Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 875 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

875 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

875 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
654
4 stars
137
3 stars
30
2 stars
23
1 stars
31
1-20 of 793 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 793 total reviews
1-20 of 793 reviews
Definitely worth it!
6/5/2011

Customer review by SWAHope

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by SWAHope
by SWAHope

I LOVE my 'Little Animal'! It picks up pet hair and debris just like it says it should. My husband and have two Lab-mix dogs that shed A LOT, espcially now that summer is hitting. We needed something to get up the pet hair that gets stuck in our carpet, and this baby does the trick! From the clear canister it is easy to see that it picks up things you didn't even know were there! There are a few buttons and latches that you will need to learn how to use. But they all serve a good purpose. I gave a 4 out of 5 for the features for one reason - the length of the 'wand tube' could be longer. On the other hand, the vacuum tends to glide smoothly along when you need it to. It doesn't fall over when you're using the 'wand'. All in all this is a great product that I would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWAHope
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dyson Animal DC24
7/29/2011

Customer review by Mysonisagamer

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Mysonisagamer
by Mysonisagamer

This is by far the best vacuum I have ever owned! I had heard several good things about this vacuum and was hesitant to buy it based on the price, but after purchasing a new vacuum every year I figured what the heck. I am so glad that I did. First off this vacuum is light weight and second it picks up everything! I could not believe all of the dust, dog hair, and just plain old dirt that was in my capet this vacuum picked up my old one was leaving behind. The hose reaches into small spaces and high areas. I can not say enough how great this product is. It's actually FUN to clean because you can see just how much you are removing from the carpet with the bagless feature. I have owned other bagless vacuums in the past and they did not pick up half of what this vacuum does. It is awesome that Walmart.com offered this product for less than the manufacturer and with free shipping site to store I could not resist!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mysonisagamer
Iowa Great Lakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DC!& Animal
2/1/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/1/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the worst vacuum I have ever purchased. I have one other dyson ball vacuum cleaner and have had no problem. This was a lemon from the get go. To empty the canister the release button has broken twice because it is so hard to push. I constantly clean the canister. The motor has been making noises for the past two years. The thing about this is , it only gets used 5 months out of the year. I would never buy an animal again. I just purchased another yellow ball vacuum and I hope this one works well. I have always recommended this to family members. I hope I have no problems like my last one

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
My First Dyson!!
1/16/2016

Customer review by faithful1111

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by faithful1111
by faithful1111

I bought this DC17 Animal back in 09, although it has its scars to show this vacuum has outlasted any vacuum I have ever had!! The biggest problem I had was I went through the belts! At least one a year, however they were covered for many years. I have a Saint Bernard, they shed 365 days a year!! This vacuum kept up and kept going!! Now it makes a load squeaky noise when trying to vacuum using the brush, but the suction it still awesome and I can use the hose without a problem!! I upgraded early of 2015, with another Dyson. However I still have this as old faithful! Not giving her up until she quits completely!!

faithful1111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
The best vacuum ever
1/22/2016

Customer review by Pances

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Pances
by Pances

I have two long-haired dogs living in my house and I had burned up three vacuums over a two year period--cheaper ones, of course. I did research and decided to invest in a Dyson Animal. I loved it. I just wish I knew how to clean the tubes or whatever you call them. I am sure they are full of dog hair. It shopped working and I went to purchase another Dyson. I got a Big Ball. It kills my shoulders and wears me out to use. That's another story.

Pances
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I love this vacuum!
5/9/2011

Customer review by angela97362819

4.0 stars 5/9/2011 by angela97362819
by angela97362819

This is the by far best vaccum I have ever owned. I have all hardwood and tile floors and it picks up every piece of dust, I was impressed. I couldn't believe how much pet hair and dirt it pulled out of our area rugs and furniture that our other vacuum left behind. My rugs felt and looked new again! However, these Dyson vacuums are pricey, there is nothing compared to them. If I lived in a home with carpet I would have bought the full size dyson. I would recommend this vaccum to anyone who lives in a home with hardwood floors and/or tile or someone living in a small apartment. Oh and just because it is compact, don't expect it to be very light. It is heavier than my last vacuum but its performance is amazing.

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angela97362819
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Product!
12/21/2010

Customer review by DawnG

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by DawnG
by DawnG

We had used a Dyson for the first time when we moved to NC. I had just gone over our carpets after the movers had gotten most things onto the truck, but they came back in so I borrowed a neighbor's Dyson to go over the carpets one last time. We have a dog, and I showed my husband what the Dyson picked up just after I had gone over the carpets with our old vacuum. The canister was full. We purchased the DC24 animal and it is awesome. Light, maneuverable (the ball really works and makes it simple to turn), easy to empty and clean, and it adjusts easily from carpet to hardwood floors, and the attachments are also very easy to use. What's also nice is if you sweep up something that you need to retrieve (Legos, earring backs, etc.), you can see it in the clear canister and you don't have to make a huge mess getting to it. You can't go wrong with any Dyson product, but if you have pets, this one is the best. After lugging around heavy machines for years, this product is absolutely wonderful.

DawnG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
So far, so good!
10/6/2011

Customer review by Hobbes4626

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Hobbes4626
by Hobbes4626

Amazing vacuum! I love it! It is light and easy to maneuver. It picks up so much dirt my other vacuums have left behind. I have two dogs and it takes care of that. It is also good on my wood floors. My other vacuum left wheel marks on the wood, but this one rolls on the wood floor surface smoothly and without scratching. Also, the soft bristles on the rotator do not scratch the floor. I like the attachments and where they are stored. I usually have such issues with other vacuums with the attachments falling off and loosing them. These are stored securely and out of the way. The vacuum attachment is real good for high up areas. It easily come up and you can vacuum fans, curtains, etc... things that you have to reach for. For simple pick up that are on the floor, close to the vacuum, you have to take out the extension wand and hook up the attachment directly to the hose. This is a little inconvenient. Other than this, I enjoy having this vacuum and enjoy my clean carpets and wood floors!

Hobbes4626
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
If this is an Animal, it's a Kitten.
7/21/2011

Customer review by lynkdeath

3.0 stars 7/21/2011 by lynkdeath
by lynkdeath

Dyson is on the right track with the ball idea, this vacuum works well on all surfaces and does an okay an job overall. I would not say this was animal rated, due to the poor design in the hose length, cord length, container size and suction. I was pleased with the power brush attachment for the hose as it preformed as well as it could based on suction. To use the hose you have to turn the handle over and connect it to the hose, the hose is short and I found it difficult to vacuum the tops of the cat towers. We have long hair cats and the shed a lot in the summer months. I expected the Dyson to rip through the fur however, we tested this against our old Bissell bag less and sorry to say, the $49.00 Bissell did almost as well as the Dyson. The other problem we encountered was if you go to empty the canister and happen to push the button while you are lifting you have dust and dirt everywhere.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lynkdeath
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect my little house
5/30/2011

Customer review by MAB2010

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by MAB2010
by MAB2010

I have a small house that I share with my boyfriend and our cat. I only have carpets in three rooms so I just wanted something light, with good power, and made for animals. This vacuum does it for me. I absolutely love my dyson.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MAB2010
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Mixed Feelings
7/27/2012

Customer review by MommaMaid

3.0 stars 7/27/2012 by MommaMaid
by MommaMaid

I have waited for years to buy a Dyson vacuum...finally convinced myself that it was worth the money. I have mixed feelings about it. I love how it cleans, fantastic suction, easy to empty filter, very lightweight and love the low profile head as it fits under cabinets & furniture wonderfully. However, I dislike the attachment set up; the tool handle (hard tube part that the tools attach to) is way too long. Its about 4 feet long which makes it very clumsy to manage, especially in smaller spaces. I miss the headlight from my previous vacuum. And most of all, I HATE how short the cord is. You pretty much have to unplug and replug it in for every room you vacuum (unless its a large room then you can't even complete that room) and it will not reach long enough for me to complete all of my stairs at once. This is a MAJOR disappointent and a HUGE pain in the you-know-what when trying to vacuum. As much as I love how well it vacuums, this really dampers my love for this vacuum.

MommaMaid
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Love my Dyson!
6/26/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/26/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my second Dyson. What can I say other than they are the best vacuums ever!! The only reason for me needing another is that I wanted to try the new Cinetic Animal Allergy model. I have the original Animal (without the ball) and it still works great after over 6+ years. But this new one is awesome. As I tell anyone that asks about it, "it would suck the paint off a wall". It's that powerful. I have two Rottweilers and this cleans my carpet like no other. I actually enjoy vacuuming as I love to see the carpet look like it's brand new (and it's over 5 years old). I am expecting my first grandchild in the fall and feel comfortable that she will be able to crawl around a CLEAN floor after vacuuming with my Dyson. I would recommend this, and I already do, to anyone that asks. Even sometimes to people that I see looking for vacuums in the store. Nothing better than a firsthand testimonial, I always say. Dyson will always be #1 in my house.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Finally a vacuum that is REALLY for pet owners!!
5/13/2011

Customer review by Newfmom6

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by Newfmom6
by Newfmom6

I just got the Dyson DC24 Animal a few weeks ago and I LOVE it. I have been purchasing vacuums for years, one after the other, trying to find one that had great suction, that the brush bar could be accessed easily to clean the long pet hairs off of it without dismantaling the entire vacuum and was easy to manuver in order to really get edges and carpets clean. I have 2 Newfoundland and they shed A LOT. Their hair is long and the dander is awful. I didn't buy a Dyson earlier because I thought it was too much money to pay for a vacuum. Well, I could have probably bought two Dyson and been satisfied a long time ago if I had bought one years ago. It goes from one surface to the next without any hesitation and even with small area rugs it is smooth and doesn't try to suck up the whole rug. I use it on the dog beds and it does a great job on them too. I am a VERY satisfied Dyson customer and it is one vacuum that is worth the expense. Thanks Dyson. Newfmom 6 San Diego,CA

Newfmom6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Dc24 Animal Dander vac
12/21/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It is light weight for starters, not only to carry, but to use. This is partly because the motor metal windings which are usually the heaviest part of a vacuum are located in the wheel ball which is always resting directly on the floor. This light weight aids in directional dexterity with the tool, and less prolonged fatigue to the parts of the arm and body normally used with this type of machine. Secondly there are multiple filters for every rotating part which would accumulate dust for wearing out items. They are all easily accessible without the use of tools, which is convenient as well. The filter bag/canister clean/rinse option is so quick and simple to use, it’s practically effortless. The final argument, first presented by my wife would be its plastic so it easily breaks. So I investigated this, but realized that being lighter, with more agile control capable, it is less likely to accidentally ram it into walls and furniture which might cause it to break.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
DC25 Animal Ball
12/14/2011

Customer review by JudyG

4.0 stars 12/14/2011 by JudyG
by JudyG

I have only owned a certain well known retail canister brand all my life. I was excited to see what my friends and family were talking so much about with the Dyson vacuum cleaners. I love the mobility and performance of this vacuum cleaner on my carpets. I have 2 small dogs and the carpets were noticibly cleaner with the Dyson. On the downside :( it is not very easy to use on hardwood floors. When I bought the hardwoodfloor attachment, I thought it attached to the front of the unit, but it attaches to the hose. The hose is very taught, which makes vacuuming the floors a struggle. I am constantly pulling on the hose which does not allow my arm to fully extend or relax. I am of average height and i also find myself bending over too much because the hose will not extend enough. 60% of my home is hardwood floors so its a task to get my floors done. If it wasnt for the hose situation, this would be the PERFECT vacuum cleaner. I hope they work on this design flaw.

JudyG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
The Dyson is great!
7/28/2011

Customer review by Jetplaneohio

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by Jetplaneohio
by Jetplaneohio

This Dyson is great for hair pickups. I have 3 German Shepherds, so I have tons of dog hair everywhere. I was amazed at the amount of hair it did pick up. I works great on the carpets and so-so on the hardwood floors. The only negatives I have is the length of the cord. It's short. Also, I feel like I have to be very careful with everything b/c it's so light. I'm scared I am going to break something.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jetplaneohio
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OK overall
12/28/2010

Customer review by BSatHome

3.0 stars 12/28/2010 by BSatHome
by BSatHome

Our Dyson Animal works fine mostly but it has a few surprising shortcomings. 1) the gray plastic finish was chipped on its second use. This was a surprise for such an expensive machine. 2) If there is a convenient way to carry it up / down the stairs, we haven't found it. It's really awkward. 3) It doesn't like anything that has a vertical dimension. For example, if there is crumbled cookie on the carpet, the head of the machine will actually push the larger pieces out of the way instead of vacuuming them up. I've learned that you have to go around the crumbles and PULL the machine over them. This applies to bits of folded paper, small particles of packaging material -- anything that doesn't lay completely flat on the carpet. Cleaning out the canister is a new task which is best done outside. I can't believe we spent this much on a vacuum cleaner that doesn't include a light! The onboard tools are helpful and its appearance is incredibly cool for a vacuum cleaner. It's clearly innovative; I'm just not sure it's superior.

BSatHome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Dyson Animal
1/20/2011

Customer review by momof2dogs

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by momof2dogs
by momof2dogs

I have 2 large dogs that shed like crazy. I was fed up with having to buy a new vacuum every year becuase we would run them into the ground with all the dog hair. After hearing a few reviews we deiced to purchase a Dyson Animal. We were a little hesitant becuase they are pricey but boy are we glad we did. I use this vacuum almost every day (2 large dogs-remember!) and it is amazing the amount of hair and dirt that this thing picks up. The suction is the best and it never clogs up on me. I have had to call the Dyson hotline once because of an issue and they were great. Talked me through the entire process and my vacuum was back to its amazing self (there was something caught in the beater brush). The hotline employees were patient, friendly and very professional. I would recommended this vacuum to anyone and everyone who can't stand dog hair or dirt. It is the best vacuum I have ever owned and I have owned quite a few. Completely worth every penny.

momof2dogs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Almost perfect
3/25/2012

Customer review by cindal

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by cindal
by cindal

This machine isn't perfect--but very close! I have 2 dogs; one long-haired, one short-haired (who sheds all year). The long hair sits on top of the carpet, the short hair works deep into the pile of my plush carpet, and it very difficult to vaccuum up. This machine gets almost all of it! I have back issues, and my old vaccuum was difficult to push over some of my area rugs and carpet. This one effortlessly glides over all carpet heights, and does a great job on my tile floors. I LOVE that I don't have to bend over to adjust the height. And I love that I can turn the brush off when cleaning my hard floors. I'm not completely accustomed to the wand yet, but feel that I will like it once I'm more familiar with it. I used the wand with the turbine head on my carpeted stairs and it did a good job. I'm sure that as I get more accustomed to the wand I'll do a better job on the stairs. Overall, I rate this machine as excellent. It's very maneuverable, light, easy to use, and most importantly, picks up the dog hair! I'm very pleased

cindal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Small but powerful
5/10/2011

Customer review by birtdeltasig

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by birtdeltasig
by birtdeltasig

Easily the best vacuum I have ever used. It is quite a bit smaller than I expected, but it picks up dog hair that I didn't even see in the carpet.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
birtdeltasig
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 793 total reviews
1-20 of 793 reviews