Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 604 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

604 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

604 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 stars
182
1-20 of 499 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 499 total reviews
1-20 of 499 reviews
Another cracked screen to add to the list
12/18/2010

Customer review by Skynet74

1.0 stars 12/18/2010 by Skynet74
by Skynet74

I didn't buy this TV. My friend did. He was very excited about getting it as well. I saw the review of many people who got them with cracked screens. So I joked all week with him that his screen would probably be smashed. I honestly didn't think that it would be though. Well surprise surprise. His TV came yesterday and take a look at it right after opening the box. I couldn't believe what I saw. Not just a couple of little cracks. But really smashed. It looks like a truck drove over it. Whoever is manufacturing this TV has a problem on it's hands. The box was in perfect shape. Doesn't appear to be damaged from the shipping company. There are far to many horror stories about this TV for that to be the case anyway. This thing looks damaged straight from the factory! BEWARE. STAY AWAY. Get something else. Unless you want this to happen to you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skynet74
Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Tremendous value plasma HDTV
3/3/2011

Customer review by jbb313

4.0 stars 3/3/2011 by jbb313
by jbb313

A year ago I would never have considered a plasma TV. But it seems improvements have been made and they are again competitive in picture quality, features and value. This RCA 42" plasma was a bargain for $399 and I needed a TV for my basement den. I have the sound plugged into my Sony receiver so, any drawbacks with the RCA speakers do not apply, although the sound fine to me. This is one tremendous value for a 42" HDTV, even though the price has now changed to $419, it's still a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jbb313
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/21/2011

Customer review by prettinpink0

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by prettinpink0
by prettinpink0

I love this tv i bought it a couple days ago when they had it on clearance for $399.00 i was tempted to buy 2 but i said maybe i should try one first.. But this tv looks great in my living room alot of hd channels its just all around great tv.. The box it comes in is huge and couldnt fit in my car so i had to take it out the box but other than that its a great tv that shows crisp high quality pictures!!!! 2 thumbs up

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prettinpink0
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great Upgrade!
3/15/2011

Customer review by Rena98

5.0 stars 3/15/2011 by Rena98
by Rena98
Walmart associate

The TV I bought is better than I expected. The color and sound are great and it looks good on the TV stand I got a couple months back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rena98
Wetumpka, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!
12/10/2010

Customer review by lumario2

1.0 stars 12/10/2010 by lumario2
by lumario2

SEE THE PHOTO. Screen was cracked all over. DO NO WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS TV!!!!! I WISH I COULD GIVE IT ZERO STARS!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lumario2
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A Terrific Value
12/14/2010

Customer review by baywolf

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by baywolf
by baywolf

TV is being used with DirecTV HD receiver in a bedroom as a second TV. This TV is terrific for what it is. The picture quality is not that of a full 1080I/P or that of a $1000+ unit. I do notice some wavering effect when background changes brigthness, but will probably not be noticible to the vast majority. That being said, it does have an AWESOME picture for a $400 42" Plasma. I have had no issues with this set and it has been hooked up about a week now. I definately prefer the Plasma's over the LCD. The picture looks more real and life like. I find LCD's to have an antimated quality to their picture This set was delivered via a shipper call SEKO. It arrived in perfect conditon, and the delivery guy was very polite and stood by while I partially unpacked the set to check for the frequent damage other have reported here. Not a scratch. Speakers are very loud and on the tinny side, but again, considering the price. I bought a 3 years extended warranty from Squaretrade.com for $35. They are having 20% off their warranties threw Dec.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
baywolf
PHX, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product Good Deal
1/18/2011

Customer review by WebShoppingSkeptic2010

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by WebShoppingSkeptic2010
by WebShoppingSkeptic2010

I am a loyal Sony brand lover so this wasnt my first choice, so I did my research and was somewhat skeptical by all the negative reviews until I realized that they were mostly about the delivery and not the Tv. I bought it and I must say its one of the best decisions I've made. The picture quality is awesome and I dont have cable or satelite service. The sound is great, dont need to go above 8 to have great all room sound. The set delivers sharp crisp images and the screen works well in dark and bright areas there is no glare. My set is in my living room right infront of 16ft long window and I watch the set undisturbed by the light coming in. The only draw back with this product is that it doesnt have PIP or come with an antenna. Love the product glad I didnt spend big bucks on other brands!! To those who had delivery problems my advice is call ahead to the delivery service and let them know you'll be examining the product before you accept it. This will put them straight, it worked for me!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WebShoppingSkeptic2010
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
New TVs
11/13/2010

Customer review by LadySue

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by LadySue
by LadySue
Top 1000 contributor

I just upgraded my old TV to this one and very surprised on how it looks based on what I paid. This TV is Wonderful. The picture is sharp and beautiful. Easy to remove from the box and setup. I connected it to my DishNetwork Box and even to my new HP laptop I just bought from Walmart. I'm thinking of buying another for my bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (250) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadySue
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Value
12/15/2010

Customer review by alleyoppnonickname99xyzzy

4.0 stars 12/15/2010 by alleyoppnonickname99xyzzy
by alleyoppnonickname99xyzzy

This turned out to be a very good experience. - The unit was delivered on time. - The ad gave the correct dimensions (I was somewhat worried because it was a tight squeeze into an existing cabinet) - The unit was delivered earlier than predicted. - It was packaged well. I had read several reviews warning of cracked screen, but I had no screen problems. - Good selection of inputs for all of my conceivable needs. - Once installed, worked fine. - Only negative was lack of instructions for how to install and adjust base. - And a GREAT value at the price!

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alleyoppnonickname99xyzzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV - Once delivered in one peice
12/24/2010

Customer review by Saintip

4.0 stars 12/24/2010 by Saintip
by Saintip

Got one TV - it came like a lot of the others, damaged. However, Walmart customer service was great, they shipped out a new one one day after my complaint. The only negative was that the original one was paid for using one day shipping and their replacement took about 8 days. So far though, .the replacement TV is working great and the picture quality is wonderful! This second time around Walmart used a company other than UPS...who knows, maybe the shipping company was the problem from the beginning...,,

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Saintip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
11/25/2010

Customer review by Dawan

5.0 stars 11/25/2010 by Dawan
by Dawan

Bought this TV for 399, Great Buy!!! picture is excellent. Sound is good as well. I was a little affraid to buy it without seeing it in the Store but the price was right. Many of my friends come over to watch football and think that i paid like 700 or 800 on the TV. thats how great the quality is!

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dawan
Columbus, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very disappointed in RCA
11/27/2010

Customer review by blueflame17

1.0 stars 11/27/2010 by blueflame17
by blueflame17

We just set our DEAL up..only to find 6" of black at the bottom of the screen..did not know RCA does not produce plasma tv's.. after speaking to RCA's contracted service company..seems this is a common problem..have a service call scheduled..in two weeks..picture blurry very disappointed

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blueflame17
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV
11/13/2010

Customer review by Pete5

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by Pete5
by Pete5
Top 1000 contributor

I just picked up this TV a few days ago and it looks UH-MAZE-ING. The video is HD and clear. I'm watching nascar on it now and its like being at the track. I watched football last night and could see the grass grow on the field. It was a little hard to get it mounted in my house (trailer home has thin walls, so i had use some 2x4s for the mount) but its all good.

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pete5
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Best bang for the buck
1/16/2011

Customer review by Graphitezor

4.0 stars 1/16/2011 by Graphitezor
by Graphitezor

I bought this TV on sale for merely $370-379.99, it was definitely worth every penny spent. Comes with basic burn-in protection, which is just a display shift that can be set every 10 to 20 seconds. This does a lot to prevent burn-in and is very basic but does a lot to keep images from burning in. The picture quality on 480i channels are just fine at full screen zoom and HD channels look great. The HD reciever picks up a lot of channels more than my Vizion LED LCD TV. The only problems I had was with Walmart's dreadfully slow freight shipping and that the TV has a bit of a lean to it, I think it's because of the stand. I am sure I installed it correctly but it leans to the right a bit because of it's weight and being quite flimsy at the bottom part of the stand causing some flex. I've been using this TV for everyday cable watching, my Wii, and direct connect with my computer to watch movies. Everything looks great and no dead pixels!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Graphitezor
Statesboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA TV
11/7/2010

Customer review by dj912

1.0 stars 11/7/2010 by dj912
by dj912

TV went black in 15 months, So I lost my money.Even called RCA Home office, No help at all. I will never buy another Tv without the protection plan, and never a RCA Product.

Was this review helpful? (186) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dj912
sylvania,ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
RCA 42" Plasma HDTV
1/3/2011

Customer review by PekeFreke

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by PekeFreke
by PekeFreke

After reading virtually all the reviews on this TV I was a little worried about the condition of it when it arrived. I chose to have it shipped Site-to-Store because I felt it would be safer. However, before I left the store with the TV I had the associate taking it out to my vehicle open the carton and check to make sure the screen was intact since that was the major concern with most of the reviewers with not only this TV, but all others I had read the reviews on. The screen looked perfect, so I gave the okay to load it up. The instructions were easy to read/follow, though I did have to call DirecTV for a little tech support. But after hitting the right buttons a couple of times, there haven't been any issues... but one. I wasn't able to find the right code for the DirecTV remote and am still using both remotes. I'll tackle that job again some day... if I can ever find a time when my husband isn't watching something on our new wide-screen TV that he just can't miss.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PekeFreke
Sallisaw, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
RCA 42" Amazing Wow Great TV!
11/28/2010

Customer review by Nina0611

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Nina0611
by Nina0611

I bought the RCA 42" Plasam tv around mid november at only $399! What a price for a 42" tv right! Anyway the tv is AWESOME! The sound is like booming (maybe because its in my medium-sized room) but its great sound is awesome! I always have the sound limit at only 5 from 100! Wow! And the picture is great! The cartoon Spongebob is yellow is brighter than ever! Lol! If you have a HD cable its even greater! Literally! It's easy to setup, easy to control, and easy to love of course! RCA is not the greatest brand but to me it is! It has like all these plug-ins for games, dvds, computers and more! Really the tv is great, I would reccomend. I use it every day for my soap operas and movies. The only negative is that I had it shipped twice because the first time the tv came damaged with many cracks but if it happens to you call or email immediately and in two days they ship you a brand new one. Other than the shipping the tv is GREAT! :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nina0611
Camden, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Cracked!
12/5/2010

Customer review by JonnyB39

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by JonnyB39
by JonnyB39

Thank God my TV was not cracked when I got it. The picture is great for the price I paid. Just needed a TV for the bedroom. Only problem was the shipping to my local WalMart. It took about 12 days to ship the TV 60 Miles!!! I could have walked the 60 miles and been back in two days!!! Never shipping to store again!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JonnyB39
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent for the price
2/9/2011

Customer review by cashmerekitty

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by cashmerekitty
by cashmerekitty

i purchased 2 of these televisions. i got them delivered site to store. they arrived in perfect condition. i am very happy with both. my price was $399 each and they are worth every penny! i was a little concerned with them being 780p but they are just as crisp and clear as my other tv which is a 1080p . I have them hooked up via hdmi cable, which makes the picture "pop" and may be why they look as good as the 1080, regardless i am very satisfied and have just placed another order for my mom , needless to say the price has went up from $399 to $429 in a week!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cashmerekitty
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Plasma for under $400
1/4/2011

Customer review by ConanAtWalMart

4.0 stars 1/4/2011 by ConanAtWalMart
by ConanAtWalMart

We purchased this TV to replace our almost 20 year old 27" CRT and so far it has performed very well. It's only 720p, but we don't need 1080 or any of the latest "bleeding edge" features. This is a basic plasma that does the job nicely for us. The picture is crisp, but the glossy screen does have a glare problem (pull the curtains and keeping the room darker will solve that problem). The HDMI inputs allowed to hook up more recent equipment, but at the same time the component and composite connections allow us to continue to use some of our older stuff. The sound quality is probably the weakest feature, but not a show-stopper. For normal TV viewing, not a major issue. If we pop in a movie we run the sound through our stereo system anyway. It was easy to set up with the stand. Again, no real complaints even though it is only 720p and a max resolution of 1024x768 - we knew it wasn't the latest technology and we don't need it so for the price it's hard to beat. We've been using it for 2-3 weeks now - no issues.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConanAtWalMart
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 499 total reviews
1-20 of 499 reviews