Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 72 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 53 reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
Love the movie, Not crazy about this version...
12/31/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Don't get me wrong, I really do love the movie, but I didn't expect that it would be split into two parts when I bought the 3-disc extended edition. The first half of the movie is on disc one (all three versions of the first half), and the second half of the movie is on disc two. So, in the middle of enjoying your movie, you have to get up and change the dvd discs. With all our technology today, I thought we were beyond that. I'm not really mad about it, I can deal, it just would have been nice to know about that beforehand... it may have made me lean towards the regular version that can fit on one, single disc. Having said that, the extras are very interesting. They offer new storylines and more in-depth plot twists than the theatrical version did. So, it's a toss-up between having the movie be interrupted halfway through or go without the extras. Overall: wonderful movie, but bad formatting. Just wanted to give potential buyers a heads-up in case you'd want to try another version... Happy shopping!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Loved the movie, even if it made me cry
10/18/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really enjoyed this movie. The basic message of unity and survival. Defending what is good and important, a message of the ages. This movies was incredible, visually awesome. I can't see why anyone couldn't enjoy the journey you go on with the charaters. The simplicity and beauty of the world, and the ugly reminder of repeating mistakes in the gain of false riches. A wonderful balance of both the good and bad of life and the cycles we go through. Wonderful, just wonderful to see.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't buy this one
11/28/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
**Notice** Here's the difference between this 3 disc set and the other one that's $8 more. This set, you have to watch the movie over 2 DVDs. It's like laser disc all over again. The more expensive set, they crammed the whole extended movie on the 1st DVD, so the other 2 DVDs are actual bonus material. I should have caught that, but I was excited for a Blu Ray copy and didn't look. Be aware!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exquisite and Remarkable
11/18/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's an incredible Blu-ray package worth the money and I've honestly never seen anything like it. I can't wait for future movies, which I'm sure will be equally as exquisite and profitable. I also found it bizarre that the forum owner of the Internets largest Avatar movie community over at avatar-forums.com is a homeless gentleman yet still supports with all his wherewithal the movie and his community members. There's a remarkable cult following building behind this movie and future movies, which appear to be life changing for some folks.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The best!
11/7/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Avatar is the best movie ever made, period.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Entirely Worth It
12/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had already purchased the original DVD release of Avatar and loved it. I was disappointed about the lack of bonus features. (This set satisfies that.) I saw the Extended version in theaters and decided that it was better than the original. Now that I've watched all three movie variations, I love them all. *Spoilers* The Collector's Cut has an opening that is entirely different which I think is fun and explains what happened at Grace's school. Among other new tidbits. *End Spoilers* The deleted and extended scenes are interesting and the Family Audio Track is a nice addition for families with younger ears.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More is better.
12/23/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
James Cameron, what were you thinking???? The scenes you thought made the movie too long, in my opinion, made a clearer story. I loved the the movie from my original viewing, but I love it more in the extended version. It takes the movie from very good to great. However,as an avid movie goer, had you been able to include all of the left out, incomplete scenes, you would have had a "MASTERPIECE" It is a great movie, 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very excellent movie
11/18/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My overall opinion of this movie is that is was very good. The plot of the story may not be the most original (almost identical to pocahontas) but i believe it is one of the best filmed movies in years. The cgi helped captivate the audience and draw them into the magical world that james cameron created. All in all i thought it was an excellent movie for both adults and children alike.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Movie Ever Made
11/12/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is by far the best movie I've ever seen and I've seen a lot of movies. Everything about it is just pure and simply perfect, there's nothing to dislike. So far I've watched this movie dozens of times and I'll continue watching it for years to come. It just never gets old. If there's a single movie out there that everyone must see this is it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very enlighting and well worth it!
1/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
Was amazed at the way it was done ...extended scenes and documentary comments from James Cameron were very well done . He is very talented ! We all should keep his message in mind always :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/30/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted the 3-d disc and this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Avatar set
2/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
There are three versions of the movie: Extended Director's; Original Movie version; and Original Movie version with foul language removed. The Extended Director's version fills in a lot to understanding the main character as well as the future of the main character.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't stop watching
12/29/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have learned when your favorite movie is re-released in directors edition to buy it, they usually blow the original movie away. After watching this with all the deleted scenes, I so wish they would release another edition with all those scenes not edited out. In my opinion they edited out the wrong scenes, the deleted scenes help tell the story much better. For anyone who is an Avatar fan, trust me you will love this movie!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic
11/13/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best fantasy movie since "E.T."!!!!! Those who have never seen it need to!!! I saw it in 3D....EXTRORDINARY work. Cameron did his best with this movie. I've heard it's "Fern Gully" for adults. That's not far off. But it still doesn't begin to describe it. Whatever you do..."SEE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!"
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrific Movie
1/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Avatar cannot be beat for its story or animation. this DVD set is a keeper for anyone who loves this movie.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An excellent movie
12/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Avatar: Extended Edition movie was excellent. My fiance and I loved seeing it in theaters, and renting it multiple times. Being able to enjoy it in our home, with a new version that we haven't seen yet, is wonderful! (No matter how many times we watch it!) It"s a good family movie, a good action movie, and even a movie you and your significant other can curl up together and watch because it is so enticing. I absolutely recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys their quality 'movie night'.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Avatar Extended Collector's Edition
12/7/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great buy as well as a great movie. The additional footage and extended versions were great. I especially liked the behind the scenes section in which James Cameron showed how they made the movie realistic and then added in the background and special effects. When I saw the movie in the theater, I soared, jumped, climbed, and ran with the actors. I was able to do the same from my living room recliner. Again, great movie, great price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great movie!
4/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
What can I say but James Cameron has done it again! Titanic is a grand movie and so is Avatar! My daughter had bought it for her sister-I watched her movie and knew when she took it with her back to her AF base, I was going to have to get it. Long story-short, our local Walmart had sold out, so went to Walmart.com. It was shipped to my local store super fast and ended up a bit cheaper than if they had had it in stock anyway!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent
8/31/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was in awe watching this. The additional minutes really were something to see and experience
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not my favorite
11/11/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
The story is like so many others. Take your pick. The only thing that is original is the way he filmed it. And he used an updated 20-year old camera to do that. I liked some of the scenes, but as a whole, I was unimpressed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-