Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1015 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

1015 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

1015 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
450
4 stars
228
3 stars
79
2 stars
54
1 stars
204
1-20 of 847 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 847 total reviews
1-20 of 847 reviews
Super cold-Good quality-Great value
9/1/2012

Customer review by SteveOne

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by SteveOne
by SteveOne

Hi. I read various mini-fridge reviews (including Consumer Reports), and chose the Igloo 3.2 because of price, convenience (I could pick it up at our local Walmart with free shipping), and customer reviews said it got COLD. Also, there didn't seem to be many "broken, dented, or dead after two weeks" reviews, which is a big plus for durability/reliability. It's a hassle having to return a 70-pound item for exchange, and I definitely didn't want to be bothered, so that's important! I ordered it online on 8/3 (Friday night at 9pm) and it was ready to be picked up at our local Walmart on 8/10 (the next Friday), even though the delivery window was up to 8/16. That's FAST delivery for a heavy object. I strongly recommend picking it up personally at the store, where it comes from the Walmart warehouse standing upright (the Freon needs to settle to the bottom if you still have to tilt it to get it home. I had to put it on the side to fit my 4Runner SUV, but left it in the box upright overnight and it ran fine. Home delivery is by third parties, and a lot of damage seems to occur in the process, which is why I don't recommend it. The Igloo 3.2 is very well designed, and holds a LOT of stuff. The separate freezer compartment is relatively large and efficient. Aside from minor fingerprints showing on the black exterior, which are easily wiped off, the white interior is easy to clean. DETAILS AND OBSERVATIONS... TEMPERATURE: Internet research recommends 40 degrees food section, about 28 degrees freezer. I checked multiple times with a digital thermometer and my Dad's good old 50 year old mechanical thermometer. End result: I suggest putting the thermostat (there's only one) at 5 to 5.5, which gives the food section about 38-40 degrees (perfect). However, the first time I checked the freezer, I had to look twice in amazement. Zero degrees. That's Farenheit NOT CENTIGRADE. Water freezes at 32 degrees F. so we are talking SUB-ZERO. That's cold, which is very important if the power goes off. It will keep the whole fridge cold for a long time. POWER CONSUMPTION: I have a very useful "Kill-A-Watt" power meter ($30) which I can plug anything into to see what the gadgets draw and what they cost. The "Energy Guide" says "$22 estimated yearly operating cost." Wrong. Here are the figures: after 335 hours continuous use, 75 watts/1.43 amps/170va (great for a mini-generator during a storm, plus it will stay cold a long time without power), .44pf, COST@$0.110kwh: 20 cents a day, $1.45/week, $6.25/month, $76.12/year. OTHER USEFUL INFO: There is an "ON-OFF" switch next to the light on the thermostat. There is NO EXPLANATION anywhere that I can find for what it does. However, if you look at the circuit diagram on the back of the fridge, it appears to manually control a heating element which conceivably helps defrost the freezer. I really haven't seen much of a frost problem so far after 3 weeks, which says a lot for the door seals not letting moisture in. I suggest leaving the switch OFF unless you want to experiment. Frost only appears (so far) at the back of the food and freezer compartments. The compressor piping protrudes about an inch from the back, and the compressor gets HOT, so you will want to leave a few inches behind the fridge for clearance and ventilation. Finally, there appears to be an indentation at the back of the food compartment to catch melting ice water, which is plugged up. If it were open, the water would theoretically drain into a hot pan on top of the compressor and evaporate, but I don't know if the factory decided against it for electrical safety reasons. Summary: great refrigerator so far. I strongly recommend the additional WalMart 3-Year extended warranty for $25, so if/when it breaks or the compressor burns out in a few years...NEW REFRIGERATOR ! That's it for now, hope this helps. Stevie B.

Was this review helpful? (732) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveOne
Tarpon Springs Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great Fridge
4/20/2011

Customer review by ibpoorgirl

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by ibpoorgirl
by ibpoorgirl

I bought this fridge to go in my tackroom at the stables where I keep my horse. The best thing about this unit is the size of the freezer, larger enough to hold a 7lb bag of ice. The doors are reversible and when the unit's thermostat is set between 6 and 7 everything stays nice and cold in the fridge and frozen in the freezer.

Was this review helpful? (554) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ibpoorgirl
Bakersfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
good value
4/23/2011

Customer review by southernsnow

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by southernsnow
by southernsnow

was a lil upset that delivery was late but was happy with product...think others that have issues need to remember to let it sit upright for at least 12 hrs before plugging in...just a fyi...24 hrs best but 12 works!

Was this review helpful? (281) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
southernsnow
Gilmer.TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I am very happy with product
3/21/2011

Customer review by dgvikes

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by dgvikes
by dgvikes

The product does everything I need the cooling unit works great and it was easy to handle and move once I received it I would recommend it to anyone who needs a small fridge.

Was this review helpful? (151) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dgvikes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Replaced A Haier With This Fridge
10/23/2012

Customer review by frescapop

5.0 stars 10/23/2012 by frescapop
by frescapop

I purchased this fridge/freezer to replace a similar Haier model that failed after only one month. I almost replaced the Haier with a Black and Decker, but they are the same unit with different branding. This Igloo model is made by a different manufacturer*, so I am hoping for better quality. So far, it is much quieter and seems to be better quality. The door on the Igloo is not reversible, but I can deal with that. The freezer section is also smaller but it will still fit a nice stack of Hungryman dinners nicely. I don't think the description says it has a light, but it does. I have attached some pictures of the unit I received. Also, it doesn't look identical to the one for sale online (mine has an Igloo logo on it). So far, I am really liking this unit. If it craps out on me, I will be sure to update this review. *One of the things I used to determine it was made by a different manufacturer was the Energy Guide. The Black and Decker and Haier had identical energy guides. The Igloo was much different with regard to energy use specifications. When I actually received the unit, I noticed the compressor is very different from the Haier. It is definitely a different model and is probably made by a different manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (161) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frescapop
Ogden, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!!!
4/21/2011

Customer review by Jaggyspot

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by Jaggyspot
by Jaggyspot

I love my Igloo fridge. It may be small but it holds alot and I use it everyday. My co-workers envy me having it and those who have their own all say they would rather have one like mine. Best purchase I've made to date.

Was this review helpful? (128) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaggyspot
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/28/2011

Customer review by CynCat

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by CynCat
by CynCat

Nice refrigerator/freezer, especially the seperate freezer compartment. Freezer also has a nice size, will fit TV dinners and ice cream. Bought for a dorm room, fits perfectly without compromising on quality. Glass shelves and crisper.

Was this review helpful? (69) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CynCat
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome!!!
5/29/2011

Customer review by mmarquez101010

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by mmarquez101010
by mmarquez101010

well i was very skeptical about buying this product. but i am truly happy with it. i have a gallon of water in the fridge and the water began to freeze at the highest level in the fridge. and i have a bag of ice in the freezer and its still ice :) i also bought a half gallon of ice cream to see if it would melt and it didnt. i have a lot of little things in freezer including about 5lbs of ice and everything is still frozen. and in the fridge everything is still nice and cold. :) would recommend. i bought it and had it sent to the walmart store in my city and it is pretty heavy had trouble putting it in my car but it fit. would recommend shipping to home unless you have a truck to haul it in. :)

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmarquez101010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst Nightmare EVER!
9/3/2012

Customer review by Looking4SalesNOW

1.0 stars 9/3/2012 by Looking4SalesNOW
by Looking4SalesNOW

Do not buy, Igloo license name to Canadian company that does not honor warranty and takes months to get back with you. Working with walmart for a resolution.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Looking4SalesNOW
Miami Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Broke within 5 months
5/17/2012

Customer review by nikabear

1.0 stars 5/17/2012 by nikabear
by nikabear

I purchased this fridge in October 2011 and in April 2012 it had broken. Basically, one day the fridge stopped cooling. It would click on for about 20 seconds and then click right off. Since it was past Walmart's 90 day return policy, I chose to attempt to investigate the warranty. The warranty people told me that I had to first plug it into another wall outlet for 24 hours. It didn't work, so they told me to mail the fridge to them in Chicago-their headquarters-and they would either repair it or replace it. The cost to mail it to their Chicago location: $167. Fortunately, I work at a university that has a refrigeration program. They learned that the start winder burnt out and it couldn't be repaired, so rather than spend $167, I'll just have to purchase another (different) fridge. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nikabear
Canton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Igloo Fridge/Freezer
5/23/2011

Customer review by Destiny61884

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by Destiny61884
by Destiny61884

I love this product! The freezer holds quite. More than I expected from a mini fridge/freezer. The refrigerator holds alot as well. I am truly pleased. When I unpacked and set this up, it worked immediately, cooling quickly and freezing ice within 1hour! I LOVE the seperate freezer AND the crisper in the refrigerator. This igloo looks good and performs well. I give it 5 stars. Great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Destiny61884
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Truly a smaller version of full size freezer/frig
1/25/2012

Customer review by LoonMoose

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by LoonMoose
by LoonMoose

I needed a fully functioning fridge/freezer without compromising anything other than size after moving into a new office building with no nearby clean water supply, grocery, food marts or fast food places. Reviews led me to believe that this one was it since the freezer didn't quickly ice up and could hold 1/2 bag of ice plus. So true! I do keep 1/2 bag of ice in the freezer plus up to 6 frozen meals. When I used the ice tray to make ice, the freezer did start icing so I buy ice now and the icing stopped. The freezer keeps everything frozen. The fridge door is rather useless for me because I keep small bottles of ketchup, mustard, mayo and salad dressings in it - all of which fall off the door. I use store bought drink canisters to store a quart each of water and iced tea plus a 1/2 gallon of milk - all of which fit fine. The top shelf in the fridge is where I've laid down my condiment bottles and it is only about 3 inches tall so its somewhat limited. The fridge keeps eveything nice and cold. (I only wish the holders on the door were solid instead of wires) When it arrived it had obviously been opened and the cardboard attached to & protecting the back of the unit was punctured but not enough to damage anything else so I decided to keep it pending operational issues (of which there were none). I didn't want to spend any more money than was necessary and the prices of other units were more appealing but in retrospect this was worth every cent more, particularly since I got exactly what I wanted - without compromise.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoonMoose
West Palm Beach FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the features, but this just wasn't reliable
8/7/2012

Customer review by BrianKCMO

1.0 stars 8/7/2012 by BrianKCMO
by BrianKCMO

I bought this refrigerator a month and a half ago and wanted to wait a while before reviewing it so I could see how it would perform over time. I love that it has a separate freezer and the light inside the refrigerator is nice too. What I didn't like was the fact that yesterday I woke up and the refrigerator was 65 degrees and everything in the freezer was thawed out and had to be thrown away. Dragging this back up to wal mart was a chore and I just got a refund and will buy another brand. I would NOT recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrianKCMO
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More than we expected
5/17/2011

Customer review by DesertLizzard

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by DesertLizzard
by DesertLizzard

We are quite pleased. It is much more than we expected and very roomy. We bought it for our Apartment that our oldest son lives in and is so much nicer than the one we'd had in there. The freezer is very nice and can hold so much. We are very happy with it and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesertLizzard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
10/3/2013

Customer review by Betta4u

4.0 stars 10/3/2013 by Betta4u
by Betta4u

I have used this product for almost 10 months. It has been just what I wanted. I picked it up from the store and got it in my SUV no problem. The freezer and refrigerator is the right size for the purpose intended. I like the can rack. It has a "fresh" department and shelves. I use it mostly for water, fruit cups, dairy products and snacks that need to be refrigerated. It fits well with my microwave that sits on top. I think I switched the mystery "on - off" button to on and it started to make ice in the inside of the refrigerator and them melt down and leak out. I read some reviews and decided that it was helping to defrost so I will let you know about this. It only started about two weeks ago. The freezer keeps ice cream and ice frozen solid. I would buy it again and recommend if for a small space or a place where you just want private access to your own "food".

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Betta4u
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware of Warranty
6/5/2013

Customer review by RonCandy

1.0 stars 6/5/2013 by RonCandy
by RonCandy

Purchased this regrigerator for my college daughter. She had it for about eight months, then it stopped keeping items cold and frozen. I have had no luck from the company about repairs or replacement. The company informed me that we need to ship the product to Texas, paying for shipping to&from plus $7 handling fee. When I investigated to see if this was a feasible option, I discover it will cost more for me to ship it to Texas than to purchase her a new one.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RonCandy
savannah,ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
NO CUSTOMER SERVICE
4/2/2014

Customer review by 1972xlh

1.0 stars 4/2/2014 by 1972xlh
by 1972xlh

Bought this fridge a few mos ago for the office because it had a separate freezer. Followed the instructions to a T and at first was very happy. It will make ice if you put trays in it. But you better use trays ONLY because the ice, and anything else in the freezer defrosts completely on its own every weekend. By the time I return on Monday everything has clearly melted and refrozen. I put a bowl of ice cubes in it to make sure and by Monday it was a bowl of frozen water. So I looked for the paperwork. The warranty is only good for 90 days and you have to pay to ship it! I could just have a tech come for all that price and hassle. Also, their is no email address to contact the MFGR. What year is this? Save your money and shop elsewhere or at minimum buy the overpriced extended warranty because it will likely not work right out of the box. Overall, this unit is a HUGE disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1972xlh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
returning after 2 weeks
3/27/2012

Customer review by georgie94

1.0 stars 3/27/2012 by georgie94
by georgie94

When we got it and plugged it in we let it sit over night before putting anything in it, when we woke up the next morning it had ice inside so we turned down the temperature and put popsicles in the freezer, apple juice and soda in the fridge. We waited the whole day and the popsicles got as cold as they should if i had put them in the fridge instead of the freezer and the soda and juice were still warm ( we didnt turn the temperature down very much) so we turned the temperature back up to the max setting and nothing happened the soda and juice may have gotten a little colder but not enough to say the fridge was working and the popsicles remained the same so i am returning this product today after 2 weeks of owning it.. very disappointed :/

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
georgie94
Lewiston, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shiny black Nightmare!!!!
11/7/2013

Customer review by Mstennac

1.0 stars 11/7/2013 by Mstennac
by Mstennac

I bought one for my daughter's dorm. It lasted 2 semesters, before condensation froze on the back wall. At this point, the fridge heats up and you lose everything you had in it. I bought the walmart extended warranty. This is well worth it! I called and got an extremely nice rep....all I had to do was take the bar code that was emailed to me to UPS to scan. The following day, I received the credit in full for the fridge....and I got to keep the fridge (not that it's usable). Bought fridge #2 (same model). Took it to her dorm, waited 4 hrs as instructed......after 2 days....fridge is still warm. The condenser is cycling on and off....but won't cool. I don't know if the problem is with the product itself or if some where between the warehouse shipping and the store....they are being tossed around. Going tomorrow for fridge #3, but it will be a different brand. If it doesn't work, then we will know who to blame. (Shipping and warehouse).

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mstennac
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome product
4/10/2011

Customer review by scl31

4.0 stars 4/10/2011 by scl31
by scl31

We bought this mini frig for our area in a warehouse and it fits perfectly. We keep cold cuts, soda cans, yogurts and all sorts of things in there. The freezer can hold up to about frozen dinners. The black color keeps it out of sight as well. The best surprise is the inside light! Most mini's don't have this feature. We did give it a 4 star only because of slight icing in the freezer but it is probably due to not being opened all weekend. Otherwise this is a fantastic value!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scl31
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 847 total reviews
1-20 of 847 reviews