Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 20 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

not a big fan of Skil, BUT...
2/5/2011

Customer review by Steelerfan22

4.0 stars 2/5/2011 by Steelerfan22
by Steelerfan22

I'm not a big fan of Skil power tools in general. They tend to be underpowered and lack durability. However, I do purchase them from time to time to fill a gap while I am waiting for my wife's approval to get what I really want. Purchased it for $39.99 from wally world (price matched Lowe's). Got it home and put it together (simple). Left the light off left side since I had read it limits access some. After a couple days I was only using the right side because I DID like the light so I put on the left. What I have used it for: Grinding: sharpening hand tools: shovels, hand edger, clippers, pruning shears, pick ax, ax, hatchet, wood chisels, knives, lawn mower blades, log splitter and wedges. 6" Kobalt wire brush (be nice if it were included, but for $40): primarily for rust and paint removal from above mentioned items. Within 2 hours I had sharpened everything in my garage (we have an armadillo problem in GA, so I like to be prepared). NOTHING bogged down the 2.1 amp motor which I had expected to happen. I had a rusty 10" forged steel log splitting wedge I had found. Used the wire brush to clean off the rust, no problem. Got curious and used it to grind the wedge down to about 1". Even when applying pressure I did NOT notice any slowing of the wheel. All use has been without being fastened down (as someone else noted, not very safe). This grinder runs QUIET, SMOOTH (none of the vibration I have read about on other models) and gets up to speed almost immediately. I am impressed. Very happy I decided to buy it, I mean a 10" forged steel wedge? I can't think of anything else I will use it for that is heavier duty than that. Maybe the acquisition of Skil by Bosch in 1996 improved Skil's quality. Anyway, I have had it for 2 weeks now and have yet to bog it down. Money I was saving up for GSM200 will go to something else for now and I plan to keep this until it breaks.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steelerfan22
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good value
12/10/2010

Customer review by caroleen

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by caroleen
by caroleen

terrific product , meets all my expectations. The only down side was it was mailed in the Skill box, not a plain box, so the present wasn't a surprise. But, it is a good product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caroleen
scottsdale, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Skil 3380-02 Bench Grinder (Works Well)
9/11/2011

Customer review by ACJM

4.0 stars 9/11/2011 by ACJM
by ACJM

This is a good grinder for the money. It works very well. I wish the lights had more light. The motor is strong for jobs around the house.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACJM
Mount Olive
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Just purchased
4/12/2011

Customer review by joey444

2.0 stars 4/12/2011 by joey444
by joey444

So far, and I just bought it, the grinder does grind, but after ten minutes running it gets hot as h e double toothpicks and I'm afraid if it is not shut off it will burn itself out. Otherwise, need more time to evaluate.

Was this review helpful? (5) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joey444
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy tool, gets the job done!
9/3/2013

Customer review by DanM

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by DanM
by DanM

I bought this grinder to replace one whose motor had failed.  So far my main use of this grinder has been to finish sharpening lawn-mower blades.  It seems to have good power, and seems well built.  The LED lights on the eye shields aren't super bright, but they do add a little light where it's needed most.

DanM
Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Useful and Easy to Use
9/4/2013

Customer review by Ted196

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Ted196
by Ted196

I bought this item as a second bench top tool. Now I don't have to change grinders and buffers and wire wheels anymore. I leave this tool with two different grinding wheels set up right next to my main workbench. I can easily reach over and flip one switch and use it for quick grinding needs. Very useful and handy.

Ted196
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Bench Grinder
9/4/2013

Customer review by Tim52

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Tim52
by Tim52

I bought this grinder to sharpen lawnmower blades. The LED lights aren't really bright, but they are effective. It's not built for heavy duty use but good for home use.

Tim52
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Tool
10/17/2013

Customer review by Tom2

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Tom2
by Tom2

I bought this for my home workbench and it works great for my household jobs. It have plenty of power to tackle any job.

Tom2
Lititz, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
how it works for my needs
11/10/2013

Customer review by toolmantim64

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by toolmantim64
by toolmantim64

works great for sharpening lawn mower blades & shaping fab work that I do. I put a wire wheel on it for clean up of tools & stuff. handles my work just fine.

toolmantim64
Groveport, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works great for me!
7/28/2014

Customer review by Clay

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Clay
by Clay

I bought this grinder about a month or so ago. I bought it mainly to sharpen my lawnmower blade. I had never used one before I bought this one. I'm still learning how to use the grinder but for me, this grinder works great. There was a small amount of assembly required out of the box but was very simple to take care of. For me this grinder has plenty of speed and holds the speed for what I use it for. I have elected to not attach it to my work bench so I can move it around if I want. With the rubber pads that are on the bottom, it stays in place very well for my use. If you are doing a lot of heaver grinding you may prefer to bolt it down. I am very happy with this grinder.

Clay
Mayodan, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
very sturdy
4/22/2015

Customer review by sunburstmike

5.0 stars 4/22/2015 by sunburstmike
by sunburstmike

excellent for the money...much better construction than others i've seen. All the power I could use. The rubber feet are decent feature. The light is somewhat useful, but not completely, because of its location on machine. Overall a great tool.

sunburstmike
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Mark's toolorama
5/11/2015

Customer review by mark57

5.0 stars 5/11/2015 by mark57
by mark57

I bought this as a replacement and am very happy with it.

mark57
martin, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Does The Job at a Great Value!
1/9/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This Skil grinder replaced my old grinder of 20+ years.  I changed out one of the stone wheels with a wire wheel and it serves my purposes completely

An anonymous customer
McCalla, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great grinder
7/23/2012

Customer review by adam

4.0 stars 7/23/2012 by adam
by adam

Small but all you need. Just wish the tool rests would be able to match my tools bevels

adam
liverpool new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
over all a good tool for the home or business
9/4/2013

Customer review by jyah

4.0 stars 9/4/2013 by jyah
by jyah

this product is affordable and useful. My only disappointment is that I have not found any felt polishing wheels for this grinder which is why I bought it. I should have looked into the product more before buying to see what attachments where available.  

jyah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works and performs great
12/10/2013

Customer review by Jochew9

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Jochew9
by Jochew9

I bought this bench top grinder to replace another.  This one performs just as good as my last one of 23 years.  I replaced one of the stones with a wire brush wheel and it's just great for my purposes.

Jochew9
McCalla, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Over-all design
1/22/2014

Customer review by kens

4.0 stars 1/22/2014 by kens
by kens

I like the over-all design butt, when i tried to put a ( fine brass ) wire wheel on it, I had to shim both sides to make it fit in the middle and after that it rubbed on each side and had a hard time to start ,so i just put it back the way it was. the LED LIGHTING GREAT FEATURE .

kens
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good but not quite great
6/2/2014

Customer review by DBryan

4.0 stars 6/2/2014 by DBryan
by DBryan

The guards get in my way when I'm sharpening my mattock and there isn't a way to move them far without getting out a wrench and screwdriver to disconnect them and then let them hang. This is a sturdy grinder and I love the low price for the high quality. I would definitely buy this again and I'll just have to find a workaround when I'm sharpening my bigger things.

DBryan
Maryland, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
stones are easey to change
10/7/2013

Customer review by bill33

3.0 stars 10/7/2013 by bill33
by bill33

I bough this grinder afew weeks ago and it is quite and dose the job that it was made for.

bill33
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Grinding wheel catastrophy.
10/26/2014

Customer review by RogerP1959

3.0 stars 10/26/2014 by RogerP1959
by RogerP1959

Two months ago I bought your grinder. Didn't use it right away but assembled it. Yesterday I decided to put an edge on my axe, but as soon as I turned it on it immediately acted erratic and started to throw sparks. My failure analysis identified the grinding wheel had split in half and took out two of the screws holding the cover in place. The wheel has an id no. and it was made in China. Should I return the whole grinder or should I just ask for parts replacement?

RogerP1959
Evensville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male