Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 29 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Great for Dish Network!!!
6/3/2011

Customer review by Blimfark

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by Blimfark
by Blimfark

I bought a USB 2.0 WD My Book Essential drive right before the USB 3.0 drives were released (bummer), so decided not to use it with any of my computers since the newer 3.0 is 10 times faster. Out of curiosity in finding another use for it, I plugged it into my DishNet DVR receiver, figuring the receiver was a USB 2.0 system, and it just took off! DishNet reformatted it, and now I am able to move saved programs and personal pictures over to the WD My Book Essential for safekeeping. Since I have two DishNet DVR receivers in my home, I can simply move the WD to either receiver to view saved programming. If you purchased the USB 3.0, it will still work w/DishNet 2.0. Maybe down the road DishNet will go to 3.0 on newer receivers and then your saved data will still run.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blimfark
Edgewood, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Book
4/2/2011

Customer review by cenopath

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by cenopath
by cenopath

This is the second My Book drive I,ve ordered. First one is on my desktop, this one will go on my laptop. A real bargain, lrg capacity (1T), reasonable price, fast shipping and only .97 cents from Walmart. Just plug in to USB port and power supply. Like back up feature.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cenopath
Eden. NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!
6/25/2011

Customer review by lirpznleon

5.0 stars 6/25/2011 by lirpznleon
by lirpznleon

This item is perfect for backing up files, it has more than enough gb, its compact, and has not given me any problems whatsoever!!! I love it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lirpznleon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works with Dish Network
3/5/2011

Customer review by QuiltedBag

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by QuiltedBag
by QuiltedBag

I bought this to use with my Dish Network DVR now that they have stopped charging a fee to unlock the feature. I had absolutely no trouble installing this myself. Dish reformatted it automatically. It's working great.

Was this review helpful? (53) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuiltedBag
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
External Drive connects to old and new pc's
6/18/2012

Customer review by bkwalmart

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by bkwalmart
by bkwalmart

I was looking for a 1T drive to use with Windows XP. This one works fine and has good capacity. Windows XP gives some warning messages but then has no problem. It works with USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 so it can be used with old and new pc's. I don't use the software programs that came with the drive, but I just read and write to it just like the C: drive.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bkwalmart
Newark, Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good purchase
7/15/2011

Customer review by sisavela

4.0 stars 7/15/2011 by sisavela
by sisavela

I bought this for a gift and it worked perfectly, we didnt have a problem to install it. BUT the only one thing is that the USB is 2.0 and not 3.0 as described above. The associate told me that was an error typing and the USB 3.0 on this particular external hard drive didn't exist. Still runs fast enough.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sisavela
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as expected
7/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Works as expected

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/30/2012

Customer review by TennStormy

1.0 stars 6/30/2012 by TennStormy
by TennStormy

this thing has Never worked properly. When I started my pc with it connected it would lock up my pc. I would have to start the pc Then hook up the hardrive!! Then after getting tired of fooling with it several months, today when I tried to get it to work, it will work about 20 seconds (you can feel the hd trunning in side the case), then it would stop. Would never light up the indicator light over a couple seconds untile you turned it off and on again.. over and over. I will NEVER buy another Western Digital product again!!! I have 2 other ex hard drives, both of which have worked for many years, this one has Never worked right!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TennStormy
Gladeville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT PRODUCT!!!
10/14/2012

Customer review by Grofaz

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by Grofaz
by Grofaz

I HAVE USED SEAGATE AND TOSHIBA PRODUCTS FOR ALL MY COMPUTERS, BUT AFTER BUYING THIS I WAS GLAD I TOOK BACK THE SEAGATE IT WOULD NOT WORK ON MY LAPTOP. EASY SETUP AND SOLID BUILD AND WORKS SO FAR OUTSTANDING FOR MY NEEDS. ALSO WD HAS GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THIS MY BOOK IS REAL PLUG AND PLAY. I HAD EVERYTHING BACKED UP IN LESS THAN 20 MIN USING USB2.0. THEY HAVE A GREAT WARRANTY AND BACK UP THERE PRODUCTS. SMOOTH SET UP AND RUNS WITH NO NOISE AND COOL. I DO A LOT OF RESEARCH BEFORE I BUY AND THIS IS A GOOD DRIVE FOR BACKUP AND EXTRA STORAGE FOR HOME OR OFFICE USE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grofaz
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed!
4/30/2011

Customer review by TexasLady04

1.0 stars 4/30/2011 by TexasLady04
by TexasLady04

This hard drive was impossible to install. No software arrived with it. Managed to manually install and it still wouldn't show up in my computer. After two weeks of trying,I returned it to the store.If you are looking for a user friendly external hard drive-this is most definitely not it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasLady04
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good External Drive
9/9/2013

Customer review by MonasticPriest

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by MonasticPriest
by MonasticPriest
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this external drive to do mirror image backups with Carbonite. I had a bit of trouble setting it up, but with help from Carbonite, it is running fine. The only reason I did not give it an excellent on meets expectations is because I am not sure if Western Digital's software or Carbonite's software gave me the problem. But I would buy it again and I recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonasticPriest
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not so fast usb 3
9/30/2012

Customer review by Ti12

3.0 stars 9/30/2012 by Ti12
by Ti12

I bought this for a friend and selected it due to the 3.0 supposed speed. Tried it out and didn't get what I expected. My friend didn't care about speed only space so he kept it. The connector is really delicate so this is a not to be unplugged regulary due to you have to be very careful when using the connector. I wouldn't but one of this for me ever.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ti12
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
3/30/2013

Customer review by mikec160

3.0 stars 3/30/2013 by mikec160
by mikec160
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well I've had these before the drive is fine. but the programing has never worked too good for me. prior ones have caused blue screen crash dump when disconnecting. but others Seagate drives did too. that must have had something to do with Microsoft. especially when running windows back up. that problem resolved most likely through Microsoft updates. I never could get the smart ware working right have not tried again this time. they make you install smart ware partially. I only used the most limited smart ware option. As all the back ups from any drives I've had has slowed me so much it is not worth my time. the first and only problem at this time is they park there icon on my taskbar. when I use new drive and another WD old drive although this time it could differentiate the individual drives when I used there smart ware icon window to disconnect it disconnected both drives instead of the selected one from my computer. So I use the windows disconnect to get the right one solely. Too soon to tel. My old WD drives I had to remove all their programing letting windows run them. Then all the problems quit. I had worse problems with a Seagate never shutting off running all the time. these ones do shut down nice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikec160
Muscoda Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Book 1TB
6/29/2012

Customer review by Yesydel

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Yesydel
by Yesydel

This product is simply amazing and very easy to use. All my data saved.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yesydel
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for back-ups
12/31/2012

Customer review by LarryFr

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by LarryFr
by LarryFr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Comes with preloaded software for backing up your computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LarryFr
Brookesmith, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Western Digital My Book Essential 1TB USB 3.0
8/29/2013

Customer review by Chuck28372

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by Chuck28372
by Chuck28372

Western Digital My Book Essential 1TB USB 3.0 Works very well with Windows 8 no problems at all with the Hard Drive. After losing a lot of my photos & video due to my last computer getting hit by lighting I went ahead & purchased it Tuesday and received it today that was fast shipping to! Although Walmart.com had not sent me the email or tracking numbers!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck28372
Pembroke NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good product
1/7/2011

Customer review by bargaindee

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by bargaindee
by bargaindee

so far this products seems to be doing what I expect but I'm still learning how to operate this product a little at a time .

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargaindee
Greensboro , nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just what we wanted!
9/5/2012

Customer review by Judel3

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Judel3
by Judel3

Because we live in the mountains, we don't have a Wal-Mart close to us, it's at least an hour dirve so it was very convenient to know the item we were looking for was in stock and ready for pick up when we got there! Escpecially in this economy with gasoline prices so high, we have to watch every penny!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judel3
Big Bear Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I returned it unused
6/15/2012

Customer review by Marvinp

3.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Marvinp
by Marvinp

I returned the Western Digital My Book Essential 1TB not because of any problem with it but because I decided it was cheaper and better to make my own extern hard drive. Buy a hard drive and an encloser and make your own. That way you know what you have for a hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marvinp
Saco, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
This is a great product!
1/4/2013

Customer review by vodka

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by vodka
by vodka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product! I am using this with my Dish Hopper adding 1TB more to the 2TB that the Hopper has. Just plug it into the USB port on the rear of the Hopper and away you go. Nothing else to do just follow the instructions with your Dish product. Will work on all the Dish receivers as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vodka
Fairmont,Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews