Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 38 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
nikon sb 700
10/7/2011

Customer review by 191145

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by 191145
by 191145

I have had vivitar flashes . also sigma flashes. and this nikon is the best one I ever had. I use it every other day. the battery life in this flash seems to go on for ever . love it . you will not regret the purchase of this flash.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
191145
cape coral . florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I love this flash!
1/17/2013

Customer review by AvalonAz

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by AvalonAz
by AvalonAz

This flash is easy to use or has great potential for the most advanced photographers. I am watching youtube to learn how to use the amazing features this flash offers, but it is well worth my time. Some of the great features include: multi-directional pivots to bounce the flash, get filters that snap onto the flash, flash diffuser, a stand for using the flash as a slave, the intuitive communication between flash and camera, nice bag to hold it all, the ability to use it as a master flash, and many, many more. Also, while learning, I have watched many reviews of this flash and all are glowing admiration for the vast potential and great value that is afforded the owner of this AMAZING product. Thank you Nikon. I use it with my SLR Nikon D40 and am loving it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AvalonAz
Mesa, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great flash
2/5/2013

Customer review by JWVP

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by JWVP
by JWVP

I have a SB 600 and was pleased with the simplicity on the SB 700. I no longer have to hold down two buttons while jumping up and down on one foot!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JWVP
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Photog Hubby loves it.
4/21/2012

Customer review by NHLeen

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by NHLeen
by NHLeen

Hubby is a very picky recreational photographer who needed a flash for his new Nikon camera. Although we wished it was a bit less expensive, you get what you pay for, and this is a great accessory. Wish I could say more, but all he wants to say is, "It works."

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NHLeen
Monroe, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Just the finishing touch your dslr needs
6/8/2013

Customer review by Meeta313

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Meeta313
by Meeta313

This is an amazing an powerful flash. I love the warmth it gives to the photos when using it as a bounce flash. I love the versatility of being able to adjust where to point the flash. I'm still figuring out all the things it can do but I quickly learned how to use it the best to my liking. I seriously don't think you will regret buying this flash. I compared it to the sb-600 and the reason I didnt get it was because after watching so many reviews online and YouTube, this best fits someone who is just learning or still learning about photography. I'm positive you will be happy with your choice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meeta313
Queens,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it
11/5/2013

Customer review by GoodNews124

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by GoodNews124
by GoodNews124

Nice flash light for my canon camera. Price is very good at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodNews124
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a Great BUY!!!!
2/13/2015

Customer review by DrSubZero

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by DrSubZero
by DrSubZero

I absolutely love this flash! It does what I need and beyond. I thought about ordering it from Best Buy, which is one of my other favorite stores, but I decided here because of the few dollars cheaper. The only complaint is that its a bit pricey, but the flash is really great! I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrSubZero
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value
12/10/2011

Customer review by Chuck L

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Chuck L
by Chuck L

After using my Nikon 18-35 mm lens and getting a shadow I knew I had to purchase a quality external flash. I chose Nikon because I know the flash will be forward compatible with the D800 when it is introduced. The SB-700 fits my needs perfectly. It was easy to use out of the box. The bounce and swivel features give me the coverage I need. I used the flash this week on a trip. My only complaint is with the Incandescent filter. My wife has olive skin. The filter gave her an unnatural hue. I used Photoshop to give her more nature skin tonalities. The florescent filter did a good job under harsh lighting conditions. I did not have any problem with the battery compartment or navigating thru the on-board menus. This is my third Nikon upgrade in the last 12 months. It was a good purchase.

Chuck L
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SB-700, a versatile flash
1/15/2011

Customer review by Photog

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by Photog
by Photog

One of the first tests I made with the new SB-700 was to photograph a proposed electric train layout which I have temporarily set up on a bedroom floor. Using the flash in the EVEN light distribution mode gave very excellent broad-range coverage across the room, a bit better than the SB-600 model flash I had used earlier. The SB-700 has several great features including a built in bounce card and a very easy to use menu system. It also auto-sets the zoom head for different lens formats and focal lengths when switching from DX to FX format lenses. Setting the flash exposure at +1 gives me slightly 'higher' histograms than the center point 'optimum' value, but this which is where I normally shoot flash photos anyway with an SB-600 flash and my D300s/D700 cameras. The photos all look really great. I look forward to utilizing more of the SB-700's offered features.

