Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 4 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 43 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
LiDE 210 Software Incompatible with Win 7
1/9/2014

Customer review by Mohabee

2.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Mohabee
by Mohabee

I purchased this scanner for its "easy set up and satisfactory scanning," which was touted by an online retailer. Reviews seemed favorable at that site, and the price was right. Unfortunately, the software that accompanied the scanner is apparently not compatible with Win 7 Home Edition,on a 64 bit laptop computer. The hard drive on this machine is empty, and this software was the second installed, after the security software. I get a continuous "Navigator has stopped working" error message, when I try to use the scanner with its factory software. Many attempts to restore or remove the software, updates via the Canon wevsite, and consultation with Canon service reps have not solved this problem. So I'm going with a laborius work-around, which is unsatisfactory for scanning multiple photos or documents in one "session". Not satisfactory, since this is not fast,and my time is money. Overall, the scanner is compact, is lightweight, and has features I wish I could use. So I give this scanner a "2" for its overall lack of usability.

Mohabee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simple Scanner
2/16/2011

Customer review by Delor

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by Delor
by Delor

First off, I like anything Canon, and have several items like the above. So easy--just touch the auto scan tab on the rig, and away it goes doing its thing. Also extremely easy to install. Fine piece of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Delor
Hinckley (Pine City, MN)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good value
1/21/2013

Customer review by Wdaniel

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Wdaniel
by Wdaniel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When scanning several dozen old photo albums speed, and fast editing is utmost importance...perhaps the best features for this job is the "auto crop" feature...and the speed. On most photos, the speed is actually faster than that which was advertised...IE by the time you take another photo out of the album the previous scan has been completed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wdaniel
Fort Lauderdale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
aim higher
11/20/2011

Customer review by NYEagleEyes

3.0 stars 11/20/2011 by NYEagleEyes
by NYEagleEyes

This scanner at the over ninety dollar cost on Walmart is eighty-nine list retail. So much for the Walmart price guarantee as googling finds you a better price. But it quickly misaligned itself and definately needs time to warmup. Save up and buy a better unit. The HP at the same price point had little lines in the scan so it went right back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NYEagleEyes
Would recommend to a friend? No
LIDEs just keep getting better
3/24/2012

Customer review by Dandi1

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by Dandi1
by Dandi1

I have been using Canon's LIDE scanners since @ 1999. Each time I have been very happy with the purchase as this is a very low cost scanner with a very big end product. I do genealogy and am currently digitizing all my documents for use on a tablet. I have just upgraded to a new computer with Windows 7. Then I checked out the Canon LIDE 210 and discovered it had a PDF capability needed for docs to be read on tablets. And it was still at the same price as the first one I bought in 1999. The PDF capability works like a charm. I have always used my Canon LIDEs for both documents and photos. My only problem is that I read where non-windows users have some options, I don't for direct scanning. to a "Cloud" program on a different Canon scanner. Hope to see that capability in a LIDE 210 update in the future.

Dandi1
Washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this scanner
1/1/2016

Customer review by No nickname

5.0 stars 1/1/2016 by No nickname
by No nickname

I've had this scanner for a couple of years and it is GREAT!

No nickname
California
Not for advanced users
2/26/2014

Customer review by Tom

3.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Tom
by Tom

Pros - Easy to use for average users. Single cord - no need for a power cord or power supply brick. This is a major plus if you're traveling with this scanner, or occasionally need to place it in the middle of a large table to scan large items. Neutral - Not any faster than the 12+ year-old scanner it was replacing. Cons - The simplified driver software is too simple - you have to go through multiple screens to find the settings you want, and even then, there isn't much control over the settings. (what if I need to disable auto-color balance?) Overall, this makes it slower and harder for me to use. Recommendation: Best for normal users, not for advanced users.

Tom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST job, little scanner!
4/21/2014

Customer review by The best there is

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by The best there is
by The best there is

I had no idea I would use this scanner so much nor did I realize how nice it is to scan directly into a PDF no more GIF or JPEG - scanning of documents.. This scanner is light, easy to plug in and out if you don't want to keep it around it is light weight, VERY efficient and SUPER easy to use as easy as "push this button that says PDF" or "scan and email" no worries.. need to print from scan? Go ahead push "print" and it will send the scan to your printer... need I say more? Go ahead spend on the best investment out there.. I had another one I gave away to a friend, that's how much I love this scanner... I bought this one and had it for over 3 years!

The best there is
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great stand-alone scanner!
1/19/2012

Customer review by Geektex.net

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by Geektex.net
by Geektex.net

This is a great stand alone scanner. My old all in one ran out of ink and I bought the ip2702 printer which prints great so I needed a new scanner to go along with my Canon printer. I did not want to spend money on another all in one printer so I decided to give this scanner a try. The thing I like the most about this scanner is that it allows you to make direct copies to your printer by the push of one button. Basically makes my little printer and the scanner act as an all in one. It looks really neat standing sideways on my desk gives it a very professional look. I would recommend it to anyone who already has a printer with no scanner.

Geektex.net
Oxnard, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Scanner
10/20/2011

Customer review by Big-D

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by Big-D
by Big-D

My old scanner was really slow. It seemed to take forever and I kept having to reload the included software every time I wanted to use it. But my new CanoScan LiDE210 warms up almost instantly, scans my object within just a few seconds, whether its a photo or document and I like how it assigns the completed scan within its own category. I have not owned it long enough to determine its durability, but it is the best scanner I've had to date and I've own 8 scanners. The included software is simple, not complicated and functions like you think it should. No hassles or disappointments. I rate this CanoScan LiDE210 a full 5-Stars.

Big-D
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mixed Response
12/31/2011

Customer review by schimmel1885

4.0 stars 12/31/2011 by schimmel1885
by schimmel1885

This scanner was easy to install (Windows 7, 64-bit). By trial-and-error I found out how to do the things I wanted, The manual and instructions for use were of no help. The scanner is lighter than two used prior to Windows 7, but not faster. I would like it if buying descriptions included more specific information about the ability to copy (using any installed printer) and the programming of the Auto Scan to change any file to a .jpg. These are two functions that I use a lot and was specifically seeking. Happily, I've been able to do both with this model. My chief criticism is of the cluttered and poorly presented manual.

schimmel1885
Yellow Springs, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Couldn't have asked for a better product
11/15/2015

Customer review by King James III

5.0 stars 11/15/2015 by King James III
by King James III

Life savor, so convenient, portable, durable, easy to use... Ideal for anyone who has to scan docs, receipts etc.. while on the go

King James III
Atlanta, GA, United States
Great Value
8/9/2014

Customer review by Super Chief

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Super Chief
by Super Chief

I scan a lot of photos and other documents for genealogy purposes and this scanner is the real deal. It is small enough to fit in my laptop case and still leave room for the computer. It does not require a clunky separate power supply allowing me to set up and scan anywhere: libraries, family homes, etc., so it goes with me on all family and vacation trips. The CanoScan model 200 I purchased in 2010 quit communicating with my computer so when I went looking for a replacement, a new Canon was my first choice so I bought the CanoScan model 210.

Super Chief
Omaha, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's Windows 7 compatible!
9/7/2012

Customer review by larrym3711

4.0 stars 9/7/2012 by larrym3711
by larrym3711

Received the product OK and installed easily. It worked immediately after the CD was finished (and the system was rebooted). It will default install on drive C. If you want another location, go for the custome installation. Worked as expected just using the Microsoft Scanner Software (Document Imaging)...however, they include a lot of different applications should you want custom scanning. Registration asks for the user O/S but does NOT include Windows 7 in the list. Product is somewhat noisy compared to previous models. Good Function for cost.

larrym3711
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/29/2011

Customer review by gracie

3.0 stars 12/29/2011 by gracie
by gracie

For the money, the CanoScan LiDE 210 is okay. I am a Mac user and have had other scanners that scan directly to iPhoto. This scanner does not do that. You must scan to the desktop, several steps involved here, or use the e-mail function and drag from the e-mail to iPhoto. Either of these steps is time consuming when a large number of photos are being scanned. I supposed if you are a Windows user, it might be okay. I am very disappointed in this. My old CanoScan did scan to iPhoto. I can't imagine why this is missing in the new one.

gracie
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great scanner, lousy software
10/3/2013

Customer review by Tom

2.0 stars 10/3/2013 by Tom
by Tom

Horrible software packages. Finding the right way through complicated, over-sophisticated menus to find a simple way to scan a document and save it is a big hassle. After reinstalling my PC I thought it would be a shortcut to download the software, but I still had to download, try, delete a couple of packages. Why does it have to be so time consuming to get going with this scanner??? I don't want any of the sophisticated geek features, I just want to scan a document and save it as a jpeg - simple and easy!!!

Tom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Be a techie to use
8/5/2014

Customer review by MD Terp 66

2.0 stars 8/5/2014 by MD Terp 66
by MD Terp 66

Better be a techie to install and use this in Windows 8. Installation can't find Windows 8 as OS (doesn't offer Win 7 either). Has addendum for running on Windows 8. Installation does not build a icon, so you have to create shortcut yourself, by finding a file name not used in the documentation. Box stated 4800 dpi, but I have not found a setting greater than 1200. Box states runs in Win 8, but documentation is terrible. Box states 10 second scans, but best I did was 30 seconds.

MD Terp 66
Omaha, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
The software update is terrible
8/7/2015

Customer review by reversaldoctor

1.0 stars 8/7/2015 by reversaldoctor
by reversaldoctor

Updating the software is impossible. I've installed and uninstalled several times to no avail. Can only scan thru my Apple device and not with the Canon Software. Will never buy Canon again.

reversaldoctor
Louisville KY
Does what I need it to
2/27/2013

Customer review by Bushman

4.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Bushman
by Bushman

I bought the 210 for it's compact design, not knowing that it feels a little fragile. I suppose if I wanted sturdy there were other bulkier models available.... and hand scanners - no way, I shake too much. When I took the scan for the first time it seemed to be of poor quality until I enlarged it where I could see that this was exceptional imagery. 4800 dpi means nothing when the pdf's can only be 300 or 600 but for pictures you'll get your money's worth.

Bushman
Lauderhill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value
5/31/2015

Customer review by Ken

5.0 stars 5/31/2015 by Ken
by Ken

I just bought my 2nd model, this time to replace a Lide 220 that died after 5 months. My first 210 lasted 4 years used in portable and desktop applications. For my needs this is a very good product. I liked the original software much better then the current variety. Highly recommended.

Ken
Iowa
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews