Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

30 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

30 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

13%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
24
1-20 of 30 total reviews
13%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Minus Five (-5) Rating
11/29/2013

Customer review by Katybug55

1.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Katybug55
by Katybug55

Just like another reviewer, in a pinch, I had to open my cans squeezing the handles together! The gears would not meet up to turn the blade - after only a few uses! I NEVER put it in the dishwasher. Because I was tired of electric openers' short lifespan, I bought the Oneida manual can opener. And, it quit even faster! So, I bought a stainless steel old fashioned rip can opener - no gear mechanism - just good 'ole' elbow grease. It opens my cans just fine. For those who've never seen a rip can opener, I included a photo.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katybug55
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
8/8/2012

Customer review by cndrm

1.0 stars 8/8/2012 by cndrm
by cndrm

Junk! What more can I say other than I should have read the reviews myself. As the other reviewers have noted, this can opener, for some reason, shreds and tears the labels, and you end up with little bits of label paper in your food. This is annoying at best, but is not the reason I'm writing this review. What mine started doing recently, is the drive gears don't mesh properly, and the can opener locks up. What a piece of junk. It's going straight to the garbage and I'm going to order a quality Swing-Away can opener. If you"re reading this to see if you should buy this can opener or not, do yourself a favor and DON'T. Order yourself a Swing-Away and never look back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cndrm
albuquerque, nm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/12/2011

Customer review by swhinning

1.0 stars 9/12/2011 by swhinning
by swhinning

I purchased this product as a replacement for a can opener I did not like but because of the weight I presumed this would be quite satisfactory. I was wrong. I fought using this almost every time I attempted to open a can. The other review is correct - it does not fit on the lid and the labels tear and fall into the food in addition to being so hard to turn. I tossed it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swhinning
Would recommend to a friend? No
To say it's junk is a complement, it's a waste!!!!
7/27/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/27/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Having owned multiple sets of Oneida Flatware for 40+ years I purchased this more expensive can opener to replace a cheaper can opener thinking it would be a good investment. OMG, how wrong I was!!! Who knew I should have read the reviews before spending my money on something as basic as a CAN OPENER???!!!!!! Oneida use to stand for a quality product. Not this item as the wheels spin but it does not cut the can, rips paper off the label. I had to pull my SEARS 40+ year old electric can opener out of the cupboard to open a simple can of vegetables. It's never been in a dishwasher and maybe opens a can of cat food every day - if that. It did not even last a year. PITIFUL!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Name brand isn't everything!
10/16/2012

Customer review by rsf6850

1.0 stars 10/16/2012 by rsf6850
by rsf6850

This is the email I wrote to Oneida: I am currently the owner of an Oneida Stainless Can Opener that I purchased for $7.99 at WalMart about one year ago. Previously, I would purchase much less expensive hand openers and would have to replace them within 3-4 years. I made the mistake of thinking that if I would purchase a more expensive opener, made by a reputable company, it would last much longer and I wouldn't have to spend the money to purchase them more often. The Oneida Can Opener is no longer working. The gears slip or lock up and the only way I can open a can is if I repeatedly open and close the handles. Instead of spending $8 per year for the Oneida product, I think I will pay $3 every 3-4 years for a cheap can opener. Apparently, name brand isn't everything. I would like my money back please. If you send me a UPS shipping label I will be happy to return your product

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rsf6850
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not a good product
2/26/2011

Customer review by EmmieChick

1.0 stars 2/26/2011 by EmmieChick
by EmmieChick

I bought this a few weeks ago because of the workmanship and the weight and thought it would work as well as my old trusty that I was trying to replace, Wal-Mart did not have, and I am very dissatisfied!! You have to start it several times and it peels off the labels in shreds on top of can that the shavings fall back into the can. Now ordering my trusty Swing Away opener that I have needed to replace due to age. Used that one for 25 years!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EmmieChick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Trash
3/22/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/22/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this because it looked substantial...all metal, I could hang it up and it looked great. If you want something hanging in your kitchen that looks good...go for it! If you want it to work for longer than 3 months...no, do not buy it. The metal gears wore out before 3 months.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Denver, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Useless! Wasted my money
3/17/2013

Customer review by LudlowPalmer

1.0 stars 3/17/2013 by LudlowPalmer
by LudlowPalmer

This can opener looked & felt well made, was stainless steel & Oneida was a brand I trusted. Forget that! After just a few weeks this can opener is useless. Aside from the issue with bits of labels falling into the can, it's become impossible to use. The gear that actually bites into the can & makes it move has worn out already! Why would they make this gear out of metal that's obviously softer than the cans you're trying to open?? It's not rocket science, people - can openers have been around for a LONG time, it shouldn't be hard to make one that actually works. What a piece of junk - you'd be better off using a Swiss Army knife. It's a nice looking accessory, but that's about it. This is the last Oneida product I will ever buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LudlowPalmer
Boston area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your money
11/8/2012

Customer review by TopMomShopper

1.0 stars 11/8/2012 by TopMomShopper
by TopMomShopper

I bought this product a month ago to replace an electric can opener that broke the first week I bought it. This opener appealed to me because of its appearance and weight. Well, I just threw it out!! It stopped opening any can about 5 days ago. does nothing but puncture now....totally worthless. So tomorrow morning I am heading out to buy my third can opener in two months!! Why don't they make them like they used to??????

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopMomShopper
East Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/25/2013

Customer review by Judy1368

1.0 stars 7/25/2013 by Judy1368
by Judy1368

Worked great for a couple of months then would not turn on can. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Judy1368
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
JUNK!!!
2/23/2012

Customer review by Cortney02

1.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Cortney02
by Cortney02

Can opener number 2 that I have bought from Wal-Mart only to throw it in the trash. This item looks quality but it is absolutely junk! If I still had the receipt I would take it back. Just like others have posted, it shreds labels and open very well at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cortney02
Would recommend to a friend? No
the cutting blade&drive wheel rusted in dishwasher
1/24/2014

Customer review by JackBuyer

1.0 stars 1/24/2014 by JackBuyer
by JackBuyer

the cutting blade and drive wheel rusted after putting it in the dishwasher for

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JackBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Add me to the NO list!
2/3/2014

Customer review by okiemama2

1.0 stars 2/3/2014 by okiemama2
by okiemama2

Do not purchase this item! I, too, bought it because I thought Oneida was a good brand. Not so far as can openers go! Gears slip, very hard to turn the handle, and extremely frustrating to try and use. I wrote to Oneida to see what they will do. Will see.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okiemama2
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty but not Quality
12/5/2012

Customer review by Kate9854

1.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Kate9854
by Kate9854

Purchased to replay my old can opener that had seen better days. The nice appearance was what made me purchase and it did work nice for a while. Nearly a month later, it just fell completely apart while using it. I'm guessing a screw came apart so it now sits in a draw.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kate9854
Oxford, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Broke the first time I used it!!!!
5/15/2012

Customer review by byrdbabe

1.0 stars 5/15/2012 by byrdbabe
by byrdbabe

This can opener has never fully opened a can! I started to use it, got about a quarter of a can open. The gears poped off, spring came out, and turning handle fell off in my hand. I had to use a knife to open the rest of the can!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
byrdbabe
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
disappointing purchase
2/25/2013

Customer review by dandme

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by dandme
by dandme

After horrible luck w/ other can openers, I purchased this one as I felt sure that the Oneida name wouldn't let me down. I was wrong! After a few months it was useless... so now finally given up and bought an electric opener...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dandme
Mineral, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Useless
9/18/2013

Customer review by Gaaahhh

1.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Gaaahhh
by Gaaahhh

Was only used several times and fell completely apart - entirely useless - not worth the money and of course I can't locate the receipt to return it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gaaahhh
Phillipsburg, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Looks Can Be Deceiving!
2/19/2013

Customer review by SCandLuvinIt

1.0 stars 2/19/2013 by SCandLuvinIt
by SCandLuvinIt

This can opener might look good and feel like it would work well, but guess again. This is the absolute worst can opener I have ever owned. The first time you use it it will work great, but after a few uses and washes, it won't open anything. Hard to turn, and skips badly. My suggestion is don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SCandLuvinIt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
extremely poor quality
4/2/2014

Customer review by SweetPeaMcD

1.0 stars 4/2/2014 by SweetPeaMcD
by SweetPeaMcD

I have bought two of these can openers, thinking the first failure after only about three months was a fluke. I've had the second one for about the same amount of time, maybe less, and the same failure. The gears stop meeting up properly when opening a can. Doesn't matter if you remove the paper from the can. Neither were put into the dishwasher; they were hand washed. Both failed. Terrible product. DO NOT PURCHASE!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetPeaMcD
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
works great for the first few times. then brakes
2/16/2015

Customer review by purple77

1.0 stars 2/16/2015 by purple77
by purple77

you have to use the can opener as a whole punch around a can.. i had it exchanged a few times .. every time it brakes.. i am so mad. not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
purple77
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews