Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 37 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Just needs a bigger CO2 tank
9/30/2012

Customer review by LVchief

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by LVchief
by LVchief

Great kegerator for the money. Quality parts especially the dual gage CO2 regulator, you usually have to pay extra for something like this. My only complaint is the smaller than normal CO2 tank. Most set ups come with a 5 pound tank, this one comes with a 2.5 pound tank. Easy fix, buy a 5 pound tank from a local store that refills them, but that adds to the overall cost of the unit. I was lucky in that I was replacing a old unit that stopped working. The good news is, a 5 pound tank will fit without any modifications. The two mods I did make were to build my own fan to move colder aire from the bottom of the fridge to the tower where the beer is dipensed and you have to take apart the thermostat to get the fridge cold enough for ice cold beer (35deg in my house). Both mods are easily found online by googling them. http://www.kegkits.com/kegerator5.htm

Was this review helpful? (37) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LVchief
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job, but came from the factory damaged!!!
7/5/2012

Customer review by Millertime77

3.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Millertime77
by Millertime77

I did a lot of research before purchasing this Igloo kegerator. I found that this is the same kegerator as several other models that are sold online. (Avanti, Frosty Keg, Kegermister) This kegerator is made by Curtis Electronics but is sold under several other names and brands all ranging in price. ($600 to $400) Of all the other brands and websites I could find this was the lowest price kegerator I could find anywhere. Walmart.com. ($355.00) Site to store saved me about $100.00 on shipping. The kegerator does the job after making a small adjustment to the thermostat to lower the overall temperature of the kegerator. (38 degrees to 32 degrees) information about this adjustment can be found on Walmart.com and Youtube. When you setup this kegerator, look for the Frosty Keg Kegerator setup video on Youtube. It is Sooooo much better than the written directions that come with this kegerator. I only problem I had was figuring out how to adjust the air pressure gauge. (Remember to loosen the VERY small Hex/Allen bolt that is attached to the pressure gauge dial before making any adjustments) The kegerator did come with several small dents on the door and damage the kegerator walls when the jammed the parts inside. Overall I am happy with the purchase. I would have given 5 stars if it would not have been for the damage from the factory.

Was this review helpful? (50) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Millertime77
Abingdon, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beware
10/21/2013

Customer review by Customer2135

1.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Customer2135
by Customer2135

From day one when I received the unit the cooling was inadequate. I kept getting foamy beer and finally figured out the regulator was also bad. Curtis International has the warranty and all parts and labor are covered for one year. Ha joke on me - they have no parts and do not fix parts. They wanted me to return the entire unit to them to be fixed at my cost??!! Approximately $80. The regulator sells online for $50. The unit was poor workmanship and the warranty is a joke.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer2135
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Pain to set up
2/17/2012

Customer review by Michiganshopper41

3.0 stars 2/17/2012 by Michiganshopper41
by Michiganshopper41

Product works well once completely set up (C02 pressure lock on valves doesn't lock as well as it should, had to keep readjusting for a week). But-O ring for the neck was too thick, had to modify it to get the pieces to combine (base and pour neck). Shipped with a 2.5# c02 tank, no one within 5 hours of here exchanges these. I had to purchase a larger tank (5#, ~$50) that i can exchange now (granted, 8 kegs' worth of c02 for $10-$12 refill is pretty good). It is a reliable product now that it is set up, i just expected to receive something i could put together following the instructions, get the tank filled, and attach a keg-It took some work.

Was this review helpful? (60) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michiganshopper41
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product but...,
2/18/2012

Customer review by Jaymann55

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by Jaymann55
by Jaymann55

Love this item but one thing, almost nobody fills the 2.5 pound co2 canisters... Only a buddy in the fire existingshure business could fill it for me..

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaymann55
Erie, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Read other reviews
12/25/2015

Customer review by Dave

1.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Dave
by Dave

Ok, I should have better investigated before purchase. The CO2 bottle is too small and you have to take apart the thermostat to get cold beer. Foe $400.00 I did not want to have to play with it and maybe get it working. It was returned to the store the same day it arrived.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great for me.
8/15/2012

Customer review by Jetdad

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Jetdad
by Jetdad

Had a little trouble setting the spicket on top, but a little vegtable oil on the gasket fixed that. After reading other reviews, I made sure all of the connections were tight. I've had no leaks. Beer stays plenty cold. Brother tipped me off to run the line close to one of the walls to keep it colder.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jetdad
Edmond OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ok for the money.
12/9/2015

Customer review by rickidoo

3.0 stars 12/9/2015 by rickidoo
by rickidoo

pick up at store, look ok. got it out of box , had factory scratch on front door been drop on left rear bottom, had to shim caster 1/2 inch to get level . over all it works ok for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rickidoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for beginner
4/5/2012

Customer review by roberts5898

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by roberts5898
by roberts5898

Overall wonderfull!! Just wish it would get a little colder with a keg in it, it only gets about 43 degrees would like at least 40 but overall great

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roberts5898
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Unit, but Needs a Thermostat Modification
9/16/2013

Customer review by Everydude

4.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Everydude
by Everydude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Unit arrived in two days in perfect condition a week ago. I looked at a variety of websites, and found this unit to be the best value for a lower priced beverage frig. Many of the other reviewers confirmed that their research also showed this unit to be the best value available. There is a significant design defect in this unit however; per the manufacturer, Curtis International, this unit is designed for a minimum operating temperature of 45 degrees. Personally, I prefer to serve my beverages at quite a bit lower temperature. I read some reviews that stated there is an easy way to adjust the thermostat and watched a youtube video on the subject for another brand. After messing around with the thermostat for a few days, with no success, I called the manufacturer and found out that this frig is simply not designed for cool enough temperatures. I bought an STC-1000 electronic temperature controller ($18 + shipping) and wired it up to replace the factory thermostat. My frig is now set at 35 degrees and is working like a champ. An even simpler solution, I discovered while modifying my unit, would have been to simply move the temperature sensor that is taped to the coldest part of the frig by the manufacturer. I did not experiment with this method, but moving the sensor should dramatically lower the operating temperature. The factory position for this sensor is in contact with the cooling element; once moved from that location, the sensor would indicate a lot higher temperature causing the compressor to run a lot more. Last point, you can buy a frig thermometer at Walmart for six bucks to verify that you are attaining your desired temp with this frig.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Everydude
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price but can't get it to work!
8/17/2013

Customer review by WVU2012

3.0 stars 8/17/2013 by WVU2012
by WVU2012

When we picked up this item at Wal-Mart the front door was dented. We were going to return the item however my dad loved it so much he said he would cover the dent up with a magnet because at the time they were out of stock. For the past 3 months, we have not been able to get this kegerator to work. We can not get good settings on the pressure and all we get is foam. Can anyone share what the exact numbers should be on the gages because all we keep geting is foam. We have tried to changes seals because the instructions booklet was misleading on what seal to place where. We have tried several different pressure numbers but still a no go :( Please let me know if you have any recommendations because this has just been one nightmare after another....Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WVU2012
Fairmont, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
OK Item, but keeps arriving damaged
5/24/2012

Customer review by user6849

2.0 stars 5/24/2012 by user6849
by user6849

For the value, this item seems like a winner. But, the item is being shipped out damaged. It's not during shipping, but the front door is dented BEFORE it is boxed up. I sent the first one back, and the replacement had the same dented door problem. The second replacement is on it's way, and I hope it is OK, as I do not want a refund. I just want a non damaged unit to be shipped. If you want to deal with the head ache of getting two or three replacements sent out, go ahead and order. If you want the satisfaction of buying a reliable unit the first time, look at another product/retailer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
user6849
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
bad experience.
1/2/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/2/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 2 kegoraters. The first one was making an awful whinning sound when I first plugged it in. I called Igloo they said to wait 8 hours and plug it in. I waited and it made the same horrible noise. I took it back to store and got a refund. My husband was really bummed about it so I ordered another one.....same exact model but no longer on sale for 50 dollars more. Well, I came home from work 4 days later and the box was sitting sideways crooked on my front porch. My husband opened it and there was a huge giant dent on the front door. He was upset. I told him to take it back. it was a sign from above that he didn't need a kegerator.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Deer Park, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Box arrived all torn.
5/28/2012

Customer review by MeFromPennsylvania

3.0 stars 5/28/2012 by MeFromPennsylvania
by MeFromPennsylvania

Product shipped to store Fedex. Box looked like it had been tossed around, dragged around, very dirty. Opened box carefully, and tested the unit. Cools to about 38 degrees. Checked dimensions. Will fit a 1/2 keg and a 5 pound co2 cylinder. Refrigerator door seal was bent and does not seal. Will return for another one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeFromPennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No replacement parts
1/4/2016

Customer review by NoParts

3.0 stars 1/4/2016 by NoParts
by NoParts

This item, along with many Igloo kegerators offered by Wal-Mart, are already discontinued by the manufacturer. If you lose a part, you will not be able to get a replacement. If you are looking to purchase an Igloo kegerator, look the item up on the manufacturer's website: www.curtisint.com. I lost the beer tower hole plug during transport and I can not find a replacement anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoParts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not get cold enough
12/28/2012

Customer review by Ryan1234

2.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Ryan1234
by Ryan1234
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We recieved it in great condition and it was easy enough to put together but we were unable to get the temperature inside the cooler to lower than 47 degrees F.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ryan1234
Amarillo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Item arrived damaged from store.
12/26/2012

Customer review by alltaurus

2.0 stars 12/26/2012 by alltaurus
by alltaurus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item was dented in several places. Hard to asemble.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alltaurus
Haymarket, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets the job done if you can set it up
12/13/2012

Customer review by SportingKCfan

3.0 stars 12/13/2012 by SportingKCfan
by SportingKCfan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you can figure out how to set it up then the kegerator is great. The instructions are worthless. It will say look at picture A on page 6. Umm... there is no picture A on page 6, there is on like page 18 that is blurry and useless. Most of the instructions are like that. This is a first time kegerator for a non-first time owner. Luckily I had help from some friends who own a kegerator of their own. Even they were baffled for awhile but its up and running and works great. I gave it 3 stars only due to the setup instructions, the Value, the fact that beer comes out, durability and appearance are all good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SportingKCfan
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Value!
6/20/2012

Customer review by beerguydave

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by beerguydave
by beerguydave

This is an excellent unit especially for the money! I had a small issue with the over-pressure valve on the CO2 tank leaking but was easily fixed by snugging it up 1/16 of a turn (after I lost half a bottle though). I would recommend checking all the fittings for tightness before use, which may be recommended in the operating manual but who reads that?... Durability and Appearance took a little hit because the front of the unit had a dent (or wave?) in the door when i recieved it, looks like it happened durring shipping but being a unit for the garage it wasn't worth returning or the hassle.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beerguydave
Memphis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/19/2012

Customer review by steelerfan671

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by steelerfan671
by steelerfan671
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Door was damaged on arrival. The box it came in was not damaged,but the kegerator door was. Had to be that way when it was shipped from the manufacturer. I can`t blame walmart for that. The 2 air guages are as cheap as you could get,but when you buy the lowest price kegerator,that`s what to expect. Temperature stays at around 35 degrees,so I`m happy with that. The 2.5 lb. air tank is just too small,but I knew what to expect when I bought it. Overall,except for the dented door,I got pretty much what I expected. For the price,I`d say it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steelerfan671
Western,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews