Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 134 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

134 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

134 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
94
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 97 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
Very Satisfied with Purchase
8/21/2011

Customer review by gardener5

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by gardener5
by gardener5

My internal hard drive reached its capacity since I do a lot of digital scrapbooking and house a website on it. I purchased this hard drive after reading the reviews. One thing I learned is to buy it on line and pick it up at the store. Walmart's in-store price was higher and if I had purchased it on line, I could have picked it up in 10 minutes at the lower price (grrr). Anyway, the external hard drive was easy to install and I backed up my hard drive in just a short while. The one thing that took me some time to figure out (I searched the user manual) was how to use the drive to save things to it rather than just a back up. I realized that if you right click and hit "send to" you can transfer it over and then use it as your drive. Maybe other people already knew that. After all of that, I've only used 2% of the external hard drive so this one should last quite a while! Also, this external drive is noise-free. Some other reviews for hard drives made mention of the noise. All in all, this is a great value, easy to use, and lots of storage space!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gardener5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hardware great! Software has a small fixable bug.
11/8/2011

Customer review by Rositaandfamily

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Rositaandfamily
by Rositaandfamily

I've had this WD 2TB product for about a month now and have no complaints with the hardware and am happy with the performance at this time. Hopefully it will continue to provide reliable service for years to come. I did have one complaint though with the enclosed software. If you run the optional continuous backup software, it may be irritating to you. For example, when I did a shutdown, it took too long! It was backing up something, maybe shadow copies, who knows, that I went out and got groceries and came back. It was still doing something but not shut down even over an hour later! I was afraid to just kill the power. I removed the software and loaded only the basic operation with password enabled. Now all is fine! Shutdowns back to normal! I had upgraded to USB 3.0 with a WD PCI-e card. Good idea! Fast backups! I also purchased Acronis True Image 2012 for around $50. It backs up everything with a complete drive image!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rositaandfamily
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works like it was designed
1/6/2012

Customer review by stvnkrn

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by stvnkrn
by stvnkrn

We have the Dish Network and use a DVR to record our programs. The DVR will only hold approx 100 hrs (you would think that would be enough). Dish recommends adding an external hard drive to expand your storage but it must meet certain specifications. The Western Digital My Book Essential with 2TB meets those specs. Walmart carries this product both online and in our local store. They had the best price too. I ordered it online and selected the ship-to-site (which saved shipping costs), then picked it up the next day with no waiting in line. The box had all the cables and power supply needed. I plugged it in and followed the instructions from the DVR. It works great! We can xfer recordings to it or watch from it. We are extremely happy with this product and would recommend it anyone with a DVR (check the specs for yours).

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stvnkrn
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Compact, Easy to hook up, and lots of storage !!!
7/15/2011

Customer review by EnjoysWalMarting

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by EnjoysWalMarting
by EnjoysWalMarting

I had purchased a WD 1TB external hard drive one year ago, and was totally satisfied with it. Both of them were so very easy to hook up, and the first time your computer is turned on after installing the External hard drive, it automatically installed all the necessary drivers. Plus: I have an XBox 360, and I have allowed the xbox to access my computer, and therefore access the external hard drive. This is without a doubt one great deal. If you need storage space, want a virtually trouble free product, and an extremely consumer priced product, this is the way to go. Thank You Wal - Mart.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EnjoysWalMarting
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product great but warranty policy is crooked
1/26/2012

Customer review by ldt465

3.0 stars 1/26/2012 by ldt465
by ldt465

I have had no problem with the drive it works perfectly but when I went on line to register the warranty I was informed that the warranty had expired 2 years before I made the purchase. I called and found that they begin the warranty period on the date of manufacture instead of the date of purchase. Then they keep them in a warehouse until the warranty runs out. I checked the warranties on the 2 WDTV boxes that I have bought in the last 30 days and they were well into their warranty (about half expired).

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ldt465
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressive Design And Fast Technology - 5 Stars!
2/20/2011

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR
Top 25 contributor

First, the packaging. Western Digital (WD) does an impressive job of securely packaging this hard drive with a minimal amount of waste. There's no unnecessary plastic or cardboard. This 2 TB drive has to be plugged into the wall socket as well as powered with a USB cable. One of my major complaints about electronics products are the ridiculously short power cables. This My Book Essential External Hard Drive has an impressively long power cable - which is a plus for any experienced tech user. WD figures the customer is smart enough not to accidentally strangle themselves with a long power cord. So many products I buy have a cord that is so short as to make the item almost unusable. 5 stars to WD for trusting the intelligence of the buyers of their products. Here are the results I obtained after testing out this drive: The drive did not have to be formatted before I used it. It worked with my Windows XP-based computer right out of the box. It took approximately 70 minutes to copy 35 GB of data from my old external drive to this one. This is impressively fast. The manufacturer claims it should take seven minutes and 42 seconds to copy 2000 standard MP3 songs onto the hard drive. These times are using the standard USB 2.0 technology. The drive is also designed to accommodate USB 3.0. I didn't check out or try to install the backup software or the other extras that came with the product - these installation files are located already copied onto the drive. Another 5 stars to WD for not forcing this software onto the computer user with an automatic installation setup. My impression is that WD trusts the intelligence of the consumer to make their own decisions about how to best use the product. A toll-free international help line is available for anyone who does need some assistance with the installation of the hard drive. The outside of the package mentions that the data on this drive is capable of being secured with a password and also comes with a 2-year limited warranty. There's almost no product literature included inside the package - only a small fold-out booklet which refers the customer to the company's website for a user manual. A drive with this many features should probably come with more basic literature inside the box - such as, there is a physical cable lock port option - you can secure this drive with some kind of an external lock (the locking device isn't included with the drive) and there are no other clues inside or outside the package to explain this security option. So this drive was easy to install right out of the box and it worked without any difficulties or technical headaches. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (189) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
Perfect product for men
10/19/2011

Customer review by TalZoGirl

4.0 stars 10/19/2011 by TalZoGirl
by TalZoGirl

You don't need to read the instructions. I bought this external hard drive to back up my DVR - plugged it in, hooked it up - it formatted - moved files. Done

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TalZoGirl
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/27/2010

Customer review by RightPriceHunter

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by RightPriceHunter
by RightPriceHunter

2TB For 135.00$ WOW!! Can't beat that very nice hard drive 3.0 usb runs fast. Bought it mainly for AVI Movies, This is my forth WD HD.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RightPriceHunter
33406
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent for DVR - External Storage
1/8/2012

Customer review by Practical707Shopper

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by Practical707Shopper
by Practical707Shopper

I bought this unit specifically as an external storage devise for DishNetwork DVR. It works well and is very simple to install.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Practical707Shopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/9/2011

Customer review by BugtusselTX

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by BugtusselTX
by BugtusselTX

This external hard drive works great. This is the first one that I have installed. I installed it in minutes with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BugtusselTX
Northeast Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Reliable! ... easy ... and the price is right!
3/31/2011

Customer review by Eclecticist

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by Eclecticist
by Eclecticist

This is the fifth My Book I've bought. I've been using them for nearly two years. Reliability is my number one priority, and I haven't had a single problem with any of my WD external drives. I've tried 4 or 5 different brands over the last 6-8 years, and had trouble with all others, so I strongly recommend the My Book drives. It was easy to use, too ... truly plug and play.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eclecticist
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Met Expectation, hopefull to fix glitch with Win 7
2/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Overall, the product is what I expected. Great value and price. Some startup issues with Windows 7, though. I hope they will fix that soon.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good backup
9/1/2011

Customer review by JoeNiner

4.0 stars 9/1/2011 by JoeNiner
by JoeNiner

I've had mine for only a short time and bought it to back up my back up (LOL) - mostly my music and photos, and so far it's worked like a charm - absolutely no issues, and I'm glad I bought a second one at the time (for future use) because of the good price I got it for.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeNiner
Longview, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Mr
7/24/2012

Customer review by azrielmordecia

4.0 stars 7/24/2012 by azrielmordecia
by azrielmordecia

The drive itself is very nice, sits upright and doesn't take up lots of desktop space which I like. The drive is fast enough if you can get Windows to recognize it as an SAS device. If not then load the SAS drivers from the disk itself and you should be good to go. I'd avoid the included Western Digital Smartware. After installing it on a new system I had many BSOD issues that were directly traceable to it when trying to install various other USB devices. Even unplugging a USB device would give me a BSOD. After doing a search online for the offending file (KS.SYS), i found a message detailing the problems with WD Smartware. After unistalling the software my BSOD issues vanished. Go figure. I did but Acronis True Image Home Edition 2012 as an upgrade from WD True Image Edition and that seems to be working just fine. I also had problems with the included Smartware being able to either make or recover any type of backup. Just my experience, otherwise I'm very happy with the 2TB of space on the drive and am using it to backup all my music and Photos, ( over 800GB).

azrielmordecia
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product for The Money
8/13/2011

Customer review by coach235

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by coach235
by coach235

Western Digital 2TB My Book Essential USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBACW0020HBKSN has been a very good product for my new desktop computer. I have transferred all my files that I wanted from the old computer. I did a lot of research on external hard drives and this one kept coming up highly recommended. Also, was very pleased with the fast shipping and service from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coach235
Newnan, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Tons of space for storage
11/13/2011

Customer review by keystarm

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by keystarm
by keystarm

Never a problem with WD, if their ever is a problem and there will be sooner or later Western Digital, will honor a return without question and send you a new one. I personally have bought hundreds of hard drives from westgern digital, and have only had problems with a few, and those problems were caused by the shipper miss handeling them.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keystarm
Ypsilanti Miohigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AMAZING!!
10/27/2011

Customer review by AndreousB1

5.0 stars 10/27/2011 by AndreousB1
by AndreousB1

This is my 4th external hard drive from western digital and it rocks! Started buying them about 3 years ago and at least 2 of them are on for about 15+ hours per day playing TV shows, movies and games through our Playstation 3's and/or Wii. My only complaint is that the PS3 does not read USB 3.0 even after being converting to FAT32. I spent 15 dollars on a rocketfish adapter and it works great. With how much they get used I am amazed that we have never had any other issues and will always buy western digital in the future. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AndreousB1
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product
7/10/2011

Customer review by Malumse

4.0 stars 7/10/2011 by Malumse
by Malumse

So far so good. No problems at this time. I agree with other posts - WD should spend a couple of bucks on a manual. Set up is not that difficult, but if there is an operation question you have no point of reference.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malumse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
so far so good. Alot of space here.
10/16/2011

Customer review by PACly

4.0 stars 10/16/2011 by PACly
by PACly

The product delivers what I expected so far. Talk to me in another month and I'll talk to it's relability. But so far so good. This drive contains a lot of space but the overhead reduces 2.0 TB to 1.81 TB. Oh well, not Walmart issue.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PACly
Linden, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Slow transfer rate is disappointing
10/10/2011

Customer review by hebroots

2.0 stars 10/10/2011 by hebroots
by hebroots

The drive works fine and is easy to set up. However, according to the speed expectations written on the box, I am getting nowhere near that. The little fine print that says "speed may vary according to your configuration" gives them an out from guaranteeing anything. My configuration is an I7 quad core laptop with 8GB ram, running Windows 7. It has both 3.0 and 2.0 USB ports. The drive comes with a cable with 3.0 on one end and 2.0 on the other, although I am told that the 2.0 will work as a 3.0 in a 3.0 slot. As a matter of fact I tried to purchase a cord with 3.0 on both ends and they do not seem to be available. Before you ask, yes, my 3.0 is working. In a relative sense, my 3.0 has about 2 to 3 times the speed as the 2.0. This agrees with the transfer speeds, relatively, given on the box. I was taken in by this product claiming to perform at 5 GB/sec! I am getting nowhere near that, maybe 30 MB/sec by transfering from my computer drive to the WD drive. Using a memory stick I get about 12 MB/sec. I do not work with music, movie, or picture files. Most of my work has files with *.emd file extensions. Maybe there is something unique about those. Once my files are on the drive, I can see that the access speed while using the drive is pretty good, and the price is decent, so I am keeping this. I can not really recommend or not to someone else, who knows, maybe other's files do well. I tried calling WD but their pitch is that my USB 3.0 is not working, so no help there. All my device manager info says everything is fine.

Was this review helpful? (7) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hebroots
Jensen Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews