Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 350 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

350 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

350 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
202
4 stars
103
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 stars
18
1-20 of 276 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 276 total reviews
1-20 of 276 reviews
Not good
6/18/2011

Customer review by ivan215

2.0 stars 6/18/2011 by ivan215
by ivan215

This printer gets 2 stars and that's for the scanning alone. The scanning is easy, fast and pictures come out perfect. I feel i have a defected printer and i will be returning it. 1: The pictures when printed come out dull, look low quality and faded. I have a high mega pixel camera and glossy photo paper and they just come out horrible and other printers the pictures come out glossy and clear. 2: The pictures never come out aligned. I used the alignment tools and still come out with one big edge on one side and no edge on the other. Even if you set it to full page it never works. I tried all the setting and just got tired of wasting ink on bad prints.

Was this review helpful? (17) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ivan215
philladelphia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Decent printer for the money.
1/26/2012

Customer review by rockbeatspaper

4.0 stars 1/26/2012 by rockbeatspaper
by rockbeatspaper

This printer is great. Prints perfectly in black and color. The only downsides are it is very, very loud, after you turn it off it continues to make noise for about 2 minutes until it quiets down; and it does not come with a usb cable, but I bought one on Walmart.com for around $5 that works fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockbeatspaper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is an EXCELLENT buy. Quiet, fast, east to ope
4/19/2012

Customer review by Gregthebuilder

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Gregthebuilder
by Gregthebuilder

I worried that this was just too cheap to work well. Was I surprised. This little printer is super quiet, makes great color copies and scan color accurately. I prints quite fast at about 5 seconds from hitting the final print command to having the first page out and finished. With photo paper the commands let you place boarders, crop and zoom before printing beautiful prints. Highly recommend this for anyone that needs a home or small office unit. Geddy, Santa Fe

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gregthebuilder
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not That Great
1/17/2012

Customer review by RESBurg

2.0 stars 1/17/2012 by RESBurg
by RESBurg

Lets start with the Pros: Ya can’t beat the price, and it’s a stylish little Printer, and worked great. For a couple of days anyway… Cons: Day 2, the printer started printing washed-out color pages with Very noticeable vertical lines through the page. I cannot correct this problem no matter what I try. However, the black print is fine. Over all, I am not happy, and this print quality is not acceptable, so the printer Goes back!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RESBurg
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Printer For The Money!
6/25/2011

Customer review by ShoppingTrooper

5.0 stars 6/25/2011 by ShoppingTrooper
by ShoppingTrooper

Prints from simple black and white documents to high resolution pictures with excellent quality. Easy to install, with cd rom and step-by-step instructions. Does not have a USB cord. -Not big deal- These days you can find them at the dollar store, also any friend or family may have a spare one... Catridges are probably on the group of the less expensive if you watch the printing quality everytime you use the machine they will last really long: for plain text I use the draft option that prints fast with low ink usage. I use the whole load of paint only for photo or cards. Scanner and Copy functions are easy to use. If you are looking to make a lot of copies I would suggest the next model with the copy tray in the top. If you are looking to share this printer with other computers you can do it through a local network. If you are looking to share the printer wireless I would recommend to buy the next model with wireless connection.

Was this review helpful? (210) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingTrooper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great little printer
10/13/2011

Customer review by mej213794

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by mej213794
by mej213794

i have had a hp printer for years..the ink was so exspensive..someone had told me about the canon pixma 280, so i took a chance and bought it. it prints in color very well. because of wal- marts 90 day return policy, i had nothing to loose. it prints letters very very fast. it scans very very fast. i would buy this printer again if i had to. i dont know how fast the color ink will be used up,cause i have mainly doing letters. this would make a great gift to a student . the ink is not expensive..in prior reviews that i have read about the printer starting out loud during initial start up is no big deal..it sounds no differant than my expensive hp printer grabbing paper to the paper feed. it did not come with a usb cord, but that was no problem for me cause i used the usb cord i had with my hp printer. i like the all over color of black. you cant go wrong with this printer. the extended warranty for this printer if you wish to buy thru wal-mart is very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mej213794
delaware ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent printer for price but ink goes quickly
1/24/2012

Customer review by AverageJoePrinter

4.0 stars 1/24/2012 by AverageJoePrinter
by AverageJoePrinter

This is the second Pixma MP280 printer I have purchased and you cant really beat the price point for the quality and features. Print quality is pretty good, especially with high quality setting and glossy photo paper, but you will go through ink very fast. Ink prices are about the same as any other inkjet printer so expect to spend around $40-$50 to replace both cartridges at retail prices. Definitely look for alternatives to retail purchasing of ink cartridges. Scan quality is excellent and as I import most scans into Adobe Acrobat this is important. Printer is noisy but no more than most printers under $100. Using one of the printers on a Windows 7 system and another on XP system and both work perfectly with no compatibility issues. No special features, wi-fi, or net printing, and would you expect that for this price? No. What you get is a decent multifuction printer that's cheaper than replacing your old printer's ink cartridges and does what it's supposed to do, which is print and scan.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AverageJoePrinter
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Decent Printer, Terrible Ink Usage
2/16/2011

Customer review by StormDewleaf

3.0 stars 2/16/2011 by StormDewleaf
by StormDewleaf

The print quality is good. Scanning and copying are fairly easy. No problems using the wireless connection. Setup and installation was easy. At first I thought the only real downfall to this printer was the noise (which is easy to tune out after a few uses, but if you haven't used a printer in a while it can be a little disconcerting and annoying) but then after going through the first ink cartridge fairly quickly, I decided to pay attention to how many pages it took to run down the second one. 190 pages killed over half an XL ink cartridge. Some people might think that's a lot of pages, but to a student it's not. Unless you only print things once in a while, find a different printer.

Was this review helpful? (501) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StormDewleaf
Locust Grove, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
MP250 is not for business use
1/26/2012

Customer review by mjs75

1.0 stars 1/26/2012 by mjs75
by mjs75

While this model is the MP280, I have the MP250 which is similar. I haven't printed very much with this printer yet, but I can say this. Trying to print envelopes is more painful then getting a root canal. I am very computer literate and never have had so much trouble trying to print a envelop correctly. I've used many different printers, but this is my first Canon. While Canons may print good photos, they don't seem to make much good as a business machine. I had to fumble with many settings at many different locations and waste a good number of envelopes to just get one that was usable. Even then, the results are horrible. I had to goto the manual and even their directions are not complete. The end result had my return address way to far over from the left hand side because it will constantly complain about the margins and cut part of it off. I used a standard 4.5 x 9.5 envelope with Microsoft Word as my program. This is the first and last Canon I will buy for business use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mjs75
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best scan-copy-print unit on the market.
11/26/2011

Customer review by stormydcm

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by stormydcm
by stormydcm

I originally went to Fry's Electronics to purchase the printer but they were out of stock, having only the display unit, and the only printers they had in stock that could copy, print and scan, also had fax, which I did not want, and were significantly more expensive than the MP-280. I stopped by the local Walmart to see what they had available and they had several of the MP-280s in stock at a cheaper price than Fry's. The printer is so easy to set up and install on the computer for wireless printing. I have not had a chance to use all the different printing programs it has, but have been wholly impressed with what I have done. Kind of unusual for an inexpensive product to perform better than advertised. This is undoubtedly the best non-fax everything else printer on the market. Thanks, Canon!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stormydcm
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing value
5/15/2011

Customer review by Yoshisan

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by Yoshisan
by Yoshisan

This printer was the 2nd cheapest they had so I had not high expectations....It's been great though. I was able to setup this printer on my network which mixed XP and Windows 7 in about 30 minutes from box open to first print. It's been very stable and print quality is great! I've seen people say it's loud but from my previous printer, it's quieter so that's a non-issue for me. Ink usage seems standard so far. But for $38 (May 2011), this is a steal.

Was this review helpful? (203) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yoshisan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT PRINTER / FLATBED SCANNER!!!!
7/15/2011

Customer review by vtjb57

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by vtjb57
by vtjb57

Plugged it in and started printing spectacular photos. Scans look like originals. Perfect! It even used the same cords as my old HP All-in-One so I didn't have to get under the desk! Borderless 4x6 photos are beautiful, software is easy to use, and new ink cartridges aren't too expensive. I highly recommend this printer!

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vtjb57
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First Impression
7/11/2011

Customer review by 1niceperson

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by 1niceperson
by 1niceperson

I've only had this printer for a day but it seems perfect to me. Easy to install and I just put a paper on the glass, pressed "Color" and out came a perfect copy. My old scanner transmitted it first to my computer and the result was a fuzzy image. This one produced a copy indistinguishable from the original! Printing and scanning functions work fine too. It is interesting to realize that if you buy the two cartridges separately, you will pay about $35 and yet this printer, including the two cartridges is $38. I guess it's sold at a loss with the expectation that you will buy lots of cartridges in the future.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1niceperson
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS
1/10/2012

Customer review by Dutch558

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Dutch558
by Dutch558

What a sweet all in one printer. After suffering with HP super sensitive digital insanity(see the HP site with a great number of people complaining about capacitors and having to weld mother boards) I searched for a non HP substitute. So many people on line raved about this printer. Then I found it at Walmart $30.00 beneath the cheapest price. I still can't believe what I paid--$29.00!! It's compact,easy to work.A little noisy.It has a quiet mode which I haven't bothered to try . I like the paper load from the back which I don't believe will get jammed like HP did with a bottom feed. It was not in the store so I ordered it on line,had it shipped to my local Walmart and in no time--I had it in hand. I printed a color photo from an original on plain paper, not photo paper.The color was brilliant. I love this printer (fits my space neatly) and I love Walmart. And no, I'm not related to any employee! I have always had the best experiences in their stores all over the country.The only thing that is terrible is their Great Value Decaf coffee.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dutch558
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceptional high quality at a very good price
7/5/2011

Customer review by BusterV

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by BusterV
by BusterV

What a great buy. Print, Scan and Copy, all in one set up. And price is very competitive. A discount electronics store wanted almost twice the amount online. If you are replacing a current printer keep the usb hookup. It will work. These connectors are usually under $2, if you need to purchase one. Be sure to follow the instructions with the provided software. As usual the Canon phone customer service is also exceptional. This should be one of the hot buys at Walmart. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusterV
Las Vegas, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/27/2011

Customer review by easylamb22

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by easylamb22
by easylamb22

I am very pleased with this unit it displays great color as well as scans excellent. I would buy another one. And the ink is priced very fair as well.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
easylamb22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Piece of Junk!!!
8/26/2011

Customer review by GraciesMomma09

1.0 stars 8/26/2011 by GraciesMomma09
by GraciesMomma09

This product doesn't even deserve the 1 star i gave. When i brought the product home, i had to run back out to Wal-Mart and pick up the USB cable, which for the price, i thought, OK, It's still worth the money. It was my own fault for not reading further to see the usb cable wasn't included. But I finally got the product hooked up and i scanned a couple of documents, which worked GREAT! Then i go to print..... Need I say More??? YES!!! The paper doesn't load correctly and is fed into the printer crooked, which in turn jams the printer. I have tried to set the paper size correctly add less paper, more paper, etc... But it still doesn't feed straight. And get's jammed. The scanner is great! But the printer stinks... I really expected more from Canon! I will definately return to the LexMark Product. This piece of junk is getting boxed back up, and returned to Wal-mart.

Was this review helpful? (21) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GraciesMomma09
Pembroke, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Printer for a great price.
7/13/2011

Customer review by ncjim

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by ncjim
by ncjim

This is really a great printer. Super easy to set up for an all-in-one. Has a great feature to print "quiet" at hours your specify. The only thing I didn't care for was the shiny sides. I ordered it online and picked it up in my store, which was incredibly easy and fast.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ncjim
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value for simple printing needs
12/16/2011

Customer review by coffeewill

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by coffeewill
by coffeewill

This printer satisfies simple printer needs such as printing text in black and white and occasionally printing 4x6 color photos. It does a great job for both of these. And the price ($38) was great. Another advantage - if one of the ink cartridges is completely used up, you can still continue to print with the other cartridge. Not all printer operate this way. This is especially helpful when most of your printing requires only black ink. The printer operation is a little noisy but you can set the printing part to a quiet setting. You still have to put up with a noisy pre-print preparation.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coffeewill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
compact, functional - a real bargain
6/20/2011

Customer review by lilacshade

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by lilacshade
by lilacshade

I haven't tried the copier yet, but the printer and scanner work very well. The printing is probably not as crisp as a laser printer, and it is not wireless, granted. But that is why the price is so low. If you just need something convenient and sturdy for home use, this is definitely a good choice. Set up is easy - takes less than 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilacshade
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 276 total reviews
1-20 of 276 reviews