Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 30 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Not all its cracked up to be.
1/16/2012

Customer review by ericnottelin

2.0 stars 1/16/2012 by ericnottelin
by ericnottelin

Ok, I have seen a bunch of reviews for these jump boxes over the past 48 hours as I have needed to buy one to start an 09 Ford Expedition which has a heck of a battery draw and usually has a dead battery after a few days sitting (work hazards that I can’t fix). So, here is what I have learned. My old jump box rarely started my truck when the battery was dead dead (ie, no power locks, no head lights, and when you turn the key nothing happens). Since I purchased my last two jump boxes at Wal-Mart, I figured I would buy another from them as I really never had a problem jumpstarting cars (notice I used the word cars and not trucks). Well, this jump box (a Schumacher XP2260) is advertised for 1200 peak amps and has all sorts of bells and whistles (ac inverter, air pump, etc). I saw 1200 and went “oh yeah, this will have no problems. Well, I charged it completely and when my truck was dead, I hooked up the jump box and the jump box told me the dead battery voltage was 8.6. When I turned it on, the jump box gave a combined voltage (dead battery and jump box battery) of 13.1. I was confident that the truck would start. I turned the key over and the starter engaged for a fraction of a second and then nothing. I then let the jump box sit for a few minutes and tried again. Same results!! I then went to Schumacher’s web site and got the specs for this 1200 peak amp jump box. Ready for this, cranking amps (what you actually NEED to start a vehicle) is 300 amps for a 5 second burst. After that, the device drops to 255 amps for 30 seconds. Cold Cranking Amps (this is the amount of power that the battery can deliver at or below freezing is only 185 amps. During this, the temp was about 40 degrees. So, I got my trusty amp meter out and measured the max amp draw from the jump box during a start and I got readings (between different attempts) ranging from 377 amps and 415 amps. So, from the numbers by Schumacher, this 1200 peak amp jump box couldn’t start my truck on its best day. So, I thought I’ll keep it as a personal device for my camping trips. I have been testing out the A/C inverter. More on that in a bit. So I called my local auto parts store and told them of my dilemma, they told me they had a 700 amp (again peak amp rating) extreme duty jump box that they said would start my truck, no problems. I charged it as required and hooked it up to my still dead truck. Same results!! – Returning that one . Ok, so I thought, let me look up the one that our fleet garage uses since that one has no problems starting our vehicles. Clore Automotive JNC660 (cloreautomotive.com). That device has 1700 peak amps with a cranking amps rating of 425. HUGH DIFFERENCE!!! I found an automotive parts store that can order it for me for around $150.00 after tax. So, if you have a small car or just need to start a partially dead battery (will slightly crank over but not enough to start the car), these store jump boxes are great, but if you have a larger truck or other heavy application, I wouldn’t waste your money. And don’t fall for that peak amp rating stamped on the box. Either look up the owner’s manual on line (doesn’t everyone have a smart phone these days) or go to the manufacturer’s web site, or open the box and see if the owner’s manual inside will tell you what the actual cranking amps are. I bet you will find (as I did) that they are two completely different numbers. Just FYI, Autozone jump boxes are the only ones I could NOT find any Cranking Amp numbers listed anywhere. Now, as far as the accessories go and quality service go. First quality control, I have only had the Schumacher XP220 for two days now. I can tell you I have had no problems with the out of the box quality control. All the parts where there and working properly. I have been really interested in the A/C inverter. After letting the box charge again to 100%, I began to use the inverter to see how long it would power devices before it would go kaput. So far, I have been using my laptop (no problems) and I was charging the earlier mentioned auto parts store jump box with this built in A/C inverter. The onboard meter varied from 35 watts to 95 watts for over two hours. Upon disconnecting everything (had to leave the house), the battery still showed an 80% charge. Upon returning home, I hooked up my auto charger to my still dead truck and plugged it into the jump box a/c inverter. It is running it fine at a displayed wattage of 115. It has been doing this for approximately 1.5 hours. So I have gotten three plus hours from it with no problems and I find it ironic that the jump box will power a charger to charge the battery, but doesn’t have enough off the line thrust so to speak to jump start it. One key note, I check the amperage of the outgoing charge from the charger. At the setting of 12 amps, the charger was only putting out 2.5 amps. When hooked up to the wall, the charger was putting out 5.5 amps for the same setting. I’m sure that an A/C inverter doesn’t have the nice sine wave pattern that my wall outlet does nor does it have the available wattage, so I’m sure that is the problem. And as far as I’m concerned, it is running the device just fine for its intended purpose. As far as the air pump goes, I am planning a review of that tomorrow and will post how that goes. Hope you find this helpful and prevents someone from having to learn the above mentioned issues the hard way as I did. I just wish they would put the cranking amps on the box, but then I guess they either would not sell as many or have to put batteries in them that could actually START a vehicle. 

Was this review helpful? (156) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ericnottelin
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great on paper but needs quality control
1/24/2011

Customer review by Damonstration

3.0 stars 1/24/2011 by Damonstration
by Damonstration

For the price this is being sold for and all the features this a bargain jump starter. The 22ah battery is very nice. The digital readout is also nice. The problem I have is the quality control. Mine had something rattling around on the inside. I unscrewed the unit and found a 1 inch metal screw that had fallen off the cooling fan. After putting it back together there was something else again rattling around. This time a plastic spacer from the circuit board. One of the caps for the 12v outlet also refuses to stay closed. While inspecting the inside I was impressed by the thick wires and Schumacher branded 22ah battery. The inflater and cooling fan did sound pretty cheap and had very annoying whines when running. The tire inflater also had a very poor gauge so it would be hard to use it for anything but emergency situations. The included male to male CLA cable is a nice extra along with a USB charger. The unit also has a strong chemical smell which is distracting. I noticed that when a 45watt light bulb is plugged in the watt meter reads 80 watts and when a 75 watt bulb is plugged it it reads 100. I'm not sure what that is all about. If I can get the 12v cap to close I may keep it but I'm not sure it's worth the hassle. It's too bad because it's got all the features for a very good price.

Was this review helpful? (64) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Damonstration
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
what a hassel!
3/2/2011

Customer review by helpfulcustomer

2.0 stars 3/2/2011 by helpfulcustomer
by helpfulcustomer

i bought two of these schumacher jumpers and had to return them both for poor quality issues.the first one a bought for my father as a christmas gift.when i opened it to charge and inspect it the switch that turns the pump on/off didnt work...returned it and got a different brand,stanley.then my wife bought me one for my birthday in february and it also had issues.the air compressor hose connection tip broke off as i took it loose from the first low tire i tried to pump up.very disappointing and a hassel to have to return yet a second one.it had all the features that attracted me to the product but lacks in quality.some things should not be made of plastic...

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
helpfulcustomer
maysville,ky.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
not bad for an import
5/4/2011

Customer review by pickle67

4.0 stars 5/4/2011 by pickle67
by pickle67

I bought this for the 110 outlet as a back up charger for my credit card reader at my produce stand it has been used twice without a recharge so great in that area i just wish one made in the USA was available

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pickle67
waldorf,md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love this Unit
8/5/2011

Customer review by Birkikid

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by Birkikid
by Birkikid

No hassle jump start... Fast, Fast... Battery died and I can't get it replaced for a couple of days..... I have used it 5 times.. takes 60 sec. No need to let it sit and charge..

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Birkikid
Galt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Stay away from this one.
11/26/2011

Customer review by Muddauber76

1.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Muddauber76
by Muddauber76

I bought 2 of these. The features were great on this jumpstarter. The only problem was the very poor quality. The first day they worked great and I was happy with them. After that it was downhill from there. One unit showed a overload on the AC port and would not reset. I had to return it. The other has stopped showing the wattage being used of the item plugged into the AC port. The good news is Walmart's return policy is no hassle.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Muddauber76
Southeast Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Camping - will not power a small heater
2/1/2012

Customer review by sgmX6

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by sgmX6
by sgmX6

We purchased the little brother for this unit at Walmart before realizing for $20 we could get the big brother at Walmart online. It has all the bells and whistles. 120v for my regular outlet plugs. Unfortunately, the small space heater overloaded it. It worked on fan mode, but when turned to heat mode would send the Jump Starter into Overload mode and would immediately shut off. We were also able to use it to charge our cellphones and start a F-250 pickup truck with a dead battery (the guy left his cellphone charging in the truck overnight and drained his battery, I think I sold him on buying one of these next time) the truck started fine for the rest of the weekend after the charge. When I got home after this 2 night camping trip the charger still had almost 70% of the battery still charged. I still recharged it for next time. I hear you have to constantly keep it charged. If you let it go too long it won't recharge and you will have to replace it. It is essentially a battery, so it will need to be replaced after about 3 years anyway. Overall we are pleased with it and hope to use it with a fan during our summer camping trips. The cubscouts keep us camping 5-6 times a year.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sgmX6
Longwood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
great 100%
12/24/2011

Customer review by ghost2473

5.0 stars 12/24/2011 by ghost2473
by ghost2473

This 6 in 1 is great for every use . A must have . You really don't need a lot of amps to start a car depending on your battery amps go by the amps on your car then go buy a jump starter it's worth every penny you will never no when you might need a boost on your old car or a new car . I have a new car & I needed a boost because I lift the inside lights on . So my friend had the jump starter & boost my car up . So I had to get one to .. like american express say you will never know..

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghost2473
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent power source for car camping.
9/14/2011

Customer review by RailTrail

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by RailTrail
by RailTrail

I bought this to use as a camping power source when car-tent camping. This thing is great for this purpose. It inflates air mattresses, inflates bike tires, powers my satellite radio, runs a small AC fan, recharges smaller batteries, etc. I even adapted my Coleman LED camp lantern so that I can use this battery to power it. I recommend buying this larger one because the larger battery holds more power; and there are 2 DC and 2 AC ports. I haven't had any quality control issues with it at all. As one other reviewer stated, it does have a strong rubbery odor when new, but this odor fades. I even have an emergency power source for home now since I keep it plugged in in the garage. I'm glad I bought it. It was a good value. I had it shipped to my home and saved over buying it in the store.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RailTrail
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Its ok need quality control as other have said
7/29/2011

Customer review by Gotzbe

3.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Gotzbe
by Gotzbe

I bought this about 7 months ago, did my research and was the best in its price range with the features. That being said the air compressor is pretty weak and will shut off after 3 tires and the fan will kick on and i had only put 2-3 psi in each tire, also the rubber piece that seals it to the valve is coming apart after a few uses and doesn't come off easy so let's air out when you try to take it off. Its nice to have the digital read but isn't too accurate and the gauge for the air compressor isn't to great either. Tried to jump a early 2000's Pontiac Bonneville and no luck and it was fully charged, but i bought it for a 2000 4runner so hopefully it won't leave me stranded. I also noticed a plastic or chemical smell. Great feature's but i would pay more for something more reliable or less for this.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gotzbe
Phx,az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I liked mine so much I bought one for my Son inlaw
4/7/2012

Customer review by Redqman

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Redqman
by Redqman

I have used this many times with all the features. used the inverter to power laptops, jumped a car once even, charged cell phones with the USB, played a portable DVD player with the cigerette lighter, blow up my grandaughters pool with the high volume pump. filled tires with the tire pump. Very glad I got it. I have not figured out how to charge it in the car, I always have to take it in the house every month or so and charge.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redqman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
The best I've ever found
7/18/2012

Customer review by SearsFortPayne

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by SearsFortPayne
by SearsFortPayne

I have owned this jump box and during our tornato out break it provided the nesessary power to my important documents safe and sound needless to say I was the only one in the neighbor hood who had television to watch which made the horable ordeal some what easier to cope with myself and familly give this product a big thumbs up and are in the proscess of purchasing another.....

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SearsFortPayne
Fort Payne, AL 35967
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
cheaply made
10/14/2011

Customer review by monte11

3.0 stars 10/14/2011 by monte11
by monte11

I bought it because of the combination of features (electric outlets, air pump, strength of jump starter. I expect to use the air pump and electric outlets mostly. So far everything works ok, though I've only used the air pump. The light is dinky and worthless, as it provides barely a glow. The hose of the air pump is really cheap, slightly frayed, and seems to have a permanent kink in one portion. I debated buying this rather than another Black and Decker similar unit, which I already have. The B&D has less advertised power for jump starting, but definitely looks and feels more quality made. Time will tell if the Schumacher will last.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monte11
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Product is excellent.
1/27/2013

Customer review by ronmexico1

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by ronmexico1
by ronmexico1

The only problem I have is that new flourescent light bulbs do not work with a battery backup system like this. Don't know why the government is pushing these new bulbs. They do not last long and do not work with battery packs like old fashioned bulbs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ronmexico1
Conover, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Poor Quality
8/12/2011

Customer review by whitgarms

1.0 stars 8/12/2011 by whitgarms
by whitgarms

The very first time I tried to use this the cheap plastic red positive battery clamp broke into several pieces. Definately poor quality and not worth the money. Will NEVER buy another Schumacher product!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whitgarms
Cedar Parl Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Most affordable Jumpstarter/Power/Air combo
6/22/2011

Customer review by InspiredByJesus

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by InspiredByJesus
by InspiredByJesus

After weeks of research, I found this Jump Starter had the most useable features at a decent price so I bought two! I got one for my father in law for fathers day and being an outdoors man, he loved it! I plan to use it for camping and emergency power outage back up.

Was this review helpful? (8) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InspiredByJesus
Lake Forest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Surprised me, but it's still new!
7/28/2012

Customer review by TromboneDirector

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by TromboneDirector
by TromboneDirector

I was pleasantly surprised by this product. I am a band director and use a portable, self-contained PA system to run things like metronomes during rehearsal. The battery on said PA system has stopped holding charge, which is being replaced under warranty. However, I am not very patient and just finished our week-long band camp. I bought this on Sunday, charged it overnight, and used it the next day. I started off slow, to test its capabilities. On Monday, I only used it for about 20 minutes. We're talking a large woofer and horn tweeter with wireless microphones. Took it home that night, it still showed something like 87% battery on the read-out. Next day, I used it for about 45 minutes, and it showed about 83% battery. By Friday, I really tested it out. It didn't quite recharge all the way in the 7 hours I had it plugged in overnight, but it read 99%. I took it out, plugged the PA in at about 9:30am, ran it until 12:30. Plugged it back in at 1:30 and ran it until 5:15. The battery lasted longer than the students did! I am glad I made this as a personal purchase that I am willing to take to rehearsals rather than a school purchase, because I am sure to be using the product for a long time. I'm interested to see how well it lasts with as much repeated use I will get out of it. It was also $50 less than the similar Die Hard version I had been looking at. Wal-Marts one year replacement plan was only $6. Being nervous, I went ahead and went for it, so I know I have a fall back if it doesn't continue to impress.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TromboneDirector
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Use it immediately within the 30 day return policy
10/4/2011

Customer review by xxratedmachine

4.0 stars 10/4/2011 by xxratedmachine
by xxratedmachine

Use the unit immediately after fully charged to establish that it actually works. Walmart allows 30 days for returns with receipt. After 30 days you deal with the manufacturer -- NOT EASY

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xxratedmachine
Lafayette, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Would give 6 stars if I could!
1/11/2013

Customer review by Momof4and3and0

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by Momof4and3and0
by Momof4and3and0

We have an old, beaten up 1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Our winter here is quite severe, and after the temperature outside went sub-zero overnight, I couldn't start up my car. I took out the Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger and tried to charge the car battery for 3 hours... didn't do a thing! So I joined that well-known roadside assistance company and have them come jump my car. They jumped my car in under 1 minute with a red, suitcase-looking jump starter. I believe it's the Solar JNC brand, with 1,500 amps peak power. He said his company order these in bulk for about $300 each. So I went to Walmart hoping to get the same thing, but only found all types of Schumacher brands. So I picked the one with the highest amps (1,200 amps) and most functions-- the Schumacher XP2260 6-in-1 Jump Starter. I charge it as soon as I got home. After not driving my Jeep for a few days, the battery died again! Not wanting to wait for roadside assistance to show up, I tried to jump start the Jeep with my other car... not working! So I whipped out this Schumacher XP2260, and it started my Jeep right away! 30 minutes later my neighbor knock on my door because his old SUV needed to be jumped, too. When I whipped out the Schumacher XP2260, instead of using my car, he gave me an odd look. But it also jumped his SUV without fail! According to the instruction, I should recharge it after each use, however it still shows it's 100% charged so I thought maybe just leave it as is. One month later when I needed to jump start my Jeep again, it worked perfectly! Since I haven't driven my Jeep for a week and it was just jumped, I took the Schumacher XP2260 with me. Sure enough after being on the road for 5 minutes the Jeep died again! (Maybe due to the low-temperature, an almost empty gas-tank, or because I had the headlights, heater and music on.) So I whip out the Schumacher XP2260 and it jump started the Jeep again without fail! To sum up my experience so far-- From the time I bought the charger almost 2 months ago, I've charged it only once for 6 hours, and it had jump started my Jeep 3 times, and my neighbor's SUV one time! I'm so glad I bought this and didn't go for a cheaper one with smaller amps. Also I can not wait till summer to use this on our camping trip, as this have so many extra functions including inflating and deflating stuff, and various outlets for electronics and appliances. LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momof4and3and0
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Best money ever spent!
11/12/2012

Customer review by AzKid1010

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by AzKid1010
by AzKid1010

I bought this on my way camping and let me tell you I have not had to charge it yet. That was 4 months ago and this thing since has aired up several truck and bike tires jumped 4 cars and 1 truck and also been used several times for mp3 power. This little box is a beast! I have had no problems at all with this. I will say one thing that I was not thrilled about which was I purchased it thinking this would be great for airing up my camping air mattress but this falls short in that area. For tires I have had no problem with the compressor but when hooked up to an air mattress it just does not blow enough air fast enough. If you are looking for one of these for a great price this is the one you want. I also purchased the extended Wal-Mart 1yr warranty so this is covered for 2yrs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AzKid1010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews