Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 690 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

690 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

690 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
372
4 stars
168
3 stars
36
2 stars
21
1 stars
93
1-20 of 592 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 592 total reviews
1-20 of 592 reviews
Functions as advertised
5/27/2014

Customer review by Rprife69

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Rprife69
by Rprife69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pretty cool machine and a good price compared to similar brands. Works perfect for a family of 2-3. More than that and the ice making speed would not be able to catch up. I would recommend this product where a fridge with an ice maker is not possible. My wife is lazy and never refills the ice trays to put back in the freezer. This product is perfect for a man who loves ice and has a lazy roommate or significant other.

Was this review helpful? (48) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rprife69
Manassas Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great ice maker for camping trips and parties.
7/2/2013

Customer review by kampmom

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by kampmom
by kampmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This ice maker is exactly what we expected it to be from the reviews we read online. This works great for making ice for drinks and your cooler while camping. The only thing we have noticed is the two ice settings small and large make almost the same size cubes. This may not be ideal for large parties as it may not be able to keep up with producing enough. A batch of ice takes 8 minutes and makes 9 ice cubes. We start making it an hour before we need it and it keeps up just fine. I would reccommend this for anyone who has small parties and for camping trips.

Was this review helpful? (124) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kampmom
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We like it
6/30/2016

Customer review by Penny

4.0 stars 6/30/2016 by Penny
by Penny

My husband and I live in an apartment, and the fridge doesn't have an ice maker. After months of buying 10 lb bags of ice every few days, which is inconvenient, not the mention the space these bags take up in the freezer, we decided to purchase this countertop unit. We are very pleased. Now we always have ice, plus much more room in the freezer. It makes ice very quickly, and though the ice is unusually shaped, who cares? It's cold and that's what matters. this is perfect for the household that has a lazy husband who won't fill ice trays and balks at buying the bags.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Penny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Returning My 3rd One
1/5/2014

Customer review by birdiesan

1.0 stars 1/5/2014 by birdiesan
by birdiesan

3 out of 3 broken. It's not like I keep it in a car or move it around a lot. It sits in an office. The first one broke after 13 months. Just stopped getting cold. The second one broke after just a few months. Plastic piece that moves the basket for making the ice broke. Not even a refrigerator repair man could fix that. Now my third one... 1/3 of the day it works fine, 1/3 of the day it says FULL even though the thing is completely empty so it won't make anymore ice, and 1/3 of the day the movable part inside there is stuck in the back position and just won't move forward unless I reach in and force it with my hand. Support for this is COMPLETELY NON-EXISTENT for this machine. I quickly found that it is not actually made by Igloo so they do not support it. The company that does make it does not answer the phone. Luckily I bought the extended warranty thing for $15 on my 3rd attempt, although I'm not sure how that's working out yet since I can't actually reach a human from there either. When it works, it's great... but it doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? (66) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
birdiesan
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Igloo - works good !
8/16/2011

Customer review by MisterPete

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by MisterPete
by MisterPete

I used it four days inside my tent camper. It made enough ice to keep my 20x12x 12 cooler supplied with ice. It wasnt ever enough to keep it full of ice but I always had enough to keep my stuff cold enough so I didnt need to buy a bag at the camp store. When the Ice bucket is full and the red sensor light comes on just empty the bucket and then hold your warm fingers around the silver sensor prong inside the ice bucket area until the light goes out . About five to 10 seconds. This will quickly reset the sensor without having to turn the power off. I didnt have to add much water maybe twice in four days. I did turn it off at night to keep the noise of the ice being made from disturbing my sleep. In a tent camper, deep in the woods, strange noises in the night will scare the willies out of you. This little puppy didnt leak water, it looks good, small in size to fit your counter top and worked flawlessly. I will not supply a large amount of ice but its not a total disappointment for the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterPete
Port St. Lucie, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
returning it
9/16/2012

Customer review by FairReview22

1.0 stars 9/16/2012 by FairReview22
by FairReview22

Perhaps my expectations were much too high because I am very disappointed in this product. Every 7 minutes 9 thimble sized ice cubes are produced. It takes more than an hour to fill the whole ice basket which is very small. I had to run it for 12 hours to fill my ice cube tub in my freezer. After 3 days of constant running, now its making loud noises and I'm afraid its going to die. Hopefully there is a warranty and I can return it. I believe the product description said it makes 24 lbs of ice in 24 hours. I believe that is true, 22lbs is a large bag of gas station ice so yes, if the machine ran for 24 straight hours then it would make that much. Be aware that you need to empty the ice basket every hour or the ice will melt, also the ice maker stops working once the basket gets full. This would be good if you just wanted a little bit of ice for a few drinks but if you are trying to supply a household with plenty of ice this probably isn't for you. But what's the alternative? I guess going back to buying bags of ice almost daily.

Was this review helpful? (57) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FairReview22
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker
7/21/2016

Customer review by Atch

2.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Atch
by Atch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hoping to use the ice maker for gatherings of 20-25 people for which I need extra ice. Machine makes 10 pieces of ice every 8 minutes. The pieces come off little freezing fingers so they are hollow in the middle -- not solid. Th "large" size is only about an inch long. They are also not as cold as ice from a freezer so when I tried to make some ahead and store in the freezer portion of my refrigerator, about 30 pieces, they all stuck together and I couldn't even break them apart. I didn't try them in a beverage but I imagine they would melt very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Atch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little Ice Maker
1/6/2012

Customer review by rmoorez

4.0 stars 1/6/2012 by rmoorez
by rmoorez
Top 1000 contributor

I purchashed this for my daughter and the Magic Chef for myself. The Igloo is a lot smaller with a smaller reservoir for both Ice and Water. The Igloo is a lot quiter than the Magic Chef and keeps up with her needs. It only has 2 different ice sizes. If I were to purchase another I would get the Magic Chef, even though it makes quit a bit of noise when running, I like the larger Ice bin and the larger water reservoir plus it makes 3 different size cubes. They both work great and I would recommend either. The Igloo has a lot smaller footprint and takes less space and I will probably get one for my motorhome this summer. Both seem to produce the same amount of ice, but if you have a large family and use a lot at a time, I would go with the Magic Chef. If space and noise are an issue then the Igloo. Hopes this review helps in your decision.

Was this review helpful? (423) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rmoorez
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Quit working!
2/26/2013

Customer review by Charlye43

1.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Charlye43
by Charlye43

This machine has the worst design, and the most inconsistent instructions to any machine of any type I have ever used. First it says "never tilt or place ice maker on its side, otherwise you must wait 10 hours for compressor coolant to settle. To ensure cleanliness of the ice cubes, the water in the water storage tank should be replaced every 24 hours." Guess where the drain is located?? UNDER the machine! There is a plastic strip connecting the drain cap to the machine, which becomes twisted taut and stops removal. If this was the only problem, I could live with the restrictions, but, it quickly stopped making ice at all, and despite the storage tank being filled correctly, says to ADD WATER. It grinds and dribbles water, and if the freezer cup is to be full of water, that has to be done manually. Then it stops and says to ADD WATER. I left the unit on a level surface for 6 weeks, and it still will not make ice. It has seen no service since it was purchased for my son for Christmas. Worst purchase yet, and I am 69!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlye43
Hobbs, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the igloo ice maker
7/13/2016

Customer review by itsmeagain

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by itsmeagain
by itsmeagain
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this thing. We use filtered water in it and ice is so fresh and delicious. And it is small enough to fit in my small kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itsmeagain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXTREMELY loud
8/1/2012

Customer review by Lycaon

2.0 stars 8/1/2012 by Lycaon
by Lycaon

I was so excited to get this ordered in. I'm disabled so a daily trip to the store for a bag of ice in this summer's 100+ degree weather is impossible, so when I got this, it was like christmas. My satisfaction was quickly marred by the sheer volume of the water pump in this thing. While it doesn't pump for long, it can be heard clear across the house, and even drowns out the TV volume. Unfortunately, returning this to the manufacturer for repair would cost about $60 in shipping due to the weight, and that's almost half of the price of a brand new one. The water fill light indicator has also failed, and no longer works, so unless I constantly check the reservoir, I have no idea if I need to add more water or not. Overall I am pretty displeased with this. If not for the fact that it can make a cup of ice in 6ish minutes and keep up with the speed that my ice melts (due to the weather) I'd toss this in the garbage and go back to manually freezing cubes in the freezer trays.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lycaon
Kearney, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product for a low cost ice maker
4/7/2014

Customer review by SeasonedGuy

3.0 stars 4/7/2014 by SeasonedGuy
by SeasonedGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

FYI information. When first switched on, the cubes will be smaller than normal for the first couple of cycles; full size form after the unit stabilizes; we use large size. Unit produces 9 cubes every 8 minutes. Filling the basket requires 8 or 9 cycles (9 cubes X 8 minutes X 9 cycles produces 81 cubes @ 72 minutes). To fill a gallon freezer bag will require approximately 4 or 5 baskets (gallon bag of cubes in 5 to 6 hrs). Amount of cubes in basket (cycles) can vary depending on how the cubes "embank" to the point that activates the "icefull" sensor. The times listed here are if you are closely watching for the "icefull" light and maintain the water requirements. There is some noise each time the 9 cubes are dispensed into the basket. To this point we feel the unit does what it was designed to do. If your needs are for more ice, a larger unit would be necessary.

Was this review helpful? (51) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeasonedGuy
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This little icemaker is a gem.
1/27/2014

Customer review by FearlessFirefly

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by FearlessFirefly
by FearlessFirefly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After having given the icemaker a full weekend run...it has proven to be a great purchase. Easy to use, not noisy as described by some reviews. The hum of the motor is similar to that of a quiet refrigerator and the dropping of cubes into the plastic basket is something that you hear when your home ice maker drops cubes...only quieter. The production of cubes met expectations and the machine has a nice look to it. The cubes are created by the water freezing onto several rods thus the shape is cylindrical and about 1/2 inch high each. One guest mentioned that they seemed to melt faster than regular cubes so perhaps best performance is achieved with prechilled drinks. For the weekend experience, I rate this purchase as giving 100 % satisfaction. Hope it works for a long duration because I just bought another for my mom. Delivery from Walmart was fast , affordable and hassle-fee.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FearlessFirefly
Jacksonville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT PURCHASE!!!!!!!
5/7/2014

Customer review by fonegeek76

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by fonegeek76
by fonegeek76

I purchased this Ice maker last year and it only worked for a couple of months. Thankfully I purchased the walmart extended warranty because Igloo isn't actually the manufacturer. They license their name to a company called Curtis International. When I called Curtis, it was immediately apparent that it was an offshore call center, not a problem in itself, but not my preference. In order to repair/replace they insist on an up front insurance fee of $8. They won't even provide a reference number or address to ship the unit too unless you pay up front. Then you also have to pay for shipping. But.... I had purchased the $15 extended warranty from Walmart, and I am getting reimbursed for the full price of the unit, since the manufacturer is so bad. DO NOT PURCHASE

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fonegeek76
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Buy
1/8/2012

Customer review by Choptank98

4.0 stars 1/8/2012 by Choptank98
by Choptank98

I found the unit to be stylish and met my expectations. Prior to purchase, I read reviews by others, which I found to be helpful and kept my expectations in line. I put the unit through several cycles using a vinegar/water solution and never had an issue with the ice tasting like plastic. It truly did start making ice in about 6mins, albeit wet & soft at first. But after I let it run awhile (hour+) the ice was hard and dry. The only "pain", if you will, is having to babysit the unit to keep emptying out the basket, and it's not a very big basket. But, keeping things in perspective, it is marketed as a portable unit, which means one is sacrificing some of the conveniences of built-in automatic ice-makers. It's not an every-day item for us. Our primary usage with be parties and gatherings away from the house.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Choptank98
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
A very useful product.
3/10/2011

Customer review by LuannGranny

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by LuannGranny
by LuannGranny

My husband and I are full time R/Vers. The fridge in the rig we own is small in comparison to fridges in homes. The freezer is very, very small. If you put ice trays in it you have very little room to freeze anything else. With the Igloo ice maker we can get all the ice we want in a short time and do not have to wait more than twelve minutes to have ice. I recommend this product to any one who likes ice in a hurry. We compared several other products but for the cost and the performance of the Igloo you cannot beat it.

Was this review helpful? (368) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuannGranny
Willis, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice ice maker for a two person home.
12/18/2013

Customer review by larroni

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by larroni
by larroni
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We recently purchased a french door refrigerator only to discover the ice maker was extremely slow. We use a lot of ice throughout the day and were running out before evening, so we decided to try a countertop ice maker and see if that would help. After checking online several models at different stores we decided Walmart's price on the Igloo Portable Ice Maker was reasonable and reviews on it were mostly favorable. We have been making ice from day one, after reading some reviewers' suggestion to clean out the Igloo using vinegar water I did that. After making three batches of ice and throwing each one away, I then rinsed the inside throughly, added clean, fresh water and made our first usable batch of ice cubes. We have never experienced a bad smell or taste plus we are very pleased at how quickly we start getting ice. The cubes are small, even set on the large setting, but I am a big ice chewer and I love the size and texture of these cubes. We make enough ice to fill the ice holder in our refrigerator and then fill a large zip bag we keep in the freezer so we will have ice ready whenever the ice holder starts to get empty. We usually make ice about four to six hours every day and then turn the Igloo off. We've had it about two weeks and so far we are very happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
larroni
Inverness, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little ice maker.
12/5/2013

Customer review by triviagirl

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by triviagirl
by triviagirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm very glad I bought this ice maker. I have used it now for a couple of weeks, and it does everything I wanted it to. I read reviews that said it made very small ice cubes, even on the large setting, but I think the size is quite nice. Yes they have a hole in the middle of each ice cube where it forms around the fingers to freeze it, but hey, it keeps my drink cold and that's all I care about. Takes about 3-4 hours to fill my ice bucket but that's ok too. I would recommend this ice maker to anyone who goes through a lot of ice, especially in the summer. I also read that the ice had a "taste" so I did like another reviewer and rinsed it out, and let it set overnight open and haven't detected any bad tastes.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
triviagirl
Live Oak, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed
5/18/2014

Customer review by TejasBob

4.0 stars 5/18/2014 by TejasBob
by TejasBob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The unit came a day earlier than promised. I'm planning on using in my travel trailer. When I received it I set up in my kitchen at home ran it through its paces. I made large ice, and small ice. I let it run out water to make sure it would shut down. I let it fill up with ice to make sure it would shut down. All of these things I did several times and it performed well. it starts making ice quickly. The first batch was in about 6 minutes. I believe I made about 20 pounds of ice while testing it. The real test will be time. I did buy the 2 year replacement plan just in case. One surprise, I'm not sure what it weighs but it is heaver than I thought it would be.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TejasBob
Katy, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Still on the Fence
5/3/2011

Customer review by STEFFIEMT

3.0 stars 5/3/2011 by STEFFIEMT
by STEFFIEMT

I agree with most posters that it does produce ice quickly. However, there is a rubbery/plastic/metal taste to the ice. (I can't figure out which one it is). As instructed , I washed out the unit and filled it with bottled water. The first couple of batches were fine. Yet by the next morning it started to taste funny. I'm an ice chewer so I'm very disappointed with the taste. I'll wash it out once more but if it doesn't get better it's getting returned.

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STEFFIEMT
Van Nuys, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 592 total reviews
1-20 of 592 reviews