Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

119 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

119 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 stars
41
1-20 of 114 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
Cool mist ultrasonic humidifier.
4/8/2014

Customer review by Raymondloewy2

3.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Raymondloewy2
by Raymondloewy2

We have had this unit for a couple of months and it generates plenty of mist. The only complaint is that the reservoir tank does not have a flat surface to rest on so when you fill the tank you have to hold the tank while it fills and then support it by one hand when putting the cap on. The reservoir is also to tall to be filled from a regular bathroom sink so either fill it from the bathtub or carry it to the kitchen sink and fill it there. But without a flat side to rest on it is inconvenient at best. A simple rectangular top filling tank would have been more useful than the sleek stylish look it was designed for.

Raymondloewy2
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
7/10/2014

Customer review by Nanner

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by Nanner
by Nanner

I bought this item several years ago, but recently it quite. I want to get another one just like it, but can't find it in any stores, and if l can't get it on line, where can l buy one. Thank you. P. S. I live in western Ks.

Nanner
Kansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Weak, bad design, loud
2/12/2014

Customer review by WickyWack

2.0 stars 2/12/2014 by WickyWack
by WickyWack

I'm a light sleeper and this thing is pretty loud. It has a humm like a refrigerator is sitting across the room. I found it very annoying. It seems to put out a small amount of mist but the humidity level in my room has not increased by too much and I have a small room - I bought a Hygrometer to measure the humidity level before and after running and it's definitely not putting out enough. It has helped for sure but not enough for me to spend over $40 on it. I feel like it is too under powered and noisy. Will definitely return this and invest in a more expensive Air-O-Swiss model which is supposed to be top of the line and much more quiet than this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WickyWack
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dusty but good
12/11/2010

Customer review by binxmom

5.0 stars 12/11/2010 by binxmom
by binxmom

In 2nd yr. of use. I bought this product because my cat kept sitting on top of the flatter ones. I am pleased with this unit because it is quiet, it doesn't need a filter and it holds water for a long time. The footprint is small. The drawback is it creates the white fine powder dust throughtout the whole house. Our water is very mineral heavy, even with softener. Maybe if I would use bottled water it wouldn't happen. It keeps an adequate moisture level in this midwest house in winter.

Was this review helpful? (61) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
binxmom
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good/Bad
2/14/2014

Customer review by bobbi84

3.0 stars 2/14/2014 by bobbi84
by bobbi84

Bought 2: 1 didn't work at all and the other we have had for almost a year with no problems. We run ours all year round and love it. Yes it does leave a film on hard surface but I simply wipe it once a week. I use the sunbeam cleaning tablets once a week and do a good wipe down cleaning once a month. We use it in our open living/dining/kitchen area with a fireplace and we have no complaints. Every now and then, when its to hot and we use the fireplace more, we will turn it up. I use it just above the middle setting normal and fill the tank up every night. I am waiting for them to get back in stock so I can buy another one for our bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobbi84
chesapeake,va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Humidifies the floor only, avoid if possible.
2/17/2011

Customer review by sentient

2.0 stars 2/17/2011 by sentient
by sentient

It's going back to walmart. Here in the dry MN winters, I thought this would be a good addition to my room since I always wake up way thirsty and with a sore throat. The thing was nowhere near as quiet as everyone said that it would be... the fan was much too loud and I'm hard of hearing. It's exactly the same loudness on all settings, I thought perhaps on low, the fan would run slower. Nope. Perhaps some might find the white noise comforting, it was just annoying to me. If it were just the noise, I wouldn't have minded it, but I woke up the next day, my throat was still scratchy and dry. It seems it puts moisture in the air, only to have it fall down onto the floor. Before I went to bed, I started it up on full speed, and after an hour the top of the unit was soaked and so was the floor. So, I used a towel and dried things off. I turned it on half speed... the next morning, more water on the floor. Also, it emits a fine white powder that seems to stick to my television. I'm bringing this thing back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sentient
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good & bad
11/8/2011

Customer review by jrbennett13

3.0 stars 11/8/2011 by jrbennett13
by jrbennett13

I just hooked this up after returning a vicks filterless that was horribly loud. GOOD the mist is visible, which means you can see how high to adjust the control (mist should rise then disappear without falling down so you dont end up with a puddle of condensation). It is very quiet. It is working well & holds quite a lot of water. BAD the tank is so tall it wont fit under the bathroom faucet, i will have to use the tub or kitchen sink. Additionally, the top of the tank is not flat so you must hold it while it fills because it cant stand up. The cap on the tank doesnt screw in, it twists 1/2 a turn to the locked position. The first time i filled i must have accidentally untwisted it while flipping the tank over & about 1/2the water dumped out, so i am afraid to carry by the handle because the cap doesnt seem to be extremely secure. I suppose since im not willing to spend more, it will do, but not the best. I bought the vicks v1500 before and i wish i could have found it again as its been the best (needed ASAP for a sick child)

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrbennett13
mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
doesn't last/molds quickly despite proper cleaning
3/3/2016

Customer review by DisappointedWithHP516

1.0 stars 3/3/2016 by DisappointedWithHP516
by DisappointedWithHP516

I have had 3 of these humidifiers in the last 5 years. One has lasted nicely, but I'm convinced that one is the fluke. Two others I have had didn't even last 2 years each. The first one died after less than a year, it stopped producing mist totally, the 2nd one last longer, but still did not have a good life for the price. The motor started dying within the first year of use. You would turn the knob and nothing would happen, turn it off, and turn it back on and it would start up. 2 nights ago I turned it on and nothing happened. It still creates mist, but, without the motor pushing it up through channel it all pools in the base. After going through 2 of them in 4 years I will NOT be buying this one again. I use distilled water in this and it also started molding terribly this year. I clearly it well at the end of the season and periodically throughout the winter. few days of cleaning, which bleach in an effort to kill the mold, letting it totally dry before using it again, it still started molding again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/7/2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. We will be happy to forward your comments to the product team.

DisappointedWithHP516
Would recommend to a friend? No
Failed fast
2/19/2017

Customer review by plert

2.0 stars 2/19/2017 by plert
by plert

It was a great unit when I bought it and has used it two winters for 3 months each and it stopped working the last month (today). Tried to get a replacement for the part that makes the vapor and was told the unit is no longer manufactured and was replaced by one at much higher cost. There are no parts for it and there were none ever. Not a happy camper here!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
plert
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent so far
1/22/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I got this humidifier in an attempt to get some moisture in my house, which is dry as a bone. Was skeptical initially because of some of the reviews, but (so far) I am very pleased. You MUST read the directions. They tell you to put a moisture-proof pan under the humidifier. It is important because, if you have the unit set at a large volume of moisture and you don't have a lot of air circulation, it will condense just in front of the unit. Also, if you intend to move the unit (I move it upstairs to the bedroom at night) you MUST remove the water tank and not move it unless the base is supported or it will crack. When I initially plugged it in and turned it on, I was disappointed because I only heard a small water noise and had no mist. Turns out it may take a few minutes for the mist-generating mechanism to "charge" when the unit was initially dry, either as new or after a season out of use. Once it charged, I had mist like crazy. It is working very well and, if it stays running for a month, I'm going to get another one. Excellent product for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier, SUL495-UM
2/3/2017

Customer review by JelloO0

1.0 stars 2/3/2017 by JelloO0
by JelloO0

worked great for 1 winter season it died out of nowhere fan ran but no mist came out tried cheating it with a magnet but still wont work.... thew it out and replaced it with a honeywell model, been working ever since 3 years so far

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JelloO0
Would recommend to a friend? No
won't last
1/30/2017

Customer review by Ronnie

1.0 stars 1/30/2017 by Ronnie
by Ronnie

Bought Feburary 2016 used one winter, cleaned as instructed in manual and stored. Just tried to set up and use for 2017 winter and no moisture, motor runs but nothing else is going on. Ran for 2 hours and water level is exactly the same as when started. Don't buy unless one season is all you want!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronnie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrific Humidifier
12/30/2010

Customer review by shellsdell

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by shellsdell
by shellsdell
Top 1000 contributor

We love this humidifier, it is easy to fill, we use filtered tap water. We run it 24/7. It is very quiet and the user can control how much humidity they want in the air. We set it at the half way mark and it lasts a good 2 days before it needs to be refilled. We have had it for about 3 weeks and it does NOT produce a white dust on furniture and the surrounding area is not wet from the visible mist. You will not be disappointed, it does not require any filters.Once a week, Just fill the dispenser with warm water and 1 tbsp vinegar and swirl.

Was this review helpful? (67) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shellsdell
Kathleen, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Very good!
11/1/2010

Customer review by Bugaboo412

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by Bugaboo412
by Bugaboo412

I have had other brands of ultrasonic humidifiers and this one is by far the best! Easy to fill, easy to clean, I am very happy with this product. It is very quiet, I don't even notice it. I like the ultrasonic humidifier over the warm or cool mist ones and this one is right on the mark. I like that the mist is adjustable and have only had it on the second mark. It puts out plenty of mist. It is very dry in the winter where I live (Utah) and once the heat is turned on, a humidifier is a must. This one is awesome!!

Was this review helpful? (76) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bugaboo412
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheaply made
1/10/2017

Customer review by Weazer757

1.0 stars 1/10/2017 by Weazer757
by Weazer757

We used this humidifier for about 1 month. This morning we had our power drop out for a few seconds and come back on. There was no voltage surge or anything that would trip a surge protector. The fan in this unit failed to come back on. If the design of the fan motor in this unit is that sensitive it is not worth having.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Weazer757
Would recommend to a friend? No
Couldn't be happier!
11/30/2010

Customer review by PlantAHolic

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by PlantAHolic
by PlantAHolic

It's very dry indoors once the heat is on and my tropical plants were drying up badly. Ordered online with Site-To-Store. My plants are much happier, growing like crazy now and there's no damp/wet area in front of it, no white powder mess...it's a joy! I have to keep looking because I can't hear it running it's so quiet! The tank on full blast lasts about 24 hours, once the humidity level was raised, it can be turned down to less than half way and it will last a day and a half with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlantAHolic
Dade City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very poor design
1/13/2016

Customer review by OkieGrma

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by OkieGrma
by OkieGrma

I was hesitant about buying this humidifier but we've used Sunbeam humidifiers for as long as I can remember so I went with it. Needless to say, I'm very disappointed. Unless you can (and are willing) to set it in the middle of the room, it's useless. The direction of the flow is just straight up, with no adjustment whatsoever. Yes, you can adjust the strength of the mist, but not the direction of the flow. The water container is also awkward; once filled, you cannot set it down (tubing on the bottom prevents this as well as the curvature of the top) -- hold it in one arm and turn the water off with your other hand. Very poor engineering, very poor design. Sunbeam just lost my confidence in their products. We're obviously stuck with it, but at least it's only a $45 loss -- I'll be seeking another humidifier this weekend (and it won't be Sunbeam).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/8/2016

Thank you for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. We are constantly working on improving our products and will forward your comments to our product team.

OkieGrma
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/17/2010

Customer review by Belle456

1.0 stars 11/17/2010 by Belle456
by Belle456

Recently, I purchased the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier for medium rooms. I brought it home on Saturday, November, 13th and set it all up in my medium sized room. I ran the humidifier in between the high and low setting at night, turning it off during the day. I set this humidifier on an oak dresser and watched the mist flow into the air. Thinking I would not have a problem with the tiny water droplets and they would just dissolve in the air. On Tuesday, November 16th I woke up to find the top of my wooden dresser warped and ruined from the mist. The mist had fallen on top of my dresser and soaked into the wood over night while I slept. I can not set this humidifier anywhere else in my home in fear that it will ruin another item. I have wood floors throughout and I would hate to see them affected by this product. I am very dissatisfied with this product and would like to bring it to your attention that I now have a ruined oak dresser.

Was this review helpful? (13) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Belle456
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simply the best!
1/1/2017

Customer review by Gwen

5.0 stars 1/1/2017 by Gwen
by Gwen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These are the best humidifiers especially since they don't require a filter and the tank is good for all day! They are simply the best! :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gwen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just a warning.
1/20/2014

Customer review by Dragon369

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Dragon369
by Dragon369

I do not like you leave complaints or reviews but i feel it is necessary to warn everyone about this product. The reservoir fills up with water faster then the humidifier can disperse it, even on its highest setting. this becomes a problem within the first hour due to the 2" gap at the base in the rear that is there to pull in the air. This product has continued to leak regardless what we do. After hours of cleaning i figured i would try making sure it was perfectly level and some other slight angles on it but nothing changed. The item will be returned asap and i feel for anyone else who buys this.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragon369
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews