Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 172 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

172 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

172 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
44
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 159 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
I love this lens
5/14/2011

Customer review by 1914SIGMA

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by 1914SIGMA
by 1914SIGMA

I am a beginner when it comes to DSLR camera. However I have a IT degree. At first I started out as a person who took picture for a hobby. Then I decided to use it as a side gig. I purchased the D3100 and it took great shots. After taking portrait shots and family shots I quickly became know as the photographer in my local area. After having a couple gigs under my belt I realized that I need a better lens that will allow me to get closer to the subject from a far. I have book my first wedding and it is tomorrow. A few hours ago I was able to use it during the wedding rehearsal and I am so excited about the quality and now that I don't have to worry if I'm close enough or is the lighting bright enough. The building that I will be shooting in tomorrow is an old building which means the lighting is not the brightest. However this lens was able to still perform with and without the flash. When I first opened and use this lens I decided to take a picture of a subject using the standard lens that come with the d3100 18-55mm lens zoomed all the way. Then compared it to the 55-300 lens zoom all the way and I must say the picture speak for itself. If you are just starting out in photography I would say that this lens is all you need for at least a year, but a course once you get into photography you will notice that every lens has it's own special characteristic.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1914SIGMA
RICHMOND, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Lens
7/2/2011

Customer review by Purpose4lyfe

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Purpose4lyfe
by Purpose4lyfe

I was skeptical about purchasing such a expensive lens from Wal-mart. I'm a true Best Buy customer but decided to give Wal-mart a try. I just received my lens and have had it about a week. To my surprise, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. The lens is GREAT addition to my 18-55mm and does wonderful with my Nikon D60. The zoom gives me the ability to take close-up pictures from a distance. I have a few gigs lined up for the next week which include taking some Senior Pictures and a wedding in a few months. I'm excited and glad that I bought this lens :<)

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Purpose4lyfe
Williamsburg, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
expand your experience
3/8/2012

Customer review by MrWog

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by MrWog
by MrWog

If you want to expand your photo-taking experience, this one will fill the bill. Get over the F4.5 It's the best you are ever going to get with 300mm. Sharp pictures without having to get too close to mother nature's creatures. You will find it is worth the extra money over the 70-200mm.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I Love this Lens...PHEWWWWWWw
5/25/2011

Customer review by sugarlipsguy

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by sugarlipsguy
by sugarlipsguy

Hi, I totaly agree with its a nice lens ..Recently i bought a Nikon D3000 with a body lens 18-55 & I was supposed to go for a Nikon 70-300...but when I was in the outlet where the Nikon products are being sold ..I found this lens & the seller told me its a very good lens ...though I am an amatuer in photography...I mounted the lens on my cam & had some trial shots...I was not dat happy coz i wasnt used to these types of lenses & neither i had knowledge bout lenses...I bought it & at home I tried clicking ...mannnnnnnnn da output was amazing..I really liked the lens & am happy dat I got dis lens

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sugarlipsguy
Sanguem Goa, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
55-300 Nikon Lens is Awesome
4/21/2011

Customer review by Photodeb

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by Photodeb
by Photodeb
Walmart associate

The 55-300 lens does a great job. I was afraid for the price that I wouldnt get a great lens, but it does an awesome job. The VR is great for hand held at 300. The pictures are sharp and moves smoothly. The lighting holds up well for the 300. For the price you are getting a great lens that does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Photodeb
Greenfield,Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great Addition to the DX Line-up
2/21/2011

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR
Top 25 contributor

his lens is fantastic - especially for $399. My first concern was whether it not it had a plastic or metal mount since some DX lenses in this price range have plastic. I even contacted Nikon and they couldn't (or wouldn't) tell me. Well, I was really pleased to see that it does have a metal mount. It has a nice solid feel to it. The zoom movement is smooth and I haven't had any problem with lens creep when I'm aiming it downward. Even when I point the camera downward and shake it, it won't creep. I'm just beginning to get into testing it but my preliminary pictures are coming out nice - really nice. The sharpness is amazing and the lens produces a very nice bokeh. I posted the image of the dragonfly with the chicken wire background (see the customer uploads) Check out the detail in the wings. That shot says it all. It was HAND HELD and cranked all the way out to 300mm. The original image is great but a lot of the detail was lost with the upload to Amazon. But - none the less - it's still pretty sharp. The auto focus on this lens is fast, smooth, quiet and very accurate. It locked right in on the subject. It was set on aperture priority at f/8 1/500sec for the shot that I posted here (shot with a D-90). The VR on this lens is great. The detail I get with hand-helds just amazes me. It has Nikon's VRII image stabilization and it even has a tripod detection mode that reduces any vibration from shutter release when it's on a tripod. Colors are rendered accurately and the contrast is pretty sharp even at the max aperture. The lens is compact for a 300mm and it's lighter than my AF-S DX 18-200mm which I use as my regular walk-around. I'm sure the new 55-300 will be used as my walk around pretty frequently also. All in all for an APS-C lens, Nikon did a great job with this one - especially for the price. It's a welcome addition to the DX line and I'm really glad I have one in my gear bag.

Was this review helpful? (72) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 25 contributor
Too Soft and Unsharp
6/27/2016

Customer review by Robjan245

3.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Robjan245
by Robjan245

This lens focuses fast but is very soft from 250 to 300 mm. Better off with the 70-300 Nikon.

Robjan245
Haverhill, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't beat the price
6/21/2012

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Jeff
by Jeff

I really recommend the this over it's 55-200mm counterpart. It's beefier and feels more rugged. The metal attachment ring elevates it outta the "cheap" category IMO. The 300mm really comes in to play at this end, Wet lands, parks and wild life take on a whole new meaning when you can fill the frame from a considerable distance. Not to mention just walking around street photos. it's not ridiculously big that it draws attention to yourself, OK a little but not a crazy amount. This lens actually has VR2. In practice IMO you still need to be steady, and at 300mm in low light at f5.6......forget it, you need a tripod or something to rest the camera on. Images are sharp and look great, focus is quick and accurate. Unless your some kinda serious pro this lens is more than gets the job done. I recommend totally. One last thing it comes with the simple round hood, I wish it came with the cooler looking "flower" type, that's a oh well whatever not gonna sweat that little point.

Jeff
British Columbia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lens
6/18/2016

Customer review by Gamblin12

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Gamblin12
by Gamblin12

I enjoy using this lens. It was easy to learn how to use this lens in coordination with my particular camera. I would like to buy the 200-500mm lens for wildlife and some landscape photography.

Gamblin12
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellant product
1/7/2011

Customer review by raybug

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by raybug
by raybug

Great range lens and high quality

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raybug
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Lens For Good Price
6/20/2011

Customer review by BFreeton

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by BFreeton
by BFreeton

If you need a great lens for outdoor sports photography, this is the one. 55-300mm allows effectively to shoot track and field, football, soccer, and even baseball. For basketball you would need a much faster lens, which would cost 10x the price. This lens is also good for photographing parades and animals in the wild.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BFreeton
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good outdoors lens
4/14/2011

Customer review by Nice lens!

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Nice lens!
by Nice lens!

Recently I bought a Nikkor 55-300VRII lens to use for my sons track meets and baseball games and also for some wild life shots. I tried it out on 3 different occasions and have come to these conclusions. 1. It is lighter then I had expected which is a plus in my book. I tried the 70-300VR and it felt much heavier. 2. This lens is very sharp, especially at the short to mid range. At 300mm it is quite sharp also. 3. The VRII works great. This is my first lens with VR and what a difference it makes. I shot at 300mm at 1/80 of a second and the pictures were tack sharp. 4. The price you pay for what you get, it is a steal. IMO Now for the only negitive. It's not the fastest focusing lens around but it's still not too not bad. It will do for what I need it for and that's why you buy a certain lens in the first place. PS had it been faster focusing I would have given it 5 stars. But as it is I'd give it 4 1/2 stars if I could.

Nice lens!
Olyphant, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/12/2011

Customer review by socialworkbirder

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by socialworkbirder
by socialworkbirder

After fighting with a manual focus telephoto lens for 2 yrs, i decided to purchase this AF lens. It's been a dream to take pictures now. It's been a pleasure getting used to the way it works. Only regret is that I didn't purchase this lens the same time I purchased the Nikon d3000. Spouse and I are avid bird watchers and this lens is ideal for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
socialworkbirder
lake city, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
D5000 300mm
6/7/2011

Customer review by FJBG

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by FJBG
by FJBG

This is a great lens, Better than the 2 lens that comes with my camera. you can actually keep shooting more than 3 frames, and don't have to stop shooting. My older lens doesn't let me do that I have to take 3 continuous shoots stop for a sec and then try it again. Zoom is great, this is more than what I was expecting from a power lens for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FJBG
McAllen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value for Price
7/15/2011

Customer review by 330shadow

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by 330shadow
by 330shadow

Been looking for this lense at a price I could afford. When I found it on Walmart Online I ordered it right away. If you can buy a lense make sure it is this one. Pick up from 55 to 300mm.It get great shots at a distance. Great Price- GreatLense.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
330shadow
Williamson, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Lens, Fantastic pictures.
4/3/2016

Customer review by BOBALO

5.0 stars 4/3/2016 by BOBALO
by BOBALO

I get very great photos with this lens. Easy to use .

BOBALO
Galloway, OH 43119, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Lens
9/7/2014

Customer review by Dutches4

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by Dutches4
by Dutches4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this lens to go with my D5200, I already had the 18-55mm but needed close-ups so after reading many reviews on this particular lens I decided to purchase it. I am not a photographer but I do take a lot of pictures for my job. It's a good lens and it serves the purpose I need it for. Most lens are quite expensive and if you need good close-ups and don't want to spend tons of money this is the lens to get. The pictures are sharp and clear. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dutches4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent addition to camera bag
3/13/2012

Customer review by rlm68

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by rlm68
by rlm68

The Nikon 55-300 mm DX AF VR Telephoto Lens is an excellent addition to the camera bag for any Nikon D3100 user. A heavy duty tripod is recommended for use when shooting long distance shots to eliminate camera shake once focused. I've had good success getting excellent photos with this new addition to my camera bag. And the price is well worth purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlm68
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I think it worth double the price. Excellent !
2/2/2016

Customer review by Ibnul

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Ibnul
by Ibnul

For beginners who want to photograph birds or distant subject this is a very cheap ideal lens. It is very light weight and you won't need to carry a tripod ever. It's performance is very beautiful sharp and VR works great (although I have to say if you don't like to autofocus because its slow and some time can't focus). It's versatile zoom range is very good and in 55mm it can be use as a portrait lens and in 200-300mm it can be use like a telephoto. So if you are in budget and want a telephoto for your DX then go for it.

Ibnul
Bangladesh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lens, get it with camera as a kit and save $
5/30/2012

Customer review by TVPCMusicGames

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by TVPCMusicGames
by TVPCMusicGames

My go-to lens for nature photography. The books and experts say, "use your feet, not a zoom". I photograph skittish (and occasionally dangerous) wildlife. Squirrels seldom pose for close-ups, and bees do not appreciate the attention. I haven't yet gotten to shoot a bear or a moose, but deer are sure friendlier through a zoom lens :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVPCMusicGames
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews