Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 166 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

166 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

166 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
112
4 stars
44
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 153 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
Great Addition to the DX Line-up
2/21/2011

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR

his lens is fantastic - especially for $399. My first concern was whether it not it had a plastic or metal mount since some DX lenses in this price range have plastic. I even contacted Nikon and they couldn't (or wouldn't) tell me. Well, I was really pleased to see that it does have a metal mount. It has a nice solid feel to it. The zoom movement is smooth and I haven't had any problem with lens creep when I'm aiming it downward. Even when I point the camera downward and shake it, it won't creep. I'm just beginning to get into testing it but my preliminary pictures are coming out nice - really nice. The sharpness is amazing and the lens produces a very nice bokeh. I posted the image of the dragonfly with the chicken wire background (see the customer uploads) Check out the detail in the wings. That shot says it all. It was HAND HELD and cranked all the way out to 300mm. The original image is great but a lot of the detail was lost with the upload to Amazon. But - none the less - it's still pretty sharp. The auto focus on this lens is fast, smooth, quiet and very accurate. It locked right in on the subject. It was set on aperture priority at f/8 1/500sec for the shot that I posted here (shot with a D-90). The VR on this lens is great. The detail I get with hand-helds just amazes me. It has Nikon's VRII image stabilization and it even has a tripod detection mode that reduces any vibration from shutter release when it's on a tripod. Colors are rendered accurately and the contrast is pretty sharp even at the max aperture. The lens is compact for a 300mm and it's lighter than my AF-S DX 18-200mm which I use as my regular walk-around. I'm sure the new 55-300 will be used as my walk around pretty frequently also. All in all for an APS-C lens, Nikon did a great job with this one - especially for the price. It's a welcome addition to the DX line and I'm really glad I have one in my gear bag.

Was this review helpful? (66) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 25 contributor
I love this lens
5/14/2011

Customer review by 1914SIGMA

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by 1914SIGMA
by 1914SIGMA

I am a beginner when it comes to DSLR camera. However I have a IT degree. At first I started out as a person who took picture for a hobby. Then I decided to use it as a side gig. I purchased the D3100 and it took great shots. After taking portrait shots and family shots I quickly became know as the photographer in my local area. After having a couple gigs under my belt I realized that I need a better lens that will allow me to get closer to the subject from a far. I have book my first wedding and it is tomorrow. A few hours ago I was able to use it during the wedding rehearsal and I am so excited about the quality and now that I don't have to worry if I'm close enough or is the lighting bright enough. The building that I will be shooting in tomorrow is an old building which means the lighting is not the brightest. However this lens was able to still perform with and without the flash. When I first opened and use this lens I decided to take a picture of a subject using the standard lens that come with the d3100 18-55mm lens zoomed all the way. Then compared it to the 55-300 lens zoom all the way and I must say the picture speak for itself. If you are just starting out in photography I would say that this lens is all you need for at least a year, but a course once you get into photography you will notice that every lens has it's own special characteristic.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1914SIGMA
RICHMOND, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Lens
7/2/2011

Customer review by Purpose4lyfe

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Purpose4lyfe
by Purpose4lyfe

I was skeptical about purchasing such a expensive lens from Wal-mart. I'm a true Best Buy customer but decided to give Wal-mart a try. I just received my lens and have had it about a week. To my surprise, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. The lens is GREAT addition to my 18-55mm and does wonderful with my Nikon D60. The zoom gives me the ability to take close-up pictures from a distance. I have a few gigs lined up for the next week which include taking some Senior Pictures and a wedding in a few months. I'm excited and glad that I bought this lens :<)

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Purpose4lyfe
Williamsburg, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Lens For Good Price
6/20/2011

Customer review by BFreeton

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by BFreeton
by BFreeton

If you need a great lens for outdoor sports photography, this is the one. 55-300mm allows effectively to shoot track and field, football, soccer, and even baseball. For basketball you would need a much faster lens, which would cost 10x the price. This lens is also good for photographing parades and animals in the wild.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BFreeton
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellant product
1/7/2011

Customer review by raybug

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by raybug
by raybug

Great range lens and high quality

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raybug
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
D5000 300mm
6/7/2011

Customer review by FJBG

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by FJBG
by FJBG

This is a great lens, Better than the 2 lens that comes with my camera. you can actually keep shooting more than 3 frames, and don't have to stop shooting. My older lens doesn't let me do that I have to take 3 continuous shoots stop for a sec and then try it again. Zoom is great, this is more than what I was expecting from a power lens for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FJBG
McAllen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/12/2011

Customer review by socialworkbirder

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by socialworkbirder
by socialworkbirder

After fighting with a manual focus telephoto lens for 2 yrs, i decided to purchase this AF lens. It's been a dream to take pictures now. It's been a pleasure getting used to the way it works. Only regret is that I didn't purchase this lens the same time I purchased the Nikon d3000. Spouse and I are avid bird watchers and this lens is ideal for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
socialworkbirder
lake city, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value for Price
7/15/2011

Customer review by 330shadow

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by 330shadow
by 330shadow

Been looking for this lense at a price I could afford. When I found it on Walmart Online I ordered it right away. If you can buy a lense make sure it is this one. Pick up from 55 to 300mm.It get great shots at a distance. Great Price- GreatLense.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
330shadow
Williamson, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
expand your experience
3/8/2012

