Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
Works with Dish Network
3/5/2011

Customer review by QuiltedBag

5.0 stars by QuiltedBag

I bought this to use with my Dish Network DVR now that they have stopped charging a fee to unlock the feature. I had absolutely no trouble installing this myself. Dish reformatted it automatically. It's working great.

Was this review helpful? (53) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
QuiltedBag
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Book
4/2/2011

Customer review by cenopath

5.0 stars by cenopath

This is the second My Book drive I,ve ordered. First one is on my desktop, this one will go on my laptop. A real bargain, lrg capacity (1T), reasonable price, fast shipping and only .97 cents from Walmart. Just plug in to USB port and power supply. Like back up feature.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cenopath
Eden. NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!
6/25/2011

Customer review by lirpznleon

5.0 stars by lirpznleon

This item is perfect for backing up files, it has more than enough gb, its compact, and has not given me any problems whatsoever!!! I love it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lirpznleon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Dish Network!!!
6/3/2011

Customer review by Blimfark

5.0 stars by Blimfark

I bought a USB 2.0 WD My Book Essential drive right before the USB 3.0 drives were released (bummer), so decided not to use it with any of my computers since the newer 3.0 is 10 times faster. Out of curiosity in finding another use for it, I plugged it into my DishNet DVR receiver, figuring the receiver was a USB 2.0 system, and it just took off! DishNet reformatted it, and now I am able to move saved programs and personal pictures over to the WD My Book Essential for safekeeping. Since I have two DishNet DVR receivers in my home, I can simply move the WD to either receiver to view saved programming. If you purchased the USB 3.0, it will still work w/DishNet 2.0. Maybe down the road DishNet will go to 3.0 on newer receivers and then your saved data will still run.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Blimfark
Edgewood, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good purchase
7/15/2011

Customer review by sisavela

4.0 stars by sisavela

I bought this for a gift and it worked perfectly, we didnt have a problem to install it. BUT the only one thing is that the USB is 2.0 and not 3.0 as described above. The associate told me that was an error typing and the USB 3.0 on this particular external hard drive didn't exist. Still runs fast enough.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sisavela
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as expected
7/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Works as expected

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
External Drive connects to old and new pc's
6/18/2012

Customer review by bkwalmart

5.0 stars by bkwalmart

I was looking for a 1T drive to use with Windows XP. This one works fine and has good capacity. Windows XP gives some warning messages but then has no problem. It works with USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 so it can be used with old and new pc's. I don't use the software programs that came with the drive, but I just read and write to it just like the C: drive.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bkwalmart
Newark, Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/30/2012

Customer review by TennStormy

1.0 stars by TennStormy

this thing has Never worked properly. When I started my pc with it connected it would lock up my pc. I would have to start the pc Then hook up the hardrive!! Then after getting tired of fooling with it several months, today when I tried to get it to work, it will work about 20 seconds (you can feel the hd trunning in side the case), then it would stop. Would never light up the indicator light over a couple seconds untile you turned it off and on again.. over and over. I will NEVER buy another Western Digital product again!!! I have 2 other ex hard drives, both of which have worked for many years, this one has Never worked right!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TennStormy
Gladeville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT PRODUCT!!!
10/14/2012

Customer review by Grofaz

5.0 stars by Grofaz

I HAVE USED SEAGATE AND TOSHIBA PRODUCTS FOR ALL MY COMPUTERS, BUT AFTER BUYING THIS I WAS GLAD I TOOK BACK THE SEAGATE IT WOULD NOT WORK ON MY LAPTOP. EASY SETUP AND SOLID BUILD AND WORKS SO FAR OUTSTANDING FOR MY NEEDS. ALSO WD HAS GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THIS MY BOOK IS REAL PLUG AND PLAY. I HAD EVERYTHING BACKED UP IN LESS THAN 20 MIN USING USB2.0. THEY HAVE A GREAT WARRANTY AND BACK UP THERE PRODUCTS. SMOOTH SET UP AND RUNS WITH NO NOISE AND COOL. I DO A LOT OF RESEARCH BEFORE I BUY AND THIS IS A GOOD DRIVE FOR BACKUP AND EXTRA STORAGE FOR HOME OR OFFICE USE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Grofaz
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not so fast usb 3
9/30/2012

Customer review by Ti12

3.0 stars by Ti12

I bought this for a friend and selected it due to the 3.0 supposed speed. Tried it out and didn't get what I expected. My friend didn't care about speed only space so he kept it. The connector is really delicate so this is a not to be unplugged regulary due to you have to be very careful when using the connector. I wouldn't but one of this for me ever.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ti12
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointed!
4/30/2011

Customer review by TexasLady04

1.0 stars by TexasLady04

This hard drive was impossible to install. No software arrived with it. Managed to manually install and it still wouldn't show up in my computer. After two weeks of trying,I returned it to the store.If you are looking for a user friendly external hard drive-this is most definitely not it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TexasLady04
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good External Drive
9/9/2013

Customer review by MonasticPriest

5.0 stars by MonasticPriest

I bought this external drive to do mirror image backups with Carbonite. I had a bit of trouble setting it up, but with help from Carbonite, it is running fine. The only reason I did not give it an excellent on meets expectations is because I am not sure if Western Digital's software or Carbonite's software gave me the problem. But I would buy it again and I recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MonasticPriest
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Book 1TB
6/29/2012

Customer review by Yesydel

5.0 stars by Yesydel

This product is simply amazing and very easy to use. All my data saved.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Yesydel
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for back-ups
12/31/2012

Customer review by LarryFr

4.0 stars by LarryFr

Comes with preloaded software for backing up your computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LarryFr
Brookesmith, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Western Digital My Book Essential 1TB USB 3.0
8/29/2013

Customer review by Chuck28372

5.0 stars by Chuck28372

Western Digital My Book Essential 1TB USB 3.0 Works very well with Windows 8 no problems at all with the Hard Drive. After losing a lot of my photos & video due to my last computer getting hit by lighting I went ahead & purchased it Tuesday and received it today that was fast shipping to! Although Walmart.com had not sent me the email or tracking numbers!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chuck28372
Pembroke NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what we wanted!
9/5/2012

Customer review by Judel3

5.0 stars by Judel3

Because we live in the mountains, we don't have a Wal-Mart close to us, it's at least an hour dirve so it was very convenient to know the item we were looking for was in stock and ready for pick up when we got there! Escpecially in this economy with gasoline prices so high, we have to watch every penny!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Judel3
Big Bear Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/28/2012

Customer review by litlal

5.0 stars by litlal

I found that I did not need this so it was returned. I do have a 500 GB and it is great. I feel comfortable knowing my computer is being backed up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
litlal
Concord, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good product
1/7/2011

Customer review by bargaindee

4.0 stars by bargaindee

so far this products seems to be doing what I expect but I'm still learning how to operate this product a little at a time .

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bargaindee
Greensboro , nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I returned it unused
6/15/2012

Customer review by Marvinp

3.0 stars by Marvinp

I returned the Western Digital My Book Essential 1TB not because of any problem with it but because I decided it was cheaper and better to make my own extern hard drive. Buy a hard drive and an encloser and make your own. That way you know what you have for a hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Marvinp
Saco, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
12/20/2012

Customer review by SSB43

5.0 stars by SSB43

This hard drive was easy to set up, and is very easy to use. It automatically backs up anything I add to my computer. Such as photos, music, or documents. It has enough space to last me for a very long time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SSB43
Big Springs CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 29 total reviews