Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 1630 reviews
5 stars
942
4 stars
356
3 stars
70
2 stars
51
1 stars
211
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1502 reviews
1-20 of 1502 reviews
Functions as advertised
5/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Pretty cool machine and a good price compared to similar brands. Works perfect for a family of 2-3. More than that and the ice making speed would not be able to catch up. I would recommend this product where a fridge with an ice maker is not possible. My wife is lazy and never refills the ice trays to put back in the freezer. This product is perfect for a man who loves ice and has a lazy roommate or significant other.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (91)No (43)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ought to be called "Igloo NO ice maker."
4/23/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought 2 within a few weeks of each other. Both functioned beautifuly for about 6 months. Then the error message of "ice full" showed up. On both! Tried the Internet fix and still no ice. Tried it multiple times. No ice. Both broke around 6 months of use! Both! Buy something else. Or if you do buy this junk get a protection policy. You will need it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Carmen
7/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Well I have to say the ice is small but I love to make smoothies so it's perfect. I read the instructions and let it set at room tempature for an hour . Plugged it in and got a plastic zip lock bag and filled it up. If you are having a party you can order a large ice bag from Amazon let it run and save for your party. I use one bag of ice for on the go and it's small enough to crunch on. I love it! If it last for a few years I'd say I'll get my money out of it. Unplug it when not in use. Maybe I'm rating too soon but so far no complaints.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great ice maker for camping trips and parties.
7/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This ice maker is exactly what we expected it to be from the reviews we read online. This works great for making ice for drinks and your cooler while camping. The only thing we have noticed is the two ice settings small and large make almost the same size cubes. This may not be ideal for large parties as it may not be able to keep up with producing enough. A batch of ice takes 8 minutes and makes 9 ice cubes. We start making it an hour before we need it and it keeps up just fine. I would reccommend this for anyone who has small parties and for camping trips.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (153)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the ease of this ice maker.
5/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is so easy to use. Pull out of box, clean, plug in, add water and it does the rest. It lets you know what size of cube (small and large), if the ice bin is full and if it needs more water. I bought this as a gift for my 82 year old mother and she loves how easy it is. It makes more than enough for her and she keeps putting ice a snack up in her freezer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (177)No (44)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ice is a must have
5/28/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a great product that I have enjoyed having on my camping trips. I no longer have to bring a cooler along to carry ice because my camper freezer is to small for food and ice trays. It's easy to use and takes up very little space in my travel trailer. I love this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this machine
8/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is the best ice machine I've ever owned in my life this is the best it makes us very very quickly is very quiet I love not have to go to the store and took those large bags of ice thank you for making this
Was this review helpful?
Yes (130)No (50)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it.
11/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The red ice maker makes great little bullet shaped cubes and looks great in our pool house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
4/23/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Owned this ice maker for 45 days. It has already quit working. Ice full light is on, but there is no ice in basket. Called Igloo. They do not make this product, they do not warranty this product, and provide no service for this product. It is made by Curtis Intl out of Canada. Their call center is overseas and you will not be able to understand them, after making multiple calls where you sit on hold for 15+ minutes and get hung up on. When you do get to someone, they had me try ridiculous things that did not work. In the end, I was told to ship it to Canada at my expense with the receipt, and they will decide if they will cover it under warranty. Started doing better research on this icemaker and have found several complaints about quality of product, several owners had to "rig" the icemaker parts to keep it working after a couple of months, as no one can deal with Curtis Intl. I only use the ice maker a few times a week when I want to brew my coffee/tea in my Keruig over ice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (477)No (103)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works like a champ
1/7/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Our ice maker on our refrigerator was one of our favorite features. Unfortunately it quit working after about 10 years. The cost to repair/replace the ice maker was way too much. I purchased this portable ice maker as a Christmas gift for the family and it works great! I started using it right away and it was making ice within 15-20 minutes. I had read about the ice having a bad smell for the first few batches but I did not experience that at all. The ice basket is small but it makes ice so quickly it does not bother us. I let the basket fill, empty the ice into a zip lock back and stick it in the freezer. I can fill a gallon size zip lock back in a couple hours. The ice is a little wet so it does stick together but I just bang the bag on the counter (not hard) and it breaks it right up. I use the large size ice cubes and they are perfect. They are shaped like a bullet, about the size of a man’s thumb and hollow. This has been the best appliance I have purchased in a long time and I am a gadget junkie.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (104)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PURCHASED IN DECEMBER, PRODUCT IS NOT WORKING NOW.
4/11/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The ice maker was a wonderful product from Dec 25, 2014 until Apr 08, 2015. I purchased this for my mother as a present and she enjoy how it worked. It created enough ice to hold three household members daily ice use. I purchased the extended warranty, so when I heard it was no longer working I was relieved to know I had the warranty. Well they told me that I had to call Igoo due to it still being under their warranty, Igoo had a recording that told you to call Curtis International and then disconnected the call. Curtis International is giving me the run around with the model number of the product so I will be calling them back for a third time. I do not have the product with me, since it was a present to my mother who lives in a different state then I do. I have purchased a second one of these for use at work, I think I am going to return it since it is under 30 days. I do not want to go through this again. I will update you on the final resolution of this problem.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (183)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good ice maker if your careful
3/26/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have had our Igloo for over a year now and it's always worked quite well. There are some things that I wish were different. 1. The first batch of ice is really small, half the size of the normal cubes. I always pour those back in the water. 2. The handles of the basket broke at about a year in. However this does not hinder the use much. We have found a few things that we believe helped us to keep the ice maker working well. In the instructions it tells you to set up the ice maker and then let it sit for 2 hours before the first time using it to let the coolant settle where it's supposed to be. We make sure to move the ice maker as little and gently as possible so as to not to disturb the coolant distribution. If I notice any unusual sounds, I turn the ice maker off. This only happens after several hours of use. The ice has a hole down the center similar to what you might get at the hospital. It's nice for chewing and smoothies but melts quickly in your glass.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (211)No (43)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Igloo - works good !
8/16/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used it four days inside my tent camper. It made enough ice to keep my 20x12x 12 cooler supplied with ice. It wasnt ever enough to keep it full of ice but I always had enough to keep my stuff cold enough so I didnt need to buy a bag at the camp store. When the Ice bucket is full and the red sensor light comes on just empty the bucket and then hold your warm fingers around the silver sensor prong inside the ice bucket area until the light goes out . About five to 10 seconds. This will quickly reset the sensor without having to turn the power off. I didnt have to add much water maybe twice in four days. I did turn it off at night to keep the noise of the ice being made from disturbing my sleep. In a tent camper, deep in the woods, strange noises in the night will scare the willies out of you. This little puppy didnt leak water, it looks good, small in size to fit your counter top and worked flawlessly. I will not supply a large amount of ice but its not a total disappointment for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Everything Started Out Great.....
12/8/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Ordered the Igloo, it arrived really fast. There was no damage to the box or anything like that. Got it home and read the instruction booklet. It say's to let it sit for a couple of hours before your first use. So, It was late so I let it sit overnight. Plugged it in the next morning, it went through it's cycles of running the water over the metal fingers, but never made any ice... :-( I did everything the troubleshooting in the book suggested. It is not to be put on it's side, or at any time tilted more that 45 degrees. It has something to do with the freon in it. I know it was upright when I picked it up at the store, and upright all the way home so somewhere on the way to the store it must have been on it's side or upside down. So I will take it back to the store, and try and find one that is a bit better at keeping it's freon in. Sorry can't rate it any better, just have not had a chance to try it yet. Just want everyone to be aware of this issue.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Foul tasting ice
8/27/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased our ice maker about a year ago,at first no problems. we started noticing a smell from the unit,moldy smell,cleaned it ,still smells.Our dog likes ice so would give her some,NO more ,she got sick and we also noticed the smelly ice in drinks.Getting rid of this machine
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Returning My 3rd One
1/5/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
3 out of 3 broken. It's not like I keep it in a car or move it around a lot. It sits in an office. The first one broke after 13 months. Just stopped getting cold. The second one broke after just a few months. Plastic piece that moves the basket for making the ice broke. Not even a refrigerator repair man could fix that. Now my third one... 1/3 of the day it works fine, 1/3 of the day it says FULL even though the thing is completely empty so it won't make anymore ice, and 1/3 of the day the movable part inside there is stuck in the back position and just won't move forward unless I reach in and force it with my hand. Support for this is COMPLETELY NON-EXISTENT for this machine. I quickly found that it is not actually made by Igloo so they do not support it. The company that does make it does not answer the phone. Luckily I bought the extended warranty thing for $15 on my 3rd attempt, although I'm not sure how that's working out yet since I can't actually reach a human from there either. When it works, it's great... but it doesn't work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (110)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
returning it
9/16/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Perhaps my expectations were much too high because I am very disappointed in this product. Every 7 minutes 9 thimble sized ice cubes are produced. It takes more than an hour to fill the whole ice basket which is very small. I had to run it for 12 hours to fill my ice cube tub in my freezer. After 3 days of constant running, now its making loud noises and I'm afraid its going to die. Hopefully there is a warranty and I can return it. I believe the product description said it makes 24 lbs of ice in 24 hours. I believe that is true, 22lbs is a large bag of gas station ice so yes, if the machine ran for 24 straight hours then it would make that much. Be aware that you need to empty the ice basket every hour or the ice will melt, also the ice maker stops working once the basket gets full. This would be good if you just wanted a little bit of ice for a few drinks but if you are trying to supply a household with plenty of ice this probably isn't for you. But what's the alternative? I guess going back to buying bags of ice almost daily.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little Ice Maker
1/6/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I purchashed this for my daughter and the Magic Chef for myself. The Igloo is a lot smaller with a smaller reservoir for both Ice and Water. The Igloo is a lot quiter than the Magic Chef and keeps up with her needs. It only has 2 different ice sizes. If I were to purchase another I would get the Magic Chef, even though it makes quit a bit of noise when running, I like the larger Ice bin and the larger water reservoir plus it makes 3 different size cubes. They both work great and I would recommend either. The Igloo has a lot smaller footprint and takes less space and I will probably get one for my motorhome this summer. Both seem to produce the same amount of ice, but if you have a large family and use a lot at a time, I would go with the Magic Chef. If space and noise are an issue then the Igloo. Hopes this review helps in your decision.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (535)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quit working!
2/26/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This machine has the worst design, and the most inconsistent instructions to any machine of any type I have ever used. First it says "never tilt or place ice maker on its side, otherwise you must wait 10 hours for compressor coolant to settle. To ensure cleanliness of the ice cubes, the water in the water storage tank should be replaced every 24 hours." Guess where the drain is located?? UNDER the machine! There is a plastic strip connecting the drain cap to the machine, which becomes twisted taut and stops removal. If this was the only problem, I could live with the restrictions, but, it quickly stopped making ice at all, and despite the storage tank being filled correctly, says to ADD WATER. It grinds and dribbles water, and if the freezer cup is to be full of water, that has to be done manually. Then it stops and says to ADD WATER. I left the unit on a level surface for 6 weeks, and it still will not make ice. It has seen no service since it was purchased for my son for Christmas. Worst purchase yet, and I am 69!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this ice maker for about a month now and am very pleased with it. When I read reviews on this product, one person made mention to be sure and read the directions about cleaning the machine before using it. I noticed that another mentioned that the ice had an odd taste. When I got the machine out of the box, it had a very distinct plastic smell. I cleaned the machine according to directions. AND, left the lid up and let everything air out over night before making ice. The plastic smell was gone the next morning and the ice tasted just fine. There are a lot of benefits to reading reviews and I appreciate the person who said to be sure to read the directions for first time use, and the other who mentioned the bad taste. Taking these two things into consideration, I put forth the effort necessary to have a good experience with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (296)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641762, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-