Customer review by MrWog

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by MrWog
by MrWog

If you want to expand your photo-taking experience, this one will fill the bill. Get over the F4.5 It's the best you are ever going to get with 300mm. Sharp pictures without having to get too close to mother nature's creatures. You will find it is worth the extra money over the 70-200mm.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrWog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lens, get it with camera as a kit and save $
5/30/2012

Customer review by TVPCMusicGames

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by TVPCMusicGames
by TVPCMusicGames

My go-to lens for nature photography. The books and experts say, "use your feet, not a zoom". I photograph skittish (and occasionally dangerous) wildlife. Squirrels seldom pose for close-ups, and bees do not appreciate the attention. I haven't yet gotten to shoot a bear or a moose, but deer are sure friendlier through a zoom lens :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVPCMusicGames
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent addition to camera bag
3/13/2012

Customer review by rlm68

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by rlm68
by rlm68

The Nikon 55-300 mm DX AF VR Telephoto Lens is an excellent addition to the camera bag for any Nikon D3100 user. A heavy duty tripod is recommended for use when shooting long distance shots to eliminate camera shake once focused. I've had good success getting excellent photos with this new addition to my camera bag. And the price is well worth purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rlm68
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
55-300 Nikon Lens is Awesome
4/21/2011

Customer review by Photodeb

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by Photodeb
by Photodeb

The 55-300 lens does a great job. I was afraid for the price that I wouldnt get a great lens, but it does an awesome job. The VR is great for hand held at 300. The pictures are sharp and moves smoothly. The lighting holds up well for the 300. For the price you are getting a great lens that does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photodeb
Greenfield,Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
I Love this Lens...PHEWWWWWWw
5/25/2011

Customer review by sugarlipsguy

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by sugarlipsguy
by sugarlipsguy

Hi, I totaly agree with its a nice lens ..Recently i bought a Nikon D3000 with a body lens 18-55 & I was supposed to go for a Nikon 70-300...but when I was in the outlet where the Nikon products are being sold ..I found this lens & the seller told me its a very good lens ...though I am an amatuer in photography...I mounted the lens on my cam & had some trial shots...I was not dat happy coz i wasnt used to these types of lenses & neither i had knowledge bout lenses...I bought it & at home I tried clicking ...mannnnnnnnn da output was amazing..I really liked the lens & am happy dat I got dis lens

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sugarlipsguy
Sanguem Goa, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great lens
10/17/2013

Customer review by Labwalker

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Labwalker
by Labwalker

I bought this lens to help me be less obtrusive photographing my son's high school and junior golf tournaments. It gives me the distance I need to be able to make images from a distance and it also gives me the opportunity to work with the lens either with automatic focus or manually. It has been a very good investment and I must say that the images are better than the ones I have been taking with a Canon. Would like to have it be less costly, but the quality clearly comes through in the image.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Labwalker
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I ordered!
7/20/2011

Customer review by SouthportG

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by SouthportG
by SouthportG

Great lens at a very good price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthportG
Southport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
excellent for my needs
6/27/2014

Customer review by sundowner1369

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by sundowner1369
by sundowner1369

I am an inspector on pipelines and use primarily in macro and it far exceeds my expectations

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sundowner1369
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Lens
9/7/2014

Customer review by Dutches4

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by Dutches4
by Dutches4

I bought this lens to go with my D5200, I already had the 18-55mm but needed close-ups so after reading many reviews on this particular lens I decided to purchase it. I am not a photographer but I do take a lot of pictures for my job. It's a good lens and it serves the purpose I need it for. Most lens are quite expensive and if you need good close-ups and don't want to spend tons of money this is the lens to get. The pictures are sharp and clear. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dutches4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I had to return this because of a defect.
10/6/2013

Customer review by submarinesailorvet

4.0 stars 10/6/2013 by submarinesailorvet
by submarinesailorvet

The coating on the lens had a missed spot which I was concerned about causing me to return the lens and unfortunately the camera also since I bought a combo pack. I am looking forward to the new camera and lens.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
submarinesailorvet
West Salem, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lens for a variety of shooting conditions
11/25/2011

Customer review by trapshooter47

4.0 stars 11/25/2011 by trapshooter47
by trapshooter47

This is a good intermediate lens that I use on my D7000 which fills gaps for higher powered zooms and fixed power tele lenses I like it very much and use it as my main workhorse lens for a multiple of different shooting conditions from portrait and action scenes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trapshooter47
Detroit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great addition to D3100 and 18-55mm lens
6/18/2011

Customer review by AJMomOf2

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by AJMomOf2
by AJMomOf2

It will not take pics up close, but GREAT addition to what I already have. I used it for my daughter's dance recital. We were in the back, and the pics were still very close up. I was able to get her entire dance class or focus just on her. It was wonderful. We look forward to using it many more years to come for many other things. I did have to change back and forth with the lens when I wanted to get a close up shot. Easy to do, and not a problem. Only way to get around that is to spend quite a bit more for the big lens 18-300mm.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJMomOf2
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews