Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 544 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

544 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

544 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
333
4 stars
123
3 stars
20
2 stars
17
1 stars
51
1-20 of 494 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 494 total reviews
1-20 of 494 reviews
Great Little Chest Freezer
1/12/2012

Customer review by DeeDeeG

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by DeeDeeG
by DeeDeeG

I have always kept my overflow of freezer food in the freezer at work, but it gets to be a hassle when you don't have access to it after work hours. So I got the idea for a compact chest freezer from Wal-Marts Black Friday flyer. They had a 7.0cu ft for a bargain price, but I didn't have the room or the need for something so big, So I found this cute little Igloo freezer on their web-site, also for a pretty great price. I live in a 1-bedroom apt. & this is a perfect size - 3.6cu ft. is plenty of room for when there are good sales on meat or other frozen foods. It has a removable basket, but I use it for bagged frozen veggies. And it has a raised "shelf" that I keep butter, cheese & boxed veggies on that. The deep (full depth) section is where I keep my meats. It's probably a good idea to tape a list to the lid of what you put in there & dated when in case stuff starts to get buried. (see my photo I included in my review) I actually have it sitting right inside my front door, so when I come home from grocery shopping with heavy bags, I can drop all the freezer stuff right there. So far it has been running just great, keeps everything nice & frozen. I haven't gotten an electric bill (yet) since I got it, so i'm not sure what the cost is going to be to run it, I can get back to you on that... The size is 22x22x33"high. It runs very quietly, tho you do hear it when it clicks on & off - that's normal. It plugs into a regular 3-prong, 120v outlet...no special outlet needed. And VERY IMPORTANT...I read this in the manual on-line before I picked it up from the store, you need to know that when you get it home & set it up, you need to let it sit in the proper upright position for 24hrs. to give the cooling system a chance to settle BEFORE you plug it in & it turns on. Chances are it was not kept in an upright position in shipping to the store, and when they wheeled it out to me at the store, they had it laying on it's side, and I had to lay it on it's side to get it in my SUV for the ride home. But I just made sure to let it stand for 24hrs. in the upright position before I plugged it in. You can damage the cooling system if you don't do this and then you'll think it's a defective product & you'll be running back & forth to the store to return it & get a new one.... Anyway, this is something probably any body can use and it was very affordable. With the prices of groceries going up & up, it's great to be able to take advantage of a good sale.

Was this review helpful? (397) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeDeeG
middletown, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
So far, So good...
7/8/2011

Customer review by WallyWorldGirl4Sure

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by WallyWorldGirl4Sure
by WallyWorldGirl4Sure

So far this product has been great. It holds a bit less than my last 3.5 cu ft freezer but it runs nicely. It is quiet and the only sound it makes is a click when the compressor or whatever turns on but other than that it's quiet and you don't even hear it running. It does put out quite a bit of heat though so take that into consideration for where to place it. I was able to fit it into my tiny kitchen even with a table in there. We just received our electric bill and this freezer doesn't seem to have had any noticeable affect on it at all, so hurray for that! I purchased a similar one (Emerson) back in May from another store because it was cheaper but it turned out it was noisy when the compressor came on and noisy while it was cooling, noisy when the compressor went off and then it broke down two weeks after I purchased it and all my food spoiled. This one cost about $30 more but so far it was well worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (258) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyWorldGirl4Sure
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
8/8/2011

Customer review by LD66

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by LD66
by LD66

Perfect size freezer for the two of us. Holds a lot more than I expected...we have 80 pounds of meat stored in the freezer with room to spare! Perfect purchase! Very happy!

Was this review helpful? (75) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LD66
Santa Maria, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for camping
6/19/2011

Customer review by GrandmaLewis

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by GrandmaLewis
by GrandmaLewis

We bought this to go in our travel trailer and this was some of the best money we have spent. We have an outdoor kitchen when we camp and we added this freezer to the mix. No more thawed food, no need for extra trips to buy ice. Even in 102+ degree temps it maintained a temperature below freezing. We can now have ice cream, take meats we have never dared to take before, even have frozen margaritas. At 69 lbs shipping weight, it's light weight enough for my husband to pick up and set back inside the trailer for the trip home. It only made a light layer of frost the whole weekend. The vacuum seal was awesome. There are wheels on the front, which helped in moving it around. I'm not sure the ground was perfectly level and it still worked like a champ. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this. For the next camping trip we will turn it on the day before to get it cold and load it up with the cold food for transport. After we arrive at the camp site, we'll move the refrigerated food to the refrigerator. We won't need to buy ice at all. We will save enough on ice to pay for the freezer this summer.

Was this review helpful? (263) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaLewis
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect Size Freezer for Small Space
2/11/2012

Customer review by Catacomb

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Catacomb
by Catacomb

We have a side-by-side refrigerator/freezer that is just too small for certain boxes (like pizza boxes) and it's hard to find items in the back when they're stacked. This freezer is the perfect size for things we do not use regularly and fits in a small space. It comes with a wire shelf that can be removed or moved around and it is stepped inside the freezer so everything is not on the bottom and stacked. Nice design and works great (so far).

Was this review helpful? (140) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Catacomb
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Small freezer chest
7/17/2011

Customer review by TexasRose1

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by TexasRose1
by TexasRose1

So far... so good! Small compact freezer... we live in a mobile home and don't have much space... the freezer was small enough to put in a back bedroom... it took about 24 hrs to start freezing real well.... My husband has it stocked to the top already! He loves it...

Was this review helpful? (74) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasRose1
Alvarado, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly surprised
2/16/2014

Customer review by Budgetmindedmommy

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Budgetmindedmommy
by Budgetmindedmommy

After reading other reviews on this product, my husband and I decided to pick it up at the store because of flimsy packaging. When he and our neighbor brought it into the house, I was surprised by how well it was actually boxed up. He definitely needed help bringing it in (don't have a dolly) because the box was bulky. Opened up the box and had a lot of styrofoam on the sides and a big tray on the bottom. Company must have taken the complaints about flimsy packaging seriously. I followed the directions of making sure it was never tilted, left it plugged in at 4 for 24 hours, and filled it up the next day with a meat package. Turned it up a little, and it's been working like a charm for the past week. No complaints so far. Wish I could have afforded to get the next size up, but packed right, this little thing holds 60 pounds of various cuts of meat (many of them bulky roasts), frozen pizzas, bags of chicken nuggets, and boxes of Popsicles and ice cream sandwiches. Definitely worth considering if you have a smaller family and need more than your fridge's freezer.

Was this review helpful? (92) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Budgetmindedmommy
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great freezer for camping too.
7/22/2011

Customer review by Chubaca

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by Chubaca
by Chubaca

I bought this item based on a review I read. This freezer works great. I use it for camping and it is the perfect size. I have a tent trailer so I don't have much room inside, so we went ahead and set it up outside on a level plastic pallet. I live in Texas so the outdoor heat index gets to about 110 deg. The freezer worked flawlessly! It kept all our meats, ice, and even ice cream frozen! I even ended up buying 1 for my brother-in law right before we left for our trip. So we both had a very good experience with this freezer.

Was this review helpful? (60) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chubaca
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Just got it....
11/4/2013

Customer review by Swanny13

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Swanny13
by Swanny13

I just got the freezer a week ago and so far, so good. I followed others suggestions by keeping it upright for 24 hours before plugging it in and then running it for 24 hours before putting anything in it. The machine is super quiet! It holds so much more than I thought it would. I live in an apartment so space is at a premium. This freezer is compact enough and fits right in without being bulky or an eyesore. I cannot speak to any mechanical difficulties, as I have had none. It might be luck of the draw on that one. So far, I am in love with this, am glad I purchased it, think it is a bargain for the price, and I would recommend it definitely!

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swanny13
Syracuse NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quit Working
3/6/2013

Customer review by Tonyman52

1.0 stars 3/6/2013 by Tonyman52
by Tonyman52

I brought this unit in December and it quit working in late February. I called their service center, which is located in India twice. I was given two completely different set of instructions on how to fix it...none worked! In order to get a repair under the factory warranty, you have to ship it to Illinois. I guess I now have a pretty white storage box. Do Not Recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tonyman52
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
Igloo 3.1 cubic foot freezer
11/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am very happy with my new freezer. I was unhappy with the fact that it could not be delivered to my home and I had to pick it up. I had to make arrangements with a friend to help me as it required a dolly to take it to my loft where my laundry room is. I am on a 2nd floor condo so to get it to the loft it had to be pulled up 30 steps. When I got it out of the box there was a dent in the lid of the chest freezer. I was not about to take it back down the steps as it works just fine. I called the WalMart where I picked it up. They suggested that I return the freezer. I explained about the steps. They offered to give me a gift card for $15.00. Overall I am happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works and looks good but I have to return it.
10/21/2011

Customer review by coolbikeman2

2.0 stars 10/21/2011 by coolbikeman2
by coolbikeman2

Purchased this item to take up little space in our RV. The price was good and shipping to our local store saved shipping. It works quietly and efficiently. The only problem I noticed the day I unpacked it was there didn't seem to be a drain plug INSIDE the freezer. There was the cap on the outside covering the drain hole, but no plug inside. I tested the seal by pouring a cup of water inside in the drain hole and the freezer would slowly leak water to the outside even with the outer drain cap on. This would not be good if the freeze lost power and frost build up inside melted it leaked on our RV floor. I called the company to try and get a drain plug sent to me which they said they would mail. After 2 weeks, I called them inquiring about the drain plug status. They said it was unavailable. So, I don't know if I would ever receive the drain plug or not, and it was odd that if they couldn't get it then perhaps all the freezers would have the same part missing. My only option would be to get a replacement from Walmart and return this one. I didn't want to take the chance on the second one also not having a drain plug, so I am returning it for a refund and looking at Avanti products which has their own website and many frig/freezer products for home and commercial applications. I didn't know quite how to rate this freezer as I haven't had it but 2 weeks and the only thing wrong was lack of a drain plug, so I rated it poor in durability.

Was this review helpful? (42) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolbikeman2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/13/2013

Customer review by jusT120

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by jusT120
by jusT120

Stopped freezing after 5 months. Manufacture warranty is worthless. You have to ship at your cost back to them which is more than the cost of the freezer.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jusT120
Mary Esther, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Had to order and return twice
10/11/2013

Customer review by stephneric722

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by stephneric722
by stephneric722

The first one I ordered had a bent ground prong that broke off when we tried to straighten it slightly to plug it in. The second one had a dent along the side and sounded like a jet taking off.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stephneric722
Scottsboro, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy, just check before you leave store
10/29/2013

Customer review by xbordershopper13

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by xbordershopper13
by xbordershopper13

Great buy, just check for damages or scratches before you leave store or upon delivery

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xbordershopper13
plattsburgh, n.y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great little freezer
7/11/2014

Customer review by CaptainRobert

5.0 stars 7/11/2014 by CaptainRobert
by CaptainRobert

I was in need of an extra freezer but I didnt was to break the piggy bank in buying a large upright freezer...This Igloo 3.6 cu. ft freezer it meets my perfectly the size is perfect and it CERTAINLY maintains its temperture regardless of what setting you have it on....The weight was minimal so it was easy to transport and even easier to get it in my basement...its JUST what I needed !!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptainRobert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/5/2013

Customer review by RBSR51

2.0 stars 9/5/2013 by RBSR51
by RBSR51

My discontent with the product is more so with the product packaging and both the factory and Walmart’s delivery methods. When they brought the first freezer out from in store delivery there was a large heavy puncture in the top of the box and multiple punctures in the side of the carton. I put my hand through the top carton hole and felt a sizeable dent in the top loading door. I had the clerk contact management and they credited the sale but I then had to return home to reorder the freezer again and wait another week. When the new freezer arrived I noticed some indentations on the side of the carton but nothing that pierced completely through the carton so I accepted the shipment. When I unpacked the shipment at home I noticed a dimple in the upper left facing corner about 1 ¼ inches by 3/8 of an inch. There were also some smaller dimples in the lower right corner that were negligible but never the less should not be present on a new product. The factory packs the freezer with 4 thin foam center panels about 14 x 18 inches instead of corner protection. This in conjunction with consistent mishandling are a bad recipe for customer satisfaction. I have not returned the freezer nor contacted Walmart about it more out of disgust and lack of willingness to go through this a third time. Admittedly, the freezer performance is as stated by other reviews, very quiet and seemingly energy efficient. The challenge is getting it delivered unmarred!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RBSR51
Gilbert
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Open the box before you leave the store with it
11/23/2013

Customer review by edm4life

2.0 stars 11/23/2013 by edm4life
by edm4life

I thought I got a great deal on this. I don't have much to say about the performance of this freezer. Only when I un-boxed it at home did I notice the damage to the freezer, which was clearly a result of inadequate packaging. I returned it for a refund and will avoid this brand in the future. Igloo went cheap on packaging the freezer.

Was this review helpful? (57) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edm4life
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Chest Freezer
7/19/2014

Customer review by FreeWill80

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by FreeWill80
by FreeWill80

This is a great freezer. The only issue I believe is if you want it with no dents...pick it up yourself..I'm just thankful that I don't have a dent as bad as some of the review pictures I saw..I have a small dent at the top left hand front corner... Otherwise, the freezer is wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreeWill80
Sunflower, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart Dings
11/22/2013

Customer review by net3431

3.0 stars 11/22/2013 by net3431
by net3431

The bottom of the box was long gone and taped up. Underneath was dented. The front corner is pinched, or creased. In short, it's alot like the other large items I ordered from Walmart online. Why did I keep it? It seems to be working, and I don't feel like boxing it up, returning it, and waiting for the next dented up delivery. However, I will if I have to. I have the box (such as it is) sitting downstairs waiting to be put into action. I think it will be fine. I am testing the efficiency with a Kill-A-Watt.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
net3431
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 494 total reviews
1-20 of 494 reviews