Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 767 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

767 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

767 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
528
4 stars
149
3 stars
37
2 stars
32
1 stars
21
1-20 of 704 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 704 total reviews
1-20 of 704 reviews
Best vacuum ever
12/20/2010

Customer review by mjholt

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by mjholt
by mjholt

We bought our Dyson a 1 1/2 years ago. We have three dogs, two are big with heavy coats, and they are in and out of the house. We also have a lot of mud, dirt, hay, and dust because we live in the country. The Dyson vacuums it all up. The suction is so powerful that it gets find sand as well as the larger parts. I have allergies, and the exhaust is not blown in my face. The is the first vacuum cleaner that has not seriously bothered me and which works. I have owned almost every brand of vacuum cleaner available -- both upright and canister -- and this is the best. There are some parts that I wish they would change, such as the latch for the canister, which is hard to operate and which i always worry about breaking. That is the biggest drawback. The metal section of the wand is too long for easy use on sofa cushions and drapes, but again that is a small annoyance compared to the fact that it gets the dirt, dust, and dog hair. This is a lot of money to spend on a vacuum cleaner, but it works very well.

mjholt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Good Vacuum
1/10/2017

Customer review by LizLee

4.0 stars 1/10/2017 by LizLee
by LizLee

Good vacuum, have used for four years until I had a problem. Submitting to the 5 year warranty. Was sturdy, held up well. A bit heavy and clunky, but really gets in there for deep carpets. I have to clean the brush out a lot, but I have four cats so that's expected. Easy to clean the filter.

LizLee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
My second Dyson
1/12/2017

Customer review by Vetter1

5.0 stars 1/12/2017 by Vetter1
by Vetter1

I still have my old Dyson dc07, that I had for 11 years. I use it for cleaning cars and light vacuuming in the basement. The dc33 is just as awesome as the old machine, best Vaccum I have ever owned.

Vetter1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great and Not so great
2/27/2011

Customer review by KAS62

4.0 stars 2/27/2011 by KAS62
by KAS62

My husband and my daughter DREAM about Dyson's.....we always had to walk down the vaccum isle just to look at them of course all in good fun! Finally, I broke down when we got our income tax back and agreed to get the DC33. AMAZED at the dirt and dust that came up from our carpets and furniture......it worked better than I expected and I was very pleased that we got it. What I don't like about it - and actually would think about returning it is that the hose is constantly fighting against you....to the point of being unusable. The vaccum itself does not do edges well (which I don't like) and so using the attachments to get the corners and edges is essential and WAY to much work with this machine. Doing my furniture was also quite a challenge with that hose....it really needs to be more flexible as it truly ruins the Dyson experience. After saying that....I think it is a great vaccum for floors/carpets but would strongly suggest that Dyson take a look at that hose.

KAS62
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Love this vacuum!
1/5/2017

Customer review by Evergreen75

5.0 stars 1/5/2017 by Evergreen75
by Evergreen75

I've owned this vacuum for six years and I've never been disappointed with it. I bought it because I thought it might reduce the asthma attacks I was having every time I vacuumed. I haven't had a single asthma attack after vacuuming since I bought it. Dyson is the best!

Evergreen75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Fantastic vacuum
12/22/2010

Customer review by RMG525

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by RMG525
by RMG525

I have owned this vacuum for 3 years. It is by far the best vacuum. I love that with the click of one button, I can roll it from carpet to hard floors. The hose detaches easily to get into all the nooks and crannys. It feels powerful when you are vacuuming and you truly feel like its picking up anything and everything out of your carpet. I have 2 young children so I am constantly vacuuming up cheerios and kid friendly snacks. It doesn't scatter food crumbs (especially on hard floors) like other vacuums I have had that just make it take longer to clean. The canister is easy to clean and virtually hands free. When I purchased this vacuum new, I bought it from a small store that allowed me to take it home and try it out before buying it. The salesman told me to vacuum with my regular vacuum first and then vacuum with the dyson as a follow up. I was amazed at how much MORE the dyson picked up after my old vacuum! I was sold instantly. Definitely worth the investment!

RMG525
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
horrible
1/17/2013

Customer review by daniellej007

1.0 stars 1/17/2013 by daniellej007
by daniellej007

my mother in law bought this vacuum and honestly, I know it sounds harsh, but I absolutely hate it. I have 2 toddlers, so I vacuum at least once a day. kids are messy!! but I feel that I spend more time cutting my hair (it's medium length) off of the roller than I actually do vacuuming. Plus the vacuum does not get close enough to cabinets or walls leaving behind some dirt. Unless I wanted to sweep before I vacuumed that would be the only viable option. The vacuum also does not suck up anything bigger than a cheerio (like gold fish) or soft, ie. corn or craisins. And having to constantly manually roll up the cord is absolutely annoying considering how often I vacuum. So 90% of the time the cord is just a mess on top of the vaccum till the next use. Also, the "wand" is soooo hard to use, it's almost impossible to pull that I actually never use it. All in all, I would never recommend this vaccum and am very sad to be this disappointed in such an expensive product.

daniellej007
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Dissapointed and a waste of money!
4/1/2013

Customer review by lpb2000

2.0 stars 4/1/2013 by lpb2000
by lpb2000

I have never written a product review in my life, however feel very strongly about this. I have had this DC33 Multi Floor for just about 40 days, and it has already quit working on carpet. The salesman told me that I would be so happy and that this vac was the best one I could buy after I told him my budget and that I had an animal that sheds badly. I have to vacuum every day. I have cleaned this product with every use since this was an expensive vac, I've been taking extra care with keeping it clean. At this point it only cleans my hardwood and tile floors, but not the carpets in my home. I bought this product because I just got new carpet and want to keep it in good condition. My mother recently purchased another brand name vac and I borrowed this weekend to see how it stood up. Less $$ and much better suction even on the hardwood, without the loud screeching noise that the Dyson makes. The only thing I liked about this vacuum was the cord length. I can't wait to return the Dyson and get my home clean again!

lpb2000
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Thank Goodness
3/15/2013

Customer review by Armyfamily

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by Armyfamily
by Armyfamily

Wow! This thing sure does suck! We are a dual military family with a cat dog and 4 year old. We live in Alaska so lots of snow and muck stuck to boots while "running in real quick to grab something". We have a 2 story home and my big old dirt devil was just not cutting it. It was heavy and inconvenient for stairs and obviously did not pick up much. My husband got me this dyson 33 for an early mothers day gift and wow!!! All that grime in the carpets and my daughter's long blonde hair and cat hair and litter, got it all!! So happy, price threw me into a small cardiac arrest (not really ;) ) but I revived myself and immediately vacuumed the whole house. Did such an awesome job and I love the hose for the stairs. The attachment could be a little bigger but it did the job exceedingly well. I can leave the machine at the bottom of the stairs and do the whole stairwell with no problem. The cord is nice and long and its not as loud as my previous machines. Thanks dyson!! I've already showed it off to the neighbors lol

Armyfamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum- a step up from the DC-14
1/3/2011

Customer review by Cmonster

4.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Cmonster
by Cmonster

This is the third Dyson vacuum I have had the pleasure of owning, and definitely the best. The design has improved over the years and quality has never disappointed. Constant air flow is strong unless the canister is way too full. The hose assembly detaches very easily and has good length. Again the design is better and easier to use than previous models. The beater bar is also motorized rather than air driven, which helps pull things out of the carpet (for good or bad)- just be careful on and around rugs or anything that could be tangled. My only gripe with the vacuum is emptying the canister. Hair tends to collect on the grill part of the canister, which doesn't simply come off by opening the lid. I have to scrape it off. Although this is a pain, it doesn't outweigh the superior cleaning power of the vacuum and I highly recommend it to anyone. I am a college student with bad allergies and this is the only vacuum I trust to clean up after sloppy roommates.

Cmonster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Dyson Multi floor
10/5/2011

Customer review by Mandabear

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by Mandabear
by Mandabear

I was tired of having to clean out my old vacuum every time I had to use it. I would have to take it out to the garage, take it apart, use the air compressor to blow the dog hair out of the hose, have to blow the filter clean, and anything else that was clogged, I had to do that 2-3 times while vacuuming with my other machine. I was in the market for a new vacuum, Hubby suggested us getting a Dyson, I was against it because of the price being so high, but he had a good argument, 'We can keep throwing money away on other vacuums every couple of years, or buy a Dyson.' I read reviews, and they were good. We now have a Dyson. I can tell you one thing, this vacuum really does suck! ( I mean that in the best way possible!) I love it! I love the way the handle extends out to where I can reach the cob webs in the corners with out having to stand on a stool and have someone hold the vacuum because of the short hose. So far, I am completely satisfied with my Dyson!

Mandabear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Love the vacuum; hate the filters
12/22/2010

Customer review by MtLady

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by MtLady
by MtLady

I tried the vacuum out in the store to see how it cleaned and operated and how it felt before I bought it. I failed, however, to ask to remove the washable filter. I bought 3 of these, one for each floor of our large house. I was able with a little difficulty to pull out the filters by myself for about 1 1/2 years. Then I got osteoarthritis in my thumbs and wrists. Now I can't do it. My husband gets them out for me but they really are hard even for him! Maybe the newer ones are easier. Also the pull-out cleaning attachment with the long metal wand is a little awkward. Having one major complaint and one minor complaint, I love the cleaning! We have 2 cats and no children at home but live in a dry climate. I can't believed the amount of dirt and dust the Dyson sucks up. I love being able to see though the clear container when it's time to empty it; no guessing. I love not having to buy bags anymore. The cleaning is fantastic. If it weren't for having to deal with getting out the filters, I would have given it 5 stars.

MtLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Dyson Upright DC33 Vacuum
7/31/2011

Customer review by Zippy

4.0 stars 7/31/2011 by Zippy
by Zippy

When our family needed a new vacuum, we thought of the name Dyson. Based solely on reputation for performance and durability. I selected this model as opposed to the Ball style mainly because of the lower price. We have a long haired shedding cat at home, and an active 4 year old child. The vacuum seemed to have sufficent power to lift debris from our carpets. It is a little stiff to push around like an indoor lawnmower, but it's suction made up for the manuverability factor. I like the canister dump feature where you press a button that opens the trap door and empties the dirt. I found the extension tube somewhat awkward to use, maybe it's just stiff from being new, but it did not seem to reach far. The vacuum could also use a halogen light bar across the front for better view around furniture and under counters, ect. The vacuum operated quietly and performed well for overall use. I'm hoping it last longer than other vacuums we have tried in the past.

Zippy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great!
12/18/2016

Customer review by pajnlern

5.0 stars 12/18/2016 by pajnlern
by pajnlern

I love my Dyson so much that I decided to get a 2nd one. I even looked at purchasing the a shark, but found that the Dyson was still the best! It has great suction power! The attachments make it easy to reach hard to reach areas.

pajnlern
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Beyond impressed!!
4/13/2013

Customer review by taylorpilk

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by taylorpilk
by taylorpilk

First off, we have 2 dogs, a Golden Retriever (HUGE shedder) and a German Shepherd (the BIGGEST shedder of the 2). My husband and I did a little test with this specific Dyson when we purchased it: I sat down on the floor before vacuuming and got up with a TON of dog hair on my jeans.. Lint rolled my pants clean and then vacuumed the carpet on medium pile and redid the test and I'm here to tell you there was NO dog hair on my jeans! I couldn't even scrap up dog hair with my hands! I couldn't believe that it cleaned up THAT well - plus, you could see all of the hair in the canister that it picked up and I honestly couldn't believe there was THAT much dog hair on the carpet to begin with!! SOO IMPRESSED!! I still can't believe we originally wanted another model, but we are beyond happy that we decided to go with this one! I love that it has the multi floor option (deep pile, medium pile, short pile and bare floor) and that it picked up EVERYTHING. You will not be disappointed with this purchase - it's worth every single penny!!

taylorpilk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
After years of "Other" vacuums!
12/21/2010

Customer review by happycleaner

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by happycleaner
by happycleaner

I have had so many other "quality" vacuums during my 25 years of cleaning. I now own a golden retriever and have 3 children and this vacuum has been a life saver. I LOVE< LOVE this model. It does the deep cleaning, works great on my wood floor with the brush off, has a long cord and hose, and moves easily. I also love the small roller feature that attaches to the hose for stairs and i use it on some upholstry for the dog hair. I have used the other dyson model with the ball at my nephews home. They have a shedding dog as well and I realy, really like my model much better. I have recommended this to several people and have even thought about going up to people in the store who are looking. Vacuums are hard to buy because you truly dont know if they meet your needs until you bring it home and use it a while. This vacuum has also outlasted any other brand I have ever had. Amazing!! Thank you for bringing this to market at a price I could afford.

happycleaner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Very impressed!!
11/22/2015

Customer review by Dorwin

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Dorwin
by Dorwin

So my wife and i was in need of a new vacuum. We had tried a few other brands but we have pets and after the initial runs the pet hair clogged the machine and the filters resulting in poor performance. With Dyson being the only machine left we had not tried, we went and bought the multi floor Dyson vacuum as we have carpet and hardwood flooring both. Right out of the box after assembly we vacuumed just one carpeted room as was amazed at what the Dyson picked up. Room to room we went vacuuming. As advertised no loss of suction and the amount of pet hair etc... that was accumulated was surprising. Needless to say we are very impressed with our new Dyson!! Other than having to cut pet hair off of the beater brush(which would have to be done with any vacuum when using on pet hair) the machine is flawless so far. We have only had it a short time so i cannot attest to longevity yet. The Dyson seems well made and thought out so i believe longevity will be a non issue. Well worth the money in my opinion. I would recommend Dyson! Great Product!

Dorwin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
good and bad
11/17/2011

Customer review by mildlyirritated

3.0 stars 11/17/2011 by mildlyirritated
by mildlyirritated

This vacuum does the job for the most part, but the wand is too long to use comfortably and the suction is so strong that it takes a lot of effort to extend the hose. I like how there is a convenient place to store the cord, but it would have been even more convenient if you didn't have to unwind the cord completely in order to use the wand extension. My main complaint is that I have to fight with the handle to get it to snap back in (after detaching it to use the wand extension), and after I think I've got it back in, it still won't always stay in while I'm vacuuming the carpet. I'd say the handle pops out of place at least 5 times every time I try to vacuum the carpet. I'd return it for another model if it weren't a gift that my mom got me with her credit card reward points. Also it would have been nice if there had been instructions that included words, not just pictures. On the upside I do love how easy it is to empty the canister.

mildlyirritated
Would recommend to a friend? No
What am I???
11/28/2016

Customer review by NEHOTELMAN

5.0 stars 11/28/2016 by NEHOTELMAN
by NEHOTELMAN

I have a Docking Station, Removable Wand, Digital Motor, Washable Filter & can re-charge in a mere 3.5 hours. I have the power and latest technology to suck up Fine Dust or Large Debris - along edges, from corners & deep crevices. You will never catch me with a bag or tied down with a cord. I always leave a clean path behind me. ANSWER: THE GREATEST CORDLESS VACUUM YOU WILL EVER OWN... DYSON V6 FLUFFY I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT

NEHOTELMAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Dyson Dc 33 Wow!
12/2/2011

Customer review by BobK01

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by BobK01
by BobK01

Went to the Costco last week and purchased the DC 33. My wife was not very happy with me as I had just had a Canister Vacuum repaired for a hundred and forty dollars the week before. I have wanted a Dyson for some time as it looked like a better way to clean your house then the others. I braved the storm (from my Wife ) and bought it . Now she has come to agree with me as she and I could not believe all the contents of the bin after using my new Dyson. We have a cat and as it turns out I am allergic . The amount of Fur that was collected gave me help and I am feeling less effected . It works very well on different flooring. This is a very smart product and was engineered to excel in doing its job. I find it very light and easy to use . The suction is off the charts (strong). The one problem this machine has is it can not fit under low items like a bed. I still rate it five stars as it works so very well. I do wish it came with more attachments as it is not a low priced product and I feel that I should not have to buy the accessory kit.

BobK01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
1-20 of 704 total reviews
1-20 of 704 reviews