Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 756 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

756 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

756 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
515
4 stars
148
3 stars
38
2 stars
32
1 stars
23
1-20 of 694 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 694 total reviews
1-20 of 694 reviews
Worth the investment!
3/10/2011

Customer review by annonymousmom

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by annonymousmom
by annonymousmom

I was amazed but discusted at the same time when I saw just what my new vac picked up! It was everything I expected and more. I have 2 kids and 3 dogs and this picked up everything, including the dog hair! The only downfall is it's hard to get the wand exteded without the vac tipping over. Other than that, IT'S GREAT and every penny worth it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
annonymousmom
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dyson DC33 super sweeper
12/29/2010

Customer review by Tomsatdragon

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by Tomsatdragon
by Tomsatdragon

Never thought I would pay that much for a sweeper but broke down and decided get something really good versus another lame-o weak vacuum. I mean why get a new one every few years? Unit is made of polymers, but that can be good, saves alot of weight, and if they use the right ones, very durable. Like a Glock pistol can shoot 200k rounds and not break, a "plastic wonder". This thing has great suction and cleans, really clean. Cleaner than my carpet has ever been after vacuuming. No dust. And there is the NOISE issue. My old vacs were noisy, some to the point of stretching my last nerve. This thing has a whirr or whine but not particularly loud. What a relief! The attachment hose is a bit too tight maybe. Would be a nuisance if you use the baseboard attachment etc. alot till it breaks-in? But for plain vanilla carpet sweeping, it is a joy for me to use. I am glad I got it instead of a halfway-there econo sweeper after all these years. Fun to use when it cleans so thoroughly. I bought it at WALMART! Issues-picky. Wish the power switch lit up when on. A headlight of some sort would be nice.

Was this review helpful? (71) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tomsatdragon
Wilmington Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very impressed!!
11/22/2015

Customer review by Dorwin

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Dorwin
by Dorwin

So my wife and i was in need of a new vacuum. We had tried a few other brands but we have pets and after the initial runs the pet hair clogged the machine and the filters resulting in poor performance. With Dyson being the only machine left we had not tried, we went and bought the multi floor Dyson vacuum as we have carpet and hardwood flooring both. Right out of the box after assembly we vacuumed just one carpeted room as was amazed at what the Dyson picked up. Room to room we went vacuuming. As advertised no loss of suction and the amount of pet hair etc... that was accumulated was surprising. Needless to say we are very impressed with our new Dyson!! Other than having to cut pet hair off of the beater brush(which would have to be done with any vacuum when using on pet hair) the machine is flawless so far. We have only had it a short time so i cannot attest to longevity yet. The Dyson seems well made and thought out so i believe longevity will be a non issue. Well worth the money in my opinion. I would recommend Dyson! Great Product!

Dorwin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
First Dyson
3/19/2011

Customer review by Khoolguy

3.0 stars 3/19/2011 by Khoolguy
by Khoolguy

This is our first Dyson. We wanted to give it a try. First we were interested in Dyson Ball so we tried that and were not impressed comparing to Dyson DC33. DC33 has more power, bigger bin and about $100 cheaper than Dyson Ball so we are sticking to DC33. It is much quieter than our older vacuum machine and it cleans carpet and hardwood floor quite well. Price at Walmart was very attractive even less than Sams Club :-) Ordering from online was very convenient and item arrived at home very quick. One thing we don't like is that the retractable hose is not very impressive and very tight and makes the entire vacuum drag behind you unless someone is holding the vacuum machine while you use the flexible hose to vacuum corners and close edges. 90 days return policy of Walmart and very competitive price is a win win situation so we are very pleased even though it is very expensive comparing to other vacuum machines.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Khoolguy
Montgomery Village MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So far, so good!
11/28/2015

Customer review by Jennifer9130

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by Jennifer9130
by Jennifer9130

I purchased this vacuum because I've heard good things about Dyson vacuums and I have been previously unhappy with many different brands of vacuums that I've tried. After assembly, I immediately started cleaning my house and was impressed with the amount of suction it has. I have two cats and two dogs and the DC33 handled the excessive amount of fur in my house very well. I also noticed a lot of fine dust in the dust cup, which makes me feel good that it was powerful enough to remove that dust. I also liked that it worked on both bare floors and carpet as my house has both. Previous vacuums I've owned just pushed the dirt around on our bare floors, but this one seemed to remove the dirt. The extension wand feature also worked well for cleaning my ceiling fans. I liked that the vacuum was quick and easy to put together and all of the features were easy to use and understand after a quick glance at the instruction manual. It also seems quieter than other brands I've tried, which is great. So far, I am very impressed with the vacuum's cleaning ability and the general features.

Jennifer9130
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
It has it's ups and downs
1/8/2016

Customer review by Mel0403

2.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Mel0403
by Mel0403

So the suction is GREAT! And it's easy to move around and easy to empty when full. What I don't like are 3 things, 1. It has a very bulky front (the area that actually sucks up on the carpet) - so it doesn't fit under lower to the ground coffee tables/chairs/couches. 2. The only way you can use the hose, is by un rolling all of the plug chord - since the upper hook is attached to the actual hose arm. 3. As you are trying to reach up to vacuum ceiling areas/fans, etc. the hose is not very loose and flexible. (and with that, it would be nice if it had a mechanism that allowed the hose extender to bend to be able to adjust the suction surface when using the attachment tools.)

Mel0403
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
1/27/2016

Customer review by Pussyfoot

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Pussyfoot
by Pussyfoot

this machine fell apart in a matter of months. Definately not worthy of the Dyson name

Pussyfoot
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1/18/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I hate everything about this Dyson. It doesn't pick up the dirt from my shag rug. it brings the dirt to the top and there is sits. my daughter's hair gets all in the brush. I cleaned it and now I can't get it back together and it makes this horrible annoying loud noise. I have hated since the day it got it. I would NOT recommend anyone get this machine or any dyson.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great Vaccuum
1/18/2016

Customer review by CarlyBea

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by CarlyBea
by CarlyBea

This is my first Dyson, and I am very impressed. Everyone says the suction is so much stronger, and it truly is. I love that the handle turns into the wand and all of the attachments are right there on the machine, easy to use and put away to store.

CarlyBea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/5/2011

Customer review by mitsywatson

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by mitsywatson
by mitsywatson

nice long extension cord and the handle wand, while a little awkward at times, reaches to the top of the stairs with the vacuum placed at the bottom of the steps! Great suction and is light and easy to empty the canister. It does not feel like a heavy expensive vacuum when it use but it sure does perform like one. Glad i went with this brand and model especially after comparing reviews of other branded "pet" vacuums.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mitsywatson
Tretnon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE MY DYSON DC33
5/5/2011

Customer review by aTarHeelGirl

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by aTarHeelGirl
by aTarHeelGirl

I purchased a Hoover F7412900 carpet cleaner at the same time that I bought this Dyson DC33. I cleaned the carpets and decided to vacuum with my new Dyson before replacing all of the furniture. The canister was empty when I finished vacuuming and I thought I'm going to have to return this thing. Before I packed it up and hauled it to the nearest Walmart, I decided to sprinkle powder on the carpet to see if it really worked--it did, perfectly! I love the long cord that allows me to do an entire room without moving from plug to plug, and telescoping wand reaches where I used to have to use ladder to get to, I love the light weight of it, and the thing I love the most is empyting the canister. I hated dragging out my old heavy vacuum and dreaded empyting it, but with this Dyson I vacuum just about daily and empty the canister after every use. It picks up amazingly well with one pass, and I never have to bend over to pick up anything it cannot. I truly love the way this vacuum performs!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aTarHeelGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
great vaccum but
1/5/2016

Customer review by flats

3.0 stars 1/5/2016 by flats
by flats

Worked great for tile and carpet since we have both however the lower filter cover next to the wheel the retaining tab broke off and the closest repair facility is 4 hours away. I could easily replace the part if I could order it but sadly I can't seem to find a part or website that will provide the part.

flats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Best vacuum I've ever used!
12/29/2010

Customer review by 1Boatgirl

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by 1Boatgirl
by 1Boatgirl

Bought this vacuum after reading many product reviews, and after having used many other brands of vacuums. I have a dog and 2 cats who are all shedding machines! This is the only vacuum that gets all the fur up from my carpet/and hard floors in one pass! I love that you can turn the brush off on the hard floors! My old vacuum did not do that, and would literally just blow everything around on the hard floors instead of sucking it up! The attachments are a little awkward to use, but other than that, I love my new vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Boatgirl
Mt. Juliet, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The only drawback is the hose.
6/17/2011

Customer review by bear187k

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by bear187k
by bear187k

My wife and I upgraded to the Dyson DC33 coming from an older, but still potent Kirby G4. We opted to shy away from the G4 as we were spending a lot of money on bags, and despite all the maintenance, new belts, etc, the carpet just felt like it wasn't getting as clean as we both know it should. After vacuuming on a Friday afternoon and feeling dirt still beneath my feet, I convinced the wife to invest in the DC33 - later that night, we emptied an entire canister of dirt, carpet 'freshener' that was advertised to help loosen dirt, and just about anything else that the G4 missed. The adjusting floor feature is pretty good as well, as we go from carpet to vinyl tile in the kitchen and to ceramic tile in the entryway. The air quality in our apartment has gone through the roof, and my wife's allergies are MUCH better with the DC33 in the home. We're vacuuming at least once a week and pulling out a 1/4 to 1/2 canister of dirt and pollen each time throughout the entire home. If you're tired of buying vacuums that just don't work after 6 months, and you don't want to plunk down the $500 for the Animal or Dyson Ball - this is as solid as an investment as there is. I likely will not purchase or use 'carpet freshener' in the home for a while, as just keeping the carpet clean is working well for us. Like many reviewers, I too find the hose clunky and at times, hard to use, but if you pull the unit right close to what you're trying to clean, you won't have any problems. Also, despite what some reviews I've read elsewhere state, the suction is great and it will even get in between A/C vents and floor / table fan grates.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bear187k
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great vacuum!
1/2/2016

Customer review by hesseal

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by hesseal
by hesseal

Great vacuum! I shed a lot of my hair on a daily basis and we have a lab who sheds also. Normally, you would assume this vacuum wouldn't be the right one to do the job (see the animal model), but it does!

hesseal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
DC33
12/2/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought our first Dyson, a DC33, in 2011. It is very powerful. It's fun, even today, to watch the dog hair and other dust migrate to the vacuum even before we roll over it. That's how powerful it is. I also like that it's modular so I can take it apart to clean it out. This is an older unit and they've since made upgrades to the newer ones but the MINOR complaints I have are that it doesn't get under cabinet footplate areas at all because it's so thick at the base. And the extension arm is a little awkward to use. I'd certainly recommend this brand and we'll likely buy another after this one wears out. After 4 years the extension hose cracked. I'm working with the warranty right now and will hopefully get it replaced.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best vacuum ever
12/20/2010

Customer review by mjholt

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by mjholt
by mjholt

We bought our Dyson a 1 1/2 years ago. We have three dogs, two are big with heavy coats, and they are in and out of the house. We also have a lot of mud, dirt, hay, and dust because we live in the country. The Dyson vacuums it all up. The suction is so powerful that it gets find sand as well as the larger parts. I have allergies, and the exhaust is not blown in my face. The is the first vacuum cleaner that has not seriously bothered me and which works. I have owned almost every brand of vacuum cleaner available -- both upright and canister -- and this is the best. There are some parts that I wish they would change, such as the latch for the canister, which is hard to operate and which i always worry about breaking. That is the biggest drawback. The metal section of the wand is too long for easy use on sofa cushions and drapes, but again that is a small annoyance compared to the fact that it gets the dirt, dust, and dog hair. This is a lot of money to spend on a vacuum cleaner, but it works very well.

mjholt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Amazing Vacuum Cleaner!!
11/27/2015

Customer review by Bpwrtw98

5.0 stars 11/27/2015 by Bpwrtw98
by Bpwrtw98

After two years of owning, and sadly using, a cheap vacuum cleaner, it was time to get a vacuum cleaner that will last for a long time. My parents have purchased a Dyson when they first hit the market and have use one ever since. I was very pleased with the power and performance and wanted to have that in my new home with my new wife. After just the first use there was a HUGE difference in how not only in how the carpet looked but how the air smelled and that my sinus have not gone off on a rampage. Yes my device is the lower of the line but it has made a world of difference with just ONE use. I highly recommend not only this device but this brand. with ease of assembly right out of the box, but also the ease of use with the attachments.

Bpwrtw98
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Great and Not so great
2/27/2011

Customer review by KAS62

4.0 stars 2/27/2011 by KAS62
by KAS62

My husband and my daughter DREAM about Dyson's.....we always had to walk down the vaccum isle just to look at them of course all in good fun! Finally, I broke down when we got our income tax back and agreed to get the DC33. AMAZED at the dirt and dust that came up from our carpets and furniture......it worked better than I expected and I was very pleased that we got it. What I don't like about it - and actually would think about returning it is that the hose is constantly fighting against you....to the point of being unusable. The vaccum itself does not do edges well (which I don't like) and so using the attachments to get the corners and edges is essential and WAY to much work with this machine. Doing my furniture was also quite a challenge with that hose....it really needs to be more flexible as it truly ruins the Dyson experience. After saying that....I think it is a great vaccum for floors/carpets but would strongly suggest that Dyson take a look at that hose.

KAS62
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Fantastic vacuum
12/22/2010

Customer review by RMG525

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by RMG525
by RMG525

I have owned this vacuum for 3 years. It is by far the best vacuum. I love that with the click of one button, I can roll it from carpet to hard floors. The hose detaches easily to get into all the nooks and crannys. It feels powerful when you are vacuuming and you truly feel like its picking up anything and everything out of your carpet. I have 2 young children so I am constantly vacuuming up cheerios and kid friendly snacks. It doesn't scatter food crumbs (especially on hard floors) like other vacuums I have had that just make it take longer to clean. The canister is easy to clean and virtually hands free. When I purchased this vacuum new, I bought it from a small store that allowed me to take it home and try it out before buying it. The salesman told me to vacuum with my regular vacuum first and then vacuum with the dyson as a follow up. I was amazed at how much MORE the dyson picked up after my old vacuum! I was sold instantly. Definitely worth the investment!

RMG525
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
1-20 of 694 total reviews
1-20 of 694 reviews