Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 39 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Wow, what a DEAL!
12/24/2010

Customer review by SCM1965

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by SCM1965
by SCM1965

The Walmart Family Mobile is a fantastic product. Left T-Mobile for this and what I got... T-Mobile again, just for $75 or so less per month, running on my iPhones, and working great. Even ported all of my T-Mobile numbers over. The experience start to date has been perfect, the shared data pool is great as well. Went from paying almost $300 month for 3 iPhones with AT&T and getting poor service to $180 with T-Mobile and getting excellent service, to about $100 with Walmart and also getting excellent service. not sure why T-Mobile would allow this, surprised everyone in America is not jumping ship on T-Mobile to this, since it is the same thing, but essentially almost half the price. Thanks Walmart, this is a true value!

Was this review helpful? (137) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SCM1965
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/15/2011

Customer review by StevenElectronicAssociate

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by StevenElectronicAssociate
by StevenElectronicAssociate

I got it activated about a month ago.. It works great around where I live and work. I have not yet to go anywere else yet.. For $45 for unlimited talk and text, WHAT A DEAL!! $25 for any aditional lines (up to 5). I got the $40 webpak along with the activation kits, and i dont have to keep paying for webpaks per month.. Just only the talk and text. If I am running out of data I can 611 or go online and refill the data. Also, you dont have to use a Family Mobile cell phone to use the service! Get the Activation Kit and find a UNLOCKED gsm phone (phone that takes a sim card.. I.E - NOT iphone 4--> = mini-sim) and stick your sim card in it and you should be all set to use.

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StevenElectronicAssociate
Superior, WI 1447
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
customer service
12/31/2010

Customer review by OregonCustomer

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by OregonCustomer
by OregonCustomer

I bought three Family Mobile phones and activation kits for myself and my two college-aged kids. For whatever reason, we had some extended difficulty getting the third phone activated, which entailed numerous calls to the customer service number and another 40 mile trip to the Walmart store to exchange the activation kit for a new one. It was a big headache that went on over 4 days. But the GREAT thing was, the problem was a technical one that was no one's fault, but the customer service throughout was fantastic. No long phone waits to talk to a customer service rep, they always called back when they told me they would, all were very nice and knowledgeable. Honestly, I have never dealt with tech support that was as prompt and easy to communicate with. So thanks, Walmart. Who would have thought such a huge company would be the first I've dealt with to have really excellent tech support and customer service? Thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (71) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OregonCustomer
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super Value
5/14/2011

Customer review by pbchef

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by pbchef
by pbchef

This service (T-mobile) saves lots of money on an annual basis. I used to be a T-mobile customer and this easily saves over 30%. The webpak never expires which is great if you don't use data on a consistent basis. This is no Frills and you should consider bringing your own unlocked t-mobile phone.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pbchef
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love Family Mobile
3/10/2011

Customer review by LoveMyMinPoodle

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by LoveMyMinPoodle
by LoveMyMinPoodle

I was with Tmobile for 10 yrs and never had an offer that Family Mobile has given. They are the same carrier but at a much lower price. I have no problems with dropped calls or no signals. I made the switch last month and ported over 5 numbers with no problem. 5 lines plus 1000 mb of data is $185 thats only $37 per line. I'm loving Walmart helping out the average hardworking family.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyMinPoodle
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/7/2011

Customer review by Javadwc

5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by Javadwc
by Javadwc

To get unlimited talk & text for $45 is a great deal. with great coverage in my area through T-Mobile.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Javadwc
Camby, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this product - ZERO stars
10/8/2011

Customer review by UKtech

1.0 stars 10/8/2011 by UKtech
by UKtech

My wife and I signed up with this service, ported our numbers from AT&T, and began the worst customer service battle we've ever dealt with. After numerous calls with tech support, we finally discovered that "Good" service on the coverage map means that you MIGHT be able to place and recieve calls from inside a building. We had to stand on the front porch of our home in downtown Lexington Kentucky to get enough signal to make a call. It would drop calls all the time and the call quality was terrible. We even bought my wife one of their phones because we couldn't port her number. So, we canceled the service after having it only 22 days. Then, after paying the $25 activation kits for two phones ($50) and paying for the first month of service ($70) we got a bill in the mail threatening to ding our credit if we didn't pay for a SECOND month because 6 of the 22 days were in another billing cycle. When I called, I asked if it was possible that I could have service for just two days (one in two seperate billing periods) and be charged for two entire months. The customer "care" rep said, "Yes, it would seem so." We had to pay another $70 so they wouldn't hand us over to a collectin agency and then she told me that we would have to pay a $5 processing fee because we were paying over the phone which was the only option at that time. So, we paid almost $200 for 22 days of terrible service. If you want a similar expirience, buy this product. If not, go somewhere else for your wireless service.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UKtech
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice phone options.
7/15/2011

Customer review by Israelibound

2.0 stars 7/15/2011 by Israelibound
by Israelibound

Hidden $30 service fee after paying for activation. Customer service is India.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Israelibound
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Web for Blackberry
3/14/2011

Customer review by kaysee7219

4.0 stars 3/14/2011 by kaysee7219
by kaysee7219

Purchased this product to use with my new Blackberry cellphone. Called T-Mobil and started going through the activation process and when almost finished the customer service person asked what kind of phone I had. Told him a Blackberry. And he stated that I could only use call & text, no web. That was one of the main reasons I purchased the SIM card. If you do not want web, it is probably a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaysee7219
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
2/2/2011

Customer review by CellPhoneUser2

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by CellPhoneUser2
by CellPhoneUser2

I have been with every national cell company over the past several years. One thing I learned is choose what works in your area. You can not always go by the company's coverage map. In my area, Walmart Family mobile does very well. I have used my unlocked att and t-mobile phones with no problem. The price is good. The only down side is if you use a lot of data that will put a dent in you wallet.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CellPhoneUser2
Raymondville TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great Value and so Easy to set up!
6/28/2011

Customer review by shlakey

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by shlakey
by shlakey

We switched from T-Mobile to the Walmart Family Mobile to save money. We were worried about the customer service and keeping our phone numbers and we heard that it could take up to 24 hours for our number to be switched over, so we would be without a phone for a full day. When we activated our new Walmart Family plan there were no problems at all. It was so easy and they walk you thru it step by step. It took maybe 5 minutes and our new phones and plan was up and running with our same phone numbers. no issues at all!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shlakey
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
$5 fees for payments & not all phones will work
1/23/2011

Customer review by Bobjr94

1.0 stars 1/23/2011 by Bobjr94
by Bobjr94

First they said it would work on all unlocked GSM phones, but on my blackberry nothing would work besides calls and text. No web, apps, picture messages, etc... So I canceled my account after 3-4 weeks, after that time I could no longer make payments online or in the store. They also said they do not accept checks or payments by mail. The only way to pay my final bill was to call in, and they charged a $5 service charge. So I paid it off, then got a bill a month later for the $5 charge, the only way to pay the $5 fee is to call in and pay another $5 to pay for the last fee. By doing this they can charge you $5 a month forever.

Was this review helpful? (27) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobjr94
Roy, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Family Mobile
5/6/2011

Customer review by BusyMom1924

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by BusyMom1924
by BusyMom1924

Customer Service is fantastic! Real people speak clear English, answer the phones quickly, answer questions efficiently and have obviously been well trained. I am soooo happy we changed to this plan. It's a bargain and the phones we got (Samsung Highlights) are great!

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyMom1924
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value, but you may want to check coverage.
3/13/2011

Customer review by TheManOfManyPhones

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by TheManOfManyPhones
by TheManOfManyPhones

I have been on t-mobile for a year now, I do not have family mobile but they operate through t-mobile. Their services are great, but indoor coverage can be ify. Their phone selection is great, I am assuming you can use any t-mobile branded phone. As for their data, if you are a heavy data user, or have an android or other smartphone (blackberry will not work for web or mms because family mobile just runs off of t-mobile coverage, does not have access to the BIS servers though, unless family mobile sells blackberries) you may want to try simple mobile, they still run through t-mobile, but is better for one person because they do not have the family plans, but have unlimited everything for $60. Blackberry web and mms will not work on there either. Over all family mobile is a good investment because t-mobile plans to cover more than at&t does in the coming years, along with 4g in almost all locations on their network.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheManOfManyPhones
Rome, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Excellent Product Easy to Configure
11/22/2011

Customer review by Nahhee

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by Nahhee
by Nahhee

I brought my own unlocked phones and ordered these activation kits. Once I received them I followed the excellent instructions on the website and activated online. Had my old numbers ported over and active in a few hours. Important thing is to pay up your account with the provider you are coming from BEFORE doing the transfer since once they port your numbers your old accounts (e.g., at AT&T, T-Mobile etc) will be closed and you won't be able to access them via their websites anymore. Haven't noticed any difference in service whatsoever from the t-mobile service I had (at much higher cost) for many years.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nahhee
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good deal, doesn't work with Blackberry
9/9/2011

Customer review by HoneyBadger

4.0 stars 9/9/2011 by HoneyBadger
by HoneyBadger

I really like that this setup is easy, fast, no contract, no credit check, and a fraction of the price of other carriers. Cell phone reception is good except for at our home, where calls always drop off, but that is just because we live in a low-coverage area. (Refer to Tmobile coverage maps for more info). We originally had the regular TMobile service and we cancelled it and brought our two Blackberry Smartphones over to the Walmart family plan. Because all of the data goes through the Blackberry system first, as opposed to the mobile network (this is how it was explained to me), we are unable to access the data plan features such as email, web browsing, etc, as the services are incompatible. I am disappointed with that, but just need to find a compatible phone with the right price tag and that issue will be resolved. By the way, the phones available at Walmart are a joke, as far as cost, unless you are signing up for a contracted service. We are, however, actually now paying half as much as we were per month, for essentially the same TMobile service. A couple of little glitchy things I have noticed- the voicemail- about once a month, will freeze up. I will receive a voicemail and when I try and play it, the recording says, "You have One-Thirty", instead of saying, "You have one new voice message" and I am unable to access my voicemails for about 24 hours when this happens. Also, if you enjoy getting special offers via text (i.e., Redbox) this service is blocked, via the network, and you won't be able to send or receive promotional text messages. I need to look into this, to see if there is a way to change this. Finally, if you are able to request a number that is brand new- do it! I am annoyed all day, every day, by the previous owner's bill collector and ex-boyfriend calls. The rep that helped us said he had no way of knowing which ones were new numbers and which were not, but some mobile reps in the past have had a way of checking this. Doesn't hurt to ask. Overall, this is a good price for what you are getting, service is good, you can make payments on your bill at any Walmart, and this is fast and simple set up.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoneyBadger
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Activated over phone and was not that difficult.
6/28/2011

Customer review by Letseehere

4.0 stars 6/28/2011 by Letseehere
by Letseehere

I have to admit, I was a little hesitate to leave Verizon and try Walmart Family Mobile. It has been a week and I am impressed. I did this to save money and have no regrets. There are no drop calls, internet is good via WiFi and 3G, and customer service speaks clear English and is polite. Instead of buying Walmart phones, I purchased mine, used on Ebay. Be sure the phones are unlocked. You can either purchase them unlocked on Ebay, find a business that can do it for you, or purchase the code from an honest business and later follow instructions for that particular phone posted on Youtube. The “Cliq XT” and “Cliq MB200” both work great on their network. I activated both phones on the Walmart Family Mobile network through their customer service and found it to be easy. I live in Concord CA and have no issues with calls or internet here. Hope this reviews helps those like me considering trying another network to save money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Letseehere
Concord, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
easy activation
2/28/2011

Customer review by HillLarryIs

5.0 stars 2/28/2011 by HillLarryIs
by HillLarryIs

really easy to activate your cell phone on the wallmart family plan and it costs me about $100. less per month to more popular plans. you only need to use the sim card and activation once unless you change your phone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HillLarryIs
Newton NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Activated our Family Mobile Online
3/1/2011

Customer review by sanbar

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by sanbar
by sanbar

I ordered the two Samsung T139 s and the activation kits and I went through the activation process online, and was up and running in short order. We are enjoying our Family Mobile service and are getting better signal and call quality than we were getting with the ATT which I had been using for many years. Worked great for me.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sanbar
Tuscaloosa, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
solid service
3/22/2011

Customer review by stuartt

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by stuartt
by stuartt

you wont regret it

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stuartt
topeka, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews