Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.1out of 5 stars
3.1 out of 5 | 122 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 stars
42
Sort by: 
1-20 of 117 reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
Weak, bad design, loud
2/12/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm a light sleeper and this thing is pretty loud. It has a humm like a refrigerator is sitting across the room. I found it very annoying. It seems to put out a small amount of mist but the humidity level in my room has not increased by too much and I have a small room - I bought a Hygrometer to measure the humidity level before and after running and it's definitely not putting out enough. It has helped for sure but not enough for me to spend over $40 on it. I feel like it is too under powered and noisy. Will definitely return this and invest in a more expensive Air-O-Swiss model which is supposed to be top of the line and much more quiet than this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dusty but good
12/11/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In 2nd yr. of use. I bought this product because my cat kept sitting on top of the flatter ones. I am pleased with this unit because it is quiet, it doesn't need a filter and it holds water for a long time. The footprint is small. The drawback is it creates the white fine powder dust throughtout the whole house. Our water is very mineral heavy, even with softener. Maybe if I would use bottled water it wouldn't happen. It keeps an adequate moisture level in this midwest house in winter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (61)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good/Bad
2/14/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought 2: 1 didn't work at all and the other we have had for almost a year with no problems. We run ours all year round and love it. Yes it does leave a film on hard surface but I simply wipe it once a week. I use the sunbeam cleaning tablets once a week and do a good wipe down cleaning once a month. We use it in our open living/dining/kitchen area with a fireplace and we have no complaints. Every now and then, when its to hot and we use the fireplace more, we will turn it up. I use it just above the middle setting normal and fill the tank up every night. I am waiting for them to get back in stock so I can buy another one for our bedroom.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Humidifies the floor only, avoid if possible.
2/17/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's going back to walmart. Here in the dry MN winters, I thought this would be a good addition to my room since I always wake up way thirsty and with a sore throat. The thing was nowhere near as quiet as everyone said that it would be... the fan was much too loud and I'm hard of hearing. It's exactly the same loudness on all settings, I thought perhaps on low, the fan would run slower. Nope. Perhaps some might find the white noise comforting, it was just annoying to me. If it were just the noise, I wouldn't have minded it, but I woke up the next day, my throat was still scratchy and dry. It seems it puts moisture in the air, only to have it fall down onto the floor. Before I went to bed, I started it up on full speed, and after an hour the top of the unit was soaked and so was the floor. So, I used a towel and dried things off. I turned it on half speed... the next morning, more water on the floor. Also, it emits a fine white powder that seems to stick to my television. I'm bringing this thing back to Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good & bad
11/8/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just hooked this up after returning a vicks filterless that was horribly loud. GOOD the mist is visible, which means you can see how high to adjust the control (mist should rise then disappear without falling down so you dont end up with a puddle of condensation). It is very quiet. It is working well & holds quite a lot of water. BAD the tank is so tall it wont fit under the bathroom faucet, i will have to use the tub or kitchen sink. Additionally, the top of the tank is not flat so you must hold it while it fills because it cant stand up. The cap on the tank doesnt screw in, it twists 1/2 a turn to the locked position. The first time i filled i must have accidentally untwisted it while flipping the tank over & about 1/2the water dumped out, so i am afraid to carry by the handle because the cap doesnt seem to be extremely secure. I suppose since im not willing to spend more, it will do, but not the best. I bought the vicks v1500 before and i wish i could have found it again as its been the best (needed ASAP for a sick child)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
doesn't last/molds quickly despite proper cleaning
3/3/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had 3 of these humidifiers in the last 5 years. One has lasted nicely, but I'm convinced that one is the fluke. Two others I have had didn't even last 2 years each. The first one died after less than a year, it stopped producing mist totally, the 2nd one last longer, but still did not have a good life for the price. The motor started dying within the first year of use. You would turn the knob and nothing would happen, turn it off, and turn it back on and it would start up. 2 nights ago I turned it on and nothing happened. It still creates mist, but, without the motor pushing it up through channel it all pools in the base. After going through 2 of them in 4 years I will NOT be buying this one again. I use distilled water in this and it also started molding terribly this year. I clearly it well at the end of the season and periodically throughout the winter. few days of cleaning, which bleach in an effort to kill the mold, letting it totally dry before using it again, it still started molding again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent so far
1/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this humidifier in an attempt to get some moisture in my house, which is dry as a bone. Was skeptical initially because of some of the reviews, but (so far) I am very pleased. You MUST read the directions. They tell you to put a moisture-proof pan under the humidifier. It is important because, if you have the unit set at a large volume of moisture and you don't have a lot of air circulation, it will condense just in front of the unit. Also, if you intend to move the unit (I move it upstairs to the bedroom at night) you MUST remove the water tank and not move it unless the base is supported or it will crack. When I initially plugged it in and turned it on, I was disappointed because I only heard a small water noise and had no mist. Turns out it may take a few minutes for the mist-generating mechanism to "charge" when the unit was initially dry, either as new or after a season out of use. Once it charged, I had mist like crazy. It is working very well and, if it stays running for a month, I'm going to get another one. Excellent product for a reasonable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrific Humidifier
12/30/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We love this humidifier, it is easy to fill, we use filtered tap water. We run it 24/7. It is very quiet and the user can control how much humidity they want in the air. We set it at the half way mark and it lasts a good 2 days before it needs to be refilled. We have had it for about 3 weeks and it does NOT produce a white dust on furniture and the surrounding area is not wet from the visible mist. You will not be disappointed, it does not require any filters.Once a week, Just fill the dispenser with warm water and 1 tbsp vinegar and swirl.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good!
11/1/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had other brands of ultrasonic humidifiers and this one is by far the best! Easy to fill, easy to clean, I am very happy with this product. It is very quiet, I don't even notice it. I like the ultrasonic humidifier over the warm or cool mist ones and this one is right on the mark. I like that the mist is adjustable and have only had it on the second mark. It puts out plenty of mist. It is very dry in the winter where I live (Utah) and once the heat is turned on, a humidifier is a must. This one is awesome!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (76)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Couldn't be happier!
11/30/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's very dry indoors once the heat is on and my tropical plants were drying up badly. Ordered online with Site-To-Store. My plants are much happier, growing like crazy now and there's no damp/wet area in front of it, no white powder mess...it's a joy! I have to keep looking because I can't hear it running it's so quiet! The tank on full blast lasts about 24 hours, once the humidity level was raised, it can be turned down to less than half way and it will last a day and a half with no problems.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/17/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Recently, I purchased the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier for medium rooms. I brought it home on Saturday, November, 13th and set it all up in my medium sized room. I ran the humidifier in between the high and low setting at night, turning it off during the day. I set this humidifier on an oak dresser and watched the mist flow into the air. Thinking I would not have a problem with the tiny water droplets and they would just dissolve in the air. On Tuesday, November 16th I woke up to find the top of my wooden dresser warped and ruined from the mist. The mist had fallen on top of my dresser and soaked into the wood over night while I slept. I can not set this humidifier anywhere else in my home in fear that it will ruin another item. I have wood floors throughout and I would hate to see them affected by this product. I am very dissatisfied with this product and would like to bring it to your attention that I now have a ruined oak dresser.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (47)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very poor design
1/13/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was hesitant about buying this humidifier but we've used Sunbeam humidifiers for as long as I can remember so I went with it. Needless to say, I'm very disappointed. Unless you can (and are willing) to set it in the middle of the room, it's useless. The direction of the flow is just straight up, with no adjustment whatsoever. Yes, you can adjust the strength of the mist, but not the direction of the flow. The water container is also awkward; once filled, you cannot set it down (tubing on the bottom prevents this as well as the curvature of the top) -- hold it in one arm and turn the water off with your other hand. Very poor engineering, very poor design. Sunbeam just lost my confidence in their products. We're obviously stuck with it, but at least it's only a $45 loss -- I'll be seeking another humidifier this weekend (and it won't be Sunbeam).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Has helped snoring
12/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband and I both had terrible colds, and the result was snoring from both of us. We had not had a good night's sleep in two weeks, and the first night we tried the humidifier the problem was resolved due to more moisture in the air. We have hard water, but I fill it with water run through a PUR filter on the tap and we have not had any issues yet. It runs all night on half a canister, and it makes very little noise (if any). The only issue we had at first was I moved the unit after I had filled it and there was no mist. I thought it was broken, but realized it actually said in the directions not to move it, so I emptied the bottom container and it was fine once we started over.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just a warning.
1/20/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I do not like you leave complaints or reviews but i feel it is necessary to warn everyone about this product. The reservoir fills up with water faster then the humidifier can disperse it, even on its highest setting. this becomes a problem within the first hour due to the 2" gap at the base in the rear that is there to pull in the air. This product has continued to leak regardless what we do. After hours of cleaning i figured i would try making sure it was perfectly level and some other slight angles on it but nothing changed. The item will be returned asap and i feel for anyone else who buys this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No filter is not alwasy good ...
11/28/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have hard water and this ultrasonic humidifier produce a lot of white powder from calcium in it. We didn't have this problem with one which uses a filter. It turns out to be cheaper to replace a filter than use purified water.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Humidifier
1/13/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently moved to Colorado from Florida. Going from extreme humidity to extreme dryness has reaked havoc on my skin in only a years time. I purchased this humidifier because I was noticing changes in my skin in this super dry air. I run it all night and sometimes through out the day. It has made a huge difference not only in my skin but with my sinuses as well. It is super quiet and lasts for a very long time before I have to refill the water. I am super happy with my purchase and I would definitely recommend to a friend. Knowing that things do tend to condensate when wet I do not run it close to my wooden dresser or night stand. I also have a small fan set up to behind it to spread the misty air coming out to prevent water from forming condensation on top of the humidifier.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Humidifier Quit
11/1/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the second SUL-495 I have purchased. It appears the electronics cannot last past 6 hours. My first SUL-495 stopped misting, but the fan continued to work. Some part on the electronic board burned out after 6 hours of use. My second SUL-495 stopped misting and the fan did not work. Problem---Blown fuse. If the 2.5 amp fuse blew, then there is an electronic fault with the humidifier. Sunbeam needs to re-engineer their humidifiers so they will run for 10 to 12 hours.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great cool mist humidifier
1/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
What I like about this machine: NO irritating night light; NO spitting water; NO noise. Easy to fill, doesn't leak. Since we will be using this for years we decided it was best to order online and pay a little more to get one we really like and we couldn't be happier!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far so good!
11/12/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very quiet. The mist is visible but haven't had any issues with droplets landing on the surrounding area. Easy to fill and it is awesome that it doesn't require a filter every four weeks. It is a larger unit but it is tall so it doesn't take up much space.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Piece of Junk
2/15/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We had this for less than 2 months and it simply quit turning on. You turn the knob, nothing happens. I bought this for the filter free option that I thought would be better in the long run, save money from replacing filters. At the same time, we bought a different brand/model for a larger bedroom. This sunbeam disappointed for a few reasons: It's hard to hold onto when you fill it, as there is no handle on the bottom side. It gets some sort of pink fungus growth in hard to clean nooks and crannies. I couldn't even get it clean with q-tips. Why don't they treat the plastic with a microban similar to what they do with pet water dishes? It is also way overpriced for only working a couple months. I do not recommend this product...buy a different brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643943, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-