Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

101 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

101 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
36
1-20 of 96 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
Weak, bad design, loud
2/12/2014

Customer review by WickyWack

2.0 stars 2/12/2014 by WickyWack
by WickyWack

I'm a light sleeper and this thing is pretty loud. It has a humm like a refrigerator is sitting across the room. I found it very annoying. It seems to put out a small amount of mist but the humidity level in my room has not increased by too much and I have a small room - I bought a Hygrometer to measure the humidity level before and after running and it's definitely not putting out enough. It has helped for sure but not enough for me to spend over $40 on it. I feel like it is too under powered and noisy. Will definitely return this and invest in a more expensive Air-O-Swiss model which is supposed to be top of the line and much more quiet than this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WickyWack
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dusty but good
12/11/2010

Customer review by binxmom

5.0 stars 12/11/2010 by binxmom
by binxmom

In 2nd yr. of use. I bought this product because my cat kept sitting on top of the flatter ones. I am pleased with this unit because it is quiet, it doesn't need a filter and it holds water for a long time. The footprint is small. The drawback is it creates the white fine powder dust throughtout the whole house. Our water is very mineral heavy, even with softener. Maybe if I would use bottled water it wouldn't happen. It keeps an adequate moisture level in this midwest house in winter.

Was this review helpful? (51) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
binxmom
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good/Bad
2/14/2014

Customer review by bobbi84

3.0 stars 2/14/2014 by bobbi84
by bobbi84

Bought 2: 1 didn't work at all and the other we have had for almost a year with no problems. We run ours all year round and love it. Yes it does leave a film on hard surface but I simply wipe it once a week. I use the sunbeam cleaning tablets once a week and do a good wipe down cleaning once a month. We use it in our open living/dining/kitchen area with a fireplace and we have no complaints. Every now and then, when its to hot and we use the fireplace more, we will turn it up. I use it just above the middle setting normal and fill the tank up every night. I am waiting for them to get back in stock so I can buy another one for our bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobbi84
chesapeake,va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very poor design
1/13/2016

Customer review by OkieGrma

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by OkieGrma
by OkieGrma

I was hesitant about buying this humidifier but we've used Sunbeam humidifiers for as long as I can remember so I went with it. Needless to say, I'm very disappointed. Unless you can (and are willing) to set it in the middle of the room, it's useless. The direction of the flow is just straight up, with no adjustment whatsoever. Yes, you can adjust the strength of the mist, but not the direction of the flow. The water container is also awkward; once filled, you cannot set it down (tubing on the bottom prevents this as well as the curvature of the top) -- hold it in one arm and turn the water off with your other hand. Very poor engineering, very poor design. Sunbeam just lost my confidence in their products. We're obviously stuck with it, but at least it's only a $45 loss -- I'll be seeking another humidifier this weekend (and it won't be Sunbeam).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/8/2016

Thank you for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. We are constantly working on improving our products and will forward your comments to our product team.

Comment from - 2/8/2016

Thank you for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. We are constantly working on improving our products and will forward your comments to our product team.

OkieGrma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Humidifies the floor only, avoid if possible.
2/17/2011

Customer review by sentient

2.0 stars 2/17/2011 by sentient
by sentient

It's going back to walmart. Here in the dry MN winters, I thought this would be a good addition to my room since I always wake up way thirsty and with a sore throat. The thing was nowhere near as quiet as everyone said that it would be... the fan was much too loud and I'm hard of hearing. It's exactly the same loudness on all settings, I thought perhaps on low, the fan would run slower. Nope. Perhaps some might find the white noise comforting, it was just annoying to me. If it were just the noise, I wouldn't have minded it, but I woke up the next day, my throat was still scratchy and dry. It seems it puts moisture in the air, only to have it fall down onto the floor. Before I went to bed, I started it up on full speed, and after an hour the top of the unit was soaked and so was the floor. So, I used a towel and dried things off. I turned it on half speed... the next morning, more water on the floor. Also, it emits a fine white powder that seems to stick to my television. I'm bringing this thing back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sentient
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good & bad
11/8/2011

Customer review by jrbennett13

3.0 stars 11/8/2011 by jrbennett13
by jrbennett13

I just hooked this up after returning a vicks filterless that was horribly loud. GOOD the mist is visible, which means you can see how high to adjust the control (mist should rise then disappear without falling down so you dont end up with a puddle of condensation). It is very quiet. It is working well & holds quite a lot of water. BAD the tank is so tall it wont fit under the bathroom faucet, i will have to use the tub or kitchen sink. Additionally, the top of the tank is not flat so you must hold it while it fills because it cant stand up. The cap on the tank doesnt screw in, it twists 1/2 a turn to the locked position. The first time i filled i must have accidentally untwisted it while flipping the tank over & about 1/2the water dumped out, so i am afraid to carry by the handle because the cap doesnt seem to be extremely secure. I suppose since im not willing to spend more, it will do, but not the best. I bought the vicks v1500 before and i wish i could have found it again as its been the best (needed ASAP for a sick child)

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrbennett13
mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AND...yet another defective unit.
12/8/2015

Customer review by Bitsyshark

1.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Bitsyshark
by Bitsyshark

It appears that you must cross your fingers and hold your mouth just so if you want this humidifier to work for any length of time. I bought this humidifier yesterday. After reading and following all instructions (if you buy one, read directions first or risk leaking water all over your floor. It is just the way it is made) and using distilled water the unit appeared to be working, I did see a tiny bit of vapor for a couple of minutes. An hour later, nothing. Not working. Broken like a dollar store toy, for no reason. My humidity was at 32% so I know it was not due to the automatic shutoff when there is enough humidity in the air. The fan was running (it IS quiet, if you get one and it works), but no water vapor. I tried adjusting the humidity level knob, turning it off and on, unplugging it for a while, still broken. DEFECTIVE. Looks like a lot of these are, judging by so many reviews. I WAS going to replace it with the same model, but after reading all the negative reviews about people getting multiple defective units, (I should have read the reviews first!) I'm going to replace this with another brand that is less prone to not working right out of the box or failing after a short time. It looks nice, it was quiet and it has a large water reservoir, plus it doesn't use filters, but none of the features matter if IT DOESN'T WORK, right? Boo, Sunbeam, boo to you on this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 12/29/2015

Thank you for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. We are constantly working on improving our products and will forward your comments to our product team. We want to ensure that you are enjoying the full benefits of the unit and we are happy to help you with it. For assistance, please call us at 1-800-435-1250; Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, EST.

Bitsyshark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent so far
1/22/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I got this humidifier in an attempt to get some moisture in my house, which is dry as a bone. Was skeptical initially because of some of the reviews, but (so far) I am very pleased. You MUST read the directions. They tell you to put a moisture-proof pan under the humidifier. It is important because, if you have the unit set at a large volume of moisture and you don't have a lot of air circulation, it will condense just in front of the unit. Also, if you intend to move the unit (I move it upstairs to the bedroom at night) you MUST remove the water tank and not move it unless the base is supported or it will crack. When I initially plugged it in and turned it on, I was disappointed because I only heard a small water noise and had no mist. Turns out it may take a few minutes for the mist-generating mechanism to "charge" when the unit was initially dry, either as new or after a season out of use. Once it charged, I had mist like crazy. It is working very well and, if it stays running for a month, I'm going to get another one. Excellent product for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrific Humidifier
12/30/2010

Customer review by shellsdell

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by shellsdell
by shellsdell
Top 1000 contributor

We love this humidifier, it is easy to fill, we use filtered tap water. We run it 24/7. It is very quiet and the user can control how much humidity they want in the air. We set it at the half way mark and it lasts a good 2 days before it needs to be refilled. We have had it for about 3 weeks and it does NOT produce a white dust on furniture and the surrounding area is not wet from the visible mist. You will not be disappointed, it does not require any filters.Once a week, Just fill the dispenser with warm water and 1 tbsp vinegar and swirl.

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shellsdell
Kathleen, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Very good!
11/1/2010

Customer review by Bugaboo412

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by Bugaboo412
by Bugaboo412

I have had other brands of ultrasonic humidifiers and this one is by far the best! Easy to fill, easy to clean, I am very happy with this product. It is very quiet, I don't even notice it. I like the ultrasonic humidifier over the warm or cool mist ones and this one is right on the mark. I like that the mist is adjustable and have only had it on the second mark. It puts out plenty of mist. It is very dry in the winter where I live (Utah) and once the heat is turned on, a humidifier is a must. This one is awesome!!

Was this review helpful? (74) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bugaboo412
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sunbeam, what did you do to this humidifier?
12/19/2015

Customer review by sag27

1.0 stars 12/19/2015 by sag27
by sag27

I have owned one of these humidifiers for about 6 years. I bought another last fall as I wanted one in my bedroom. It did not work. I returned it to Walmart. I wrote defective on the box so it would not be put back in stock. I bought another this fall for the same reason. It did not work. I couldn't believe it. No vapor would come through. Air came through, but the vapor did not. I was super disappointed. I could not figure out what was wrong with this model. It was not the tank as I switched the newer one to the older machine. It worked fine, but the older tank on the newer machine did not work either. There is something wrong with the fit of the thing that pushes open the connection in the tank from the base. Sunbeam seems to be ignoring the defect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 12/29/2015

Thank you for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. We are constantly working on improving our products and will forward your comments to our product team. We want to ensure that you are enjoying the full benefits of the unit and we are happy to help you with it. For assistance, please call us at 1-800-435-1250; Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, EST.

sag27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simply poor design
1/27/2016

Customer review by NobodySpecial

2.0 stars 1/27/2016 by NobodySpecial
by NobodySpecial

Another person who bought this in the store without reading the reviews first. Worked just fine for the first two days then leaked and I discovered the cause. There were little air bubbles rising up near the lid every so often. As it turns out the lid leaks rather often. Normally how the humidifier works is when you set the tank down on the base it pushes up a little valve that allows water to drain down into the base. The water drains through a collar extending down from the bottom of the tank so that once the water reaches a certain level it stops filling. As the water is dispersed in the form of mist and the level drops it eventually refills a little bit every so often. If the lid is improperly seated it will drip water into the base, often faster than the humidifier can get rid of it. The water level rises, the nebulizer can't properly generate the mist once it's above a certain level and eventually it starts pouring out the back of the base through the little vent which is situated directly over the electrical cord. Wonderful. The lid on this doesn't screw on like you'd expect. Instead it uses a twist lock which applies very little pressure to seal it. You can't simply turn it and get the lid on there snug. There is a ton of play in the lid on mine, you can move it around quite a bit when it's in the locked position. I have to try a few times to get it just right. Before you go to put your tank on the base, hold it upright by the handle over the sink and wait a few seconds to see if a steady dripping starts around the lid. People who are sensitive to noise and want silence when they sleep probably won't like this unit. The fan runs at a constant rate (the knob on the front only controls the amount of mist generated) and makes a low whistling sound. There is also a constant dripping noise (not necessarily from the lid). Personally I like the white noise myself although the occasional glug-glug noise just like that of a water cooler is a little noticeable. The tank looks to be a little over a gallon and will empty in about 24 hours with the knob set to max mist. As others have mentioned the tank is designed so that you have to hold it up in order to fill it. Not a deal breaker on its own but certainly annoying. Leaking or not you'll probably want to put a towel under the unit as the mist tends to condense around it. If it wasn't for the lid it could be a decent humidifier, not great but you could justify keeping it. In it's current form though I obviously cannot recommend this to anyone. This is getting returned.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/1/2016

Thank you for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. We are constantly working on improving our products and will forward your comments to our product team. We want to ensure that you are enjoying the full benefits of the unit and we are happy to help you with it. For assistance, please call us at 1-800-546-5637; Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, EST.

NobodySpecial
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worth the price
1/20/2016

Customer review by Sandy

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Sandy
by Sandy

Easy to use and clean as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sunbeam Humidifier
1/3/2016

Customer review by WalmartCustomer

4.0 stars 1/3/2016 by WalmartCustomer
by WalmartCustomer

I got this because it was a good price and I didn't have to deal with a filter. The only thing I don't like about it is if I have to move this to another room, it won't start up again until you pour out the water in the well on the bottom. It's kind of annoying but otherwise works well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Couldn't be happier!
11/30/2010

Customer review by PlantAHolic

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by PlantAHolic
by PlantAHolic

It's very dry indoors once the heat is on and my tropical plants were drying up badly. Ordered online with Site-To-Store. My plants are much happier, growing like crazy now and there's no damp/wet area in front of it, no white powder mess...it's a joy! I have to keep looking because I can't hear it running it's so quiet! The tank on full blast lasts about 24 hours, once the humidity level was raised, it can be turned down to less than half way and it will last a day and a half with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlantAHolic
Dade City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/17/2010

Customer review by Belle456

1.0 stars 11/17/2010 by Belle456
by Belle456

Recently, I purchased the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier for medium rooms. I brought it home on Saturday, November, 13th and set it all up in my medium sized room. I ran the humidifier in between the high and low setting at night, turning it off during the day. I set this humidifier on an oak dresser and watched the mist flow into the air. Thinking I would not have a problem with the tiny water droplets and they would just dissolve in the air. On Tuesday, November 16th I woke up to find the top of my wooden dresser warped and ruined from the mist. The mist had fallen on top of my dresser and soaked into the wood over night while I slept. I can not set this humidifier anywhere else in my home in fear that it will ruin another item. I have wood floors throughout and I would hate to see them affected by this product. I am very dissatisfied with this product and would like to bring it to your attention that I now have a ruined oak dresser.

Was this review helpful? (13) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Belle456
Would recommend to a friend? No
Has helped snoring
12/14/2013

Customer review by Mstiggsy

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Mstiggsy
by Mstiggsy

My husband and I both had terrible colds, and the result was snoring from both of us. We had not had a good night's sleep in two weeks, and the first night we tried the humidifier the problem was resolved due to more moisture in the air. We have hard water, but I fill it with water run through a PUR filter on the tap and we have not had any issues yet. It runs all night on half a canister, and it makes very little noise (if any). The only issue we had at first was I moved the unit after I had filled it and there was no mist. I thought it was broken, but realized it actually said in the directions not to move it, so I emptied the bottom container and it was fine once we started over.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mstiggsy
NW Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just a warning.
1/20/2014

Customer review by Dragon369

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Dragon369
by Dragon369

I do not like you leave complaints or reviews but i feel it is necessary to warn everyone about this product. The reservoir fills up with water faster then the humidifier can disperse it, even on its highest setting. this becomes a problem within the first hour due to the 2" gap at the base in the rear that is there to pull in the air. This product has continued to leak regardless what we do. After hours of cleaning i figured i would try making sure it was perfectly level and some other slight angles on it but nothing changed. The item will be returned asap and i feel for anyone else who buys this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragon369
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No filter is not alwasy good ...
11/28/2011

Customer review by JohnCK

1.0 stars 11/28/2011 by JohnCK
by JohnCK

We have hard water and this ultrasonic humidifier produce a lot of white powder from calcium in it. We didn't have this problem with one which uses a filter. It turns out to be cheaper to replace a filter than use purified water.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnCK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome Humidifier
1/13/2011

Customer review by MountainAngel

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by MountainAngel
by MountainAngel

I recently moved to Colorado from Florida. Going from extreme humidity to extreme dryness has reaked havoc on my skin in only a years time. I purchased this humidifier because I was noticing changes in my skin in this super dry air. I run it all night and sometimes through out the day. It has made a huge difference not only in my skin but with my sinuses as well. It is super quiet and lasts for a very long time before I have to refill the water. I am super happy with my purchase and I would definitely recommend to a friend. Knowing that things do tend to condensate when wet I do not run it close to my wooden dresser or night stand. I also have a small fan set up to behind it to spread the misty air coming out to prevent water from forming condensation on top of the humidifier.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MountainAngel
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews