Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 121 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

121 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

121 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 115 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews
Love my Canister
10/17/2015

Customer review by Michelej

5.0 stars 10/17/2015 by Michelej
by Michelej

For years I looked for a machine that could tackle the tough job of cleaning my bird cages. Lots of different tools, (I bought some additional tools) for certain jobs, like cleaning feathers off of the barn board behind the cages with the stiff bristle brush. I bought this about 3 years ago, so I have been using it for quite some time. I keep the filter clean, and have had no problems with the machine. It picks up fine particles with ease. I empty the bin in the garage garbage, due to the fine particles that I don't want released back into the house. I also take the bin apart most of the time, to thoroughly clean it. The canister is great, due to it's large capacity. I also don't have to worry about it falling over, like an upright, when using the tools. I know that this machine is called an animal d=because of the additional attachments for people with pets, but I would call it an animal due to it's workhorse capabilities!

Michelej
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
The Animal Growls
1/18/2012

Customer review by Collette

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Collette
by Collette

My friends with a Dyson all said I should get one. I have 3 dalmatians and 2 indoor cats. Also, I was about to begin drywalling the main living area of my house. I saw an infomercial and bought it on easy payments. It was easy to put together: snap snap. I love the cord coil. (I have a thing about cords!) In 5 minutes I totally understood what my friends were saying. For years I have used another vacuum and all it did was stir the dog hair around on the floor. I cleaned daily mind you! Then I'd follow up with a broom at times and still could not pick up the fine dalmatian hair. After using my new Animal the floor was clean, the vents, computer, lamp shades, tv, couch cushions ALL were clean. I vacuumed 2 hours the first time. Now the drywall dust is all over and after working I clean it up easily. This thing will suck the hair off a cat! Thank you for making it! And I believe there is no belt to deal with-what a relief! Everyone should have 2 things in life: a good mattress and a Dyson!

Collette
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Dyson is better than this
4/14/2011

Customer review by Ilovemyhousewhenitsclean

3.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Ilovemyhousewhenitsclean
by Ilovemyhousewhenitsclean

I've used a Dyson Animal upright previously and really prefered it's power to the canister. I thought the canister would have it's own motorized powerhead but I must have overlooked that detail. And frankly I don't know why it's not. The canister is great on my hardwood floors, vinyl and stairs and I can really get under furniture well, but the carpets really need the same power as the upright. I have 2 cats and one sheds a lot. Next time I'll buy the upright.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ilovemyhousewhenitsclean
Marysville, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
very good product thus far
11/26/2011

Customer review by bearjake

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by bearjake
by bearjake

I feel it is a bit premature to rate such an expensive product after about a month but here goes: The Dsyson is actually replacing 2 - 10 yr old commercial vaccs we used at home for our numerous pets - a heavy duty upright for carpets and an heavy duty back pack for hard surfaces. The Dyson has easily replaced both at 1/4 the weight , ease , noise and is much much more easy to move around and get under furniture. The articulating floor brush is great, the turbine power heads work very well on carpet and furniture, so far absolutely no complaints! I bought through Walmart.com and they were a full $99 cheaper than ANYWHERE. A great sale, I paid hte .97cents to have it shipped to my home.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bearjake
central pennslvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1st time owner
4/9/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/9/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just purchased this machine. I was so tired of replacing vacuums every couple of years I thought I would "splurge" and get a good one. Hopefully it will last me forever! The instructions of putting it together were a bit lacking. I know you have made it the easiest way you could with pictures only, but a few words with those pictures would have been helpful. That is minor! Could not wait to plug it in and go with it! DEFINITELY worth the wait and the money in my books. What came up off my living room floor alone you would have thought I had not vacuumed in a month! Very satisfied! I have a long hair cat and a dog. Unbelievable what it picked up. I have read reviews on other sites that people were not pleased with the canister removal...I had no problem whatsover and it couldn't have been easier. Others have complained about the length of the cord. Seems like it is the same length of every other vacuum I have owned. I guess you just cant please everyone. I think this is a Wonderful product! Will definitely recommend to others.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Love this animal!!
8/10/2011

Customer review by mlg345

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by mlg345
by mlg345

Since we will always own some sort of critter, we made the decison to purchase the DC23 when it was presented on QVC. We chose the cannister model as there are large staircases in our home. The day it arrived I first tested it on an area that is approximately 6' x 4' at the head of the steps coming into our home. This area had been vaccumed 3 days prior.........all I can say is that my previous vacuum was not doing a very good job.....the dust bin was about 2/3 full. My husband and I were astounded. I also noticed that when I vacuumed the sofa in our den, which gets major use by humans and dogs, the DC23 actually pulled out any hair, lint, etc. that had gotten lodged in the fabric fibers which literally had to be manually removed before. What a fabulous product. The only little "problem" that I do have is that I have all these wonderful attachments and no carrier of any type is available and/or provided. This is a fantastic product.

mlg345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Excellent carpets and hardwood floors
1/5/2012

Customer review by CMTDPT

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by CMTDPT
by CMTDPT

I did vacuum cleaner research for probably 3 weeks online and in-stores, etc. Bought and returned an upright from Hoover, simply bc it was too large for me to handle. I never even used it, so couldn't comment on Hoover performance compared to Dyson. Realized I just don't want to physically work that hard when I'm vacuuming pushing around a huge upright....so went with a canister. I need to vacuum the whole house once a week bc we have 2 cats and a dog....and the dog is allergic to the cats (the vet has rarely seen this!). I gave up trying to "score" something cheaper than a Dyson, simply because all other canister vacuum reviews had 1 bad review for each good one....even Dyson reviews were not all 100% good. I spent $100 more than I wanted to on a vacuum, but I've received 100% performance...I was on hands and knees the day after I vacuumed the first time with the Dyson TRYING to find a pet hair -- none. I am amazed at how easy it is to vacuum the sofas and pillows, the small bath rugs too. The attachment for the small stuff actually lets you vacuum the small stuff without sucking up the corners of the small carpets. I've never vacuumed hardwood floors, always swept and swiffer wet-mopped. The Dyson with the hardwood floor attachment is like magic to me, seriously. So easy, lightweight, effortless and all pet hair and dust balls and spiderwebs are gone. Emptying the canister is simple, and dust does not fly up everywhere, trust me. I empty the canister once with each whole-house cleaning...although it doesn't look full, there is a mark where the dirt builds up to, that's when you are "supposed" to empty the canister, so I do. Height adjustable handle is wonderful, the whole things lays flat to go under furniture and beds (awesome!), and changing the heads and using attachments is easy. Solid canister vacuum, does not feel like cheap plastic anywhere, especially when interchanging the carpet/floor/attachments. I will warn you that this canister vacuum looks small in the photos - I would say it is medium sized. Bigger than I was expecting, it's not heavy or anything, but just bigger than looks in photo. I love it - no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMTDPT
Pisgah Forest, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Buy the Canister over the Upright!
2/8/2012

Customer review by Liz35

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by Liz35
by Liz35

I bought the DC 41 initially (animal upright) I used it once and my back was sore, and it was a total pain to maneuver and get into places. It is a massive machine, and VERY heavy! I am 5 10" and the handle is too short for my liking, too much bending over I returned it, no problems at all. I bought the DC 23, which was on sale and $200 cheaper than the upright! I LOVE it!!!!! It is so light and easier to get under tables, couches etc. It also comes with the hardwood floor attachment, which the upright didn't, so a bonus there. It works just as well suction wise. I find it easier to tow the canister and don't have to worry about the cord. The cord is very long on the animal upright and I found it was more of a pain to manage then the canister is. The other bonus is that since we saved $200 I bought the DC35, the slim stick battery charged. It is FANTASTIC for the kitchen, and quick cleanups!!!! I am forever a Dyson gal now!

Liz35
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Canister DC23 Animal
4/13/2011

Customer review by sweatTN

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by sweatTN
by sweatTN

Love, love, love this vacuum!!! Can't say enough about it! What a dream!! I just got it about a half hour ago. I took it out of the box and it was the most easiest product to put together, did not need any instructions at all, in a matter of seconds I was using it. It was quite for the power it has and very light, I have short shag carpet and it did wonders on it, we have a beagle that constantly sheds and we needed something to keep our carpet and flooring clean, because we have a special needs child who is constantly crawling and rolling around the floors. This Dyson was so easy to work with and it maneuvered around all the furniture and plants on the floor very easy to handle! I will never go back to anything else, we will most likely be purchasing the hand held Dyson in the future. BTW- I ordered the vacuum from dyson.com site and got it in just 3 days! Very happy all around! Hope to see a air purifier from Dyson as well

sweatTN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Dancimal!
2/21/2012

Customer review by Bloopers

4.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Bloopers
by Bloopers

LOVE IT!!! 10x's better than any vacuum I have ever owned. From the Dyson's, we started off with a DC24 - lightweight and great for upright but not enough power for carpet - we lived in a 2 bedroom apartment but mostly carpet so the power and suction was not too great. Then purchased the DC35 which got raving reviews, but the battery life (15 minutes) was not long enough for our 3 floor townhouse... finally caved and tried a canister. We have laminate floors and carpet only in our sunken living room area. We have a pup that is full of hairballs... and little dust balls that like to hide in every corner!! This baby sucked it all up, I love how the flat brush is so easy to maneuver, if you need to reach hard areas it will flatten out and you'll be able to reach the hard back areas with minimal moving of furniture! It's lighter than most vacuum cleaners and easy to carry, the Hepa filter is a bonus! One thing I don't like about the Dyson is cleaning the canister, it's not as easy as it sounds and a bit messy... I'll leave that for my hubby :P! But overall, LOVE IT!

Bloopers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
an ANIMAL to handle
12/12/2011

Customer review by GoGirlGo

2.0 stars 12/12/2011 by GoGirlGo
by GoGirlGo

I have been using my dc23 animal for about 2 weeks. It is great on hardwood floors - which are the majority of my home. However, I do have a carpet in one small bedroom and although it seems to pick up the dirt/dust, I have to go over it again and again to get (most of) the hair. It is VERYdifficult to move the rotating brush over this short carpet. One direction is easy, the other is a WORKOUT. I have never had this problem with other vacuums and I expected a vacuum designed specifically for pets to wow me. I do like the retractable cord - I was sooo tired of wrapping cords. The Animal is easy to pick up and walk around with - which is a plus for ceiling fans, corner cobwebs and the like. I am a little concerned about its durability, as when I am cleaning my floors, it does not corner well and "runs into" my furniture. I am REALLY careful when cleaning the kitchen floor so as to not ding my stainless appliances. I recently purchased another vacuum to clean the bedroom carpet and may return the ANIMAL. For the price, I expected to be an "all-around" good product.

GoGirlGo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
12/30/2011

Customer review by fabricstasher2

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by fabricstasher2
by fabricstasher2

I love it!! It costs more than alot of vacuumn cleaners, but I was able to purchase it on sale with 97 cent shipping. It does not need bags and it is very easy to empty the canister. I do not have any carpet but we do have 2 cats and 2 dogs in the house with alot of pet hair. It is able to get all the hair and the attachment works great on the furniture to remove the pet hair. Very easy to pull around the house.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fabricstasher2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
11/1/2011

Customer review by Carolina13

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Carolina13
by Carolina13
Walmart associate

The vacuum does everything as advertised. It was amazing what this vacuum cleaner picked up that my previuos upright cleaner left behind. Even though my confirmation said it may take 5 to 7 business days to for local store pick up, I got it in two. Great service, no hassle, and a great product! Saving me money so I can live better! I like that.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carolina13
LaGrange, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Diana the Dyson Maid
12/18/2010

Customer review by LabbiePuppyMom

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by LabbiePuppyMom
by LabbiePuppyMom

I just got this beautiful machine tonite, an early Christmas gift from my beloved. I have the upright Dyson Animal vacuum cleaner already so this is merely an addition to my cleaning tools. We have a large house and being animal lovers with a passion for a clean and tidy house, free of hair and debris from the animals, it is a must to have good cleaning tools. I vacuum every day at the rate of two and sometimes three times. My five year old upright does a fine job yet but I needed something to get into the tight corners and to have near my stairs and kitchen area. This beautiful DC23 Animal cannister vacuum is a dream come true. It picks up with ease and the trust that all the deep down residue in the carpet will come up. Diana the Dyson is the name I have given my new helper maid. Thank you so much for creating this awesome cleaning tool. I am in very happy with the Dyson product and it is a MUST in our household wherein we have two beautiful service dogs we foster and train as well as our own. The Dyson is a definite cruncher for that labradore hair and dander. THANK YOU so MUCH.

LabbiePuppyMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Really sucks!
7/8/2011

Customer review by Graywulff

4.0 stars 7/8/2011 by Graywulff
by Graywulff

This is the most powerful cannister vacuum I have owned. So far it is performing above what I expected of it. It beats out the $1000 cannister it is replacing. No bags to handle and dispose of, not to mention the cost of replacement bags, is a big plus. Get one, you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Graywulff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall Happy
12/14/2011

Customer review by Mike307

4.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Mike307
by Mike307

The machine has great suction, and with this particular model enough attachments. It is my first Dyson, and there are a few things that I wished were better for such an expensive model. Some of the construction for a model in this price range could be better, The rear wheels for example are wobbly and look substandard plastic. Not saying they dont funtion well, just was expecting more. The hose itself could be longer as well. Its just long enough to make you wish for more. If you are cleaning a car you will be moving it from door to door. If you have some basement rafters you want to clean of cobwebs you will be moving the machine around a lot. Other than that its great, very little fine dust makes it past the cyclone. I use it to clean the filters on larger shop vacs. It does fill up very often, especiallly if you are going to use it for large quantity jobs, like sawdust.

Mike307
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great Machine
1/7/2011

Customer review by DJohn

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by DJohn
by DJohn

I bought my wife the DC23 Animal because we have two Border Collies and she is always upset because the younger dog jumps on the chairs and goes to sleep leaving behind his fur that is hard to get out. It was no problem with the special attachment that came with this machine. We have wood floors and braided carpets. The carpets looked clean, but I was amazed at how much fur the machine sucked up from them. The Dyson technology works as advertised. We had a great little Miele canister that did a good job, but the Dyson is better and best of all there are no expensive bags to buy. Emptying the canister is a snap and there is no mess. I am really happy with the machine and the real tribute to it is that although my wife was mad that I spent so much money for another vac I noticed she doesn't use the old machine anymore. Even my son is using it to clean up his room!

DJohn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Best Vaccuum I've owned to date.
1/11/2012

Customer review by Chocolate22

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Chocolate22
by Chocolate22

This vaccuum works great and I can't believe how much dirt it pulls out of my carpet compared to my last vaccuum. I also noticed when I vaccuumed my tile floors the mop water wasn't as dirty as when I just use a broom. Awesome vaccuum and very versitile for cleaning different areas: sofa, tables, chairs and curtains.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chocolate22
Marble Falls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/15/2012

Customer review by Jaytie

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Jaytie
by Jaytie

This was given as a gift and the recipient was so pleased with the performance of the vacuum. She had vacuumed with her old one and then with the Dyson. She could not believe all the dirt that the old vacuum had left behind. She thinks it is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaytie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The BEST
1/10/2012

Customer review by 4jsMOM

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by 4jsMOM
by 4jsMOM

This is my second Dyson vacuum. I already own an upright. I am extremely happy with this new canister vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4jsMOM
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews