Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

214 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

214 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
67
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
27
1-20 of 185 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
6/12/2011

Customer review by Lubbockscatwoman

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by Lubbockscatwoman
by Lubbockscatwoman

I have had this ice maker for about a month now and am very pleased with it. When I read reviews on this product, one person made mention to be sure and read the directions about cleaning the machine before using it. I noticed that another mentioned that the ice had an odd taste. When I got the machine out of the box, it had a very distinct plastic smell. I cleaned the machine according to directions. AND, left the lid up and let everything air out over night before making ice. The plastic smell was gone the next morning and the ice tasted just fine. There are a lot of benefits to reading reviews and I appreciate the person who said to be sure to read the directions for first time use, and the other who mentioned the bad taste. Taking these two things into consideration, I put forth the effort necessary to have a good experience with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (213) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lubbockscatwoman
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy
5/18/2011

Customer review by cappiecan

4.0 stars 5/18/2011 by cappiecan
by cappiecan

I bought this product because the ice maker in my fridge has been out and not worth getting fixed. We go through tons of ice, especially during the summer. Ice trays are taking up too much space in my freezer and the bag ice is getting costly. I saw this and thought, why not give it a try? The price wasn't too bad but I wish it was in the store rather than having to pay for shipping to my home or wait to get it to the store. I tried it out right away and was pleasantly surprised. The size I find the best is the largest, which isn't really that large though. It is super quiet and I had a large container of ice in my freezer in about two hours. The only thing I wish was that it would be refrigerated so that it could prevent the first ice collected from melting and creating water in the bottom of the basket. Even though it has holes, water still accumulates in the bottom and causes ice to clump together when it refreezes in the freezer, but even that is not bad cause it is easy to simply use a knife and it comes right apart. Much better than slamming bags of frozen ice on the floor to break it apart. I think it will get a lot of use in my home.

Was this review helpful? (141) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cappiecan
Houma, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I love this ice maker!!!
4/11/2011

Customer review by bethlewis

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by bethlewis
by bethlewis

This works wonderful and compared to buying a bag of ice on it will pay for its self quickly! I HATE paying for bags of ice!!

Was this review helpful? (149) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bethlewis
Ocoee, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very satisfied
5/14/2011

Customer review by mr83x

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by mr83x
by mr83x

I've had this product about two weeks and it meets all specs. Amazing how fast it produces ice. I don't understand why it is not on display in the store, especially in the camping department

Was this review helpful? (92) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mr83x
Pasadena,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Almost perfect ice maker
6/1/2011

Customer review by seedsprout

4.0 stars 6/1/2011 by seedsprout
by seedsprout

I purchased this little counter top ice maker because my ice maker in my freezer just can't keep up with the ice demand in the summer and I am tired of buying bagged ice. I have only used it a few days and like it very much. My only complaint with it is if you don't remove the ice immediately and place it in your freezer, it begins to melt. I would have thought it would have been insulated better to keep the ice longer.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seedsprout
Northwest Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for my needs
5/16/2011

Customer review by Videoguy37

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Videoguy37
by Videoguy37

This is perfect for my needs. Only pulls 120 watts so I can run it on a couple of solar panels.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Videoguy37
Tyler, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
will pay for itself
5/15/2011

Customer review by chryvan

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by chryvan
by chryvan

love this ice maker!!! I hate messing with trays and use to buy 1lb bags of ice every other day or two. This will pay for itself over time. Takes just a couple of hours to make a big bag of ice that lasts as long as store bought. Great for making ice to fill up cooler for get togethers. Super quiet

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chryvan
modesto, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/13/2012

Customer review by amerriwet

1.0 stars 3/13/2012 by amerriwet
by amerriwet

I purchased this ice maker in November. It worked fine for about 2 months. Then it started saying to add water, when the water tank was full. I am very disappointed that this has occured. It started out as a wonderful product. Not sure if I just got a bad machine or what happened. I have written to costumer service at Igloo in hopes of having it repaired or replaced.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amerriwet
Military overseas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
FOR CAMPING
4/20/2011

Customer review by 2campingLetsGo

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by 2campingLetsGo
by 2campingLetsGo

VERY GOOD

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2campingLetsGo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Igloo Portable Countertop Ice maker
4/18/2012

Customer review by Troutaholic

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by Troutaholic
by Troutaholic

I have only run a few test batches so I cannot comment on durability. I gave it a low rating for durability b/c I just don't know yet. Might be great or might not. There is a moving plastic "flap" in the icemaking area and the moving parts are a concern for long term operation. I bought a 1 year warranty extension to be sure that I would be covered either way. Packaging is good.....be sure to remove the tape outside and also the tape INSIDE the unit on the plastic flap........ Directions just say to remove packing materials so you have to give it a very careful look to find this internal tape, or I suppose it might break the plastic flap near the condensing coils. I was impressed that it really DOES make (small) ice cubes in 6 minutes.....first batch is about 2x as long, probably b/c the unit has to chill down first. There are only 5 or 6 little hollow cones of ice per batch, but six minutes seems pretty fast. I have not tried making the bigger size yet. It was about 65 degrees in the house when I ran the test batch, so I suppose on hotter days the freeze-time might be longer. In terms of design.....the water is in the bottom and the ice tray is on the top in the same compartment. Ice tray can be removed, but is plastic. Would have preferred stainless mesh or something more durable. Because cold air sinks, either the water in the reservoir will approach freezing ........or else the ice will start to melt above. Probably a little bit of both. So I am wondering how efficient the unit will be in terms of storing ice.....and expecting some thawing. I do like that the thawing ice drains back into the reservoir and cycles back through the icemaker. Other: I like the electronic controls.... and the simple styling. It makes noise which is understandable but still a fact. My biggest concern is the moving parts. Again, I bought the warranty for a few dollars extra, so hopefully I will get a couple years service at a minimum. Overall, it appears to be a good product and I am thankful for the earlier reviews that helped me make a more informed decision. I nearly bought another product until I read reviews ......the feedback for this Igloo unit was much much better. Thanks to everyone who wrote before me and helped me find a better product. I hope this review will do the same.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Troutaholic
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
DO NOT BUY!
9/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this ice maker and it worked for about 4 months, then one row of the evaporators stopped working, now we get half the ice! What a dissappointment!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Columbia, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
VERY ANGRY
10/1/2013

Customer review by CAF012

1.0 stars 10/1/2013 by CAF012
by CAF012

I purchased this machine because I was having company and did't have any place for ice trays in my refrig. I used it for about two weeks and because I was not using it I unplugged it until I was ready to use it again. I plugged it in this summer ready to use and the "full" button came on but there was nothing in the tray so I unplugged it and plugged it in again but got the same message. I called the company but because it was just over a year old I was told by an angry representative that the warrenty had expired and I should turn the machine off for three hours and then turn it back on I explained I had already done that and this angry rep. told me I should do it a again so I did and it still said the same thing "full" so I just got rid of it as far as I am consern it was just a waste of money and the company should teach their representatives to be a little more coureous becuse I had bought this item in good faith and was not treated with respect .

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CAF012
Mount Vernon, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
not good
7/31/2012

Customer review by Marie314

1.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Marie314
by Marie314

The machine made 2 sizes of ice but made a lot of noise, motor was very loud. When ice drop was very very loud. May have been a bad one. Returned it and got the magic chef brand and love it, it was $10 more makes 3 sizes of ice larger holding bin and only hear ice drop not loud at all.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marie314
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
No truth in advertisement
11/17/2011

Customer review by BigMixx63

1.0 stars 11/17/2011 by BigMixx63
by BigMixx63

I was pretty excited to get this ice maker, I got it site to store . When the sales associate opened the box to reveal the contents "I WAS SOMEWHAT DISAPPOINTED TO SAY THE LEAST". It was really small and it looked nothing like the one that is shown on the website. I got it home and on the box it says can make 26 lbs of ice in 24 hours. Yea and elephants roost in trees. It didn't make 26 lbs of ice for 3 days I HAD IT RUNNING. Suffice to say I brought it back immediately and got a refund. I guess when you purchase an item like this you should go to the store and make sure it passes the eye test.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigMixx63
Brandywine,Md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/13/2011

Customer review by DecBday

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by DecBday
by DecBday

This is a very good product and the price can not be beat. It will make three sizes of cubes and fills up the basket in a VERY short time.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DecBday
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BAD service from factory NO GOOD
9/17/2013

Customer review by Cajunmusic

1.0 stars 9/17/2013 by Cajunmusic
by Cajunmusic

I gave it a 1 star only because I could not give it negitive stars..........This item is no good. I used it daily, It lasted about 3 months, then would only make 2 ice pieces at a time. I called the number it said to call, and it was someone I could hardly understand, and finally understood that if I would send back to them at a cost of $27 they would look at it and fix. The unit cost $119, and still no promise it would be issue free, Igloo is not where you think it is. I WOULD highly stay away from this product and everything IGLOO makes, as the cost to ship back an item that is still under warranty is not worth the product cost. VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE ICE MAKER AND THE SERVICE AT IGLOO. VERYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY POOR AGAIN STAY AWAY

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cajunmusic
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
totally pleased with this item
7/13/2011

Customer review by tylerdoodle

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by tylerdoodle
by tylerdoodle

The icemaker is quite nice, I do not have space in freezer to keep a lot of ice, so I just turn this on and let it make ice for the day. Any left over I put in plastic bags and put it in the freezer for later on. I am very pleased with the quality of this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tylerdoodle
Greensboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/15/2011

Customer review by gmutter

5.0 stars 11/15/2011 by gmutter
by gmutter

My 83 yr old mother's ice maker broke but the fridge was still going strong. I ordered this for her and it was very quick and easy to unbox and set up, took less than 30 minutes. She adds water and has all the ice she needs. It looks great on her cabinet. I highly recommend this appliance.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gmutter
Sheridan, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/20/2012

Customer review by Daz175

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Daz175
by Daz175

Had a bigger one that broke after 2 years. Ordered this and when I saw it I thought this is too small to do anything...wrong, it is an ice making machine! (Especially if you start with cold water). Great for the price!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daz175
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great!
6/14/2012

Customer review by TXTRAVELBUG

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by TXTRAVELBUG
by TXTRAVELBUG

We've had this product for 2 weeks and have been using it in our RV. It works great. We have plenty of ice when needed. Sleek and contemporary looking. Ice cubes have no after taste (just be sure to follow the pre-use cleaning instructions)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXTRAVELBUG
SAN ANTONIO,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews