Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 113 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

113 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

113 reviews | 3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
26
3 stars
22
2 stars
15
1 stars
29
1-20 of 89 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Not what I expected!
12/28/2010

Customer review by pnpdreams

1.0 stars 12/28/2010 by pnpdreams
by pnpdreams

The price was GREAT....and I found out why once I went to connect to my TV! There is NO AUDIO OUT on this at all! I was exteremly dissappointed in that! The ONLY time u can use the surround sound is if u are watching a DVD. U cannot use the surround sound for everyday TV. I was so bummed that I did not even finish hooking everything up. The manual was awful..no help at all. I will be returning this!

Was this review helpful? (174) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pnpdreams
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
not what it seems
1/7/2011

Customer review by mikeybear

2.0 stars 1/7/2011 by mikeybear
by mikeybear

good product for the price but the surround sound only works if you are playing a dvd. It doesn't let you run the tv sound thru the surrond sound

Was this review helpful? (80) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeybear
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Can't hang on the wall
1/9/2011

Customer review by Meagarunt22

2.0 stars 1/9/2011 by Meagarunt22
by Meagarunt22

I can't tell you about the sound quality because we never hooked it up. The wires are short and there aren't any holes on the back of the speakers to hang on the wall. The wires were so short that we couldn't do anything with the speakers unless we just sat them really close to each other. We are taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meagarunt22
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Don't Bother
1/12/2011

Customer review by barneyrasin

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by barneyrasin
by barneyrasin

This DVD player was terrible. It would stop in the middle of a movie. The speakers were just fair. The volume control is only available using the remote. Please don't bother buying this despite the great price. It was valued at $99 but purchased @ $39. It is not worth anything.

Was this review helpful? (57) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barneyrasin
temecula,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not Happy
1/9/2011

Customer review by firemanwife

1.0 stars 1/9/2011 by firemanwife
by firemanwife

We returned this product and bought a different one at a resale shop that actually worked. Don't waste your time or money!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firemanwife
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great choice, until I opened the box....
12/21/2010

Customer review by NannyFanatic

3.0 stars 12/21/2010 by NannyFanatic
by NannyFanatic

I purchased this on Black Friday for their online special. It was a great price and was excited to get it shipped. I had my husband open it up and begin to install it. First off, the wires for the speakers are not your typical wires that you split and then needle into the back of the DVD player. Each wire was an A/V cable that ran to the back of the Sub-woofer. When we took all of the contents out, we noticed 3 sets of A/V cables. We had no clue what they were for until we read the horrible directions inside of the booklet. There are step-by-step directions for the darn remote, but only two pictures for the connection set up that is to take place on the back of the Sub-woofer. The diagram was incredibly small and we had a problem trying to follow the picture on where each cable went. We finally had all of the cables connected and proceeded to test it out. We put in a movie that had decent action in it to test the speakers. We turned on the system and absolutely no sound came on. My heart dropped because I had to wait for this for darn-near two weeks. I felt dumb because I hadn't read the reviews (until now) and felt that I had wasted my money. Somehow my husband re-did the wiring set up and got it to work. Now, the sound from this is actually really good! I was so happy because I didn't want to spend more money on another surround sound system. The picture quality is sub-par but I am not trying to compete with local movie theaters. This satisfies my expectations as far as the sound goes. My advice, go ahead and satisfy your curiosity. Do your best to follow the awful diagram and you will get a decent product with this. Great price but the stress it took for us to get to decency was better off not enduring.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NannyFanatic
Marysville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Curtis DVD 5088
12/8/2010

Customer review by Tigerzeye

2.0 stars 12/8/2010 by Tigerzeye
by Tigerzeye

Bought product ...should have saved my money!!! They did not supply enough cords. The length of the cords on the speakers were not very long. Have trouble connecting it to the TV. Instructional Manual might as well be thrown in the fire, thats about the only thing its good for. There is not definitions for some of their abbreviations.

Was this review helpful? (32) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tigerzeye
Wal Mart - online
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
5/5/2011

Customer review by kimnoel

1.0 stars 5/5/2011 by kimnoel
by kimnoel

The first thing was it took almost 3 weeks to receive the product. it was a very good price but in this case we got what we paid for cheep. we returned it the next day

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kimnoel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
RETURNED THIS PRODUCT
4/22/2011

Customer review by CinciNeal

1.0 stars 4/22/2011 by CinciNeal
by CinciNeal

skips during dvd's and phases in and out on sound. not a good product would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CinciNeal
norwood, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
BOUGHT ON SALE!
12/18/2010

Customer review by DANRON

3.0 stars 12/18/2010 by DANRON
by DANRON

For the price you can't beat it, only on sale! Bought it for my bedroom...perfect fit. Would not have gotten it for my large TV. Hook up instruction was not user friendly, luckily I knew how to. Speaker wires were short, remote is fragile but works. It pretty much met my expectation but I knew what I was getting. For the price... you can't beat it $39.00.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DANRON
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DVD sound system
1/10/2011

Customer review by Akey

3.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Akey
by Akey

Sound is nice...but DVD player sticks during viewing of movies. It was quite cheap and you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Akey
Yorba Linda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
2/16/2011

Customer review by JinxyKit

1.0 stars 2/16/2011 by JinxyKit
by JinxyKit

I only used this producted one time before it stopped working. The dvd player wouldn't hardly turn on, and when it did it would shut its self back off a second later. The only reason i have not returned this product is because i can't get it to stay on long enough to get my dvd back out of it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JinxyKit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
its ok
1/12/2011

Customer review by bywater

3.0 stars 1/12/2011 by bywater
by bywater

the cords are not long eangh and

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bywater
lansing,mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not A good Product
4/28/2011

Customer review by JtHulk31

1.0 stars 4/28/2011 by JtHulk31
by JtHulk31

Well its not loud enough, the Sub dosen t have A thick bass sound for it to say it is 450 watts!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JtHulk31
Memphis,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Not A Very Good Buy
4/4/2011

Customer review by bren1213

3.0 stars 4/4/2011 by bren1213
by bren1213

I did not expect a lot for this low price, however, I did expect it to have a lot better sound than what it has. The volume has to be adjusted via the remote and what a pain, u only have a few seconds to move it up and even after putting all sound levels as high as they would go, the volume was lower than what our TV would be at. When people talk on the movie, u can't hear them, even when the volume is full blast! It's a pain to have to switch the unit on or off as u have to do this manually. The DVD player is about the only thing that is decent. Don't buy this if u r wanting decent volume and sound, spend more money and get what u want.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bren1213
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
IS NOT A TRUE SURROUND SOUND-DVD ONLY!
3/20/2011

Customer review by boydsbullies

1.0 stars 3/20/2011 by boydsbullies
by boydsbullies

I purchased this to add sound to my LCD wall mounted flat screen. I was so disappointed when I went through the trouble to hook it up and it sounded much better than I thought it would, but it is only surround sound for the actual DVD player. You can not run your television, cable, games, nothing else through it. The sound was good, but not enough to keep it. If you just want it for movies, then maybe it would be worth it, but for just $18 more you can get a system that does movies and all your other things. Im returning it as soon as I can!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boydsbullies
West Plains, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Big disappointment
1/7/2011

Customer review by pinkmiler

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by pinkmiler
by pinkmiler

Bought for hubby for Christmas gift, he opened it hooked it up and then realized there was no sound control. We have to young children so we have to be able to control the volume and besides that is wasn't to low it was to loud. We took it back the next day for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinkmiler
Toledo Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
7/12/2011

Customer review by bmc74

4.0 stars 7/12/2011 by bmc74
by bmc74

its not a bad system but if most people would know how to hook it up correctly you can have sound come from your tv if you have a digital cable box take your yellow wire hook it up to the box and your system its simple...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmc74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
disappointed
1/9/2011

Customer review by aray4

3.0 stars 1/9/2011 by aray4
by aray4

Although a good price, I was disappointed that it isn't hi-def capable. The speakers are close together b/c the wires are short also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aray4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the time
12/17/2010

Customer review by TTory33

2.0 stars 12/17/2010 by TTory33
by TTory33

Ok. I'm not going to knock this product to much but my mother saw this and wanted it so of course I was the one who would have to hook it up. When I pulled it out the box I notice that there where to many speakers to many wires. I tried in vain to hook it up corrctly to no avail. The direction were no help. I called the customer support and spoke to someone who didnt have a clue about the product. After sitting for an hour trying to figure it out. I advised my mother to send it back and buy a sound bar. She took my advice. The sound bar has 1 cord that attaches to the back of the TV and thats it. EASY! My opinion buy a sound bar.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TTory33
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews