Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 39 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Just the finishing touch your dslr needs
6/8/2013

Customer review by Meeta313

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Meeta313
by Meeta313
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an amazing an powerful flash. I love the warmth it gives to the photos when using it as a bounce flash. I love the versatility of being able to adjust where to point the flash. I'm still figuring out all the things it can do but I quickly learned how to use it the best to my liking. I seriously don't think you will regret buying this flash. I compared it to the sb-600 and the reason I didnt get it was because after watching so many reviews online and YouTube, this best fits someone who is just learning or still learning about photography. I'm positive you will be happy with your choice.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meeta313
Queens,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this flash!
1/17/2013

Customer review by AvalonAz

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by AvalonAz
by AvalonAz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This flash is easy to use or has great potential for the most advanced photographers. I am watching youtube to learn how to use the amazing features this flash offers, but it is well worth my time. Some of the great features include: multi-directional pivots to bounce the flash, get filters that snap onto the flash, flash diffuser, a stand for using the flash as a slave, the intuitive communication between flash and camera, nice bag to hold it all, the ability to use it as a master flash, and many, many more. Also, while learning, I have watched many reviews of this flash and all are glowing admiration for the vast potential and great value that is afforded the owner of this AMAZING product. Thank you Nikon. I use it with my SLR Nikon D40 and am loving it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AvalonAz
Mesa, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nikon sb 700
10/7/2011

Customer review by 191145

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by 191145
by 191145

I have had vivitar flashes . also sigma flashes. and this nikon is the best one I ever had. I use it every other day. the battery life in this flash seems to go on for ever . love it . you will not regret the purchase of this flash.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
191145
cape coral . florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
SB-700, a versatile flash
1/15/2011

Customer review by Photog

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by Photog
by Photog

One of the first tests I made with the new SB-700 was to photograph a proposed electric train layout which I have temporarily set up on a bedroom floor. Using the flash in the EVEN light distribution mode gave very excellent broad-range coverage across the room, a bit better than the SB-600 model flash I had used earlier. The SB-700 has several great features including a built in bounce card and a very easy to use menu system. It also auto-sets the zoom head for different lens formats and focal lengths when switching from DX to FX format lenses. Setting the flash exposure at +1 gives me slightly 'higher' histograms than the center point 'optimum' value, but this which is where I normally shoot flash photos anyway with an SB-600 flash and my D300s/D700 cameras. The photos all look really great. I look forward to utilizing more of the SB-700's offered features.

Photog
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great flash
2/5/2013

Customer review by JWVP

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by JWVP
by JWVP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a SB 600 and was pleased with the simplicity on the SB 700. I no longer have to hold down two buttons while jumping up and down on one foot!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JWVP
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice speedlight, but broke soon.
8/15/2015

Customer review by Nikonuser2015

1.0 stars 8/15/2015 by Nikonuser2015
by Nikonuser2015

Purchased a refurbished SB-700 AF Speedlight. Nice speedlight. Used for just over 3 months and it broke. Battery light still showed charged, but it would not flash.

Nikonuser2015
Would recommend to a friend? No
My 1st flash and 2nd and 3rd as well.
10/4/2011

Customer review by Zane80

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Zane80
by Zane80

Simple to use, everything is in the menu, and full information is in the manual provided. Works brilliantly with my D7000 with my camera as the commander. The commander built-in option at e3 could control 2 groups on flashes, and it could adjust the power settings, even use TTL for one group and Manual for the other for the SB700. That is very versatile. Interestingly though, there are options for 3 groups on the SB700. Which means that either a SU-800 is needed if one wants to control each group individually. Or, a firmware upgrade for either the D700 or D7000 will finally allow the camera to control each of the 3 groups individually. I am keeping my fingers crossed. As mentioned by previous commenter, the lock switch to the Remote and Master might be a bit redundant. I imagine only very careless users will turn all the way to the Remote or Master without realizing. The control dial is nice with a gorgeous clicking sound when it is spun, but the groves are a bit painful for me if I spin it a lot. Maybe I have tender skin for a guy. Nevertheless, I like it so much until I bought a 2nd and a 3rd one, now contemplating whether should I get a 4th one..........

Zane80
Singapore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Photog Hubby loves it.
4/21/2012

Customer review by NHLeen

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by NHLeen
by NHLeen

Hubby is a very picky recreational photographer who needed a flash for his new Nikon camera. Although we wished it was a bit less expensive, you get what you pay for, and this is a great accessory. Wish I could say more, but all he wants to say is, "It works."

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHLeen
Monroe, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent value
12/10/2011

Customer review by Chuck L

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Chuck L
by Chuck L

After using my Nikon 18-35 mm lens and getting a shadow I knew I had to purchase a quality external flash. I chose Nikon because I know the flash will be forward compatible with the D800 when it is introduced. The SB-700 fits my needs perfectly. It was easy to use out of the box. The bounce and swivel features give me the coverage I need. I used the flash this week on a trip. My only complaint is with the Incandescent filter. My wife has olive skin. The filter gave her an unnatural hue. I used Photoshop to give her more nature skin tonalities. The florescent filter did a good job under harsh lighting conditions. I did not have any problem with the battery compartment or navigating thru the on-board menus. This is my third Nikon upgrade in the last 12 months. It was a good purchase.

Chuck L
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great flash, when it works
7/18/2013

Customer review by Devon

1.0 stars 7/18/2013 by Devon
by Devon

I really love this flash... ...when it works. I started out with an SB-600, then after a lot of heavy use that cut out on me and I figured it was the two+ years of use in bad weather, being dropped, thrown around, etc. So I got an SB-700 to replace it and have treated that flash much more kindly, using it very gently and indoors 98% of the time. Since then I have sent that SB-700 back to Nikon 5 times to be fixed because while shooting it will randomly stop working. The menu functions, I can turn it on/off, I can do absolutely everything with the flash except actually have light come out of it. It breaks this way every 2-3 months so it's always still been under either the original warranty or the 6 months from being "fixed" warranty, but it's very frustrating and Nikon has not replaced it even after "fixing" the problem has proven to be only a temporary solution. After the first time my SB-700 broke, I bought another 700 to have on hand as a backup. Today it completely stopped working while shooting--no menu, no light, no nothing even after trying multiple sets of fresh batteries. Suffice it to say I will not be purchasing another SB-700 and am going to look into other manufacturers for future flash purchases as reliability is important to me.

Devon
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Ideas, Mediocre Execution
8/5/2011

Customer review by Coastal Blue

2.0 stars 8/5/2011 by Coastal Blue
by Coastal Blue

I was excited at first by the intuitive arrangement of buttons, and the new screen & menu system of the SB-700, which promised a vast interface improvement over my trusty SB-600. However, in practice, I found myself frustrated with my new flash. My biggest 3 complaints are: 1) The battery compartment did not properly tighten itself, forcing me to press in on it when I turned the power on for the unit to actually power about half the times I went to turn it on. Minor defect in my unit? Maybe. 2) The power button itself. While the idea of a switch between Off>On>Remote On>Master On is great, the switch itself is thin/small and difficult for my big fingers to use. To get to Remote or Master, a button in the middle of the switch must be pressed, which was tricky at best, annoyingly difficult at worst. Major turn off in my mind. 3) The rotating dial with OK button in the middle for selecting things was, again, a good idea. However, I found it's operation tricky and difficult to control, and button pushes were difficult to consistently make. Controls aside, the menu selections, options, etc. were all quite intuitive and easy to understand. It was the difficulty in executing the options which frustrated me, and led me to return the unit and stick with my SB-600's.

Coastal Blue
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolutely Amazing for the Price
2/1/2011

Customer review by JordanZero11

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by JordanZero11
by JordanZero11

I have only been using this flash for about 2 months now, but i am already in love with it. This flash made my new pictures extraordinary! I can barely even explain it. I haven't had time to fool around with the master and slave settings on it since i have nothing to do it with, but i am looking forward to buying a studio set soon to do such. It is so easy to use, it's practically able to be used out of the box. it just takes time to learn how to position the head around so you get the best bounce. I can still consider myself an amateur photographer, but i am going to continue my passion and this flash helped renew my love for photography even more. I highly recommend it. Thank you very much Nikon!

JordanZero11
(Near) Youngstown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SB-700's used for macro shooting (plus SU800 controller)
12/27/2014

Customer review by MacroNut

4.0 stars 12/27/2014 by MacroNut
by MacroNut

I have three of these (sort of a recommendation in itself :-) used for close-up and macro work (1/3 to 3X life size on sensor). They are used in conjunction with an SU-800 controller mounted on the camera's hot shoe. This set-up works very well indeed, and provides enough light to be able to use low ISO and keep noise down. Two of the 700's are used together for the main flash and the 3rd is used as the fill flash. The initial "programming" is bit tedious, but once you have the stop adjustments and communication channels set, use becomes effectively set-and-forget. The SU-800 to SB-700 communication (wireless via infrared) works like a charm…more reliable in bright sunlight than using the on-camera flash as a controller for the SB-700's. The flashes themselves are reliable, fire every time they are supposed to, and have reasonable battery life using eneloop rechargeables. However, it is very possible to drain a set of batteries when out on a field shoot, so carry a spare set for each flash unit and make sure all the batteries are fully recharged before you go out. The kind of macro shooting I do uses flash on every shot as I keep the apertures small (f/22 mostly) for more depth of field. The only drawback I find is that you can't position the flash head exactly because some of the adjustments are click-stopped rather than continuous. A continuously variable angle would be nice (with a locking screw, perhaps, instead of click stops).

MacroNut
Palo Alto, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great flash unit,read the instrutions first..
10/2/2014

Customer review by Salaam

5.0 stars 10/2/2014 by Salaam
by Salaam

Hello,purchased this flash 2 months ago after reading alot of reviews. Was concerned about the battery door issues but took the plunge anyway. So far door is no problem,there is a button on the door for opening and closing.If you by pass the button you could have problems. Flash provided excellent light at a event i shot Sat,tried setting flash to manual but it washed out the picture.Even at 1/2 power it was a washout. Had camera in auto mode and program mode. Bouncing in manual rendered excellent results with a 12 ft ceiling in 1/2 power. Great flash.

Salaam
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The SB-700 Is Indestructable!
2/15/2015

Customer review by ARCCPhotos

5.0 stars 2/15/2015 by ARCCPhotos
by ARCCPhotos

I am a professional photographer in San Antonio, TX and I often use my SB-700 flash for off camera flash (OCF). About a week ago I was photographing a family next to a river and I had my flash mounted to an OCF rig and 24" x 24" softbox and sandbagged. A strong gust of wind blew the rig (despite the sandbag) into the river! I rushed over and I was too late... I fished the rig out of the water and immediately pulled the batteries. This flash was totally waterlogged. I was so upset.. This was my 2nd flash in a year! The first flash was stolen along with ALL of my gear (contained in a bag). The LCD display looked like a little aquarium due to all of the water in it. I shook out what I could and let the flash sit by the window in the sun for a week. Just yesterday, I figured I would give it one last try before having to buy a 3rd one. I inspected the flash for water and when there was no sign of moisture I popped the batteries in and WOW! It turned on and the flash is fully operational! I was able to photograph a marriage proposal last night and it didn't give me any issues. I will highly recommend Nikon products to anyone I know! Your products prove to me over and over again that they are built to last and built for work. In a time where nothing lasts long you have created a line of products that stands the test of time and the abuse that photographers who work in the field put them through. I have always and will always use Nikon gear only! You have one happy customer here and I will always do what I can to bring you more business. Thanks for creating such an awesome line of kick butt products!

ARCCPhotos
San Antonio, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shines in its class
1/30/2011

Customer review by Bmogo

4.0 stars 1/30/2011 by Bmogo
by Bmogo

I'm a retired wedding/portrait photographer, so people continue to be my main interest, although I'm now doing landscapes, etc. I have studio strobes so for really serious lighting work I use those. That being said, having the SB-700 along in my bag as a portable flash is an excellent addition to my gear. I like the included accessories such as the diffusion dome, incandescent and fluorescent filters, and bounce card built in. I quickly navigated the menus and set the custom options as I'd like them without having to take a college course in menus. Bounce flash for portraiture works wonderfully with this flash. One user here complained about having to put pressure on the on/off switch to put the flash in Remote or Master mode, I find that a great precaution against accidentally turning the flash on in a hurry and not noticing what you have it set at. If you want remote or master mode, you have to purposely put it there. All in all I think this is an excellent flash, built to Nikon's usual standards. I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that in my personal case I wish they would have included at PC type connector like the SB-900 has for connection to external flash or Quantum Battery, but as I said, that's a personal wishlist and yes I probably shouldn't complain. Also, the battery door does seem a bit fragile, although most doors like this need to be approached carefully. Two thumbs up, Nikon.

Bmogo
Mt Hood area, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AF-Assist missing Function
5/28/2011

Customer review by Kirk

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by Kirk
by Kirk

Using the flash unit as a Auto Focus Assist is great but there are AF differences between the SB-700 and SB-900. The 700 has only 2 AF lamps while the 900 has 3 for help in very low light. Also, the 900 has an added feature .... the ability to use the AF-Lamps from the flash withOUT the flash unit firing. The 700 does NOT have this feature. Of course the 700 costs much less than the 900. Overall I love using the 700 on my D7000 with my Nikon CPU lenses. This combo is a joy to use.

Kirk
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Flash, works PERFECTLY
12/21/2014

Customer review by D4photos

5.0 stars 12/21/2014 by D4photos
by D4photos

I had my doubts about flash coming from Canon, but WOW, this flash delivers. TTL is perfect exposure every time. Close or far, the flash knows how much power to apply and over the course of my first weekend shooting with it, I simply could not be happier.

D4photos
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, for low lighting and fast moving children. Increased the quality of my pictures.
10/31/2013

Customer review by rockypeach

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by rockypeach
by rockypeach

I didn't want to spend the money on the speed flash but should have done it long ago. I was thinking of buying a new camera because of poor quality in low light. I now use this flash all the time. It has increased the quality of all my pictures. I never thought a speed flash could do so much. It was well worth the money. My pictures are beautiful in all lighting conditions. I have used this product for 4 months now and love it. Thanks for a great product.

rockypeach
Lancaster, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Flash.
12/26/2013

Customer review by ENMcM

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by ENMcM
by ENMcM

I have had this flash for a couple of weeks and I am very pleased with the performance so far. It makes a huge difference to my indoor photography. I have mainly been involved in Nature Photography but now am focusing on Indoor/outdoor portrait. I am still playing with all the settings and possibilities. It is an excellent product, which I have no problem highly recommending to any serious photographer, professional, hobbyist, or otherwise.

ENMcM
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews