Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 683 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

683 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

683 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
428
4 stars
146
3 stars
30
2 stars
18
1 stars
61
1-20 of 633 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 633 total reviews
1-20 of 633 reviews
Open the box before you leave the store with it
11/23/2013

Customer review by edm4life

2.0 stars 11/23/2013 by edm4life
by edm4life
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought I got a great deal on this. I don't have much to say about the performance of this freezer. Only when I un-boxed it at home did I notice the damage to the freezer, which was clearly a result of inadequate packaging. I returned it for a refund and will avoid this brand in the future. Igloo went cheap on packaging the freezer.

Was this review helpful? (115) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
edm4life
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worth the money
4/24/2016

Customer review by kelli

4.0 stars 4/24/2016 by kelli
by kelli

The freezer works great. The box was in terrible shape when it made it to my house. I took the box off of the freezer. The vent on the side was pretty bent up. I guess from shipping. The cord is on the right side of freezer. So I had to change where I was going to put it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kelli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Igloo 3.1 cubic foot freezer
11/25/2013

Customer review by SJW15

4.0 stars 11/25/2013 by SJW15
by SJW15
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with my new freezer. I was unhappy with the fact that it could not be delivered to my home and I had to pick it up. I had to make arrangements with a friend to help me as it required a dolly to take it to my loft where my laundry room is. I am on a 2nd floor condo so to get it to the loft it had to be pulled up 30 steps. When I got it out of the box there was a dent in the lid of the chest freezer. I was not about to take it back down the steps as it works just fine. I called the WalMart where I picked it up. They suggested that I return the freezer. I explained about the steps. They offered to give me a gift card for $15.00. Overall I am happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (75) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SJW15
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dig havin it delivered
9/2/2014

Customer review by concretequeen

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by concretequeen
by concretequeen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was delivered by Fed ex laying down, so you have to let it stand upright for 24 hrs then plug it in. I love this freezer! I can't lift much at this time and had no problem lifting the cardboard box off. It slid into place.

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
concretequeen
mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Chest Freezer
7/19/2014

Customer review by FreeWill80

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by FreeWill80
by FreeWill80
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great freezer. The only issue I believe is if you want it with no dents...pick it up yourself..I'm just thankful that I don't have a dent as bad as some of the review pictures I saw..I have a small dent at the top left hand front corner... Otherwise, the freezer is wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FreeWill80
Sunflower, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Size Freezer for Small Space
2/11/2012

Customer review by Catacomb

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Catacomb
by Catacomb

We have a side-by-side refrigerator/freezer that is just too small for certain boxes (like pizza boxes) and it's hard to find items in the back when they're stacked. This freezer is the perfect size for things we do not use regularly and fits in a small space. It comes with a wire shelf that can be removed or moved around and it is stepped inside the freezer so everything is not on the bottom and stacked. Nice design and works great (so far).

Was this review helpful? (190) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catacomb
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart Dings
11/22/2013

Customer review by net3431

3.0 stars 11/22/2013 by net3431
by net3431

The bottom of the box was long gone and taped up. Underneath was dented. The front corner is pinched, or creased. In short, it's alot like the other large items I ordered from Walmart online. Why did I keep it? It seems to be working, and I don't feel like boxing it up, returning it, and waiting for the next dented up delivery. However, I will if I have to. I have the box (such as it is) sitting downstairs waiting to be put into action. I think it will be fine. I am testing the efficiency with a Kill-A-Watt.

Was this review helpful? (42) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
net3431
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
So glad I purchased this. Bought two!
11/23/2015

Customer review by Loves2pedal

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Loves2pedal
by Loves2pedal
Top 500 contributor

I purchased this small freezer because I stock up on turkeys before Thanksgiving when they are so inexpensive. It holds the ones I bought as well as other things which now gives me more room in the refrigerator's freezer for seasonal cooking, etc. At first glance I thought it was going to be too small but it holds plenty. I bought two of them, one for the home and one for the vacation home. After reading another review, one of them will be used in the camper once we retire and hit the road! The only problem was shipping. The carton they arrived in would probably do fine for picking up in a store but the straps were loose and the freezer sits directly on a Styrofoam base that is unconnected to the box. Cut the straps, lift the box off and you have unpacked the freezer. Unfortunately, both were dented upon receipt. We like the freezers enough to keep them anyway. The placement of each made it not so noticeable but we were lucky in that it could be hidden while still placing properly for air flow, etc.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loves2pedal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
So far, So good...
7/8/2011

Customer review by WallyWorldGirl4Sure

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by WallyWorldGirl4Sure
by WallyWorldGirl4Sure
Top 250 contributor

So far this product has been great. It holds a bit less than my last 3.5 cu ft freezer but it runs nicely. It is quiet and the only sound it makes is a click when the compressor or whatever turns on but other than that it's quiet and you don't even hear it running. It does put out quite a bit of heat though so take that into consideration for where to place it. I was able to fit it into my tiny kitchen even with a table in there. We just received our electric bill and this freezer doesn't seem to have had any noticeable affect on it at all, so hurray for that! I purchased a similar one (Emerson) back in May from another store because it was cheaper but it turned out it was noisy when the compressor came on and noisy while it was cooling, noisy when the compressor went off and then it broke down two weeks after I purchased it and all my food spoiled. This one cost about $30 more but so far it was well worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (323) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallyWorldGirl4Sure
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Excellent Energy Efficient Freezer
6/16/2016

Customer review by Solo7

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Solo7
by Solo7

The unit is well made and QUIET! Does not take up much space for the amount of food it can hold. I will report again on energy consumption, but the listed use of 165 kwh per year would average about 14 kwh a month or $1.50 to operate. At that rate I would give it thumbs up as a very energy efficient device. To add to the energy saving you can consider that if you grow and freeze fruits and vegetables you will cut down on your driving to the store. In my case, I will use this for overflow from the small fridge/freezer so this one will probably be empty half the year anyway. Now I am down to 7 kwh a month average over the year. I saw all the comments about dents so I had it delivered to store, and the box looked pretty sturdy to me and had no holes in it, and when I unpackaged it the unit was in ideal condition. With the convenient drain I was able to give it a soap and water wash and then rinse out on the driveway and let it drain. Then I dried it out with a rag and moved it indoors. For an old man with a torn shoulder it was no pain so you can handle it. Remember that if you turn it on its side to put it in your car you are supposed to wait 24 hours to turn it on so the refrigerant can settle. I bought two gallon jugs of water at Walmart to use as ballast or mass to keep the temperature steady inside before adding food. I highly recommend this very well made freezer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Solo7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just What I Needed.
8/11/2016

Customer review by Tattgirl70

5.0 stars 8/11/2016 by Tattgirl70
by Tattgirl70
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've read previous reviews where freezers arrived damaged-- mine arrived in perfect condition... A VERY heavy-duty cardboard box slides down over a sturdy platform on which the freezer sat, surrounded with styrofoam, and the package was strapped down with heavy plastic banding. In fact, the 'cover' is so sturdy, I'm not sure how I can dispose of it into my dumpster... or even get it up & in there (I'm 5' tall...) As for function, unit is very lightweight (not the 68+ lbs Fedex claimed) and was easy to "walk" into place. MUCH larger than you'd think inside and 4x quieter than my refrigerator! You cannot hear the unit running! As for defrosting? Haven't needed to do this yet... Reasonably priced for this unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tattgirl70
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Chest freezer
4/26/2016

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Mike
by Mike

Dealing with Walmart was a joy. The item was delivered when they said it would be. I read past reviews that stated the item arrived with some dents or scratches. Well the manufacturer must have gotten wind and improved their packaging because my freezer arrived in pristine condition. I live alone and cook up quadruple portions when I prepare recipes so this chest is a perfect companion to my refrigerator freezer. The unit works like a charm and is whisper quiet. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly surprised
2/16/2014

Customer review by Budgetmindedmommy

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Budgetmindedmommy
by Budgetmindedmommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading other reviews on this product, my husband and I decided to pick it up at the store because of flimsy packaging. When he and our neighbor brought it into the house, I was surprised by how well it was actually boxed up. He definitely needed help bringing it in (don't have a dolly) because the box was bulky. Opened up the box and had a lot of styrofoam on the sides and a big tray on the bottom. Company must have taken the complaints about flimsy packaging seriously. I followed the directions of making sure it was never tilted, left it plugged in at 4 for 24 hours, and filled it up the next day with a meat package. Turned it up a little, and it's been working like a charm for the past week. No complaints so far. Wish I could have afforded to get the next size up, but packed right, this little thing holds 60 pounds of various cuts of meat (many of them bulky roasts), frozen pizzas, bags of chicken nuggets, and boxes of Popsicles and ice cream sandwiches. Definitely worth considering if you have a smaller family and need more than your fridge's freezer.

Was this review helpful? (114) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Budgetmindedmommy
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for camping
6/19/2011

Customer review by GrandmaLewis

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by GrandmaLewis
by GrandmaLewis

We bought this to go in our travel trailer and this was some of the best money we have spent. We have an outdoor kitchen when we camp and we added this freezer to the mix. No more thawed food, no need for extra trips to buy ice. Even in 102+ degree temps it maintained a temperature below freezing. We can now have ice cream, take meats we have never dared to take before, even have frozen margaritas. At 69 lbs shipping weight, it's light weight enough for my husband to pick up and set back inside the trailer for the trip home. It only made a light layer of frost the whole weekend. The vacuum seal was awesome. There are wheels on the front, which helped in moving it around. I'm not sure the ground was perfectly level and it still worked like a champ. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this. For the next camping trip we will turn it on the day before to get it cold and load it up with the cold food for transport. After we arrive at the camp site, we'll move the refrigerated food to the refrigerator. We won't need to buy ice at all. We will save enough on ice to pay for the freezer this summer.

Was this review helpful? (292) (79)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandmaLewis
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Igloo Freezer
6/5/2013

Customer review by YourTaxGirl

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by YourTaxGirl
by YourTaxGirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only had this product a few weeks and I normally wait a few months to do a review but so far so good. I read one review where the customer complained about not getting a drain plug, well that's the first thing I checked for and mine had one. I made room for it in my garage but if it were in the house it wouldn't be any more noisy than my refrigerator. I followed another customer advice and didn't plug it in for 24hrs and as it stands now I'm very pleased. It looks good and the wheels on the bottom helps moving it around very easy although its not heavy at all. I'm sure it will become much heavier when filled but I still thought it would of been a little more durable. You definitely can't expect it to take too much of a beating if you move it around a lot so make sure it's placed somewhere that's not a high traffic area in your home. Otherwise enjoy. I bought while it was on sale and so far it's worth the price. Time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YourTaxGirl
Corona, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so far, so good
8/27/2016

Customer review by Beth

5.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Beth
by Beth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

FedEx (not your circus, I realize) guys were excellent, getting the packed freezer back into the sewing room where it has to be due to temperature requirements -- no garages, no outdoors. Packing was definitely adequate and easy to get the freezer "freed" and set up. Began cooling immediately and all appears to be going well. Chest freezers can be difficult to store things in/access what you've put there and I recently came across this great suggestion: store similar items in a fabric market bag before placing in the freezer. Fruits, breads, tomatoes, veggies, whatever works. And it's working out just fine here!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dented freezer
8/26/2016

Customer review by mary

1.0 stars 8/26/2016 by mary
by mary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The freezer was left outside my front door on the sidewalk with no paperwork, and for anyone to take, the delivery people never called me. I just happen to look at my camera monitor and saw that the freezer was left outside my door on 23 August 2016. A big hole was on the box that the freezer came in, and the freezer has a small dent on it. The compressor indicator light won't stay lit-up on the freezer, I am wondering if the light suppose to come on then go out again. I am very upset about my order. You can bring anther freezer without dents and working right, or refund my money . I am a very dissatisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mary
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok, but the cord is in a funny place
8/4/2016

Customer review by OrcasDave

3.0 stars 8/4/2016 by OrcasDave
by OrcasDave
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Look closely at the photo of the unit. The cord comes out out of the front of the right hand side. That's an awkward arrangement. Quiet operation. Seems satisfactory. Came up to temp of -5 very quickly. Will plug it into a watt monitor next week to see if advertised operating costs are attainable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OrcasDave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great small freezer
8/6/2016

Customer review by Walmart1Nation

4.0 stars 8/6/2016 by Walmart1Nation
by Walmart1Nation
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for small areas or limited space . Holds plenty for two people. Very quite and really useful. We only have one fridge and this helps store more food . Great investment !

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmart1Nation
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product...horrible shipping
7/29/2016

Customer review by minniemadelinie52

4.0 stars 7/29/2016 by minniemadelinie52
by minniemadelinie52

This is a great freezer and is very compact. Low on electric cost!!!!!! The shipping left me in a pickle though. Huge dent on the side! Long story short, was unable to return it. Aside from the dent I love this small- space friendly,low cost freezer. Would have given 5 stars had it not been for the defect!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
minniemadelinie52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 633 total reviews
1-20 of 633 reviews