Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 145 reviews
5 stars
107
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 143 reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
Excellent. Works exactly as their web site says.
7/27/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using it almost every day for the past month, sometimes both sides in a day. I'm still getting used to how much oil to add and so far using less and less. Generally I use canola oil as it seems to tolerate a higher temp than olive oil. Warming it slowly--a few minutes at low-medium heat seems to work--and then bringing the temp up and letting it go for another couple of minutes has been giving me good results. I really like being able to sear meat and have the fat drip away (with the lined side.) So far I've done eggs, beef, lamb, vegetables, french toast, burgers, hot dogs, and fish--all with excellent results. It's hard to resist the impulse to clean with soap, but just scrubbing off with a rough cloth works fine. It's heavy so needs some care to move around the sink and some muscle to scrub--nothing outrageous.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (132)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
8/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We love this grill/griddle pan - it's really nice and works great. Plus it's made in the USA, which we're extremely happy about.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this reversible griddle!
1/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my first grill/griddle and I am loving it. I have cooked steaks and burgers on it. My food turns out beautifully. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking to buy a grill/griddle. It is definitely worth the money. I did a lot of research before making my purchase because I have an electric stove and wanted to be sure I purchased the right grill/griddle to use. I am glad I chose to purchase this brand. It works very well on my electric stove. The reviews helped me a lot and hopefully my review will help someone else in the market to purchase this type of product. I used it over 2 small burners and then over a small and large burner. It works well on either side, but is better on the large and small burner as long as you control the temperature.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (130)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Piece of Iron
8/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works great. Heat it up slowly and you'll cook more evenly. I'm using this as my camp griddle and I suppose it is important to remember this one has no drain so you have to stay on top of your grease situation with an empty can or something.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The second griddle I have owned
10/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ran across a recipe for grilled eggplant Parmesan that sounded wonderful. So, I needed a grill. I checked the Walmart website and they had this one in stock and the reviews are great. Once there I found another nearly identical but in non-stick aluminum for a dollar or two less. I purchased it. Back home I looked up the one I'd purchased and the reviews are pretty dismal. The non-stick doesn't work so good, the heating is uneven, etc. Back to Walmart where my purchase was cheerfully returned (seriously, a very nice lady). I'd printed out the page from the one I really wanted and saw the internet price was about $3 less. No problem, they sold it to me for the published price. And my eggplant is grilled, came out great. No sticking problems, heated up quite evenly. A pleasant surprise is this griddle is pre-seasoned. Something I've failed to do or done poorly in the past. And made in the USA!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What can I say?
12/16/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It works. period The only issues I have is that when I used to the flat side, all was good but when I used the grill side, the hamburgers burned slightly. I have an electric stove and in all fairness, since unlike gas stoves whose burners are all the same size, electric stoves tend to have 1 burner bigger than the other. I think that the heat from the larger burner, transferred heat differently than the smaller one. (Flat vs Ridged)Oh well, it was my first time. I'll play with the settings and see what happens next time. The only other thing is I wish that Lodge would forge actual handles into the griddle. The little corner handles are....(I can't think of a nice way to put this!)not good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is better than the Factory version offered.
2/12/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After the purchase of a new Gas Range, I wanted the Griddle for the center burner. Thier version would have cost $170.00, Plus S/H an Tax. This version fit right in place and has two options to cook with and only 1/3 the cost or less. In addition, I didn't have to wait 6-8 weeks for their version to come from a foregin manafacture, Wal-Marts' version was made over in TN and here in less time tan stated on the order form. Best deal over all. The only differance was the color match between my units and the one from Lodge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Completely Meets Expectations
6/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have used this grill outside over charcoal and inside on an electric cooktop. It adds quite a bit to the options we have for cooking different foods. Cleaning is easy if the grill is scraped while still hot.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cast iron is great and so durable!
10/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought a new range and it has cast iron continuous grates and an oval shaped burner in the middle. The Lodge grill/griddle that I bought fits right on the middle grate as though it were made for the range. I have used both sides and it has worked great. I love that it came "pre-seasoned". It is very heavy, though. This was the first time that I shopped on line and went to the store to pick it up. That was great, too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4 stars because no one trusts a 5-star rating
1/27/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would definitely give this a 5 star review.. but I know when I'm checking reviews, I never really trust the 5-star ones. who knows if the company has paid people to say great things.. etc. but the 4 star reviews are always pretty legit ;-) anyways, I got this to use on my gas range. it has one of those long burners in the middle which I never find myself using so I bought this to finally have a reason to use that burner! also, we live in a cold climate so having an indoor grill makes it possible to have grilled burgers, steaks, etc in the colder months. I have made pancakes and grilled cheese on the flat side and grilled burgers and chicken on the grated side. very happy with the results. it is VERY heavy and definitely heavy duty. the grated side is a tad bit hard to clean.. the cooked on food doesn't easily come off from the spots in between the ridges. but that's pretty much par for the course on a grated surface like that. and I'm sure over time it will burn off those bits and become more stick-resistant with more use and seasoning. very happy with my purchase. I also got Lodge's 3-in-one set (deep pan, shallow pan/lid, and dutch oven in one) and highly recommend it also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lodge is the BEST !
5/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You cannot beat Lodge cast iron, and the newer pre-seasoned ones even make them better, they are great at being non-stick without the chemical coatings. Lodge will last forever, you can hand them down to your kids and grandkids, and they are AMERICAN !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
1/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this to make delicious steaks. This product worked great. It exceeded my expectations. This is the third Lodge product that I purchased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First time owner
3/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this with the hope of using it to make breakfast. I can say this it is non stick if you remember to season it after every use. The size is great can cook a pound of bacon on it. Cooking french toast is a breeze and it holds six of them at one time. The grill side worked great but have only done burgers on it so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Another Great Lodge Product
8/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have a lot of cast iron cookware, a lot of it some very old Lodge ware. Lodge has always made a great product and I look for the label when making new purchases. This griddle was used over a gas barbeque grill, and worked perfectly. Another great Lodge product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Toasted Cheese sandwich bliss
12/31/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great grill with even heat. Not for glass top electric stoves though. Makes wonderfull grilled sandwhiches and has plenty of room for big pancakes
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Like it a lot
2/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
A lot more manageable than the 16 pound one and very little surface area difference...the design allows for more cooking room because the little handles are in either corner, not along each end. Learn how to use it before hand. Allow to heat up but don't keep it on high and use extra grease until you learn what sticks and what doesn't. Food is cooking quickly on the underside so a lower heat will avoid burning and ruining the seasoning.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A winner!!!
8/29/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Every once in awhile you come across a plroduct that really does excell one's expectations. This grill arrived just in time for a 6 day river trip and it turned out to be the best item going. Whether grilling steaks on one side to hash browns eggs and pancakes on the other we all were amazed at how the heat is even and the surface easy to work with. Several of the group said they were ordering one as well as soon as we returned. Super grill. Thx.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I would buy this product again!
8/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Reasonably priced, excellent lodge cast iron product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Versatile piece of cookware!
8/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love the fact that its already seasoned, you could use it right away. Cleaning is easy. It's heavy, as you would expect of cast iron, so I leave it on my stovetop all the time. I haven't grilled on it yet, but used the smooth part to make lots of pancakes, and grilled cheese. My pancakes actually come out better. Tried to make scrambled eggs on it, but it was a bit messy. I blame that on my inexperience in using a flat griddle. Also, my double burners are different sizes, so I have to manipulate the flame a bit. Other than that, I love this item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Difficult to Clean, Rusts Easy
5/12/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This item is EXTREMELY difficult to clean due to the angle of the grooves, as well as how close together they are. Every time I made grilled burgers or chicken, small bits of the meat would get down in there and solidify. This happens with all stove grills, but note that most grills have enough space for you to get into the grooves and clean efficiently--this one doesn't. It would take me 45 minutes with a scrub brush and just water (you never want to use detergent on cast iron) to try to get it clean--then I'd invariably have to use steel wool every single time to try to get the rest of what was baked down into the tiniest grooves out. There was still gunk in there whenever I was done--no matter how minimal (because the grooves are too small!!!) and I tried to get in there with a towel to get the water out and thought I had gotten all of it. Two months after I bought it I noticed it was rusting on the grill side with the grooves. Had to just throw it away. IMO this is not worth the money--splurge a little and get a grill with straight grooves, that are wider and easier to clean between.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641747, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-