Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 671 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

671 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

671 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
362
4 stars
164
3 stars
35
2 stars
18
1 stars
92
1-20 of 574 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 574 total reviews
1-20 of 574 reviews
Great little Ice Maker
1/6/2012

Customer review by rmoorez

4.0 stars 1/6/2012 by rmoorez
by rmoorez

I purchashed this for my daughter and the Magic Chef for myself. The Igloo is a lot smaller with a smaller reservoir for both Ice and Water. The Igloo is a lot quiter than the Magic Chef and keeps up with her needs. It only has 2 different ice sizes. If I were to purchase another I would get the Magic Chef, even though it makes quit a bit of noise when running, I like the larger Ice bin and the larger water reservoir plus it makes 3 different size cubes. They both work great and I would recommend either. The Igloo has a lot smaller footprint and takes less space and I will probably get one for my motorhome this summer. Both seem to produce the same amount of ice, but if you have a large family and use a lot at a time, I would go with the Magic Chef. If space and noise are an issue then the Igloo. Hopes this review helps in your decision.

Was this review helpful? (398) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rmoorez
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
A very useful product.
3/10/2011

Customer review by LuannGranny

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by LuannGranny
by LuannGranny

My husband and I are full time R/Vers. The fridge in the rig we own is small in comparison to fridges in homes. The freezer is very, very small. If you put ice trays in it you have very little room to freeze anything else. With the Igloo ice maker we can get all the ice we want in a short time and do not have to wait more than twelve minutes to have ice. I recommend this product to any one who likes ice in a hurry. We compared several other products but for the cost and the performance of the Igloo you cannot beat it.

Was this review helpful? (358) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuannGranny
Willis, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great product
5/5/2011

Customer review by billreneej

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by billreneej
by billreneej

TOOK THIS CAMPING FOR 6 DAYS-MADE ICE CONSTANTLY-WAS TURNED OFF OVERNIT--BUT WAS ABLE TO KEEP COOLER GOING THE WHOLE TIME--GREAT VALUE!!!

Was this review helpful? (160) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billreneej
LAKE ALFRED,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great product
3/12/2011

Customer review by MOREMONEYDOWNTHEDRAIN

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by MOREMONEYDOWNTHEDRAIN
by MOREMONEYDOWNTHEDRAIN

Does exactly what they say it will. Great little machine.

Was this review helpful? (113) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOREMONEYDOWNTHEDRAIN
Fellmere,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great ice maker for camping trips and parties.
7/2/2013

Customer review by kampmom

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by kampmom
by kampmom

This ice maker is exactly what we expected it to be from the reviews we read online. This works great for making ice for drinks and your cooler while camping. The only thing we have noticed is the two ice settings small and large make almost the same size cubes. This may not be ideal for large parties as it may not be able to keep up with producing enough. A batch of ice takes 8 minutes and makes 9 ice cubes. We start making it an hour before we need it and it keeps up just fine. I would reccommend this for anyone who has small parties and for camping trips.

Was this review helpful? (115) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kampmom
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Check the warranty details
2/26/2011

Customer review by TowGuy

3.0 stars 2/26/2011 by TowGuy
by TowGuy

You won't know this until you open the manual, but for warranty work the unit has to be shipped PREPAID to Irving, Texas with a $7 handling charge. It weighs about 30# so we're talking about $30 or so for a warranty service. We ordered this unit as a replacement for a similar Magic Chef unit that died after threee months [Magic Chef issued a full refund!]. Thought we would try this brand [although I suspect underneath they're the same unit]. When we discovered the warranty terms, took it back and ordered another Magic Chef which has LOCAL carry-in warranty service.

Was this review helpful? (73) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TowGuy
North Port, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice ice maker for a two person home.
12/18/2013

Customer review by larroni

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by larroni
by larroni

We recently purchased a french door refrigerator only to discover the ice maker was extremely slow. We use a lot of ice throughout the day and were running out before evening, so we decided to try a countertop ice maker and see if that would help. After checking online several models at different stores we decided Walmart's price on the Igloo Portable Ice Maker was reasonable and reviews on it were mostly favorable. We have been making ice from day one, after reading some reviewers' suggestion to clean out the Igloo using vinegar water I did that. After making three batches of ice and throwing each one away, I then rinsed the inside throughly, added clean, fresh water and made our first usable batch of ice cubes. We have never experienced a bad smell or taste plus we are very pleased at how quickly we start getting ice. The cubes are small, even set on the large setting, but I am a big ice chewer and I love the size and texture of these cubes. We make enough ice to fill the ice holder in our refrigerator and then fill a large zip bag we keep in the freezer so we will have ice ready whenever the ice holder starts to get empty. We usually make ice about four to six hours every day and then turn the Igloo off. We've had it about two weeks and so far we are very happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
larroni
Inverness, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Still on the Fence
5/3/2011

Customer review by STEFFIEMT

3.0 stars 5/3/2011 by STEFFIEMT
by STEFFIEMT

I agree with most posters that it does produce ice quickly. However, there is a rubbery/plastic/metal taste to the ice. (I can't figure out which one it is). As instructed , I washed out the unit and filled it with bottled water. The first couple of batches were fine. Yet by the next morning it started to taste funny. I'm an ice chewer so I'm very disappointed with the taste. I'll wash it out once more but if it doesn't get better it's getting returned.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STEFFIEMT
Van Nuys, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little ice maker.
12/5/2013

Customer review by triviagirl

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by triviagirl
by triviagirl

I'm very glad I bought this ice maker. I have used it now for a couple of weeks, and it does everything I wanted it to. I read reviews that said it made very small ice cubes, even on the large setting, but I think the size is quite nice. Yes they have a hole in the middle of each ice cube where it forms around the fingers to freeze it, but hey, it keeps my drink cold and that's all I care about. Takes about 3-4 hours to fill my ice bucket but that's ok too. I would recommend this ice maker to anyone who goes through a lot of ice, especially in the summer. I also read that the ice had a "taste" so I did like another reviewer and rinsed it out, and let it set overnight open and haven't detected any bad tastes.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
triviagirl
Live Oak, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product for a low cost ice maker
4/7/2014

Customer review by SeasonedGuy

3.0 stars 4/7/2014 by SeasonedGuy
by SeasonedGuy

FYI information. When first switched on, the cubes will be smaller than normal for the first couple of cycles; full size form after the unit stabilizes; we use large size. Unit produces 9 cubes every 8 minutes. Filling the basket requires 8 or 9 cycles (9 cubes X 8 minutes X 9 cycles produces 81 cubes @ 72 minutes). To fill a gallon freezer bag will require approximately 4 or 5 baskets (gallon bag of cubes in 5 to 6 hrs). Amount of cubes in basket (cycles) can vary depending on how the cubes "embank" to the point that activates the "icefull" sensor. The times listed here are if you are closely watching for the "icefull" light and maintain the water requirements. There is some noise each time the 9 cubes are dispensed into the basket. To this point we feel the unit does what it was designed to do. If your needs are for more ice, a larger unit would be necessary.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeasonedGuy
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ice maker
5/9/2011

Customer review by annfromlasvegas

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by annfromlasvegas
by annfromlasvegas

perfect for light usuage. Makes and keeps ice and stores water without leaking. Very glad I found this product. Price is good for this product. I had shopped around before I purchased. Would have preferred it in black but can deal with the white color.

Was this review helpful? (76) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
annfromlasvegas
las vegas, nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Returning My 3rd One
1/5/2014

Customer review by birdiesan

1.0 stars 1/5/2014 by birdiesan
by birdiesan

3 out of 3 broken. It's not like I keep it in a car or move it around a lot. It sits in an office. The first one broke after 13 months. Just stopped getting cold. The second one broke after just a few months. Plastic piece that moves the basket for making the ice broke. Not even a refrigerator repair man could fix that. Now my third one... 1/3 of the day it works fine, 1/3 of the day it says FULL even though the thing is completely empty so it won't make anymore ice, and 1/3 of the day the movable part inside there is stuck in the back position and just won't move forward unless I reach in and force it with my hand. Support for this is COMPLETELY NON-EXISTENT for this machine. I quickly found that it is not actually made by Igloo so they do not support it. The company that does make it does not answer the phone. Luckily I bought the extended warranty thing for $15 on my 3rd attempt, although I'm not sure how that's working out yet since I can't actually reach a human from there either. When it works, it's great... but it doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
birdiesan
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT PURCHASE!!!!!!!
5/7/2014

Customer review by fonegeek76

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by fonegeek76
by fonegeek76

I purchased this Ice maker last year and it only worked for a couple of months. Thankfully I purchased the walmart extended warranty because Igloo isn't actually the manufacturer. They license their name to a company called Curtis International. When I called Curtis, it was immediately apparent that it was an offshore call center, not a problem in itself, but not my preference. In order to repair/replace they insist on an up front insurance fee of $8. They won't even provide a reference number or address to ship the unit too unless you pay up front. Then you also have to pay for shipping. But.... I had purchased the $15 extended warranty from Walmart, and I am getting reimbursed for the full price of the unit, since the manufacturer is so bad. DO NOT PURCHASE

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fonegeek76
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little ice maker
6/29/2011

Customer review by Golferspoet

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Golferspoet
by Golferspoet

We've only had this ice maker for a few days, but it seems to work fine. It is very easy to operate and makes reasonable ice. The ice however comes with holes down the center which was a bit of surprise, but the cubes seem to last. My only complaint is that it is noisy. We keep it away from the main living area for that reason.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Golferspoet
Desert Canyon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
returning it
9/16/2012

Customer review by FairReview22

1.0 stars 9/16/2012 by FairReview22
by FairReview22

Perhaps my expectations were much too high because I am very disappointed in this product. Every 7 minutes 9 thimble sized ice cubes are produced. It takes more than an hour to fill the whole ice basket which is very small. I had to run it for 12 hours to fill my ice cube tub in my freezer. After 3 days of constant running, now its making loud noises and I'm afraid its going to die. Hopefully there is a warranty and I can return it. I believe the product description said it makes 24 lbs of ice in 24 hours. I believe that is true, 22lbs is a large bag of gas station ice so yes, if the machine ran for 24 straight hours then it would make that much. Be aware that you need to empty the ice basket every hour or the ice will melt, also the ice maker stops working once the basket gets full. This would be good if you just wanted a little bit of ice for a few drinks but if you are trying to supply a household with plenty of ice this probably isn't for you. But what's the alternative? I guess going back to buying bags of ice almost daily.

Was this review helpful? (53) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FairReview22
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Functions as advertised
5/27/2014

Customer review by Rprife69

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Rprife69
by Rprife69

Pretty cool machine and a good price compared to similar brands. Works perfect for a family of 2-3. More than that and the ice making speed would not be able to catch up. I would recommend this product where a fridge with an ice maker is not possible. My wife is lazy and never refills the ice trays to put back in the freezer. This product is perfect for a man who loves ice and has a lazy roommate or significant other.

Was this review helpful? (39) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rprife69
Manassas Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This little icemaker is a gem.
1/27/2014

Customer review by FearlessFirefly

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by FearlessFirefly
by FearlessFirefly

After having given the icemaker a full weekend run...it has proven to be a great purchase. Easy to use, not noisy as described by some reviews. The hum of the motor is similar to that of a quiet refrigerator and the dropping of cubes into the plastic basket is something that you hear when your home ice maker drops cubes...only quieter. The production of cubes met expectations and the machine has a nice look to it. The cubes are created by the water freezing onto several rods thus the shape is cylindrical and about 1/2 inch high each. One guest mentioned that they seemed to melt faster than regular cubes so perhaps best performance is achieved with prechilled drinks. For the weekend experience, I rate this purchase as giving 100 % satisfaction. Hope it works for a long duration because I just bought another for my mom. Delivery from Walmart was fast , affordable and hassle-fee.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FearlessFirefly
Jacksonville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works same as black or chrome but costs less
10/30/2013

Customer review by gystroup

4.0 stars 10/30/2013 by gystroup
by gystroup

All the Igloo Portable Ice Makers work the same but the white is cheaper. All of them claim 26 lbs. of ice per day but that would take a lot of refilling the water which holds about 50 oz. of water. You do the math. Ice compartment fills in about 2 hours and water has to be refilled in 41/2 hours. Makes sufficient ice for small gatherings but 26 lbs.-I'm skeptical. Large Cubes are medium sized but small cubes are too small and melt too quick.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gystroup
Marietta, Ga. 30066
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Buy
1/8/2012

Customer review by Choptank98

4.0 stars 1/8/2012 by Choptank98
by Choptank98

I found the unit to be stylish and met my expectations. Prior to purchase, I read reviews by others, which I found to be helpful and kept my expectations in line. I put the unit through several cycles using a vinegar/water solution and never had an issue with the ice tasting like plastic. It truly did start making ice in about 6mins, albeit wet & soft at first. But after I let it run awhile (hour+) the ice was hard and dry. The only "pain", if you will, is having to babysit the unit to keep emptying out the basket, and it's not a very big basket. But, keeping things in perspective, it is marketed as a portable unit, which means one is sacrificing some of the conveniences of built-in automatic ice-makers. It's not an every-day item for us. Our primary usage with be parties and gatherings away from the house.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Choptank98
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
simple veryeasy to use and can be taken with you
11/11/2013

Customer review by okiebobthesooner

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by okiebobthesooner
by okiebobthesooner

Cleaned pluged in and started making ice. Very quite lots of ice in a very short time just like a timex just keeps on making ice.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okiebobthesooner
okla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 574 total reviews
1-20 of 574 reviews