Photog
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Amazing for the Price
2/1/2011

Customer review by JordanZero11

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by JordanZero11
by JordanZero11

I have only been using this flash for about 2 months now, but i am already in love with it. This flash made my new pictures extraordinary! I can barely even explain it. I haven't had time to fool around with the master and slave settings on it since i have nothing to do it with, but i am looking forward to buying a studio set soon to do such. It is so easy to use, it's practically able to be used out of the box. it just takes time to learn how to position the head around so you get the best bounce. I can still consider myself an amateur photographer, but i am going to continue my passion and this flash helped renew my love for photography even more. I highly recommend it. Thank you very much Nikon!

JordanZero11
(Near) Youngstown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good and easy to use
2/14/2011

Customer review by Danyk

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by Danyk
by Danyk

It`s a good speeding, for good price, and easy to use and change setting on go.

Danyk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Yes, this is the one.
6/21/2011

Customer review by hiwayman

5.0 stars 6/21/2011 by hiwayman
by hiwayman

I am a passionate amateur photographer. I do not suffer sub-standard equipment very long. While I can't afford the very best equipment, the equipment I buy had better be worth my hard earned money. I originally was going to buy an SB-600, but they were discontinued, so I bought the SB-700. After reviewing the specs, I found that the SB-700 actually has slightly less flash power than the SB-600, and some other minor differences, that would seem to make it a lesser flash for more money. I wasn't too happy, but I needed a flash, and didn't want to go high-end, because the more expensive flashes were quite costly, and had functions I really didn't need. I got the flash out of the box, loaded the batteries, hooked it to my D7000, and started to shoot. I was frankly amazed. The shots looked like natural light shots. I used a snap-on diffuser to soften the light, and angled the flash head at 45 degrees, and the pictures came out really, really well. My first real test of the flash was at a friend's birthday party. No matter if the subject was back-lit by a window, or in shadows, or with a dark wall, the photos were balanced and crisp. None of the usual flash pictures where the foreground is blown out and the background dark. The flash filled in when it should, and fully illuminated when it should. Nikon has figured out how to get their cameras and flashes to work together with perfection. You may need to adjust FV or EV for personal taste, and pay attention to WB (2 colored filters come with the flash to compensate for artificial light spectrums), but the flash really works very well. The only thing I would suggest is to READ THE MANUAL. There are some important settings that make the flash work much better if you pay attention. I have not tried the flash in slave mode, but I would expect it to work as well. It's very well thought out and easy to use. I only have one small gripe. The battery door is rather flimsy, and doesn't open in the way you'd expect it to open, so it could easily break if you get all macho with it. Other than that, this thing rocks!

hiwayman
Bay Area, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AF-Assist missing Function
5/28/2011

Customer review by Kirk

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by Kirk
by Kirk

Using the flash unit as a Auto Focus Assist is great but there are AF differences between the SB-700 and SB-900. The 700 has only 2 AF lamps while the 900 has 3 for help in very low light. Also, the 900 has an added feature .... the ability to use the AF-Lamps from the flash withOUT the flash unit firing. The 700 does NOT have this feature. Of course the 700 costs much less than the 900. Overall I love using the 700 on my D7000 with my Nikon CPU lenses. This combo is a joy to use.

Kirk
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
really a great flash
8/10/2013

Customer review by Sim597

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Sim597
by Sim597

I see some of the complaints where the review's have been skewed towards the negative (i.e. 2-3 stars) and considering others have recorded their own thoughts here as to the "pro's" of this item, I will only touch on the negatives that have been reported here. The smallish button to both power the unit and put it into its certain "remote" and other modes certainly isn't very big, and if you suffer from say a debilitating disease where your hands or fingers have trouble with somewhat precise tangible adjustments, well then they are justified, otherwise if the button were any larger, or easier to accidentally maneuver to the wrong setting, this would be a detriment to most others, including myself, and I have severe carpal tunnel, and for the very direct movement to put this into say "remote" I personally want it to stay there and not be easily knocked about and changed because I quickly reached down and moved it a little. My battery compartment door is... awesome, I dont treat my $350 flash like a toy or a piece of garbage, I am not saying it doesn't get abused a little here and there, but the door itself seals tightly, is easy enough to open and close, thus does the job very well in my case. The "jog" dial, again this is another caveat I have with those negative reviews, there are a finite number of settings on this unit, with that said it rather small in the scheme of most programming options considering what you can adjust and NEED to very often, for the normal purchaser of this unit, where I personally feel the professional's either opt for the SB-910, or older SB-800 even. I want to give it 4.5 stars as I feel almost everything could be improved or made better, but having to choose between a 4 and 5, Ill go with the 5 due to me not having one issue in over two years of ownership. With all that said, you can see I actually agree with the others as far as size and operation of the buttons and minimal programming intuitive features, but its at a cost, durability, reducing accidental changes, and overall simplicity and actual needs of the users. There will always be those who are the extremest and want to have total control of even things 95% of features the vast majority wouldn't use or want, and thats OK really, I just feel in this unit decisions were made to keep it simple, elegant and completely capable, even in a novice environment, and enough power for the enthusiast/professional

Sim597
Houston, TX, USA, Chicago IL. USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My 1st flash and 2nd and 3rd as well.
10/4/2011

Customer review by Zane80

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Zane80
by Zane80

Simple to use, everything is in the menu, and full information is in the manual provided. Works brilliantly with my D7000 with my camera as the commander. The commander built-in option at e3 could control 2 groups on flashes, and it could adjust the power settings, even use TTL for one group and Manual for the other for the SB700. That is very versatile. Interestingly though, there are options for 3 groups on the SB700. Which means that either a SU-800 is needed if one wants to control each group individually. Or, a firmware upgrade for either the D700 or D7000 will finally allow the camera to control each of the 3 groups individually. I am keeping my fingers crossed. As mentioned by previous commenter, the lock switch to the Remote and Master might be a bit redundant. I imagine only very careless users will turn all the way to the Remote or Master without realizing. The control dial is nice with a gorgeous clicking sound when it is spun, but the groves are a bit painful for me if I spin it a lot. Maybe I have tender skin for a guy. Nevertheless, I like it so much until I bought a 2nd and a 3rd one, now contemplating whether should I get a 4th one..........

Zane80
Singapore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Got to love the remote feature alone!
12/26/2013

Customer review by Craymoe

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Craymoe
by Craymoe

Received as a gift for Christmas 2013. Awesome. The fill light that it provides is night and day from ordinary use of the pop-up flash.

Craymoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Speed light 700
12/14/2011

Customer review by Fercho

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Fercho
by Fercho

This is an amazing speedlight...It works wireless with the D. Very happy with it.5100

Fercho
San Antonio, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so far no issues!
1/16/2012

Customer review by bobbym14

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by bobbym14
by bobbym14

I got this flash the other day and right out of the box it worked and gave me amazing results. i bought this flash for a project I've been working on and i think it should be perfect. this flash is a must buy for anyone who is doing portraits in a studio

bobbym14
Long Island, New York, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I recommend SB-700 flash
2/1/2012

Customer review by Kasun

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by Kasun
by Kasun

i use SB-700 AF Speed light more than 1 year.. its perfect... and its also have master slave mode... so that's very helpful for covering a occasions with ttl balance... by the way, its so cheep with its functions...

Kasun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Flash
3/16/2013

Customer review by astroNikon

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by astroNikon
by astroNikon

Granted I'm not a Flash expert but I found myself at a quandry when taking more vertical photos after getting my D7000 grip and the SB-400 doesn't swivel. My main concern was eliminating shadows of which I needed to do bounce fill flash from the ceiling. The 400 does tilt unless you are taking a vertical in which case you need it to swivel too, which the SB-400 does not do. I really wanted to buy a SB-600 but ended up getting a SB-700 at a refurbished unit. I'm glad I did. The 360degree swivel has come in handy (versus I know the 600 would get me annoyed) when working on bounce flash technique. I also love the features that are handy by the buttons versus traversing a menu on the 600. The 600 supposedly has more power but the 700 is a much better choice though $100 more in the used / refurbished market but well worth the extra. I'm just learning more how to use the flash and I'm a "newbie" in regards to flash technique. But the flash operates really easily, iTTL seems to work really well (in basic settings) and I recommend this for anyone that starts taking more vertical shots and needs to continue bouncing the light. I also looked at the contraptions to keep the flash unit above the camera (it stays vertical) versus being sideways and needing the swivel. That may still be needed in the future if I start doing paid photo shoots of people, but for my "advanced" hobbyist means it is the perfect as is. I should mention, I attempted to use the SB-700 as a remote with the built-in D7000 flash or the SB-400 as the master, this seems not capable. I was just hoping to see if it worked (I think the manual stated it would not). As I wouldn't mind having some back fill flash in addition to front flash. It may be able to do this, I just wasn't able to do it fiddling around. Adding a second SB-600/700 flash unit is expensive for just a hobbyist.

astroNikon
SE Michigan, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews