Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

93 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

93 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 stars
16
1-20 of 88 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Bell Speedometer Great value
3/28/2011

Customer review by Ranger63

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Ranger63
by Ranger63

There are few items in life that come with the warrenty this little gem does. Having looked at the ages of the reviewers and the responses (I'm the far side of 65)it's quite obvious we 'boomers' arn't as up on techno speak as our kids and grandkids. Harris Cyclery .com has a great page on mm sizing for bike rims which should get everyone thru the setting up of the computor (yep..it IS a computor) 700 series wheels are 622mm 27" are 630mm 26" between 580 and 587mm All I wanted was something that accurately read out the speed and distance and time. This baby does all that. Color me happy:o)

Was this review helpful? (99) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ranger63
Western New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product but not without its quirks
10/13/2014

Customer review by Earthensky

4.0 stars 10/13/2014 by Earthensky
by Earthensky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using the Bell Dashboard 100 for a couple of weeks now and have come to appreciate its functions and accuracy during that time. It should be said that I received a black and silver model that has two buttons at the bottom instead of the black and red, one button configuration pictured on the Walmart.com site. Like others, I thought the product didn't work right out of the box in spite of competent installation. No matter how closely I positioned the spoke magnet, the computer didn't register the wheel's revolutions. On the theory that the magnet wasn't strong enough, I added a 1/4" diameter by 1/8" thick rare earth magnet (Neodymium) to the existing magnet and that solved the problem. Also like others, I've ended up erasing all the settings by trying to clear the trip information as directed in the manual. To clear the trip info, just press and hold the left button until the display shows a zero value. All in all, a good product for the price, but it's not a hassle-free, out-of-the-box experience.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Earthensky
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Two big tips on this product
7/1/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/1/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

OK. First of all, I really love this product for the price. You will NOT be disappointed, I am having a blast with it. It also comes in a monochromatic black color if you don't like the red. OK. Two big tips to ensure you will be happy. Number one: As others have previously stated, YOU MUST add a bit of glue to the magnet on the spoke or it will fall off and you will lose it. This magnet has to be on the spoke nice and secure. Number two: The operating instructions are WRONG. If you want to reset your trip distance or trip time, the instructions say to hold down both buttons for three seconds. THIS WILL RESET EVERYTHING, INCLUDING ODOMETER, WHEEL SPECS AND CLOCK! Instead, just hold the LEFT button down for three seconds to reset just what you want to. All in all, for $11, it's pretty killer.

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just What I Wanted
8/27/2016

Customer review by Robbie

5.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Robbie
by Robbie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Bell bicycle computer arrived in good condition, and before the "expected" arrival date. The Bell video enabled me to install the computer on my bike with accuracy, which I would have not have been able to do without considerable effort using the written instructions alone. Wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great So Far
8/31/2014

Customer review by ScotwithoneT

4.0 stars 8/31/2014 by ScotwithoneT
by ScotwithoneT

For such a low price I am very pleased with this product. It does what I want it to and is easy to use. The instructions aren't great but adequate if you read all the reviews and watch the installation video. A few notes about other reviews: my instructions had the tire size settings in them so maybe they added it later. Holding down both buttons for 3 seconds or removing the battery will reset everything (including the tire size setting so don't lose the instructions#. However you CAN reset the trip meter without resetting the overall odometer. Set it to the trip meter and hold down just the left button for 3 seconds, this resets the trip meter, average speed, and timer. Doing this will not reset the odometer, max speed, and time. Also I had plenty of good quality zip ties. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the battery didn't sit in its compartment very well at first which made the screen fade in and out #losing settings). It hasn't happened since.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScotwithoneT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Took it back peice of junk.
9/18/2016

Customer review by Daddy

1.0 stars 9/18/2016 by Daddy
by Daddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daddy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what it claims, color might not be best...
12/20/2010

Customer review by Gruumsh

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Gruumsh
by Gruumsh

This product does everything it claims to do and I've been using it on a daily basis for about two months now with no major complaints. A few considerations for potential buyers... 1) The color scheme... it looks nice on MY bike because I've got a Schwinn and the red color matches my frame perfectly. If your bike is different then you may want to get a speedometer with a more neutral color scheme (grey/black). 2) The wire ties used to attach the thing to the bike are the generic WHITE type. If you've got black shocks then a trip to the hardware store might be a good idea. Wire ties are cheap (about $2 for 100) and black ties are much less noticeable. 3) When setting this up, be sure to read the manual. Specifically, the value that you need to enter for your proper wheel size requires some math. Basically, you need the circumference of your wheel in millimeters. Measure the diameter of your wheel and then multiply by 3.1416 (PI Have this information ready BEFORE you turn it on for the first time, because it will ask you. 4) Have the unit in hand and keep an eye on it when you install the sensor & magnet on your fork & spokes. As close to the center of the wheel is better. Also be careful not to get the magnet TOO close to the sensor, as you don't want them banging against each other while you're riding. You want it just close enough to pick up a reading and no closer than that. Features of Note: 1) There is an odometer to track your mileage and a trip-meter. The trip-meter can be reset but the odometer stays that way until you have to change the battery - at which point you can set the odometer back to the actual mileage IF you've got a record of it someplace. Nice if you want to know just how many miles you've logged on your new bike... okay not just "nice" but handy for maintenance purposes too... just how long has it been before you repacked the bearings in your axles? The main reason I didn't give a five-star rating is because the magnet part that attaches to the spokes could have been made a little bit better. That and a few extra wire ties just in case something got attached in the wrong place - with the six ties provided there is really no room for error.

Was this review helpful? (117) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gruumsh
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job.
9/6/2016

Customer review by Twoonly

4.0 stars 9/6/2016 by Twoonly
by Twoonly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used video to mount unit. As others have said to reset elapsed time does not work following instruction sheet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twoonly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficule to install, will not work on every bike!
8/18/2016

Customer review by BBen

1.0 stars 8/18/2016 by BBen
by BBen

The sensor needs to be 2mm away from the magnet on the wheel but when install I can put 2 finger in between about 5 cm. You need to figure a way to reduce the gab the product is not design properly. I was able to have it work by adding 5 cm plastic from a previous more expensive bike computer. That's the only way to get it to work.

BBen
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/4/2011

Customer review by FromTheShwa

4.0 stars 3/4/2011 by FromTheShwa
by FromTheShwa

Been using it for over a week now. Works great, accurate and helpful. Display is visible even in bright sun. Shows MPH, and distance. Easy to set up. Great price

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FromTheShwa
North Fort Myers, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good for the price
7/24/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/24/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to install. The odometer is accurate, I drove my car over a 4.5 mile route that I take on my bike ride and the odometer had the same 4.5 mile reading. The speedometer also seems to be accurate. I read some reviews about the device not being accurate, I suspect this is caused by the faulty reset function. In order to reset the odometer you have to press both buttons and hold for 3 seconds. Problem is, this also resets the wheel value to the default. If the wheel value is not set correctly the device will not be accurate. You get what you pay for and this device was only $12.00 so I am happy with it. I just don't reset it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
for starters like my self it is one useful tool!
6/4/2012

Customer review by Billyisme

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Billyisme
by Billyisme

great to keep time im pedaling distance, speed, and speed im traveling.plus distance,in mile or km.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billyisme
sacramento, ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Could be good value.
1/8/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/8/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The installation instuctions are terrible and you will have to go out and purchase all new zip ties. The ties that came with the unit were so brittle they broke in my hands when I tried to use them. Fortunately I had some on hand and used those. The instructions do not tell you where to place the sensor on the wheel. Follow the advice in the other reviews and you will do just fine. It seems to be accurate, but you will have to work with it for a while.

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Flower Mound, YX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic for the cost.
10/7/2014

Customer review by DonaldST

4.0 stars 10/7/2014 by DonaldST
by DonaldST

For only about $13 this thing is great. PROS -fairly easy to set up and install. -pretty darn accurate (provided you type the correct rim diameter in) -only $13 -cool features CONS -wish there was a better way to reset things like the odometer (when you reset this it resets everything) -if the battery dies you lose all stored info but I believe you can reenter old data For what it's worth, this thing is awesome. It obviously isn't anything special and lacks some cool features and ease of use but hey it $13 what can you expect. Obviously a $60 one would be far superior but they all work fundamentally the same, meaning an expensive one isn't even more accurate than a cheap one if your rim size isn't correct. This little guy has all the basics and would work for most people.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DonaldST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Speedometer
8/5/2016

Customer review by JimG

4.0 stars 8/5/2016 by JimG
by JimG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

easy to install,video a great,works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is a wired not a wireless product.
7/29/2016

Customer review by chgojp

3.0 stars 7/29/2016 by chgojp
by chgojp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product itself is fine but one thing you don't need on your bike is more wires. I tried to see if it was wired or wireless in the info but it did not state it. I bought a similar unit a few years back that was wireless and I loved it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chgojp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great and it's a bargain also.
3/8/2014

Customer review by WordMaster

5.0 stars 3/8/2014 by WordMaster
by WordMaster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just wanted to know how far I biked, so I looked at price and good reviews. This Bell fit the bill and it works great. It was fairly easy to install, but I have installed 4 or 5 of them from different manufacturers on family bikes over the last few years. On a measured mile it was accurate to within 15 feet so no complaints there. It shows speed also and that's about all I cared about but it has other features. The display is clear also. For about $12 it deserves a very good rating.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WordMaster
Boynton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked for my purpose.
6/14/2012

Customer review by Sixinharmony

4.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Sixinharmony
by Sixinharmony

I bought this to use on a dirtbike that just happened to have a 24 inch wheel. It works great. It looks nothing like the picture Though. It was very easy to set up and the instructions were somewhat helpful. Really like the tie it gives you because you can undo them!. Overall a good product in the lower price range.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sixinharmony
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cheap and easy, Works well. read reviews on resett
6/12/2012

Customer review by nowicu812

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by nowicu812
by nowicu812

I have had it for a couple of weeks now, just under 200 miles. Was easy to set up and does what it should. To reset the trip you have to hold the left button by itself for 3 seconds. was cheaper online than in the store.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nowicu812
Omaha, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not the one I ordered but...
3/2/2016

Customer review by bikegeek

5.0 stars 3/2/2016 by bikegeek
by bikegeek

I ordered the Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo version but instead I got the standard Bell Dashboard 100. I didn't return it because the standard version looks better than the Speedo version, they both have the same computer. They only differ in the outside shell color and style. The device itself operates as expected if installed correctly. I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikegeek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews