Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

68 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

68 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
1-20 of 58 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
PIECE OF GARBAGE!!! (Just My Opinion)
1/7/2011

Customer review by PublicInterestTech001

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by PublicInterestTech001
by PublicInterestTech001

The following statements are made based on my professional opinion, experience, and best of my knowledge and belief, after spending countless hours with learning features and diagnosing problems on this recorder and its recent simillarly-featured predecessors: 1. This recorders' files constantly get corrupted and CHKDSK or other Disk Repair has to be run on it. I just spent over TWO HOURS running the last Repair on a big sound file. 2. Even though it records in .WAV format, the O/S doesnt treat the 32-bit formatted memory space in the same manner as a USB "thumb-drive," meaning: A. You cant simply use a PC drag-and-drop of the files to and from the media without the INDEX file getting messed up AND risk causing the memory space to be corrupted, which results in future file-corruption. If you copy and delete a sound file and then copy it back, the recorder no longer sees it because the operation was controlled on the PC, not via the Recorder's O/S where the index file would otherwise be updated. You must use the RCA software at all times and places, which may not always be convenient. B. If the RCA device driver isnt loaded, the PC [Win-XP (SP3)] might not recognize the Recorder. This could be problematic if transferring to School, Library, or Corporate "locked-down" PC's, preventing access to your files. 3. WEAK BATTERY WILL LEAD TO LOCKED-UP RECORDING AND FILE CORRUPTION: Whenever the batteries get close to dying in the middle of a recording, it will lock-up and make a ticking noise. All the buttons freeze-up and the only resolution is to immediately remove the batteries. When new ones are put in you may have to deal with a file-corruption problem and receive error messages copying one or more files to the PC. Causing you to have to run a Disk-Repair Utility to straighten it out. Some recordings may end up irrepairable. 4. ITS A NUISANCE TO RECORD...You must ALWAYS FIRST press the Play button before recording and it usually flashes <WAIT>...<WAIT>...<WAIT> for several inconvenient seconds before it is ready to record. So you CANNOT just press <RECORD> and immediately start recording. It requires at least one extra cumbersom step and delay before recording starts. RCA may claim it as a "safety feature" but you and I may find it more annoying. If youre a journalist or have to have quick-start recording, this is not for you. I have owned several prior models to this with simillar problems. I have used them with some of the most stable PC's and in the most conservative manner, always following the manufacturers operating instructions when using this device with the same results. Previously I used a Panasonic USR380 (now unavailable), had no trouble and loved it! With RCA's models Ive spent way too much time fixing the recorders files. The only reason I bought them was unavailability of decent competing models in Wal Mart, and price. Im now looking for a Panasonic that is priced comparably. I would not recommend anyone buying any later-improved RCA models. I feel RCA has had plenty of chances to get it right. (BTW, I dont know why, but this items Product Reviews area was EMPTY when initially displaying the items WalMart.com listing.)

Was this review helpful? (245) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PublicInterestTech001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect recorder
11/8/2010

Customer review by MyMindsEye

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by MyMindsEye
by MyMindsEye

I bought this to help me record notes in meetings and use as a reminder tool. It works perfectly. The amount of time that can be recorded is way more than I need and what I like about it is that you can record your notes in .wav files, which can be played back on any computer. It's so easy to use, it's exactly what I needed for my use.

Was this review helpful? (82) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyMindsEye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Paranormal Investigation Tool!!
6/28/2011

Customer review by screamfreak79

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by screamfreak79
by screamfreak79

As a paranormal investigator and equipment retailer I need an inexpensive digital voice recorder that records in WAV format and has a USB connection. WAV is important because we need our recordings as close to the original audio input as possible without file compression. EVP or electronic voice phenomenon is sometimes captured in inaudible frequencies that MP3 or WMA formats will compress or even remove. WAV takes up more space, but with 1gig of memory we can still record several investigations on the internal memory. The flip out USB means we have less accessories to keep up with. Seldom will you find a DVR that records in WAV format for this price. The option to plug in an external microphone for better sound quality really seals the deal for me. Less educated investigators would shy away from this product because it is inexpensive, but from my experience this recorder is a GEM. The only problem I have with this recorder is the user friendliness, but that's nothing a few minutes with the instruction manual won't fix. This is a must for any serious paranormal investigator.

Was this review helpful? (127) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
screamfreak79
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice for the Price
12/7/2010

Customer review by ATiredReader

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by ATiredReader
by ATiredReader

The controls took me a little while to get used to: This is my first digital recorder. But once you get the feel of it, it's not hard to use. The software that comes with the unit is decent-- not outstanding. I downloaded a freeware converter to change the voc files to mp3s. You can also record in WAV format and drag the files directly to a WAV-enabled MP3 player. (My sound editing software, Roxio hates WAV files, so I have to convert the files first if I want to edit them.) I really like the light weight of this product and the built-in USB connector. I wish it would have come with a carrying case.

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATiredReader
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It's a $25.00 recorder--You can't beat it for the
1/8/2012

Customer review by TopherLovesToGrill

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by TopherLovesToGrill
by TopherLovesToGrill

I have no idea why there's a couple reviews about this recorder that go into depth about all the technical gibberish associated with digital recording and so forth. It's a $25.00 digital recorder, not a $200.00 one! If you want something that's really versatile and gives you all kinds of happy little frills and benefits and quirks, keep shopping and pay a little more. For the money, this is a GREAT recorder. I've used it for hundreds of hours now with NO PROBLEMS. NONE of the problems people have reported with this recorder have happened to me. One even says you have to push the record button then the play button to get it to record and that you get a "wait" message over and over...uh...are you sure you reviewed the correct recorder??? All you have to do is tap record and it immediately starts. I've never had a problem with the included software. You can download free Audacity software and play with your digital files there (cutting and pasting, dragging and dropping, etc...). It's a blast to use, too. It's so simple and self-explanatory that it kinda explains itself. Playback sound is not too bad at all with the built-in speaker. It records in uncompressed .WAV format, which is lager than MP3 but sounds better (especially with headphones or external speakers). AND there's an external microphone jack so you can add a phantom-powered or dynamic microphone at will. Speaking of phantoms, it's a great EVP recorder too for all you paranormal investigator buffs. Because it records in .WAV there's very little chance you'd miss something (like you probably will using an MP3 recorder). I've already picked up all kinds of stuff with it, and using Audacity software with it works GREAT for saving sounds as files). Anyway for $25.00 you really can't go wrong. Pick one up and play around with it. If you don't like it, you're not out much. But if you do (which you will), you'll have all kinds of fun with it. It's worth it to give it a try, especially with all the extra little features you get.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopherLovesToGrill
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great for the price
6/19/2011

Customer review by whencanIshopagain

4.0 stars 6/19/2011 by whencanIshopagain
by whencanIshopagain

I bought this product to use to capture EVPs when I went to visit the historic Menger Hotel in San Antonio. First time I used it, I captured 2 evps, although I didn't know it until I listened the next day. I think this product works great. Sounds great and easy to use. I use it for all of my ghost hunting outings. I am going to get another one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whencanIshopagain
Round Rock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Stopped working after 2 uses
2/28/2011

Customer review by arw0152

1.0 stars 2/28/2011 by arw0152
by arw0152

I have only used this recorder twice. I was in the middle of recording a meeting for a school assignment and the recorder suddenly told me to format it. Upon trying, my computer stopped recognizing the recorder and now only sees an EMPTY storage device when plugged in. The only way to get the files off is to record it onto a NEW recorder. Not worth the money. Its worth it to get a recorder that costs more if it has a better history of working for more than a month.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arw0152
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great recorder, best value
2/13/2012

Customer review by luxsphinx

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by luxsphinx
by luxsphinx

I was looking for this recorder largely because it has USB, something that the competitors only seem to have at much higher price points. This device has pretty good quality recordings of my course lectures when set to HQ, though I wouldn't recommend the SP or LP modes for any distance. If your goal is only for dictation, this will more than meet the task at all quality settings. So long as you don't use worthless $1 batteries, the charge seems to hold for a while. I'm still on my first set of AAA's a few weeks in while a classmate who bought the exact same recorder had it die after only 3 hours due to cheap batteries. Further, despite what some people seem to claim, this works well on Windows, Linux, and Mac when using HQ (which saves as .wav). It only works on Windows in SP and LP mode (which saves as .voc and needs the included free software to convert to .wav).

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luxsphinx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy with purchase. :-D
7/23/2011

Customer review by Thatslife305

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by Thatslife305
by Thatslife305

I brought this for lectures in school. I don't even have to put the recorder near the teacher for it to be clear. It's clear from my desk! I love the usb connection that the recorder has. Overall, I very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thatslife305
miami, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Digital Recorder
8/23/2011

Customer review by bofletch

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by bofletch
by bofletch

This recorder is very good and inexpensive. The sound is very good and the microphone picks up sound even if it's far away. The operation is very simple if you take a minute to read the instructions. The construction is good, it is very light. The slide out usb is very nice and convenient way to upload your audio. If you use the HQ it records in WAV. format, which is very easy to load on your computer and just about every audio program supports this format. Overall for the price this recorder meets and exceeds my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bofletch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not all that great
11/1/2010

Customer review by GeneralMontgomery

1.0 stars 11/1/2010 by GeneralMontgomery
by GeneralMontgomery

I already had an audio recorder by another company. I purchased this to use in the car. What a mistake! The instructions are hard to understand. It's hard to operate and it takes a while after switching it on before it'll record. With my existing one, it's instantly on and instantly recording. This RCA thing doesn't even have a standard file format. It has something called VOX which needs to be converted to WMA before it's usable. On the whole I'd say save your money and buy something better. It's just not worth the hassle. I eventually lost mine - it fell out of the car. Good riddance to bad rubbish!

Was this review helpful? (15) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeneralMontgomery
Columbia SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product at a great price!!
9/5/2011

Customer review by MommyOfHJandZG

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by MommyOfHJandZG
by MommyOfHJandZG

I am in nursing school, and this device is perfect for recording the lectures. I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyOfHJandZG
Sussex, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
RCA VR5320
6/29/2011

Customer review by PR1001

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by PR1001
by PR1001

This is a good recording device. It has a mic and a usb port on the top, a mic and headphone jack on the left side, and a volume, record, and erase button on the right side. I am pretty pleased with this digital voice recorder. I would advise this to anyone who wants to record things such as thoughts, memos, ect.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PR1001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
just what I needed for cheap
5/10/2011

Customer review by morles

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by morles
by morles

This was a new device for me to use with my vocal students. They could use it with their home puters to edit out all of the things not neccessary to practice for the week. It was a great recorder.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
morles
Clearfield, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
operation complex
9/30/2011

Customer review by pugee

1.0 stars 9/30/2011 by pugee
by pugee

TOO hard to operate. Instruction weigh more than unit.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pugee
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
RCA VR5320 1GB
4/25/2011

Customer review by bernardcc

1.0 stars 4/25/2011 by bernardcc
by bernardcc

Piece of junk. You will spend all day trying to set everything up. The instructions must have been written by an engineer. After finally getting the recorder to work I could not erase or delete files. Don`t waste your time or money on this item.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bernardcc
Hot Springs Village, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
overkill for a product that should be simple
11/1/2011

Customer review by oldtimer43

1.0 stars 11/1/2011 by oldtimer43
by oldtimer43

too many functions for what should be a simple hand held voice recorder. definitely not for the elderly who would be better served with a functional product geared to simple and easy one step usage.....nick

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldtimer43
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/13/2011

Customer review by Enshopper

1.0 stars 10/13/2011 by Enshopper
by Enshopper

terrible. cannot record clearly and files are not mp3. it's think and not easy to use. cannot hear anything on the speakers unless you are recording an interview and the recorver is right infront of the person. not great for lectures

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Enshopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great recorder for the price!!
11/28/2011

Customer review by lovebeingamom01

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by lovebeingamom01
by lovebeingamom01

It took me a while to figure out what the buttons are for but other than that the voice quality of the recording is great! Im using it for research projects where I have to interview people also for class lecture. So far I recorded a phone interview. I put the person on speaker on my cell phone and I recorded with this device turned out great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovebeingamom01
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
5/23/2012

Customer review by QueTeePie72

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by QueTeePie72
by QueTeePie72

I have owned this for 3 years and it has worked perfectly for that time. I bought an earpiece which has allowed me to record voicemail messages as well as real time phone conversations. I highly recommend it and have had other friends who have purchased the item and been pleased with it as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueTeePie72
Corpus Christi TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews