Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-14 of 14 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great buy
2/17/2011

Customer review by BaBa69

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by BaBa69
by BaBa69

I was surprised by the quality of this product, I looked at Sport Authority and Dick's Sport. The comprable items where in the $200 range and more. It is easy to to put togather (just use your own tools rather than the one they provides) It holds the bike realy tight and good. The straps are strong. It is easy to hook-up to the car. And easy to un-hook fold and I put it insdie the my SUS so no one would seal it :). For the price it is great deal

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BaBa69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Bike Rack that Saves the Back & Actually WORKS
8/9/2012

Customer review by NewsView

4.0 stars 8/9/2012 by NewsView
by NewsView

After buying two bike racks, one for the roof, another for the tow-hitch, and spending hundreds of dollars on name-brand equipment that only worked with a mountain bike but not a cruiser or only worked with one car but not another car or only carried a man's bike frame but not a women's, I can finally say the search for a decent "universal" bike rack has ended with the purchase of this Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack "Right Up". There are two flaws in that it should come with a locking mechanisms to keep people from trying to rip off your bikes if it is necessary to make a stop somewhere while transporting them, and it should have reflectors on each of the far ends (or reflective tape) to help other drivers remain at an adequate and safe distance at night.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewsView
Los Angeles County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Very functional rack for the price.
7/3/2012

Customer review by 16PerDay

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by 16PerDay
by 16PerDay

After over a month of use several times a week, very pleased . Rack secures the bikes so they don't bang together like my old hanging rack. It takes a couple minutes to load, just slightly longer to load than my old rack, but well worth the protection to the bikes. The rack is sturdy and functional at 1/2 to 1/3 the price of other up right racks. Was easy to assemble in less than 30 minutes. Be sure to tighten the bolt that goes through the receiver or the rack will rattle inside the receiver and drive you crazy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
16PerDay
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very disappointed in Bell products.
5/5/2012

Customer review by lelfl

1.0 stars 5/5/2012 by lelfl
by lelfl

I thought this would be a good bike rack for me ......on my truck......assembled it and put it on . Went to use it for the first time to haul my bike back from a ride . I live only 8 miles from where I put the bike on the rack and the place that holds the tire in place broke. I dont have the box anymore to take it back..... this is the third bell product i have bought in racks and all have broken..... they seem to make a cheap product in price but their stuff is also cheap......wouldnt recommend them unless you want to loose your bikes.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lelfl
Practical ... even my grandma could use it.
6/22/2013

Customer review by RidingDirty

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by RidingDirty
by RidingDirty

The hardest part of this setup is getting the nylon straps through the metal where you tire attaches to the rack. However, once that is accomplished, this is the most easiest bike rack to use. One review talks about the plastic grove that holds the tire braking, this is diffidently use error. The plastic is hard ABS plastic that is made to withstand abuse. I cant see how it is breakable with attaching a bike to it unless its modified. The straps hold extremely and provided you read the instructions, and TIGHTEN THE BOLT on the hitch so the rack doesnt move side to side this rack will ensure your bikes go cross country and back with out issue. I ride an $1800 cross bike and trust that this will hold just like Thule or any other product at a third of the cost.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RidingDirty
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleased with product.
10/25/2012

Customer review by BearBoy36987488

4.0 stars 10/25/2012 by BearBoy36987488
by BearBoy36987488

The assembly instructions left me scratching my head a time or two but I managed to complete it in about 30 minutes. Mounting and dismounting bikes is much easier than my older rack and I don't have to lift the bikes so high. Bikes ride well with little movement. I am happy with the product and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BearBoy36987488
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
6/23/2011

Customer review by Nickiepoo

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Nickiepoo
by Nickiepoo

Very sturdy. Takes a while to assemble, conncet to hitch and fasten bikes to the rack.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nickiepoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wobbly
4/29/2013

Customer review by ibrophy

3.0 stars 4/29/2013 by ibrophy
by ibrophy

The assembly instructions are not very clear. Once assembled and loaded with 2 bikes it seemed unsteady. The straps did a good job securing the bikes to the rack but the rack itself seems cheaply made and the rack wobbled to the point I was afraid the bar coming out of the hitch would snap where it bends upward, but it hasn't yet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ibrophy
Eastern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for a heavy electric bike
11/17/2013

Customer review by HappyRiding

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by HappyRiding
by HappyRiding

We were thrilled when we found the Bell Right Up 2 Bike Rack. Prior to that, it seemed that the only receiver hitch style bike racks that could accommodate my wife's electric bike (56 pounds with the battery removed) were in the $400+ price range. The Bell rack was about 1/4 of that price, yet it seems sturdy enough and well designed. We like that the center post swings out of the way when loading the heavier bike on the side closest to the car trunk. Also, because the center post uses a strap to holds the bike upright, you can attach that strap to any part of the bike frame. This helps because my wife's bike is a women's step through frame that has no horizontal frame bar. Therefore, there was no need to buy and install an adapter to create a horizontal cross bar, which would be necessitated by the design of many other racks I've seen. We have only used the rack once so far, to transport the electric bike to the shop for a tune-up, and the bike seemed to hardly move during the drive. I'm sure the rack will work great when we include my much lighter road bike, since the rack specs indicate it could handle two 60-pound bikes. We also bought and used a "required" stabilizing strap ("Curt Manufacturing 18050 Bike Rack Stabilizer Strap") which we were lucky to find on Amazon for under $6. Both Bell and Curt, the manufacturer of our receiver hitch, recommend using this strap. It attached easily between the rack's center post and the hinge edge of the car trunk lid. It did seem to add additional stability, which was comforting with the heavy electric bike on the rack. Curt's hitch instructions warn that their hitch warranty is void if a strap isn't used, although the hitch shop that installed our receiver hitch said they had never heard of anyone actually using such a strap with a bike rack. Instructions for assembling the rack were relatively clear (though I had to measure some of the bolts to make sure I was using the correct ones for a couple of steps), and assembly went much faster than it looked like it might. The rack folds easily if left on the back of the car and also when storing it. I'm not sure that it will possible be to make the entire rack theft proof, because proper rack attachment to the receiver hitch requires the heavy, threaded bolt. Therefore, using a hitch lock would also require that the lock have identical threads. In addition, because all of the other parts of the rack are simply bolted together (the rack includes a metric wrench so no other tools are needed for assembly), a thief willing to steal everything except the locked tongue portion of the rack still could do so with only an adjustable crescent wrench. We will probably unbolt the rack from the hitch and put it in the car trunk while out biking. Leaving the bikes sitting on the rack - using a cable lock to secure the bikes directly to the "ears" on the receiver hitch - is probably also very risky in a high theft area, because I don't think there are locking cables that can withstand large bolt cutters. Overall, however, the Bell rack is great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyRiding
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad for the price.
10/22/2013

Customer review by DaleShu

4.0 stars 10/22/2013 by DaleShu
by DaleShu

The straps are a little on the cheap side, but I have other straps. It tilts up not down a little strange but overall a good product for the price. Beach bum

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaleShu
Mooreville, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT to be used on a RV or travel trailer
4/13/2013

Customer review by CLLsurvivor

2.0 stars 4/13/2013 by CLLsurvivor
by CLLsurvivor

I seldom buy without seeing the item/reading specs/reading 'cautions'. I purchased this time without knowing much about the bike carrier except for price and the manufacturer. I felt I needed it and I needed it in a hurry. I didn't know that this rack wasn't to be used on a travel trailer until I read it on the shipping box after I had received it. This was my fault for buying like I did, but Walmart should have described it better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CLLsurvivor
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy Rack for an electric bike
8/30/2013

Customer review by bj139

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by bj139
by bj139

It is easy to mount the electric bike (heavy) and supports it well by the wheels. The wheel straps must be buckled when not transporting a bike or they will fall off (done that). The post straps are captured even when not buckled. The rack folds up and down and enables the hatchback on the car to be opened.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bj139
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Over my expectation
1/22/2014

Customer review by Denlag

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Denlag
by Denlag

Excellent value for money, light, easy to install and solid. I definitively recommended this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Denlag
Lighthouse Point Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
just what was needed
8/16/2013

Customer review by Millrat53

4.0 stars 8/16/2013 by Millrat53
by Millrat53

Bought this rack a year ago, very satisfied. Use it to carry two comfort bikes across the state and never had a problem. Is adjustable so the grandkids' bikes also fit.Tighten the bolt when mounting and it never sways, rock solid! You'll like this rack.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Millrat53
Appleton, Wis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week