Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 129 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

129 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

129 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 129 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews
My favorite nail polish

Customer review by sfritz1

5.0 stars 10/3/2016 by sfritz1
by sfritz1

I have been using this polish for over a year & it is easily my favorite! Goes on smoothly & has a chic, gloss finish. To me, it has more of a purple gray tone, which I love!

Greenwood, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the perfect neutral

Customer review by epreste

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by epreste
by epreste

This is a beautiful grey. It even has a hint of purple in it so that it looks lively. This color is wonderful.

New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very pretty!

Customer review by tabitharalyn

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by tabitharalyn
by tabitharalyn

I just bought this. I was really looking for a soft grey, but I wanted to see what this would look like. I still am going to buy a soft, light grey some time later, but I'm really glad that I bought this one. I like chinchilly a lot! It's very pretty and has a long wear time. I have to use about three coats to get the color opaque, but I honestly don't mind. The only thing I would like is to have a bigger, flatter brush, but I can work with the one it comes with, but it would be easier to apply and maybe have less streaking with a salon style brush.

Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The most perfect grey EVER!

Customer review by NovAnnette

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by NovAnnette
by NovAnnette

This color is a mix of grey/mauve.. It is by far, IMO, the most perfect grey tone on the market. Essie has staying power. I would never use another brand of polish. In Love with Essie..

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this shade!

Customer review by Nails By Miri

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Nails By Miri
by Nails By Miri

Very pretty brown/grey shade. Perfect for the winter! really love the color and covers in 2 coats.

Nails By Miri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this color for the winter months

Customer review by andreana

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by andreana
by andreana

I bought it about a month ago and I am getting compliments. The color online doesn't complete reflect its true color in person. It does have a more purple/grayish color to it once it dries. I love it. I found it on Pinterest for winter color looks.

Sacramento, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent shade of polish!

Customer review by Ames91

5.0 stars 1/2/2015 by Ames91
by Ames91

This was the very first Essie polish I ever bought; now, I am a dedicated Essie customer! My husband actually picked this color up for me, and I'm glad he did, because it was not a color I would have naturally been drawn to. Once it was on my nails, I couldn't stop looking at them! The application is smooth, and the polish is completely opaque in two coats. It's such a striking shade of grey with just a hint of purple. I have several shades of Essie now, but Chinchilly is always a go-to choice. It's perfect for any occasion when you want to appear chic and sophisticated.

Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice neutral color

Customer review by talouloo

5.0 stars 10/15/2014 by talouloo
by talouloo

I treat my nails with Essie Millionails and always admire the variety of colors Essie offers, which has kept me from actually purchasing a color....I could never decide on which color I liked the best. Besides Millionails, Chinchilly was my very first Essie nail color purchase. I typically gravitate to the dark colors like "Wicked" or the very light muted colors, such as "Sugar Daddy" or "Cocktails & Coconuts". Chinchilly falls somewhere in between & I love it. It has a lilac/grey tone which makes it a great neutral color. I love the way Essie polish goes on & wears.

Sunny Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The BEST nail polish in the batch

Customer review by Local77

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by Local77
by Local77

Expect long wear with two coats and no top coat. Will make it a week with no chipping for a flawless look. Best neutral shade for the office but still cool for going out. The polish that made me an Essie believer.

California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the fall!

Customer review by camilledf

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by camilledf
by camilledf

I bought this just a few days ago and couldn't wait to try it on! I immediately took off my other nail polish and applied this. I regret not buying it when I saw it at Target months ago! It was either this or Ladylike. I should've just bought both because I must say, I LOVE IT!! It is such a nice color for the fall! It's in between a purple and gray; it is simply amazing. I feel like it will be my next go to color every time I want something not too dark and not too light. Great buy!

California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Grey Area Here!

Customer review by lb713

5.0 stars 9/30/2014 by lb713
by lb713

Simply put, this color is the bees knees. This color is a staple in my polish stash, I'm on my third bottle! I love that it is the perfect grey for fall. My skin is on the paler side, and I have yellow skin tone and it perfectly complements me. The mix of lavender and taupe sets it apart from other greys, which are sometimes hit or miss. If you are looking for a good neutral polish that is a little out-of-the-box, this is your bottle. Chinchilly is the perfect color for work or play!

Washington, DC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best work color!!

Customer review by JKMMM

5.0 stars 10/11/2014 by JKMMM

When it comes to work, I'm limited on color choices that are "appropriate" (their standards, not mine), and this shade is my favorite! It's far from the boring beiges, but still keeps me in the neutral guidelines. It's not a one coater if you want it to be opaque, two coats are needed to keep from seeing any nail lines underneath. Granted, if you did one thick coat it probably would work, but I find it dries faster and is easier to work with by doing 2 thinner coats instead.

Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this COLOR.

Customer review by semipreciousgem

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by semipreciousgem
by semipreciousgem

this COLOR. What a perfect balance of grayish/purple hues-giving it an elegant yet fresh appeal to fingers and toes. With Essie's undeniable high-gloss finish with even application, my fingers looked like I walked right out of the salon. I applied only two coats and was pleased with the accuracy of the color in the bottle and the consistency in the color on my nails. A loyal Essie-er for years now and happy to have this great all-year color in my ever expanding collection.

Detroit, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gorgeous color...stays on forever!

Customer review by amanbrec

5.0 stars 5/14/2015 by amanbrec
by amanbrec

This was my very first Essie nail polish and I love the color. It's a gorgeous grey with a hint of light purple. I used one of the Essie topcoats to give it some shine and I've had the same polish on for going on three weeks now and it has literally not chipped at all! It looks like I just put it on. I love it an cannot wait to purchase more Essie products!

Homestead, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Literally the best colour ever

Customer review by Julievrbk

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Julievrbk
by Julievrbk

I bought this colour a while ago, but I was a chronic nail biter. I recently decided to grow out my nails, and nine times out of ten I have chinchilla on my nails. I have an extensive nail polish collection, but for some reason I always gravitate back to this dignitary colour. I always get the mot compliments with this colour because it's unlike any other. The formula is great and the colour is one of a kind.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Probably one of the most versatile colors ever!

Customer review by rcdeman

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by rcdeman
by rcdeman

This is one of my favorite Essie shades ever. Chinchilly is extremely versatile. I wear it on any occasion-- work, formal and casual situations, parties, night outs, anything. It can stand out a bold color yet at the same time, it is sophisticated enough to blend in a more elegant setting. The formula is smooth. Not too goopy and extremely easy to apply. I highly recommend this specific Essie shade!

Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful gray if you're fair!

Customer review by Rxchick

5.0 stars 9/13/2015 by Rxchick
by Rxchick

I'm fair-skinned and this is my favorite gray polish. It doesn't look drab at all. Essie polish is the best wearing for sure.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good finish, great colour

Customer review by Wilko

4.0 stars 8/31/2015 by Wilko
by Wilko

I brought this a mouth ago and I am so happy that I did because it has a good finish on nail base great colour but it does need 1-3 coats to really stand out.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect soft neutral gray

Customer review by Stephelfinger

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Stephelfinger
by Stephelfinger

This has been a favorite color of mine for years. Not too blue or too yellow like some grays can be -- perfectly balanced hue, and not too dark. Looks great on fair skin like mine for an updated take on classic neutral polish. Chic, but not too-edgy. Sheer 1st coat prevents the finished look from being too opaque or hard, results in a soft silky pale gray reminiscent of its namesake :)

Dallas, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for Any Season!

Customer review by Sophia S

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Sophia S
by Sophia S

I bought this color a few months ago and I am so glad I did! I can wear it in the summer, winter, spring, or fall. I never have to work about it matching my outfit because, since it's neutral, it goes with everything. The color is the perfect blending of grey and sand. From dressing it up to keeping it casual, this poohs is perfection at it's finest. I would definitely go with it! ❤️

Sophia S
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews