Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 169 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

169 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

169 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 135 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews
great little heater
11/18/2011

Customer review by YogaHeart

4.0 stars 11/18/2011 by YogaHeart
by YogaHeart

The Optimus infrared space heater is a great little heater! I would classify it as a "personal" heater. It works best when placed in close proximity to you. It is wonderful to use when you're working on the computer, watching TV, reading a book. It heats objects not the air, so when you walk out of range you no longer feel the warmth. It is a great SUPPLEMENT to your regular heat. You can turn down the thermostat a few degrees & sit next to the infrared heater. Cost-wise it is THE best value for an infrared heater I found either online or in any store. It is lightweight & easy to port from one room to another. It heats up almost instantly. The automatic shut off feature if tipped over is a great added safety feature for anyone with pets. I would definitely recommend this heater.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YogaHeart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great for heating a single room! =)
1/20/2012

Customer review by Kio92

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Kio92
by Kio92

Considering how this "bite size" heater is only about $30, it serves it's purpose and then some. Turn it on 400w to heat the room in a few hours, or turn it on it's max setting(800w) to heat the room in approximately an hours' time MAX. The only part that's actually hot to the touch while in use is obviously the vents, as well as the top and bottom. The sides are cool-ish, and if you want to move it, I'd recommend turning it off first, although it's not really necessary. The Safety Off switch works like a charm, and the only sound it makes is when you turn it on when it's been off for awhile, and that "buzzing" sound only lasts for a few seconds. Got a particularly colder room in your house you use often/want heated? Get this heater, and you'll never worry about being cold again... Or at least, in that room, lol.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kio92
Franklinville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Adjustable power yet light weight
1/15/2011

Customer review by EE3HK

4.0 stars 1/15/2011 by EE3HK
by EE3HK

Although it's unavailable in any Walmart store, it's worth waiting to get it via the site-to-store delivery option. The protection switch at the bottom is great. The adjustable power (400W or 800W) meets our requirements. The quiet operation is great too. The only concern I have is the light weight. It seems that it's easy to tumble down. If the manufacturer can add extension toes to the bottom so it's less possible to fall, that'll be much better.

Was this review helpful? (101) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EE3HK
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great buy
5/14/2011

Customer review by Lovetoshop3818

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by Lovetoshop3818
by Lovetoshop3818

i am so glad i bought this heater. i have a cold tile kitchen floor and in the winter it can be really cold. I took this little heater out and placed it on the floor as i was cooking and my feet never froze. i am buying another one to place at each end of the kitchen that way i dont have to turn the main heat on on less colder days. its also very lightweight and portable i can put it in my bedroom to heat it up. it's very quiet doesn't make a noise. it has saved me over $50 on my heating bill. I am very pleased with this purchase

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovetoshop3818
baltimore,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A money-saving product
4/22/2011

Customer review by stationedinWV

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by stationedinWV
by stationedinWV

This is a great product for keeping you warm, if you are stationary in a cool room. The heat is focused directly on you, rather than heating the whole room, or the air. It uses a fourth to half of the electricity of a 1500w electric heater. The warmth is comparable to sitting in front of a campfire.

Was this review helpful? (77) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stationedinWV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
1/1/2012

Customer review by SpendtotheEnd

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by SpendtotheEnd
by SpendtotheEnd
Top 50 contributor

This heater totally exceeded my expectations. I purchased it based on glowing reviews across the web, and everyone was right. This heater emits radiant heat, which feels like the heat you experience from sunshine. It is the type of comforting heat that warms you to the core. While it's true that you need to be within a few feet of the heater to feel the heat, the heater will gradually warm up a room if you leave it on for long periods of time. It has two heat levels, 400 watts, and 800 watts. Most space heaters are up to 1500 watts, so this unit will save on some energy costs. Another PRO is that this heater does not dry out the air, as it doesn't have a blower or fan. The casing gets a little hot if you leave it on the high heat setting for long periods; and if you place it on the carpet, it will warm the carpeting. There are times when I worry about the carpeting becoming too hot, so I often place the heater on a small glass table if I'm in a carpeted area. Otherwise, I always place it on a hard floor. I have spent a lot of money on space heaters over the years (i.e. ceramic, fan-forced, oscillating, name brands, etc. But this little heater ranks the best bang for the buck. As soon as I saw it's performance, I went right back online and ordered another one. I am even thinking about ordering a third one for the living room, one for the kitchen, and one for the bathroom). They are very lightweight and can be moved from room-to-room, but at this price, you can have the convenience of owning a few, which allows for easier transitions when you move from location to location within your home.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpendtotheEnd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
FITS MY NEEDS TO A "T"
4/30/2011

Customer review by DotingUncle

4.0 stars 4/30/2011 by DotingUncle
by DotingUncle

After blowing multiple fuses with my old space heater I purchased this unit which uses half the power to deliver the same wattage output. It is reliable, meets my needs and was reasonably priced --less than half the cost of the 10 year old heater it replaced. My only reservation is that the "benchmark" to align the temperature control knob to is a very tiny reversed dimple on the adjacent housing. I rectified the problem by highlighting said dimple with a black magic marker.

Was this review helpful? (59) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DotingUncle
Lakewood, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/29/2011

Customer review by eristic

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by eristic
by eristic

This heater on low (400 watts) provides the equivalent warmth of a 1500 watt forced air heater which has a natural cooling effect from the blowing fan. It will not heat anything but an extremely small room but that is not its function. If you place it 2-3 feet from you the radiant heat is pleasant, immediate and effective. For $25 it is an excellent value and watch out for Amazon's 'special' $24.98 pricing--- this just means it's not eligible for free shipping (minimum $25 purchase) and you will pay an extra $8 for that as opposed to Walmart's 97 cent shipping cost.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eristic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Lil Heater
3/14/2011

Customer review by DRoland

4.0 stars 3/14/2011 by DRoland
by DRoland

I got this heater cause I moved into a two story house and the downstairs can get a lil cold. I would say this would be a great heater for a small space but for my needs its just ok. I have to sit it right on top of me to feel the heat again this is cause I have a larger room and high ceilings. If I place it under my desk next to my feet it works great. Its also good for those who have small kids as I do cause they tipped it over and it shut down very fast. Carpet was a lil warm but no burns. :) Very happy about that.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DRoland
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent
11/23/2011

Customer review by caldrm

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by caldrm
by caldrm

This little heater can really put out the heat! I love the fact that it doesn't have a noisy fan. It doesn't seem to pull electricity like the others I have had. I haven't gotten an electric bill since using it, but we shall see. We will most likely be getting another one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caldrm
Attleboro MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice heaters
12/1/2010

Customer review by Redeyes56

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by Redeyes56
by Redeyes56

These heaters worked good in my 5th wheel, only 800watts ea allows me to use one in the front and one in the rear.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redeyes56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality item
2/27/2011

Customer review by GMaZue

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by GMaZue
by GMaZue

Was smaller than expected...but turned out to be a good thing...easy to move around. Perfect for my 11'x11' bedroom. Takes longer to heat a larger room but surprisingly does get it done. Totally noiseless and well-built. I happily purchased a 2nd one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMaZue
Ypsilanti, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice heat
12/16/2010

Customer review by bdrums1971

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by bdrums1971
by bdrums1971

I bought this based on the high number of positive reviews, and so far it has not disappointed. I run it almost 24/7 and it really heats up any area. Good for standing in front of and getting warm, or heats up a bedroom overnight.

Was this review helpful? (65) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bdrums1971
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/20/2012

Customer review by delsgirl63

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by delsgirl63
by delsgirl63

my husband loves this and we plan on buying more for the house we got this to use in our computer room(coldest room during the winter)and we couldn't be happier would reccomend it totalty.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
delsgirl63
kenton tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
12/12/2010

Customer review by businesswinwin

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by businesswinwin
by businesswinwin

Used it for a week. Love it. Because it doesn't have a fan, it is super quite. It is very light, easy to move around.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
businesswinwin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Quiet, Very Warm!!
2/4/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We wanted to get this unit for our home because we tried other fan heaters, but all of them freaked out the dog. Basically the fan was partially for the dog, since she is sleeping in a crate on a cold tile floor at night. Even though we have 2 crate beds stacked up for her to sleep on, and a little dog sweeter, she would get cold and wake us up in the middle of the night to go take care of her business. Well, ever since we got this quiet unit, we are sleeping thru the night. Only down side is the bright orange glow while you are trying to sleep.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Heater stops working when I need it most
1/12/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 1/12/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This would have been 5 star but Heater stops working when I need it most - during the cold nights. I have to wake up - unplug it for 3 -5 minutes several times and plug again - then it starts working again (sometimes). Its unacceptable because I have to break my sleep or coil up in a ball because am so cold. The Optimus heater is a good buy only if it works all through the night, I just ordered another new Optimus heater because I like it - am willing to give it a second chance, but I will be returning the one I have presently (had it for only 3 months).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Very good product - for me -
11/8/2012

Customer review by Jacket37

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Jacket37
by Jacket37
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good value and performance - for me - for the purpose I needed it for. Positives are: it's infrared radiant heat - heated my small workshop (I'm not good at dimensions) perhaps 20' L x 15' W shop - warms the place like a warm summer sun's breeze and it's so quiet - it doesn't add to the extra noise in the shop while working with hammers, etc. .... The Infrared Radiant Heater - I bought one to try it out - was so "just what I needed" that I now have two (2) more of the same on the way to my home right now. Can't wait to use them upstairs & downstairs in my small rooms - all my rooms are small (adventure house -lol) or in the basement. ... Safety feature - if knocked over - it will shut off. Very good product for me - indeed - and for $29.00 - it's just grand & I will stay warm while working in the shop or inside my home. Thank You! for offering a great product - for me - at a great value ... Very satisfied customer here! I already recommended this particular product to a colleague at work - her office is cold - and this would be a perfect solution - so quiet while on the business phone. ...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jacket37
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent heater
1/16/2011

Customer review by ginnysue51

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by ginnysue51
by ginnysue51

This is the best heater I have ever owned. I bought this one and two other more expensive heaters which I paid 130. each and this one is my favorite. Plan on buying a couple more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ginnysue51
Miami OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Solves a problem
10/31/2012

Customer review by Househub

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Househub
by Househub
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use a pellet stove to heat my house. The stove is located in the living room at one end of the house. My PC is in a den at the other end with a room between. The den temperature naturally runs below the comfort level when working at the PC. It wasn't practical to keep this room at full temperature because it is only used for two or three hours a day. After reading several reviews of radiant heaters, I purchased this unit to heat just the PC position when I am there. I found that it worked very well for this purpose on the 400 watt setting. I can work at the PC in a T-shirt when the room is 58 to 62 degrees and be warm and comfortable. This type of radiant heater functions similar to the sun and only heats objects that are in front of it. It is not effective for heating the whole room. For certain applications - such as mentioned above - I feel it can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Househub
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews