 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
55
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
Good Product - Good Price
1/14/2011

Customer review by bethybee63

5.0 stars by bethybee63

I had this hooked up and backing up in seconds flat and have had no trouble with it at all. The instant back up was a little annoying until I figured out how to turn it off - I like to back up when I'm done.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bethybee63
Harpers Ferry, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/18/2011

Customer review by goldburg2

5.0 stars by goldburg2

Its holds so many files..amazing. v ery fast downloading. love the price. recommend it to everyone! Doesa lot to be so l ittle.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
goldburg2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Purchase
5/11/2011

Customer review by shoptobargainhunt

5.0 stars by shoptobargainhunt

This is a good buy. Product easy to use, works well and is reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shoptobargainhunt
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/17/2011

Customer review by DJC123

5.0 stars by DJC123

It works great and transfers information fast! I am very satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DJC123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Affordable and Great
4/13/2011

Customer review by canthedrummergetsome

5.0 stars by canthedrummergetsome

This product is easy to set up and easy to put files on. Durable and easy to connect. Plus the file transferring between Macs and PCs is great! :) Great product that I would most definitely buy again and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
canthedrummergetsome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
500GB for $50!
9/11/2011

Customer review by BluRayPlayer

5.0 stars by BluRayPlayer

I was looking at 16GB Flash Drives that were priced at $24, but then I saw a 500GB External HDD, by Seagate, that was close to half of the same price or $49; I was stunned. I took it home and found that it works well, and it comes preloaded with software for use with this device (Which you can erase if you want, but be careful because it can be useful so you may want to back it up; you can redownload the software through Seagate if that data does get erased). The unit is formatted in a NTSF file format, so it works well for Window computers, but it needs to be formatted with use of a Mac (Which means "yes" it does work with make, you just need to reformat it in a compatible file format a Mac can read). The only problem I encountered was that since it was in NTSF format, the Playstation 3 cannot read the unit and you can only create NTSF or exFat through a computer. You can however download a tool kit from seagate that can create partitions for the unit for use with multiple devices. This allows you to create a NTSF file format (which is more common in newer Windows computers), you can create a FAT32 file format (more common in Windows 95 computers), and FAT16 (Older 16-bit Model Computers). To get this External HDD to work on a Playstation 3, you need to partition in a FAT32 file format which you can choose however much data the system to can read out of the drive; 1GB-192GB or More. If you want to use this HDD for an XBOX 360, you need to partition the drive also in FAT32, but the system will only read 1GB-16GB, depending on the system updates (No Matter Even If The Drive Was fully in FAT32 file format). Playstation 3 - Partition in FAT32; I was able to get the system to read 165.8GB to 192GB. XBOX 360 - Parttition in FAT32; you can only get the system to read 1GB to 16GB through this drive, unless Microsoft has given the system an update that allows it to read further. Windows XP/Vista - Reads fine doesn't need formatting, does not need to be partition for use with computers that can read NTSF file formats, but can be Partitioned and still be read. Mac - Needs to be formatted if it was not read.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BluRayPlayer
Clarksville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 100 contributor
5/27/2011

Customer review by MMP1021

5.0 stars by MMP1021

I am a photographer and this is perfect for backing up client files and pictures!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MMP1021
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Included software is no good.
9/1/2011

Customer review by TemeculaBoy

3.0 stars by TemeculaBoy

I got this $49.99 at Walmart store. For the price...it's a deal. But the included software for backup was terrible. Just didn't work with my Dell laptop using Windows 7. Tried backing up my 150gb drive with the automatic software included and it was doing it for past 24hours! Got rid of the program and used another program and manually backed up. Works better that way. If you want to back up manually...for the price this is good. But there are better products out there....I miss the Maxtor external portable drive...that had better backup program and seemed faster. Now that Seagate owns Maxtor...you'd think they would have better products.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TemeculaBoy
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Small package, lots of storage
9/18/2011

Customer review by STORAGEWARRIOR

5.0 stars by STORAGEWARRIOR

Excellent storage for a reasonable price and compared to my other external 300 GB and 1 TB drives this one is about an eighth of the size. Plug and Chug.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
STORAGEWARRIOR
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Love it!
6/13/2011

Customer review by mikuei

5.0 stars by mikuei

Great backup program.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mikuei
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product. Outstanding value.
9/1/2011

Customer review by front30

5.0 stars by front30

Using it for Time Machine on my MacBook Pro. Seagate hard drives are quality products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
front30
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect Size
8/17/2011

Customer review by MrsJuicy

4.0 stars by MrsJuicy

This was a great buy so far, but my only complaint is the USB cord is too short & it tends to move a little from the plug & make the drive loose connection.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrsJuicy
Grand Junction, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/11/2011

Customer review by redders

4.0 stars by redders

It works well. Took me at least a week to work out how to get it to connect to my Mac. In the end I couldn't configure it to work with Macs and PCs so it is just configured for my Mac which is a big let down.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
redders
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well!
1/3/2012

Customer review by Sweetgyrl33

4.0 stars by Sweetgyrl33

This hard drive is easy to use and to install. Also, backing up my files weren't a problem at all. I recommend this product for anyone to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sweetgyrl33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good product but don't bump the hard drive
8/15/2011

Customer review by Tonami

4.0 stars by Tonami

The hard drive works great, unless you bump it while it's writing. It is very sensitive to bumps, but overall seems to be a good product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tonami
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Not bad for the price
8/29/2011

Customer review by 1Shopper1980

3.0 stars by 1Shopper1980

Bought to back up laptop. Hopefully, I will never have to see how well it works in that regard. Nice, small and sleek device. Slightly larger than an average smartphone. Easy plug and play hookup. I do not regret purchasing the item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1Shopper1980
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Hope you don't get the defective USB 3.0 cable
9/30/2011

Customer review by MartyinSC

3.0 stars by MartyinSC

Bought two for my church. Both had defective USB plugs. Returned them to Seagate and got new cable adapter plug-ins. Looks like a manufacturing defect. If you pushed the USB plug in all the way to the computer, it wouldn't work. You had to wiggle the plug out a bit to make contact. Seagate admitted their fault. I paid no shipping either way. They made good on their problem. Just hope nobody else has to go thru this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MartyinSC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Don't waste your money.
8/9/2011

Customer review by Love78852

1.0 stars by Love78852

Bought this to backup and keep my pictures and music. Yeah right, after I transfered some music with a lot of difficulty it just stopped working. Completely! No computer will pick it up at all. It's like non-existent according to my computer. What?!! I totally DO NOT recommend this product. I will be returning ASAP. I only bought it 2 days ago!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Love78852
Eagle Pass, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money!
1/3/2012

Customer review by LostData

1.0 stars by LostData

I brought a goflex to back up information while getting a new hard drive installed on my laptop, before I could get the information transferred back to the laptop, the external drive crashed (within 2 weeks of purchase)..I've taken it to 2 places to have the data recovered..both places said the drive was faulty from the manufacture! Thanks Seagate! Seagate's solution- replace the drive for free, but not the data (not in the warranty -price quote from them for data is $600). You get what you pay for..nothing! :(

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LostData
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
DO NOT BUY SEAGATE PRODUCTS
8/13/2011

Customer review by Stowe

1.0 stars by Stowe

MY husband has bought 3 external hard drives from seagate. One 500, 1TB and 1.5 TB. The 1Tb has stopped working after about 6 months. He took it to a PC specilaist and he was told it would be anywere from 150-2000 $ to retrive the data on it. He has recently purchest the 500 one as a present for our annyversary. I have pluged it in today and it will not even start. I have already tryed it on 2 different computers with Windows 7 and Vista but it is not working. We are now left with the 1 tb product and I fear it is just a metter of time untill this will stop working. I have never beem more dissapointed with any electronic brand. I will NEVER EVER by Seagate products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Stowe
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 62 total reviews