Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.7out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 | 1196 reviews
5 stars
563
4 stars
259
3 stars
95
2 stars
57
1 stars
222
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1028 reviews
1-20 of 1028 reviews
Replaced A Haier With This Fridge
10/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this fridge/freezer to replace a similar Haier model that failed after only one month. I almost replaced the Haier with a Black and Decker, but they are the same unit with different branding. This Igloo model is made by a different manufacturer*, so I am hoping for better quality. So far, it is much quieter and seems to be better quality. The door on the Igloo is not reversible, but I can deal with that. The freezer section is also smaller but it will still fit a nice stack of Hungryman dinners nicely. I don't think the description says it has a light, but it does. I have attached some pictures of the unit I received. Also, it doesn't look identical to the one for sale online (mine has an Igloo logo on it). So far, I am really liking this unit. If it craps out on me, I will be sure to update this review. *One of the things I used to determine it was made by a different manufacturer was the Energy Guide. The Black and Decker and Haier had identical energy guides. The Igloo was much different with regard to energy use specifications. When I actually received the unit, I noticed the compressor is very different from the Haier. It is definitely a different model and is probably made by a different manufacturer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (426)No (59)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What Are Some of You Complaining About?
11/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Had the item shipped Site to Store to avoid damage. The unit had some scuffs, and the hinges were not quite aligned right; but after spending several hours, I cleaned the unit and got the hinges the way I wanted, so the door would seal properly. I also ground the end of a plastic piece, so the door would snap closed properly. (Even a “new” product requires some setup and several hours of patience.) This fridge keeps things cool at the 3 setting, is quiet, and works just fine!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (101)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HORRIBLE
8/10/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just bought this fridge and have never even used it. It's going back! The tape to hold the doors shut doesn't come off. There is a protective plastic coating that doesn't come off easily and you can't get it out from under the trim work - it ends up all jaggedy. It looks horrible. I am sure my model is used. The bottom is rusty and has corroded white stuff all over it. And the plastic coating on the top freezer door was already removed. The Efficiency tag left something stuck all over the freezer door as well that does not come off - left marks behind. Horrible experience. I would love to know how the rest of you got the plastic off of it. I have attached pics.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (103)No (87)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Arrived with damage
12/24/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Not sure yet how I like...Its making some noise...could be because it arrived damaged. Guess I will find out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (51)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good little fridge
6/2/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It came in great shape and works fantastic. The only issue I see is that online it is advertised as only consuming as average of $22 electric per year but the actual sticker on the fridge says $38 per year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works perfect!
12/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It was an excellent price and it works great for what we needed it for. We made a little breakfast bar at home for guests... the fridge keeps the drinks very cold. We've also used the freezer to keep ice cream bars and frozen breakfast items and the freezer works great also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Delivered in Excellent Condition
8/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
By reading some of the reviews, here in Walmart.com, I was worried that my Igloo might have some wear and tear during the delivery, but my refrigerator was delivered in perfect condition of both the freezer and refrigerator are cool enough to keep my food fresh. I would recommend this for any student living in dorm rooms.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not too shabby
2/3/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Got it for my room. Not much space in the fridge because the shelves are spaced quite strange. I had to take out the veggie bin to be able to use a littttttttle more space, lol. It works well and i love the freeze being separate. I just wish it had a separate temp controller for it :( It came in absolute perfect condition. No dings ANYWHERE, so maybe I'm a lucky one, based on reviews, lol. So far I'm satisfied.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Damaged
9/13/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Although it is working for now... it came with a gouge in the freezer door. I obviously should have taken it out of the box in the store. It is disappointing to have a new product damaged already.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Its a good item for the price I paid for
6/17/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This item it working perfectly for the price I paid for, unfortunately it come with a little bump on the front door due to the handling process, why not sending it back you may ask , well I was in a real need of it and as long as it works well don't mind that. Overall I'm happy with its working perfectly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Compact Fridge with seperate freezer
8/29/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The fridge came with the energy efficient sticker on the front freezer door. Baked into the paint of the door. Can not get completely get off!!!!!!!!!! Unless you want a fridge with bumper stickers on it dont buy! Otherwise it does work really good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dented
3/21/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Don't know if it left the store like this or if it was damaged when it was delivered!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Shiny black Nightmare!!!!
11/7/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought one for my daughter's dorm. It lasted 2 semesters, before condensation froze on the back wall. At this point, the fridge heats up and you lose everything you had in it. I bought the walmart extended warranty. This is well worth it! I called and got an extremely nice rep....all I had to do was take the bar code that was emailed to me to UPS to scan. The following day, I received the credit in full for the fridge....and I got to keep the fridge (not that it's usable). Bought fridge #2 (same model). Took it to her dorm, waited 4 hrs as instructed......after 2 days....fridge is still warm. The condenser is cycling on and off....but won't cool. I don't know if the problem is with the product itself or if some where between the warehouse shipping and the store....they are being tossed around. Going tomorrow for fridge #3, but it will be a different brand. If it doesn't work, then we will know who to blame. (Shipping and warehouse).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (77)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Third Time's a Charm
10/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After having to return two BRAND NEW mini fridges (because they were cheaply made and the way they shipped them in ruined them, but that's a different story.) I finally decided to look for one more. I decided Igloo was a good brand so it would be my last resort after having to pay for two fridges and return them. I was at the point where if this fridge wouldn't work, I would give up. Well, this arrived at my Wal-Mart of choice from Site-to-Store. I was so excited. After we picked it up, we lugged it upstairs into my room, and left it to sit for 4 days. When we returned, we plugged it in, and sure enough, after only an hour or so, it was running well. The drinks were cold and it made ice. I was so pleased. I finally had a mini fridge that worked! It is still running well right now, and I am actually sitting across from it as I write this review. I recommend this 100% and the price was great and I am just so pleased with this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice size but did not last long
11/11/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really liked the size of the refrigerator and the freezer compartment had a lot of space for the size of the unit. However, after only having it for two months the refrigerator stopped cooling and I had to return it. Also, I ordered it online and had it delivered to the store. When I got it home and unwrapped it I saw that the top of the refrigerator was dented in with slight damage to the paint. I don't know if this happened before or during shipping but it's very irritating to receive a slightly damaged brand new appliance. I figured I could live with it though and decided not to return it immediately. I also had a hard time removing the protective film covering the entire unit. I could not get it off in some places. I don't recommend ordering this product. However, if you do, you should keep all of your receipts and the packaging for at least 90 days in case you need to return it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (57)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not the same item # as pictured.
5/20/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It arrived on time and with no noticeable dents or scratches. Also had no problems removing the tape or the protective plastic. The issue that I do have is that I ordered the FR832I Black-C that is pictured with the 4 can holder and the full width door shelf, but received the FR832I-E-Black with the 6 can holder and the half width door shelf. Not a big deal to some , but I specifically wanted the 4 can holder so that there was a little more area on the door that is usable for something other than cans. Also the unit shipped to me does not come with the scraper for the freezer that others have mentioned and this unit seems to be slightly less efficient at 321 kWh/year than the one pictured at 206 kWh/year. Again not a huge deal but just making sure people know in case any of those things are a deal breaker for some. Evidently the model pictured isn't in production or has sold out and has been replaced with this slightly different model. I thought about sending it back because of the can holder being 6 instead of 4 but my daughter said she would be fine with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product
10/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used this product for almost 10 months. It has been just what I wanted. I picked it up from the store and got it in my SUV no problem. The freezer and refrigerator is the right size for the purpose intended. I like the can rack. It has a "fresh" department and shelves. I use it mostly for water, fruit cups, dairy products and snacks that need to be refrigerated. It fits well with my microwave that sits on top. I think I switched the mystery "on - off" button to on and it started to make ice in the inside of the refrigerator and them melt down and leak out. I read some reviews and decided that it was helping to defrost so I will let you know about this. It only started about two weeks ago. The freezer keeps ice cream and ice frozen solid. I would buy it again and recommend if for a small space or a place where you just want private access to your own "food".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NO CUSTOMER SERVICE
4/2/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this fridge a few mos ago for the office because it had a separate freezer. Followed the instructions to a T and at first was very happy. It will make ice if you put trays in it. But you better use trays ONLY because the ice, and anything else in the freezer defrosts completely on its own every weekend. By the time I return on Monday everything has clearly melted and refrozen. I put a bowl of ice cubes in it to make sure and by Monday it was a bowl of frozen water. So I looked for the paperwork. The warranty is only good for 90 days and you have to pay to ship it! I could just have a tech come for all that price and hassle. Also, their is no email address to contact the MFGR. What year is this? Save your money and shop elsewhere or at minimum buy the overpriced extended warranty because it will likely not work right out of the box. Overall, this unit is a HUGE disappointment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Broke within 5 months
5/17/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this fridge in October 2011 and in April 2012 it had broken. Basically, one day the fridge stopped cooling. It would click on for about 20 seconds and then click right off. Since it was past Walmart's 90 day return policy, I chose to attempt to investigate the warranty. The warranty people told me that I had to first plug it into another wall outlet for 24 hours. It didn't work, so they told me to mail the fridge to them in Chicago-their headquarters-and they would either repair it or replace it. The cost to mail it to their Chicago location: $167. Fortunately, I work at a university that has a refrigeration program. They learned that the start winder burnt out and it couldn't be repaired, so rather than spend $167, I'll just have to purchase another (different) fridge. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (85)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Failed within 1 month
6/6/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Maybe I got a defective one, but in less than 1 month this unit failed, and the food in it spoiled. I set it up as per instructions, even waiting 2 days before plugging it in, to make sure it was upright long enough. Not sure if we lost power for a minute or what happened but it just stopped working, and the food stunk up our office. I had to clean the fridge, and I followed the troubleshooting instructions (which are sparse), but it just didn't work again. The light inside works but does not get cold in the fridge OR in the freezer. Thankfully Walmart will take it back, even without the box which is long gone. Never had a bad experience otherwise with Walmart, and again they have a great return policy. IF you get one that works for a long time, it's a great buy, but beware it might not last very long, so look into better brands.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640667, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-