Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

94 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

94 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 stars
16
1-20 of 89 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Difficule to install, will not work on every bike!
8/18/2016

Customer review by BBen

1.0 stars 8/18/2016 by BBen
by BBen

The sensor needs to be 2mm away from the magnet on the wheel but when install I can put 2 finger in between about 5 cm. You need to figure a way to reduce the gab the product is not design properly. I was able to have it work by adding 5 cm plastic from a previous more expensive bike computer. That's the only way to get it to work.

BBen
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bell Speedometer Great value
3/28/2011

Customer review by Ranger63

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Ranger63
by Ranger63

There are few items in life that come with the warrenty this little gem does. Having looked at the ages of the reviewers and the responses (I'm the far side of 65)it's quite obvious we 'boomers' arn't as up on techno speak as our kids and grandkids. Harris Cyclery .com has a great page on mm sizing for bike rims which should get everyone thru the setting up of the computor (yep..it IS a computor) 700 series wheels are 622mm 27" are 630mm 26" between 580 and 587mm All I wanted was something that accurately read out the speed and distance and time. This baby does all that. Color me happy:o)

Was this review helpful? (100) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ranger63
Western New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Good product but not without its quirks
10/13/2014

Customer review by Earthensky

4.0 stars 10/13/2014 by Earthensky
by Earthensky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using the Bell Dashboard 100 for a couple of weeks now and have come to appreciate its functions and accuracy during that time. It should be said that I received a black and silver model that has two buttons at the bottom instead of the black and red, one button configuration pictured on the Walmart.com site. Like others, I thought the product didn't work right out of the box in spite of competent installation. No matter how closely I positioned the spoke magnet, the computer didn't register the wheel's revolutions. On the theory that the magnet wasn't strong enough, I added a 1/4" diameter by 1/8" thick rare earth magnet (Neodymium) to the existing magnet and that solved the problem. Also like others, I've ended up erasing all the settings by trying to clear the trip information as directed in the manual. To clear the trip info, just press and hold the left button until the display shows a zero value. All in all, a good product for the price, but it's not a hassle-free, out-of-the-box experience.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Earthensky
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great So Far
8/31/2014

Customer review by ScotwithoneT

4.0 stars 8/31/2014 by ScotwithoneT
by ScotwithoneT

For such a low price I am very pleased with this product. It does what I want it to and is easy to use. The instructions aren't great but adequate if you read all the reviews and watch the installation video. A few notes about other reviews: my instructions had the tire size settings in them so maybe they added it later. Holding down both buttons for 3 seconds or removing the battery will reset everything (including the tire size setting so don't lose the instructions#. However you CAN reset the trip meter without resetting the overall odometer. Set it to the trip meter and hold down just the left button for 3 seconds, this resets the trip meter, average speed, and timer. Doing this will not reset the odometer, max speed, and time. Also I had plenty of good quality zip ties. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the battery didn't sit in its compartment very well at first which made the screen fade in and out #losing settings). It hasn't happened since.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScotwithoneT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Two big tips on this product
7/1/2014

Customer review by CarlLaFong4U

5.0 stars 7/1/2014 by CarlLaFong4U
by CarlLaFong4U

OK. First of all, I really love this product for the price. You will NOT be disappointed, I am having a blast with it. It also comes in a monochromatic black color if you don't like the red. OK. Two big tips to ensure you will be happy. Number one: As others have previously stated, YOU MUST add a bit of glue to the magnet on the spoke or it will fall off and you will lose it. This magnet has to be on the spoke nice and secure. Number two: The operating instructions are WRONG. If you want to reset your trip distance or trip time, the instructions say to hold down both buttons for three seconds. THIS WILL RESET EVERYTHING, INCLUDING ODOMETER, WHEEL SPECS AND CLOCK! Instead, just hold the LEFT button down for three seconds to reset just what you want to. All in all, for $11, it's pretty killer.

Was this review helpful? (87) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarlLaFong4U
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what it claims, color might not be best...
12/20/2010

Customer review by Gruumsh

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Gruumsh
by Gruumsh

This product does everything it claims to do and I've been using it on a daily basis for about two months now with no major complaints. A few considerations for potential buyers... 1) The color scheme... it looks nice on MY bike because I've got a Schwinn and the red color matches my frame perfectly. If your bike is different then you may want to get a speedometer with a more neutral color scheme (grey/black). 2) The wire ties used to attach the thing to the bike are the generic WHITE type. If you've got black shocks then a trip to the hardware store might be a good idea. Wire ties are cheap (about $2 for 100) and black ties are much less noticeable. 3) When setting this up, be sure to read the manual. Specifically, the value that you need to enter for your proper wheel size requires some math. Basically, you need the circumference of your wheel in millimeters. Measure the diameter of your wheel and then multiply by 3.1416 (PI Have this information ready BEFORE you turn it on for the first time, because it will ask you. 4) Have the unit in hand and keep an eye on it when you install the sensor & magnet on your fork & spokes. As close to the center of the wheel is better. Also be careful not to get the magnet TOO close to the sensor, as you don't want them banging against each other while you're riding. You want it just close enough to pick up a reading and no closer than that. Features of Note: 1) There is an odometer to track your mileage and a trip-meter. The trip-meter can be reset but the odometer stays that way until you have to change the battery - at which point you can set the odometer back to the actual mileage IF you've got a record of it someplace. Nice if you want to know just how many miles you've logged on your new bike... okay not just "nice" but handy for maintenance purposes too... just how long has it been before you repacked the bearings in your axles? The main reason I didn't give a five-star rating is because the magnet part that attaches to the spokes could have been made a little bit better. That and a few extra wire ties just in case something got attached in the wrong place - with the six ties provided there is really no room for error.

Was this review helpful? (121) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gruumsh
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Fantastic for the cost.
10/7/2014

Customer review by DonaldST

4.0 stars 10/7/2014 by DonaldST
by DonaldST

For only about $13 this thing is great. PROS -fairly easy to set up and install. -pretty darn accurate (provided you type the correct rim diameter in) -only $13 -cool features CONS -wish there was a better way to reset things like the odometer (when you reset this it resets everything) -if the battery dies you lose all stored info but I believe you can reenter old data For what it's worth, this thing is awesome. It obviously isn't anything special and lacks some cool features and ease of use but hey it $13 what can you expect. Obviously a $60 one would be far superior but they all work fundamentally the same, meaning an expensive one isn't even more accurate than a cheap one if your rim size isn't correct. This little guy has all the basics and would work for most people.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DonaldST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good for the price
7/24/2014

Customer review by WillieTheWanker

3.0 stars 7/24/2014 by WillieTheWanker
by WillieTheWanker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to install. The odometer is accurate, I drove my car over a 4.5 mile route that I take on my bike ride and the odometer had the same 4.5 mile reading. The speedometer also seems to be accurate. I read some reviews about the device not being accurate, I suspect this is caused by the faulty reset function. In order to reset the odometer you have to press both buttons and hold for 3 seconds. Problem is, this also resets the wheel value to the default. If the wheel value is not set correctly the device will not be accurate. You get what you pay for and this device was only $12.00 so I am happy with it. I just don't reset it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WillieTheWanker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/4/2011

Customer review by FromTheShwa

4.0 stars 3/4/2011 by FromTheShwa
by FromTheShwa

Been using it for over a week now. Works great, accurate and helpful. Display is visible even in bright sun. Shows MPH, and distance. Easy to set up. Great price

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FromTheShwa
North Fort Myers, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
for starters like my self it is one useful tool!
6/4/2012

Customer review by Billyisme

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Billyisme
by Billyisme

great to keep time im pedaling distance, speed, and speed im traveling.plus distance,in mile or km.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billyisme
sacramento, ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Could be good value.
1/8/2011

Customer review by FredFenegler

4.0 stars 1/8/2011 by FredFenegler
by FredFenegler

The installation instuctions are terrible and you will have to go out and purchase all new zip ties. The ties that came with the unit were so brittle they broke in my hands when I tried to use them. Fortunately I had some on hand and used those. The instructions do not tell you where to place the sensor on the wheel. Follow the advice in the other reviews and you will do just fine. It seems to be accurate, but you will have to work with it for a while.

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FredFenegler
Flower Mound, YX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Works great and it's a bargain also.
3/8/2014

Customer review by WordMaster

5.0 stars 3/8/2014 by WordMaster
by WordMaster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just wanted to know how far I biked, so I looked at price and good reviews. This Bell fit the bill and it works great. It was fairly easy to install, but I have installed 4 or 5 of them from different manufacturers on family bikes over the last few years. On a measured mile it was accurate to within 15 feet so no complaints there. It shows speed also and that's about all I cared about but it has other features. The display is clear also. For about $12 it deserves a very good rating.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WordMaster
Boynton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked for my purpose.
6/14/2012

Customer review by Sixinharmony

4.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Sixinharmony
by Sixinharmony

I bought this to use on a dirtbike that just happened to have a 24 inch wheel. It works great. It looks nothing like the picture Though. It was very easy to set up and the instructions were somewhat helpful. Really like the tie it gives you because you can undo them!. Overall a good product in the lower price range.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sixinharmony
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:14 - 18
Cheap and easy, Works well. read reviews on resett
6/12/2012

Customer review by nowicu812

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by nowicu812
by nowicu812

I have had it for a couple of weeks now, just under 200 miles. Was easy to set up and does what it should. To reset the trip you have to hold the left button by itself for 3 seconds. was cheaper online than in the store.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nowicu812
Omaha, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Trustworthy Bike Computer-Two thumbs up!
3/23/2017

Customer review by grevicci

5.0 stars 3/23/2017 by grevicci
by grevicci

I bought my DASHBOARD 100 in June 2015. It has to be wired and it is most easy to set up if you attach it to the front wheel as opposed to the back one. The little magnet attaches to a tire spoke and must come within a very short distance from the sensor that you'll zip-tie to the fork of the bike. My little DASHBOARD cost about $12 and I put on about 3000 miles on it. The battery was running out after about 15 months but batteries are cheap as I bought 10 batteries from EBAY for only $1.00. The sad thing is, I recently bought a new bike and was removing the little magnet from my bike's spoke to transfer it to my new bike when it fell somewhere in my garage and just vanished--couldn't find it anywhere--and I would have bought another DASHBOARD 100 but I came across another little bike computer also sold at Walmart-it is a M-WAVE M16 and it cost me $10. All these little computers appear to work about the same and this one (the M-Wave) has a temperature reading on it so I got this one. Anyway the DASHBOARD 100, no matter what function you are on, will always have the speed displayed. You won't be able to attach monitors like heart monitors or whatever--this is just a basic bike computer with all the basic functions. It has suited me very well even through some rainy days. It is pert near accurate with Strava that I use but Strava can have some variance at times--depends on the gps connection, so I don't blame my bike computer for any small inaccuracies. It was right on the money when I calibrated it by using mile markers on the bike paths. I never had an issue with not being able to read the display until probably close to 15 months when the display was gradually fading--this is the time to change the battery. For the money (~$10-12) you can't go wrong with this little bike computer. I really got my money's worth and really enjoyed the time I had with it until I lost that little spoke magnet. I swear, things can drop right in front of me and then just magically vanish! Two thumbs up for this one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grevicci
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wired - Bell Dashboard 100 speedometer
8/10/2015

Customer review by gentech

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by gentech
by gentech
Top 1000 contributor

A few things that might help you with your buying decision and installation: The dimensions listed on the online catalog are wrong. This instrument is about one and one half inches wide by about two inches long by about five eights inches thick. The online catalog shows it as being Red and Black. The two that I got are Black with Silver buttons. The calibration table in the installation manual is probably wrong for your bike. Put a mark on the front tire and the floor with the tires properly inflated. Roll the bike ahead exactly one revolution and place another mark on the floor at the mark on the tire. Accurately measure the distance from one mark to the other in millimeters. If you do not have a metric tape measure then convert the measurement to millimeters. This is the number to enter in the setup calibration. Keep this number that is the distance traveled in one turn of the wheel handy for future reference. You will need it to do the setup again when you replace the battery or push the wrong buttons and clear everything. Free conversion calculators are available only such as the one from joshmadison.com. For resetting the odometer trip meter (DST) push the left button only for three seconds. The manual is wrong. If you do as the manual states by pushing both buttons it will clear everything requiring the original setup calibrations. This is the wired speedometer that is probably the most reliable as compared to the wireless version. Outside radio frequency interference will affect the wireless meters accuracy and reliability. Even a small thing such as a blinking headlight on your bike can shutdown the wireless speedometer. If I were riding in rough country through weeds and brush I would definitely buy the wireless version rather than having the wire going down the fork to possibly get caught on things. The wireless version may be a little easier to install since you would not have to be concerned with wire routing and protection of the wire. When installing the wired meter it is easy to make a few wraps of the wire around the front brake cable and down the fork using the wire tie straps to accomplish a good installation. If you do not have a front brake cable then be certain that you have enough slack in the wire for a maximum rotation of the the handlebar. Put a little glue on the magnet holder when you mount it on the spokes. I used a little Silicone Sealant. Otherwise the magnet will probably come lose and will be lost. This comes with installation "wire tie straps". If you do not get Black tie straps with yours or if you need to buy more straps to complete your installation. The Black tie straps are the only ones that are rated as resistant to the Ultraviolet rays of the Sun. Colored straps and white straps are usually not rated as UV resistant and will probably not last very long. These tie straps are the only thing keeping the wire out of the spokes. This is a nice instrument that you will enjoy, especially for this low price. I bought two of them. One for my wife and one for my bike. I would buy it again if I needed a replacement. I would probably buy the wireless version for my wifes bike since it does not have a front brake cable to run the speedometer wire down.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gentech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Works great! Easy installation
3/7/2011

Customer review by ChiBULLSfan

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by ChiBULLSfan
by ChiBULLSfan

Easy to use, easy to install. Works great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChiBULLSfan
San Leandro, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
5/12/2011

Customer review by borntobowl

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by borntobowl
by borntobowl

The price was in my budget. Seems to work fine. The installation was easy, however, a few of the ties to hold unit on broke. Luckily we had some others on hand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
borntobowl
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Inexpensive yet adequate
1/18/2016

Customer review by GaryP

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by GaryP
by GaryP

I bought a new bike and ordered this Bell Dashboard 100 Speedometer with it. Although mounting the speedometer and magnet is somewhat confusing because the instructions on this unit really are a joke. The little booklet that comes with this unit focuses more on the functions of the unit rather than providing clear cut mounting instructions to get the unit to function properly in the first place. I will say that once I figured out how to position the magnet on the spokes and the receiver to the frame, set up the proper wheel size and input all the other information, this little unit seems to be pretty accurate. It is very acceptable for an initial bike speedometer/computer. For the price, it does a very good job. I believe in the future I will look for something with a little larger readout screen. If all the numbers were at least the same size as the top number it would be a great unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GaryP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not the one I ordered but...
3/2/2016

Customer review by bikegeek

5.0 stars 3/2/2016 by bikegeek
by bikegeek

I ordered the Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo version but instead I got the standard Bell Dashboard 100. I didn't return it because the standard version looks better than the Speedo version, they both have the same computer. They only differ in the outside shell color and style. The device itself operates as expected if installed correctly. I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikegeek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews