Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

87 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

87 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 87 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews
Chipping after 2 days
8/12/2016

Customer review by kmreumann

2.0 stars 8/12/2016 by kmreumann
by kmreumann

This is my first Essie purchase, I was a little disappointed. I normally buy the really cheap $2 nail polishes at the drug store but I decided to splurge a little because more expensive = better quality right? Well, I applied a base coat, 2 coats of polish in the shade "mademoiselle," and a top coat. After only 2 days the polish has chipped and peeled on two fingers and is coming up around the edge on a few others. My $2 polishes last a week before it chips. I was really hoping that Essie would have been just as good, if not better. It's a shame because I really love the color. I'm not buying Essie again if it won't stay (especially at this price)

kmreumann
Would recommend to a friend? No
subtle and sheer
8/28/2016

Customer review by Steph63

5.0 stars 8/28/2016 by Steph63
by Steph63

Bought this based on prior reviews and happy I did. It seems a little more fluid and easy to apply than other colors. It's very forgiving of less than professional application. On days I feel like a more opaque look, I will wear 1 coat of Imported Bubbly as an undercoat.

Steph63
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love it
8/30/2016

Customer review by honeybunz

5.0 stars 8/30/2016 by honeybunz
by honeybunz

I love this color on my nails. Perfect for daytime businesd casual or evening!

honeybunz
Boston, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too Sheer
7/25/2016

Customer review by Stilletos

2.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Stilletos
by Stilletos

This is the first essie polish I've ever used, I saw it on clearance walking by a jcpenny salon and thought it was such a really pretty, sheer nude. I've applied 3 coats and I didn't expect it to be this sheer. It's sheerness also makes the color even paler than it looks in the bottle. I really wanted the tips of my nails to be covered better. I think this looks way too light on me. It did apply nicely though, and was great shine.

Stilletos
Baltimore, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect Shade for my everyday life
5/17/2016

Customer review by Willbegirl

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Willbegirl
by Willbegirl

This shade is marvelous. It is not so bright that it draws too much attention to my hands but it make my nails stand out whenever I wear it. As our Florida bright sunshine is almost always present, the shade compliments everything from jeans, shorts, skirts and dresses in our semitropical environment. My manicurist introduced it to me some time ago as she felt that it was a color which will compliment my coloring.

Willbegirl
SW Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meh
4/20/2016

Customer review by Kitty312

1.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Kitty312
by Kitty312

I was gifted this from my nail tech. It's absolutely awful. It looks like clear with a hint of something. I did three coats and it was just shiny. I only gave it 1 star because it lasted a week.

Kitty312
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
The "Classiest" Essie color!
10/9/2014

Customer review by manicureaddict

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by manicureaddict
by manicureaddict

I have been using Mademoiselle for over 25 years! Loyalty to Essie's Mademoiselle, to say the least. Not only is this color so flattering to my skin tone on my hands, but my nails always look classy, neat, and well "polished". Over the years I have been asked what color I am wearing many , many times. I get compliments galore. I now live in Sarasota, Florida (for the last seven years). I started using Essie at my salon in New York City. Unfortunately Essie nail polishes are not used at the local salons here in Sarasota, they foolishly use other brands. I always, always, bring my own bottle of Mademoiselle with me to the nail salon. Every, yes every time, someone will ask me what color and brand polish is on my nails. I treat myself to a weekly manicure always. I will never use anything but my Essie Mademoiselle.My nails always look perfect, and Essie never chips nor fades, that is why I am so addicted to Mademoiselle. I am so happy that I can purchase Essie at any number of local drug and beauty supply stores. Essie, Mademoiselle, I never will leave my house without my bottle in my purse. I really do believe that Mademoiselle is the shade that is elegance and refinement in a bottle!

manicureaddict
Sarasota, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfect go-to neutral shade
1/25/2016

Customer review by pacm

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by pacm
by pacm

I am a nurse and my nails take a lot of abuse from constant hand-washing. I like to wear polish but hate the chippy look that is exaggerated with darker colors. This soft pinkish-white is the perfect all day, all week, all year color! Honestly, what they say is true, this color looks great on everyone. I own 3 bottles because I want to make sure I never run out!

pacm
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love Essie
3/19/2016

Customer review by Sessra

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Sessra
by Sessra

I love Essie Nail polish. Mademoiselle color works well for a French manicure. It is somewhat shear. My manicures last about a week and I am hard on my nails. Also, this seems to even out ridges

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sessra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Chic!
12/14/2015

Customer review by Nana215

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Nana215
by Nana215

This is my all time favorite polish from Essie! It's really ridiculous how flattering this shade and formula is on ALL shades of skin! I wear this color anytime I need to take a break from dark polish but still want something on my nails. This just makes my nails look professionally done knowing full well I did this at home with shaky hands and no base coat

Nana215
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Your nails but better
12/3/2015

Customer review by Student546

4.0 stars 12/3/2015 by Student546
by Student546

First 2 coats looks like a clear polish 3rd coat colors nail a shear white/pink Beginning of nail line can be covered with a 4th coat I don't use a top coat b/c it sufficiently shiny So far it's lasted a week + capped the top of my nail during application

Student546
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this color!
11/30/2015

Customer review by EllaP

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by EllaP
by EllaP

Love how this color looks. I have olive skin and I wanted something that is easy to maintain and yet sophisticated. This is just the right look a hint of color but very subtle. This is going to be my favorite color.

EllaP
Cherry Hill, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome!
10/12/2015

Customer review by jweiss

5.0 stars 10/12/2015 by jweiss
by jweiss

This is the perfect sheer pink that I've been looking for for years, finally found it with this color. No complaints, I can't stop using it. Goes on nicely, not too white, its the perfect blend. I'm very happy with this color.

jweiss
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love at last!
7/13/2015

Customer review by Wasi

5.0 stars 7/13/2015 by Wasi
by Wasi

Essie has so many colors around nude and pink. It took me forever to find the best one! This is the perfect combination of both. Although it's a bit sheer. It spreads wonderfully and is easy to apply! A couple of coats still allow your natural nail tips to show through. It's the perfect clean-looking natural look for everyday! It also goes well with any color skin!

Wasi
Orchard Park, NY, United States
Such a great everyday color!!!
3/5/2015

Customer review by cake432

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by cake432
by cake432

This nail polish is such an amazing neutral. It's a sheer pink that will make your nails look sophisticated and just neat! It's not over the top colorful (although who doesn't love a bit of color :) ) but it's just good for everyday. It matches with everything you wear, since it is just so versatile! Highly recommend it, and it is great for all skin tones!

cake432
NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The perfect pink :)
10/9/2014

Customer review by InspiredNW

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by InspiredNW
by InspiredNW

I've recently started doing my own nails after 20+ years of pink and white acrylics I was a bit overwhelmed with the idea of finding the right shade of pink ... enter Essie! I absolutely love the quality of the polish and this is without a doubt my favorite shade of pink! I've added 8 more of Essie's amazing shades to my collection and looking forward to the next 20 years with Essie! :)

InspiredNW
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfectly understated
10/19/2014

Customer review by ohrhilly

5.0 stars 10/19/2014 by ohrhilly
by ohrhilly

I love this shade. Mademoiselle offers a nice pink tint and is very sheer. I am not a fan of opaque colors and this was just right. I got a lot of compliments on the shade. I am very simple/conservative with my own personal style and this was just right. As a black woman, it is hard to find the right pink that doesn't make my skin look ashy. This was just right.

ohrhilly
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful Color
9/2/2014

Customer review by samantharose817

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by samantharose817
by samantharose817

One of my favorite things about this color is the paleness of the shade. The fact that you cannot really see the color makes it perfect for everyday wear, being that it doesn't clash with anything. As a frequent nail polish user, I find that this is a wonderful thing to wear, although it requires 2-3 coats to make it completely opaque.

samantharose817
New York, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely sheer
6/11/2015

Customer review by Nectarini

4.0 stars 6/11/2015 by Nectarini
by Nectarini

This is an extremely sheer polish; there is barely any pigment. However, it applies extremely well and even and dries fast. A simple nice everyday polish.

Nectarini
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good pink nude
7/20/2015

Customer review by zajac

4.0 stars 7/20/2015 by zajac
by zajac

I wore this for my wedding. Good pink nude. Classy.

zajac
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews